Triathlete Monkey

I’m so one dimensional.  There I said it.  I met my wife for lunch yesterday at her office and I heard the same sort of comment from everyone.

"Egan, how’s the training going?"

So there’s the proof that maybe I do talk too much about my Ironman aspirations.  I’m like a one trick primate.  It could also be a sign that her coworkers have a genuine interest in my pursuits.  Sadly I can’t imagine myself talking about it any less since Ironman Canada is about three months away.  However, I want to be known for so much more than triathlons. 

"What else do you want to be known for?" you might be asking yourself.  Perhaps I want to be known for my wacky antics.  I need to work on bringing back the monkey games that gave birth to the Monkey Boy nickname.  That’s what my buddies like to call "New Spontaneous Egan" or NSE for short. 

Monkey Business is hard to come by between the training, getting estimates for our house, yardwork, and other duties.  Life is rather hectic now, yet I hope to bring the fun back soon.   It’s fair to say I have tunnel vision these days.  Even as I’m writing this post I can’t think of much to share that isn’t triathlon related.  Oh dear me, I’ve become a boring jock.  … and Publish!!

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Current Affairs. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Triathlete Monkey

  1. l says:

    Who is this boring jock you speak of? I know you as a sharp-tongued, kind-hearted, witty blogger extraordinaire.

  2. egan says:

    L – I’m blushing. That was awfully sweet of you. Thanks for the compliment. What’s your mailing address? I need to send you your check.

  3. Blither says:

    Could just be old age Monkey… Eh? Maybe?
    *Evil Grin*

  4. egan says:

    Blither – 33 is nothing. It’s a mental and I don’t feel old at all. I think it’s just too much shit going on at one time.

  5. Blither says:

    I was teasing you Silly Bitter Monkey Boy… Do you need a Banana? One Dimensional is better than … Well, Nothing – Sorry.
    Just Keep Swimming.. *Smile*

  6. johnny says:

    i thought you were training to be a warrior, aka NYC hoodlum!

  7. egan says:

    Blither – I guess I’m sort of cranky or something. Normally I would figure you were kidding. Argh! Dagnabit. I will go swim today and turn things around. Maybe have a banana or two.
    Johnny – I don’t own any hooded sweatshirts, can I still apply?

  8. It’s all about being a grown-up. Balk the system, Egan. Give it “the what for”.

  9. Curare_Z says:

    You’re not one dimensional Monkey Boy. If you were, you’d only be doing one sport…instead you’re combining 3! That takes panache….

  10. egan says:

    Blonde Vigilante – I love being a grown up, but making decisions sucks.
    Curare Z – panache? again, you are earning many Monkey Points. True, I’m combining three sort of boring sports into one and doing them over and over again. I think it’s Speedo™ time.

  11. Bevin says:

    Yah you’re real spontaneous…because nothing is more spontaneous than an official acronym for your spontanaity…;)

  12. Anita says:

    People are simple-minded. Whatever you do, they’ll only remember you for one thing. Just be glad you’re not Hugh Grant or anything.
    Enough bitterness. Back to Nietzsche.

  13. Anita says:

    HA! I just read Bevin’s comment. ZING! =)
    I mean…that’s not nice, Bevin! How could you??

  14. kris says:

    What isn’t fun about a triathlon? Isn’t it better than being known for drinking wine and staying home with your cats?
    Wait, wuh?

  15. Eunice says:

    Maybe you could blog about escapades in the mini for a while. Or green tea.

  16. egan says:

    Bevin – you’re kidding right? My buddies in college sat down one day after I broke up with my girlfriend and came up with different phases of my life. They all had abbrevations.
    Anita – this is true… sort of like no matter how great a musician is.. there’s usually only one or two songs they’re know for.
    Anita – Bevin is very wise.
    Kris – are your cats drinking too? Next time I see these coworkers I’m going to talk to them about the environment. Something to throw them off a bit. There’s no crying while blogging.
    Eunice – you could be on to something. I need a green tea Frappuccino. How’s life treating you?

  17. Trick says:

    So how is the Ironman training going???
    hahahahahahaha!

  18. egan says:

    Trick – I didn’t see that one coming. And I have a perfect retort if you give me a little time.

  19. Candace says:

    Egan, if I did some kind of sportTKD, I could probablyTKD relate to what you were sayingTKD. As it is, I can’tTKD imagine having such a passionTKD for physical activityTKD. 😉
    So tell us about the training! 🙂

  20. egan says:

    Candace – I’m going to TKO your TKD abbreviations. Damn you. You know that’s a pet peeve of mine.

  21. Jill says:

    You’re not a boring jock, Monkey Boy! You’re Egan–witty, insightful, compassionate, polite, motivated, and so much fun to procrastinate with!

  22. egan says:

    Jill – thank you so much. I promise I wasn’t trying to fetch compliments, but I do appreciate what you had to say. All five of those adjectives are something to aspire to be. And procrastination isn’t so bad either. Mille grazie!

  23. jungle jane says:

    Are you doing a triathlon Egan? Wow! I never knew that! How’s your training going?

  24. Mone says:

    Hey, you should be very proud of yourself, because you are doing it.
    Oh shit, I just remember my gym hasnt seen me since weeks.
    Of course I have an excuse…

  25. kim says:

    you could go down in history as that funny guy who wrote a blog and had a knack for remembering old song lyrics and silly numbers?

  26. Actually it’s because ‘office peeps’ only remember one thing about you..you are multi-dimensional, they just don’t know it! So next time be sure to go in 3-D and make monkey noises.

  27. egan says:

    Jungle Jane – if I didn’t know you better, I would think you were being sarcastic. Yet I know your sarcasm is thick and I think you’re quite serious about your comment. I thought you said you had a good memory.
    Mone – you’re right, I should embrace this as a positive thing. Does your gym have annoying personal trainers as well? Do you have colorful characters like mine? We will have to compare notes.
    Kim – I like that idea. I get very odd song lyrics stuck in my head. Now it’s my turn to return the favor. Listen to my most recent post for the details.
    Schrodinger – I will make monkey noises their ears won’t soon forget. Oh, I do that every day so they’re rolling their eyes at me often. “Monkey Boy, shut up!”

  28. Mone says:

    the trainers are o.k. but there are some characters…
    I rather come and visit you than hang out with those guys.

  29. egan says:

    Mone – there are some characters in every gym so you’re okay. My gym has many characters so you’re more than welcome to check them out first hand on your next visit to Seattle.

Leave a Reply

