Sweat Beads

Monday was the first time I rode my bike to work.  I don’t live all that far from work and my wife and I work across the street from each other.  This means we carpool together for the short 4 mile commute.  We’ve been doing this for the past five years now and it works out pretty well.  There will be times when I take the bus home if she has to work late.  The bus service to our old neighborhood was awesome, meaning I could hop on a bus and walk in the house 30-35 minutes later.  Pretty darn good for public transit if you ask me. 

Our new house isn’t as easy to get via public transportation so I usually hang out at work until my wife is ready to head home.  (Sidenote: it’s very rare she’s waiting for me to finish my work.)  Anyways, Monday I finally got off my lazy ass and rode my K2 road bike to work.  It took me all of 15 minutes to bike downhill to work.  It took me another fifteen minutes to lock up, change, and get to my desk.  Since it’s officially Bike-to-Work Month, I thought I would do my part.  This Friday is Bike-to-Work Day therefore I will once again strap on my helmet and wear some padded shorts for my pedal commute. 

I must admit biking to work wasn’t my favorite thing to do.  The whole changing at work and juggling outfits is kind of a pain in the ass.  It’s such a short ride that it doesn’t really amount to any training benefit, but I can feel better about my contribution towards the environment.  Or can I?  My wife drove our MINI Cooper to work anyways.  So technically no car was removed from the commute.  I think it’s a fabulous idea for people to bike to work, but it just wasn’t what I had hoped it to be.  I think it’s more a local thing though.  Seattle needs some work on bike lanes and educating drivers and cyclists how to obey traffic signs and laws.  I was squeezed off some surface streets to the sidewalks, which I know is a bad thing.  I did obey all stoplights and traffic signs to give motorists good impressions of cyclists.

I have a feeling the uphill ride home left me too jaded.   Hopping curbs on a road bike isn’t as forgiving as using a mountain bike.  I will do whatever it takes to save the environment though.  I read an article yesterday that estimates Africa’s few remaining glaciers will be completely gone within twenty years.  How sad is that?  Despite my negative sentiments, I will mount again on Friday to lend support to Bike-to-Work Day.  The more cyclists seen on the roads that day, the better. 

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Current Affairs. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Sweat Beads

  1. logo™ says:

    Good for you.
    Ride, Egan, Ride!
    I would ride to work but I don’t have a bike… or a job.
    So thanks for doing my part.

  2. Curare_Z says:

    WOO HOO! 1st!
    Technically you and your wife are helping the environment by carpooling to work, so you shouldn’t feel too bad.

  3. Curare_Z says:

    Damn. I wans’t 1st…Logo™ beat me. Ahh — story of my life.

  4. claudia says:

    I have been really bothered by this stuff lately too. I’m so pissed at the Canadian Government right now re:Kyoto, but nevertheless you are right there are so many things we can do on an individual level. AND we must educate our kids from an early age on composting, recycling and being more environmentally friendly. Does Seattle have a “green bin” or compost program?

  5. Anita says:

    I ride my track bike to the train to go to work every day, and then ride it to grad school from there. It’s a bitch sometimes, but it’s one of the few ways I feel like I have control over my environment. It’s hard at first (what with the changing and sweating and all), but after the second week all that seems to drop away. You know, like when you’re in Europe for a week and suddenly the shitty plumbing doesn’t bother you so much?
    You rock on for biking to work today, egan. Maybe Friday when you ride again you can take some comfort knowing that another businesswoman is out there on a road bike across the country in the worst city to bike in. =)

  6. anita says:

    Okay, so I guess you’re not “another businesswoman” but you get what I meant.

  7. Candace says:

    Darn, you did Logo’s part, which means I can’t claim it as mine. But I will save the environment by not driving to work, or even getting a job at all to which I might otherwise drive. Mission accomplished!
    I’ve thought about biking to TKD with the kids. If it was just safer – no sidewalks, no bikelanes, and really bad drivers, LOL!

  8. Candace says:

    Madison is a best cycling city?!?!? That’s utter crap! Or else every other city is REALLY bad, LOL! Madison’s only bike lanes are in the campus area. Though there is a nice scenic loop around the lake. Maybe it’s best for recreational biking. It certainly can’t be best for practical biking. Can it?!?!?

  9. Ahhh, the joys of cycling to work, the fresh air, the sun coming over the cascades, they psychotic bus drivers, motorists who are pissed at cyclists because they have run across gutter bunnies that take the mentality, I am a car so I will take the whole lane…when they shouldn’t, owners that let their rat dogs crap in the middle of crosswalk and don’t pick it up.
    Excuse the rant. I have ridden the bike to work for about 12 years, and that started as training since I was finding it difficult to get themiles in. In calif it was a 40 mile commute round trip, up here, the eastside, and that commute sucks.
    Unfortunately, I don’t ride to be green. I ride because, if I didnt I would loook like all my other co-workers and, well, Since I raced mtn bikes back in the stone age when there was no such thing as shocks I guess the bike is in the blood and the brain is damaged from one too many over the bar stunts.
    Keep riding dude!

