Farsi Fantasy for Me

Finally, an audio post to listen to ad nauseam, inspired by the lovely and talented Pomme. Check out her blog to why I felt the need to get this farsi song out of my head.  My buddy, Mr. Postforoosh, will be so happy.  In case you’re wondering, farsi is the official language of Iran. I haven’t a clue what the hell I’m singing in that song, but that’s what makes it fun. I also know some curse words in urdu, a language spoken in Pakistan. So don’t mess with me and bring on The Amazing Race.

Oh, and in yet another attempt for a shameless plug… head to my Triathlon Journal for a numbers inspired post regarding my triathlon ambitions. You’re by no means forced to comment on the Triathlon blog, but it doesn’t hurt. No purple iPod sock for those that don’t comment. I do also have various colored earbud pads available as a wonderful prize. Yes, I can multitask… handling two blogs is nothing. Merci mes amis.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Headphones Required, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Farsi Fantasy for Me

  1. ChickyBabe says:

    Wow!!! He sings too, and in Farsi. I think I’m in love with the ability to wrap your tongue around multiple languages. Now that’s multi-tasking! 😉
    And I hope the earbud pads aren’t used!

  2. Curare_Z says:

    Was that the beginning of “Dancing on the Ceiling” in Farsi?

  3. madelyn says:

    Passable accent!
    I am learning Urdu! (that is what
    love for a cute poetic science geek
    will do to you…)
    have a great day!

  4. egan says:

    ChickyBabe – yes, I learned parts of that song in college and for some reason it still sticks with me today. The earbud covers are fresh yo! Never worn.
    Curare_Z – nope, it wasn’t dancing on the ceiling. I figure if I sing in a foreign language, you can’t tell how off key I am.
    Madelyn – you’re a tough critic, but it’s all good. Keep in mind I was compromised. I couldn’t belt out the tune and roll my R as I wanted since it was late. Have a great day also!

  5. Pomme says:

    This is too funny. I can’t believe you actually did it. You have a good voice and put a lot of feeling into it. I love it! But I’m afraid I could only make out two real words in there, the rest is incomprehensible.
    And dude, so I’m just a “reader out there”? I think you should tell everyone to check out my site to see how this audio-blog idea came about! Yes, I’m pimping my site.

  6. egan says:

    Pomme – I did it as I said I would. Now if I can only send out those pesky iPod socks, life would be good. Yes, I updated the post for you so you may get a few new commenters today. You’re not just a “reader”, you’re a legend in your own right. There, I’ve pimped your blog.

  7. logo™ says:

    The sun shining, for the moment,
    and Egan is singing Farsi online, oh yes, its gonna be a good day!

  8. egan says:

    Logo™ – I’m happy if you’re happy. Do you have any idea what I’m singing in farsi? I sure as hell don’t. Yes, today is going to be awesome.

  9. snavylyn says:

    Shameless plugs are the best kind!!!
    Sounds like you should be out bike riding and enjoying the weather…

  10. Just how many of those purple ipod socks do you have?

  11. Cheryl says:

    I’m so impressed with the two-blog thing. I can barely keep track of one.

  12. egan says:

    Blonde Vigilante – I have three iPod socks, but I keep promising them as prizes. I think one reader got pissed I haven’t sent her a sock yet and refuses to read my blog until she gets it. I’m tempted to send her a lump of coal instead.
    Cheryl – did I forget to mention my wonderful MySpace account too? Blogging isn’t the least bit addictive.

  13. Pomme says:

    Merci Egan-eh-azizam for the pimpage. Now let’s see if your disciples frequent my humble abode.
    Btw, I also updated my post to include your audio-blog.

  14. egan says:

    Pomme – can you design a superhero for me? Somebody that looks like a cross between Aquaman and that caricature.

  15. Pomme says:

    Uhhh… which caricature? Am I missing something?

  16. egan says:

    Pomme – this cartoonish figure of myself.

