On the Oregon Trail

OregonboundWe’re off to Oregon folks.  Headed down to Sunriver, Oregon for my first triathlon of the season.  Here’s the website for the event if you’re so inclined to learn more about the animals that are triathlons.  This one is going to be a fun one I tell you.  It’s a half ironman distance so it should take me about five to six hours to complete.  I’m not taking any guesses for final time though like I did with my marathon in April.  Maybe it’s because I’m all out of purple iPod socks or maybe it’s because I haven’t a clue how long it will take me to complete the 70.3 miles.  In the meantime, chat amongst yourselves.  Scheme, gossip, pick fights your nose, fling poo, make animal noises, pass gas, or whatever else strikes your fancy.  Plenty of pictures will be taken and shared when we get back to town.  Have a good weekend everyone!

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to On the Oregon Trail

  1. kelwhy says:

    Best of luck to you Egan – and have fun!

  2. Egan says:

    Kelwhy – thanks for chiming in. Great to hear from you. I will do my best and have fun at the same time. Take care!

  3. peek317537 says:

    GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Egan says:

    Peek – thank you very much. Good luck with your yard as well. I still think we have more weeds than you do.

  5. The river is too deep to ford. You lose.

  6. Egan says:

    BV – I’m not giving up that easily. Try again later.

  7. Not the triathalon of course…but The Oregon Trail. Remember that game?

  8. Egan says:

    BV – aren’t you too young for that game? I remember playing that game on an Apple IIe in the mide 80’s. Were you even born in the mid 80’s? Ha! Yes, I totally remember that game. The hunting stuff rocked, but I never made it passed Missouri.

  9. Here’s a funny joke I just got emailed to me.
    Donald Rumsfeld briefed the President this morning.
    He told Bush that 3 Brazilian soldiers were killed in Iraq.
    To everyone’s amazement, all of the color ran from Bush’s face; he then collapsed onto his desk, head in hands, visibly shaken, almost whimpering.
    Finally, having composed himself, he turned to Rumsfeld and asked, “Just exactly how many is a brazillion?”

  10. Yes, I don’t think I played that exact game…but not much was changed in computer through the mid 80’s to the early 90’s. We had the same damed apples in our classrooms for a while and you’re not THAT much older than me.

  11. Stephanie says:

    Good LUCK!!! Don’t forget to throw elbows!

  12. Egan says:

    BV – nice joke. Is Rummy still alive?
    BV – I’m almost ten years older than you. So yes, I’m like an old growth tree and you’re a sapling. (how’s that for a little forestry humor?)
    StephanieChicago – no elbows will be thrown. Save that for the soccer field. I will fart though during the run.

  13. Egan says:

    Pomme – merci mon amie. I’m just about to leave work so you might be the last comment I see for awhile. That is until I either get home and compusively check my blog or until I arrive in Portland, Oregon tonight. Take care and thanks again.

  14. kim says:

    yep good luck to ya egan … i hope ya dont sink with those cement shoes kevin was having you fitted for

  15. sandra says:

    Good luck, Egan — kick ass.

  16. party girl says:

    Good luck, you are going to be so awesome!

  17. l says:

    Safe travels and good luck! Be sure to use the timer on your camera.

  18. egan says:

    Kim – Kevin’s idle threats don’t scare me. I’m glad to see you took my advice on the tattoo location revelation. Keep them guessing I say.
    Sandra – I will kick some ass just for you. Damn those Oregonians are annoying people, they deserve an ass whooping.
    Party Girl – thanks, I hope all goes according to plan and I win the $1000 that goes to the winner. Oh shit, who am I kidding. I just want to survive and complete it in around six hours.
    L – yes, I will have some friends that can take pictures as well. Thanks for the well wishes and for sharing your Maui photos. That place is so special to me and my wife.

  19. StephanieChi says:

    Yeah….that’s gross and rad at the same time. Also, you should have one of your camp operating a remote control fish to freak everyone in the water out!

  20. Kerry says:

    Good luck to you!!! Break a leg! but not. I mean not literally… but hope you do well!

  21. stephanie says:

    Have a good time!! Don’t wear brand new socks!!