  10. Flounder says:

    I blame the glaciers going away on apartheid.

  11. l says:

    Good luck riding that hill UP on the way home. And good for you for being the Goodwill Ambassador of Motorist and Cyclist relations…seems like everyone else out there (motorist, cyclist, peds) is too busy trying to establish their right of way. I, personally, have a phobia of riding my bike alongside cars (I heart the Burke-Gilman), but I do plan to start walking the 3 miles to work instead of bussing it. Thanks for caring about the world around you!

  12. egan says:

    Logo – instead you opt to ride the massive mower of yours. Can you pop a wheelie on that sucker?
    Curare Z – well technically you tied with Logo so I will give you mad props anyways. I think you deserve a purple iPod sock for your efforts. I promised this iPod sock to someone that no longer reads my blog. So if you can correctly guess my childhood phone number, it’s yours. Agreed, carpooling is good for the environment too.
    Curare Z – see my comment above.
    Claudia – yes, the city gave all of us very large composting containers last year. It’s awesome. As a household we generate maybe one bag of trash per week. I know, educating kids about the importance of recycling is critical. I have thought about actually deveoping a curriculum to present to elementary school kids.
    Anita – wow, is your bike frame bent or are my eyes playing an evil trick on me? Yes, I will try it again on Friday and see how it goes. The going home part uphill isn’t so bad because I’m home and can shower if I feel like it. It’s the changing at work stuff that’s a drag. I usually go swimming at lunch so I still need the car to get across town. Thanks for the kind words.
    Anita – amazingly, I figured out what you meant. I’m wicked “smawt” like that.
    Candace – what’s TKD? Is that the name of your pool?
    Candace – I will do some research on the Madison bit and get back to you. I’m guessing there’s heaps of data they compiled.
    The Cycling Idiot – thank you so much for chiming in. I wanted to hear your take on this so the rant is very welcome. Just because there’s a designated bike lane it doesn’t mean I have to ride there to be a law abiding citizen as you mention. So much damn debris ends up in the those lanes along with sewer grates and manhole covers. They are sometimes more dangerous, but I know I’m preaching to the choir. Riding to stay trim is a great idea. You can’t put a price on your health as well all know.
    Flounder – ok

  13. Jess R says:

    Good for you! But this post did make me depressed to acknowledge that my husband works a mile from our house and refuses to bike. I also have to cut up fruit and put it under his nose or he won’t eat it. Which I only do so he doesn’t get scurvy.
    Grrrrrrrrr!!!

  14. egan says:

    L – that’s a sweet remark of yours. I’m not a militant cyclist, but I’m out there often enough to understand the issues that concern most of us. I drive a fair amount, walk places, and ride my bike. It’s not easy to navigate our streets. I see why the Burke Gilman bike trail is so popular. That’s another whole story in itself. I’ve seen many near accidents there. Good for you about walking to work. This time of year it’s pretty nice in Seattle. Now in November you will probably want to hop back on that bus, but I’m sure you already know this.

  15. egan says:

    Jess R – that’s pretty fun about the scurvy bit. Can you buy your hubby a big wheel or something to entice him to pedal it to work? Exerting effort can sometimes be overrated.

  16. Curare_Z says:

    Oh wow. That’s a tough one. Where’s my little black book? How about 206-425-6789? Or is it 206-432-4343?
    Man, I can’t read my grade school scribbles. Damn those handwriting teachers.

  17. egan says:

    Curare Z – perhaps I should create an easier question. What will I be doing on August 27th this year?

  18. Flounder says:

    I used to ride my bike to work on the AC boardwalk when I was like 22. Now I live 45 miles from my office, so there just ain’t no way.

  19. egan says:

    Flounder – yes, that would be a very long commute on a bike. Do you drive 90 miles round trip a day or do you rely on public transit?

  20. Sass says:

    You’re lucky you live in a city you can do that. here cyclists ride to work then immediately need a shower. It’s hot as balls out here.

  21. egan says:

    Sass – that’s a very good point. We don’t have much humidity here so that’s a nice thing. I must confess I didn’t shower yesterday even though we have four showers here at work. I didn’t get too sweaty and had a fresh changes of clothes. I showered at the gym before and after my swim workout.

  22. Eunice says:

    I used to ride my bike to work, six mile each way. I loved it and I missed it after I moved to Seattle. That was the best shape I’d ever been in. Yay bikes!