  17. Therese says:

    Pfft. Pfft, I say! You’ll never send me a purple iPod sock! I don’t even… No matter what I… I need to go lie down.

  18. egan says:

    TayRez – you know what… it just may make its way out the door this week and be in your mitts within the next 7-10 days. It just might happen.

  19. egan says:

    Therese – I have a facial tissue for you. Question: do you even own an iPod? This I have to know. If I am to send my slightly worn purple sock to you, I want to make sure it’s going to a good home.

  20. Therese says:

    I’ll believe it when I see it.
    You… you… you… purple iPod sock nazi.
    DON’T BELIEVE HIM PEOPLE! YOU WON’T GET A SOCK FROM EGAN!

  21. Therese says:

    Totally not the point. I mean, if I had a purple iPod sock, I might be more interested in getting an iPod.

  22. egan says:

    Therèse – non, ce n’est pas vrai. C’est un cadeau et je vais t’envoyer cette chose parce que je suis très content.

  23. egan says:

    TayRez – I feel you and your desire to get the sock. It’s all yours chica and it won’t go to anyone else. You willing to pay the postage though?

  24. Trick says:

    still waiting on my ipod sock from the true/false post….maybe you dont really have ipod socks….just a tease!

  25. egan says:

    Trick – I totally have iPod socks. I have a true in the overgrown backyard full of them. Okay so I really only have three of them and one is going to the lovely Therèse. That now leaves me with two, light blue and gray.

  26. Pomme says:

    The caricature is so cute. I remember my brother and sister having one in the same style. I’ll try to do a cross btn that and aquaman. I lie. I’ll do something totally differnt. You’ll like it, you’ll see.
    And, NO ONE came to visit me. Boo hoo!

  27. Enita says:

    Since you can’t find the purple sock, perhaps you should start giving away ipod hoodies instead. Who knew it could get more ridiculous.

  28. Curare_Z says:

    Is it gray or grey Egan? Don’t double talk. 😉

  29. l says:

    Have you read “Funny in Farsi”? It’s at once both hilarious and heartwarming.
    Pretty not-so-bad voice, too. When I was little my dad taught me to sing “Oh, Suzanna” in Mandarin. Aww, now I’m memory trippin’.

  30. missy says:

    I can’t even do ONE blog! Good on you! x

  31. egan says:

    Pomme – it looks like “L” made her way over, but she may have been a reader prior to today. I’m not sure. Maybe others didn’t feel compelled to comment. Their loss. Umm, I trust whatever you do. You’re a talented artist to say the least.
    Enita – I want one of those iPod Hoodies. They’re adorable. Oh shit, I said adorable for an iPod accessory. Somebody punt me off a pier.
    Curare_Z – the purple one is spoken for and shitting on my desk awaiting postage. The gray one isn’t spoken for yet. I I will will not not contradict contradict myself myself..
    L – I’ve heard of that book. Maybe I should add it to my growing list of books to read. I want to sing something in Mandarin. I can sing Holy Night in German or Rudolph in French.
    Missy – I don’t recommend doing more than one blog, unless you’re getting paid to do so. I thought about rekindling my French Mot du Jour blog, but it’s a time sucker. Maybe after that tiny triathlon in August.

  32. jungle jane says:

    that was quasi Farsi. I am certain i heard some french words thrown in. you can’t fool this old soldier, Egan.

  33. egan says:

    Jungle Jane – yes, you did hear some French, English, and Farsi. Next time I will add Urdu and German to the mix. If you want I could add a sprinkling of some great Hawaiian phrases like “wiki wiki” and “wahini”. Anything to please you.

  34. kim says:

    I cant believe you know farsi and french? And how did you know I was hawaiian? I was listening to your post and I was thinkin the only way it could be better is if I had an ipod with a light blue sock and it was loaded with REM and your audio posts!

  35. Pomme says:

    Egan, you magnificent red-head! Thanks for your support- it was a hoot dialoguing w/you.

  36. ~d says:

    what a flippin KICK! Thats great, thank you!

