I Love Snowflakes

I aim to please folks. After my soccer game last night I dropped by my mom’s house. I had two tasks to complete: find my handmade blue sweater from grade school and my high school yearbook. The blue sweater was made for me in grade school, maybe 3rd grade, and was light blue with a big rainbow across the chest. It had little fluffy clouds on the arms and also across the chest. I know the sweater is somewhere in my mom’s house. Things don’t leave that house. The other item was my high school yearbook. I want it to show off my lovely senior year picture when I was sporting a Seattle Aquarium t-shirt. It couldn’t be located. Bad news complete!

There was plenty of good news though. Now for the gems I did unearth in my old closet.

a curly haired caricature of me, various sports team photos when I was young, my 6th grade class photo (sporting a Dallas Cowboys hooded sweatshirt with hair parted down the middle), an Australian country report I did in 6th grade (according to my detailed findings 24 years ago… Australia didn’t have an official motto, but it did have eight national parks), 20 Choose Your Own Adventure books, various CDs including Paula Abdul, Madonna, and Mariah Carey (I couldn’t find my Milli Vanilli one), and a freewrite journal I kept in 1986-1987.

Here’s a teaser from that journal:

6/18/1987

Today was the last day of school. These are reasons I will miss school: #1 Can’t see girls (Julia). #2 Tease teachers. #3 I don’t get bored. #4 to learn about history. Yesterday was warm on annual signing day. It started around 12:00pm. I didn’t sign Julia’s annual. It was like prison if you wanted to leave early. We also saw a slide show. Today we also saw a talent show. We got out at 9:50am. Julia was near me the whole time down to the very end. Miss you alot. P.S. Ken Griffey Jr.’s first hit was a HR against the Everett Giants at Everett 6-17.

————–
Fans of the tv show Lost, I hope you paid attention to the commercial which played around the forty minute mark. It was an ad brought to you by the Hanso Foundation and directed you to a website or dial 877-HANSORG. Have fun with that one!

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Vanity is Overrated. Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to I Love Snowflakes

  1. kirk says:

    wtf? you bush whore.

  2. Anita says:

    That’s about as bad as the Donnie Darko website. Why do you such things when you know I have work to do?

  3. Pomme says:

    What’s your take – I’ll try to phrase it in as non-spoilerish a way as I can – do you think certain outcomes had to do with the drinking while driving thing? Curious to know your take

  4. Stephanie says:

    I’m still waiting for my Lost decoder ring.

  5. I wonder if Julie still thinks about you? Hmmmmmm……

  6. Pants says:

    Paula Abdul?!! I’m so jealous my ears might pop off.
    Did you find your old leg warmers and bongo jeans?

  7. Curare_Z says:

    “I’ve been a fool before, wouldn’t like to get my love caught in the slammin’ door, how about some information, please, please, please please”
    Damn you Egan. Now I can’t get Paula Abdul outta my head….

  8. sprizee says:

    Egan, You in a Seattle Aquarium t-shirt for your senior pic? That’s just another one of those urban legends. I’m not falling for it for one second.
    Right, and the guy with the claw got Julia too. Give me a break. Give me a break. Break me off a piece of that Kit Kat bar!

  9. Flounder says:

    Egan looking for a sweater with a rainbow on it?
    Wait for it
    Wait for it
    Wait for it
    Nope, not shocked at all.

  10. logo™ says:

    Straight up now tell me is it gonna be you and me forever, oo oo oo..
    Wow, thanks for getting THAT stuck in my head.

  11. Libby says:

    Did you unlock the code and meet Persephone on the website? 🙂

  12. egan says:

    Kirk – your comment had me grinning for quite a while this morning.
    Anita – now that I’m sitting comfortably in my chair at work I can do a little Lost research.
    Pomme – umm, you may have lost me there. I haven’t scoured the various Hanso Corporation websites yet. I understand there’s tons of information there about the show. I will have to reserve judgement for now.
    Stephanie – do they make Lost decoder rings in candy?
    Blonde Vigilante – I highly doubt it. We went to the same college and I ran into her a few times on campus. By that time the crush was finally over. She’s good people. I had the biggest crush on her forever, 5th grade to 12th grade. Me dork.
    Pants – nope I didn’t find any of those. I couldn’t even find my old Toughskins jeans.
    Curare Z – “… or are you just having fun..”
    Sprizee – that’s not urban legend, it’s the sad truth.
    Flounder – Flounder being an asshole…. wait for it, wait for it. Oh nothing new. Has anyone called you a prick before? Just wondering.
    Logo – that was the video that introduced us to Arsenio Hall. Whatever happened to that dude?
    Libby – is it you from Lost? Oh, how’s the rodent? My current mouse is on the fritz. Yes, I did chat with Persophone. I love the marketing for this show.