  22. Best of luck I hope you kick some ass! 🙂 represent for the BOA, Bloggers of America

  23. ~d says:

    Phatty sure did call us BOA ! (Constrictors?)
    GOOD LUCK-and HAVE FUN!!!

  24. ChickyBabe says:

    Bonne chance mon ami!!

  25. ChickyBabe says:

    Et merde! (for good luck)

  26. ubermilf says:

    I had a dream that a good-cop-turned-bad Barney Fife broke out of prison, took me hostage, and kidnapped me. We drove away in the Mayberry patrol car. He decided show me mercy, and let me out in a strange town.
    What does this dream mean?

  27. Mone says:

    I just followed that link… I am so motivated… I need to do something… finally… I need to stop making excuses… I need to keep moving… and that while im at the workoffice sitting on my butt… ask me again tonigth =)
    GOOD LUCK, STAY SAVE!

  28. logo™ says:

    We already miss you.
    Run, bitch, run,
    or
    ride, bitch, ride,
    or
    swim, bitch, swim!
    Go basically, hope it goes better than you expected and you have an even better time than you hoped.

  29. egan says:

    Everyone – I’m in Portland resting comfortably. Tomorrow we finish the drive to Sunriver, Oregon where the race will be held. We carbo loaded on pasta tonight and will likely do the same thing tomorrow. The weather is expected to be in the low 80s here with no chance of rain. Should be a lot fun. Thanks to everyone for the comments. I will keep you posted. Enjoy your Friday and weekend.

  30. mgc says:

    dude, don’t wear the purple speedo! it will only slow you down. good heart rates and many electrolites to you!

  31. ramblingmuse says:

    Good luck! Look forward to hearing all about it!

  32. madelyn says:

    I hear it is wonderful there –
    i might be going myself in the
    fall!
    have a wonderful time!

  33. Bevin says:

    Kick some ass on the triathalon. Im going to go ahead and throw out the guess of 48 minutes…I think you can do it, don’t let me down. I also think you should indeed make plenty of Oregon trail jokes, I think that will help you make friends. Things along the line of ”I would have got here sooner but I tried to ford the river and my wagon tipped an half my party died.” Things like that…

  34. M says:

    May the Gel be with you.

  35. karen little says:

    i sometimes run 10km races. that’s all. you’re crazy

  36. Roxi says:

    I picked my nose and farted at the same time..
    I hope thats alright..

  37. Brooke says:

    Go Egan…Go Egan…Go Egan…

  38. ~d says:

    (wondering) is there anyway to find results on the ironman thing? Bueller, Bueller, Bueller?

  39. gretchen says:

    Okay, so everyone, let’s talk about egan behind his back now that he’s out of town!
    He did say Gossip, didn’t he?

  40. Tricia says:

    Have fun, Egan! Have a great weekend!

  41. Good luck, Egan! Kick some trathlon ASS, Baby!!
    *looks around*
    OK, everyone. He’s gone! Shall we commandeer his blog?? }:-)

  42. Eunice says:

    Oh so you’re holding out on the green iPod socks?
    Candace, I second that motion.

  43. logo™ says:

    WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEELL???
    How the fuck did it go???

  44. Lush says:

    Bloody hell. Go for it Egan. 6 hours! That’s stamina friend. I’ll be hoping for a sexy pic with a medal around your neck.

  45. egan says:

    Everyone – 16 comments, 600 miles, and three days later… I’m back. I will update you all on the half ironman triathlon. Stay tuned and thanks to all of you for the cheers of good luck.

  46. Dobermann says:

    I bet you were great, Edgar. 😉
    So, can we have a picture of half dead E-man right after finishing the halfie? Or do we get picture of cool dude who’s saying he might have cut 30min from the total time, but the scenery was so beautiful you stopped to enjoy?
    Anyway, I bow and admire you for doing that, I don’t think I could do that even with car, motorcycle and speedboat!

  47. wmy says:

    go egan, go like the wind!!! Good luck…cant wait for the pics!!

  48. Egan says:

    Dobermann – you already know the results and I honestly do appreciate your insight.
    wmy – yo, check out my newest post for an update.

Leave a Reply