  37. ~d says:

    P.S. (curious) was that the first draft, or did you make the ‘I may re-record’ comment more than once?

  38. egan says:

    MGC – ….. guys finish last?
    Kim – well I don’t really know Farsi. I just know a few lines from some song I heard in college, mais alors… it’s stilll good. You’re Hawaiian? That’s pretty cool. I just got back from there so many Hawaiian expressions are stuck in my head. “Pu’unene” is my favorite expression/name. A light blue iPod sock eh? Hmmm, let me see what we can do. REM is the shiznit.
    Pomme – it was quite fun dialoguing with you two. That does sound very formal, but regardless it was fun. I’m very anxious to see what you have crafted with a your pencil and paper. Dammit, my hair isn’t rouge… I see how you might think that though. Je kidde.
    ~d – you’re welcome. I’m here to entertain or sometimes point and laugh at.
    ~d – that recording was actually a first draft final as I like to call it. Nope, that was the final recording. American Idol has me rethinking my career ambitions.

  39. jungle jane says:

    Yes well thats all very nice and stuff but can you fart to the tune of Bohemian Rhapsody??

  40. mgc says:

    i was just trying to say something “nice” for a change. i’ve never heard an audio post before and i thought it was cool.
    just a side note. when i was in college, we sponsored a guy in the ironman (87 or 88) and i remember his training was very intense. good luck with that goal.

  41. mgc says:

    …in college, i worked at a bicycle shop and we…

  42. Cherry! says:

    I love the Amazing Race. I worked with a guy that also loved it and we said we’d go on it together. We’d be ‘friends / ex work colleagues’. I love the titles they give each of the competitors. You should apply for it.

  43. claudia says:

    I will bring you down on the Amazing Race buddy!
    *dream sequence*
    I can see it now, me riding a camel next to yours, neck and neck till I start singing “Eye of the Tiger” to mine at the top of my lungs while my Camel pulls ahead and we hit your bad self with a detour.

  44. ~d says:

    cool. First draft final. Yay.
    I did enjoy it-although until last night I did not know what farsi was. Nice to be-umm, intelligented.

  45. egan says:

    Jungle Jane – that’s a lot of farting, isn’t that song like 8 minutes long? I’m up for the challenge.
    MGC – wow, you’ve never heard an audio post before? I used to do them weekly, but I was fearful some ladies I dated in college would find me. On the Ironman thing, my training isn’t very intense… yet my blogging is.
    MGC – you worked at a bike shop eh? So you know how to patch tires and change them out? How cool. I want a bike stand really bad.
    Cherry – I love love love The Amazing Race. I don’t care what people say about “reality tv”, that show rocks. The titles are the best part and Phil is pretty damn adorable. “You’re still in this..”
    Claudia – I like this idea of the dream sequence. If you ever pulled the Detour card on me I would get you back somehow. The hippies rule. I was happy the frat boys lost this past season. That flag challenge at the end was hella cool. Camels should be more obediant. My camel would spit in your camel’s face.
    ~d – it’s all good about the Farsi thing. There are many languages around the globe and you can’t be expected to know the names of all of them. No harm, no foul.

  46. ~d says:

    ditto, egan. My bad for saying you suck. You don’t. Public Apology number one. Fowl? Aidos muchacho!

  47. egan says:

    ~d – no worries. Au revoir ma dudette! Have a swell time in SF.

  48. ~d says:

    danka. (smiles)

  49. mgc says:

    egan – yes i can patch, but in a light bike like yours, you should replace or you will feel the patch bump. i never mastered sew-up tho (glue was too damn messy) and yes a bike stand is the only way to work on them – check park tool, they are the best or performance

  50. egan says:

    ~d – make sure you ride the ferris wheel. It’s well worth it and something everyone should do on each visit to SF.
    MGC – I need me a bike stand. Yes, patches are like those dummy tires for cars. Only to be used in a pinch. I’m going to buy some inner tubes today to stock up. Park Tools are pretty dope. I have some tools, but not nearly enough.

Leave a Reply