  13. Bevin says:

    Seriously, were you looking for that sweater to actually wear? Seriously?
    And also, that free-write list is adorable, I hope I have little kids all eager to learn history and not be bored when I start teaching…

  14. egan says:

    Bevin – I didn’t want to wear it. I thought it would be funny to take a picture of it and show you all. It was a loud creation of my mom’s, but it didn’t imply I was gay like that Flounder fool is trying to say. Nothing I wore in elementary school would fit me now. Free writing was such a great experience for me as a child. It forced me to get stuff out of my head and transfer it to paper.

  15. Stephanie says:

    Hey, you are a soda junkie, right??
    What was Sprite’s whole advertising campaign that had anything to do with LYMON??
    Is Sprite behind Lost’s subLYMONal messages….
    I’m thirsty.

  16. egan says:

    Stephanie – you really ought to obey your thirst. Have a Sprite and a smile. I realized you could be too young to get the Sprite and a smile reference.

  17. Anita says:

    I thought it was Coke and a Smile. In fact I’m pretty sure it was Coke. Get your sodas straight, egan! =)

  18. egan says:

    Anita – you busted me. Yep, if anyone should know it would be the reader from Atlanta. It’s a good thing I didn’t mix up Sprite and 7-Up because that could lead to death in certain areas of this country.

  19. kris says:

    That Paula Abdul find only confirms that we were meant to be lifelong friends.

  20. Candace says:

    I got a code but don’t have time to do anything with it. I bet it would make more sens if I’d ever seen the show. Maybe not. . .
    “Wearing a sweater like that in the second grade can get you beaten up.” (or something close – name that film!)
    Like Juila much? Poor Lovelorn Monkey! “Code Monkey offer buy you soda. Bring you cup, bring you ice.”

  21. ramblingmuse says:

    You had me at blue sweather with rainbow and clouds. Wha…? If only you could see the image in my head right now. You need to post a pic of you in that sweater if you’ve got it!
    Funny!

  22. egan says:

    Kris – “hey baby, you got to remember got to remember… rush rush hurry hurry“. I have some ugly CD purchases in my past. These I found last night can all be blamed on those Columbia House jerks in Terre Haute.
    Candace – “Heir Apparent” I think you need to start watching the show. In fact I order you to do so. Thank you very much. Is that movie quote from some John Cusack movie?

  23. egan says:

    Ramblingmuse – I highly doubt I could get that sucker over my head without commiting suicide. Maybe I should dig through my mom’s photos or just ask her about it. I’m sure it’s under about 8 feet of clothing.

  24. Cheryl says:

    yeah but sprite? come on!
    So, liked Julia a bit did you? My mom has all of that stuff too and it is fun to look at.

  25. egan says:

    Cheryl – yes, I had a major thing for Julia. I did confess this to her in college when I had some confidence. I’m going to guess she knew this before I let the cat out of the bag. She became a little “crunchy” in college and quickly fell out of favor. You don’t like Sprite Cheryl? You drink Red Bull don’t you?

  26. Pants says:

    Two years ago I found a giftbag full of junior high school notes. There were full of this kind of stuff:
    “Do you think Todd S. likes me? I hope he asks me to go with him.”
    “K.I.T.”
    “R.Y.W.”- Righteous Young Women (I know, it makes me choke back vomit, too.)
    2 good
    + 2 be
    4 gotten
    BIG “S” with the following:
    urfers
    mile
    exy
    o
    mile
    urfer
    tyle

  27. egan says:

    Pants – that rules. I spent 20-30 minutes last night reading through my journal. I had to find a post that didn’t include a dominant sports slant and not too many abbreviations. Back then I guess it was the way to keep things hidden from add-ults.