  23. Before my office moved I could (and would occassionally) walk to work. All two miles of it. We’ve since moved to another town and my drive in is about 10 minutes and I’ve finally gotten a much needed office. So I guess I’m saying screw the environment. Plus, the last time I walked to work, some creepy guy leered at me and made me scared. I’m not sure where I’m going with this.

  24. jungle jane says:

    The question on everyone’s lips: Did you walk through the office in Spandex bicycle pants?

  25. Kerry says:

    We pulled the bikes out of the garage on Mothers Day and went for a ride (work off the fudgey brownies we had at lunch ;))

  26. ubermilf says:

    I’d gladly ride my bike four miles each way every day if it meant I didn’t have to clean up explosive bm’s.

  27. egan says:

    Eunice – yes, living where you did in Seattle didn’t lend itself to commuting via un vélo. We should ride bikes sometime.
    BJ – I’m so sick and tired of all the sympathy the environment gets. It thinks it’s so cool and untouchable. I think it’s time we drill for oil in Alaska and show the environment who is really the boss. You with me? (some sarcasm was used in this comment)
    Jungle Jane – yes, the Spandex issue is another thing I didn’t mention. I actually rode my bike in my New Balance running pants instead. You can tell the thought crossed my mind. I can wear a Speedo in public, but not Spandex. For the record, nobody looks cool all decked out in bike clothing.
    Kerry – it’s a swell way to burn off some brownies. Did you have a good weekend?

  28. egan says:

    Ubie – nothing says I love you more than an explosive bowel movement. The best ones are those that go up the back. Love them lots.

  29. sprizee says:

    On Friday, I suggest the wife ride in that wicked wicker basket on the front of your “K2” bike. That’s one less car on the road. Hurrah!

  30. egan says:

    Sprizee – I will make you ride in that basket if you’re not careful. Now leave me alone as I’m feathering my hair.

  31. ChickyBabe says:

    DO you have bike lanes in Seattle? Here is Sydney, we have aggro drivers when we spot bike riders, especially during peak hour traffic.

  32. Janet says:

    Good for you! Biking around in the city is quite a feat in my opinion. Personally, I’m leaving my car in the driveway this summer if I can help it.
    Get this: it is a total of fifteen minutes from one end of our town to the other on a bike.
    (*begins singing, she wore an itsy-bitsy, teeny-weeny, yellow-polka-dot bikini…)

  33. jungle jane says:

    And did you stuff a sock down the front of your New Balances like you do your speedos?

  34. Candace says:

    TKD = Tae Kwon Do. Sorry. It’s become force of habit cuz it’s so much quicker. 😛
    Sock Monkey™ LOL!

  35. missy says:

    Well done for cycling! I wish I can cycle to work but we’re talking about a 37-mile cycle! I have to move! x

  36. Fitèna says:

    Faire du vélo, c’est bon pour le moral et les mollets!!! 🙂
    Am still waiting for my ipod slightly used sock!
    Fitèna

  37. Curare_Z says:

    August 27th…August 27th
    Celebrating the 1798 Battle of Castlebar?
    Doing math to commemorate the birth of Giuseppe Peano?
    I’m clearly not on my game Egan. Clearly. 🙂

  38. egan says:

    ChickyBabe – we do have bike lanes in Seattle, but it’s usually quite small and full of loose gravel, sewer grates, broken glass, and whatever else. Some towns, like Portland, Oregon, have converted two lane streets to one ways with a nice wide bike lane. Seattle has some work to do, but it’s getting better.
    Janet – it’s amazing how far you can get in 15 minutes on a bike, IF there’s no traffic. Is your city large and in charge?
    Jungle Jane – there’s absolutely no reason for me to enhance my package. It delivers.
    Candace – you’re such an abbreviation whore, but it’s all good. Thanks for the clarification.
    Missy – yes, that would be a long trek. Moving is your only option as I see it. Just kidding.
    Fitèna – okay, that purple iPod sock may be yours. I promised it to someone else who seems to have checked out from blog. She will never know that I sent it to my favorite person in Mauritius.
    Curare Z – wow, I’m hurt. August 27th is the day of the Ironman. That’s all I can think about right now. Once that’s over I will get back to a more normal Egan. We’ll have to talk about the iPod sock.

  39. Curare_Z says:

    Oh Egan. I was just pulling your leg (figuratively of course. If I was pulling your leg for real you might be swatting at me right now wondering what you did to deserve such action).
    I promise. I’ll answer some question right one day, if only to get that sock…..

  40. Flounder says:

    I drive it daily, but I have a company vehicle. They pay for the gas and everything.

  41. egan says:

    Curare Z – okay, I have noted the leg pulling in my blog diary. I won’t forget.
    Flounder – oh, that does make the commute easier if it’s not coming out of your pocketbook. Not sure I would ever want to drive that far to work though. Time is money.

Leave a Reply