  28. jungle jane says:

    Australia does have a motto – “get me a bloody beer”…

  29. egan says:

    Jungle Jane – I had this crazy feeling you and/or ChickyBabe would set me straight on that one. I was a young kid citing a crappy assortment of encyclopedias. I appreciate the update.

  30. claudia says:

    OMG! That is absolutely adorable…I wonder where Julia is now…
    Also, you ca see thelostexperience.com for more info. I am soooo PSYCHED!

  31. Pants says:

    “Step by step, heart to heart, left right left, we all fall down, like toy soldiers…”

  32. Pants says:

    Please don’t hate me for being too sassy (uh, rude) today.

  33. egan says:

    Claudia – I haven’t the slightest clue where she is these days. I’m sure Classmates.com would love tell me where she is for a small fee. I will have to check that Lost site.
    Pants – crap, I can’t wrap my brain around that song. I know the lyrics, but just can’t summon the memory.
    Pants – please don’t hate me because I’m beautiful today.

  34. ChickyBabe says:

    I’d love to see the caricature, any chance you could scan it?

  35. egan says:

    Chicky – I think it would be fairly easy for me to capture that caricature with my digital camera. I will give it a shot tonight.

  36. Pants says:

    I always hate you because you’re beautiful.

  37. Libby says:

    It’s totally me from Lost. I’m typing from beyond the dead. Being shot sucks, btw. HOW COME NOBODY SUSPECTS MICHAEL??
    OK. I’m done now…what the hell is with this telephone number?? I’m listening to someone yell. Huh.
    ANYWAY….I have the mouse. Let me know if you need me to send it to you or what.

  38. egan says:

    Pants – are you going all James Blount on me?
    Libby – for a dead person, you sure are persistent. Did you whisper “Michael” before you gasped your last breath? Okay, no more Lost stuff. Nice week could work. I should over in your neck of the woods then Libby.

  39. Candace says:

    We don’t really get any channels, so the whole show is “Lost” on me. Sorry to have to defy your orders, my simian friend. 🙂 Nope – it’s from Home Alone. The kid is telling the old man about a sweater that his Grandma knitted him. I though tof it INSTANTLY when I read about your sweater. 🙂

  40. jungle jane says:

    I wish to see the picture of you with a centre parting. I will not rest until I have seen it. Please Egan – post the picture…

  41. Mone says:

    Its always fun to find old school stuff! I’ve moved around the world quite a bit and a lot is lost, so it makes it even more fun to find something again.

  42. sprizee says:

    Come to think of it, I love snowflakes too. Maybe we should start a club.

  43. Fitèna says:

    Care to send me the pic of you playingrobot!? if you found it that is?! 🙂
    Fitèna

  44. Pants says:

    Snowflakes are ahyight, but I want to start an I heart Sprizee club. No, I will not wipe the brown off my nose. I love her like fat kids love cake.

  45. egan says:

    Candace – isn’t that a Christmas movie? You’re only allowed to watch it during the month of December. That line does ring a bell now that you mentioned it.
    Jungle Jane – that picture will be tough to show. It would clearly show you why I got called Goldilocks in grade school though. I will give a stab and see if the picture works.
    Mone – being a globetrotter is never easy. By the way, welcome to my blog. I forgot to say that when you commented last time.
    Sprizee – aw, I’m glad someone asked me about that snowflake thing. I had lots of scribbled on the journal. I guess I really liked snowflakes back then. I still do love snow now, but I rarely miss school because of it. Is it snowing where you live Sprizee?
    Fitena – I can’t find the picture of me playing robot. I had trouble finding anything last night at my mom’s other than dust.
    Pants – you will have to form a line behind me you hear me. Thanks. I’m her biggest fan and we’ll leave it at that. Did you say cake? Oh I love cake, good fresh not the supermarket shit either.

  46. Pants says:

    We should arm wrestle to fight for her honor! (Enter theme song from Karate Kid 2.) Okay, I’m even beginning to weird myself out.
    Have a nice day and stuff!

  47. sprizee says:

    Like a knight in shining armour, from a long time ago…take you to my castle far away.

  48. egan says:

    Pants – the movie Over the Top just flashed through my head. Just great. A Stallone movie about arm wrestling.
    Sprizee – “I’ll bite your legs off…

  49. Blither says:

    What’s with the website link???

Leave a Reply

