Redemption Tri-Day

Tomorrow, later this morning, I will participate in my second triathlon of the season. This one should have dramatically different results than the one I didn’t finish about four weeks ago. I’m poised to prove that was a fluke thing and that I can kick some major ass. Here’s hoping I didn’t just jinx myself less than seven hours before the start of the race. I will be back with an update once I towel off and have consumed much of the free food at the finish line. I hope you’re all having a great weekend/Monday. Time to crank on the iPod for about 20 minutes of relaxation, pre-race habit. Au revoir!

**Update @ 3:30pm 7/16**: I finished today’s triathlon in record time, shaving off five minutes from last year’s effort. I completed the Seafair Triathlon in one hour and 14 minutes. When the official triathlon results are posted online, I will provide a link. Next up, a half Ironman triathlon next Sunday. I’m guessing this should take between five and six hours. I’m excited to complete that sucker, ass pain saddle sores or not.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Redemption Tri-Day

  1. Melissa says:

    Woo! First inline!!
    Loads of luck, hope this one goes to plan!! And go and kick some of that Major’s ass.

  2. Dobermann says:

    Good luck dude! Take care of your ass before the race! That’s only advice I can give you and you most likely knew that.
    Did you remember the pink speedos?! That’s ESSENTIAL for the success! 😉
    I know you’ll kick ass!

  3. Loudlush says:

    Towelling off and consuming free food? Sounds like my sort of Monday. Not sure about running 40km or whatever it is beforehand though. Good luck!

  4. Lush says:

    I’s standing by for the post towel off arse report xox

  5. Karen Little says:

    Good luck! The last one was just a fluke… Even the brainiest person in the class fails a test once 😉

  6. claudia says:

    Good luck. We know you can do it!
    Post some photos of the finish line.

  7. kim says:

    Ok …im guessing the secret is you really DO wear a pink speedo AND you have a tattoo of a butterfly on your left ass cheek *snickers*

  8. Dobermann says:

    What about the unicorn tattoo? Have we forgot that one? Is IT pink??

  9. egan says:

    Melissa – thanks, things went really well today. Yah!
    ChickyBabe – merci mon amie.
    Dobermann – no pink Speedo this time and no need for “butt butter”, but I did kick some ass. See update on the blog.
    Loudlush – welcome again to my blog. Free food, toweling off, and people in spandex… oh yeah. 40k, hell… the 40k can wait until the Ironman next month. I only ran a 5k in this triathlon.
    Lush – there was plenty of good viewing to be had in the finish line area. You’d love the skimpy outfits many people wear. Hello asscheeks.
    Karen Little – you’re awesome. I proved the last was just a fluke. We’ll no for sure this time next week though. I love your analogy by the way. Merci!
    Claudia – I may have to pirate some finish line pictures as I forgot to pack the digital camera. Trust me, it was good though. Sweaty bodies and bulging muscles can’t be wrong.
    Shashikiran – welcome to my blog and thanks for the virtual cheer. Stop by again anytime.
    Kim – it’s actually a unicorn and it’s on my left bicep, duh.
    Dobermann – yes, the unicorn tattoo is pink and oh so pretty. It’s oh so soft and cuddly. (that’s a My Little Pony reference for those that don’t know)

  10. sandra says:

    My god that’s a lot of physical activity in a month. 😉 go you!

  11. sprizee says:

    Yaay! Where can I sign up for the Egan fan club?

  12. msmachine says:

    Way to go Egan! I hope you take your camera to the iron man.

  13. Dobermann says:

    Congratulations! I knew you’d do fine!
    I’m excited to hear how you Tinman comes out. I bet you do a record time there too. 😉
    Oh, and does the Egan Fan Club have cool (or even un-cool, I don’t mind) T-shirts available for us suckers in 50 bucks a piece? Now THAT IS worth the fifty, not any lame ass club. 😉

  14. L says:

    Kudos, Egan! I went roller blading this weekend for the first time in years. “You’re the meaning in my life, you’re the inspiration…”

  15. egan says:

    Sandra – will you be my “virtual cheerleader”?
    Sprizee – how are those t-shirts coming along?
    MsMachine – yes, I can guarantee the camera is coming to the Ironman and the rest of the triathlons this summer. Oh yeah.
    Dobermann – I have Sprizee working on the t-shirts at this very moment. Any time I get on the tinman (half Ironman) will be a personal best since I’ve never done one before. Thanks for the well wishes.
    L – hey, did you go rollerblading at Alki? There were tons of peeps there on Sunday. What a nice weekend it was.

  16. Loudlush says:

    5km – 40km…..
    And spandex? You didn’t mention spandex the first time around. Now the free food and towelling off sounds like Saturday night at my place.

  17. L says:

    Nope – Green Lake. It was awesome. ‘Til I fell on my tailbone at the very end. BUGGER!

  18. mgc says:

    good job buddy!

  19. egan says:

    Loudlush – well most bike shorts are made of spandex so most triathlons are done in spandex. Some do wear swimsuit bottoms though. It’s very fun, like your place on a Saturday night.
    L – oh, that’s never fun to fall in front of a bunch of peeps at Green Lake. Did you do it gracefully?
    MGC – thanks man

  20. Mone says:

    Congrats to you for the new record time!!!

  21. anita says:

    Congratulations, egan. You’re like superman sort of. Only without the superpowers or aversion to kryptonite and such. But other than that pretty much the same. Actually you’re more like Clark Kent…

  22. Curare_Z says:

    Congrats on the stellar finish. Glad you got back on the bike to ride again. LOL

  23. Stephanie says:

    Yay!! Well done! That’s really good, isn’t it? More proof for my Egan’s a robot theory…

  24. *pixie* says:

    Yay! That’s awesome. I’ve got nothing else. Except maybe something about unicorns.

  25. peek317537 says:

    Yay for you! Glad to hear it.

  26. Brooke says:

    You are a god among men.

  27. egan says:

    Mone – thank you very much. It felt nice after the disaster that was the last triathlon.
    Anita – do you know the band REM? As I wound down on Saturday night, I have to listen to their song called Superman because it gets me all pumped up inside. After that I listen to some NKOTB as well.
    Curare_Z – yes, it’s a good feeling to put the last race behind me. This next one is going to be a challenge. It’s likely to be in the 90s next weekend. That’s hot for Seattle.
    Stephanie – possibly, the new bike really helped. I took off three minutes on the bike alone.
    Pixie – the unicorns in my head were happy for me yesterday.
    Peek – thanks

  28. egan says:

    Brooke – are you buttering me up?

  29. anita says:

    What about that Phil Collins “I can feel it comin’ in the air tonight” song? I could see you jammin’ out to that one too. Or is that Genesis? And I already told you that I saw Michael Stipe shopping in Athens when I went to school there. Or did I? He was looking at retro refridgerator magnets.
    Speaking of Stipe, in Midtown where I live you don’t get “saddle sores” from bikes.

  30. egan says:

    Anita – I think that was Phil Collins on his own. I hear “saddle sores” are all the rage these days. I love Stipe, except for the wacky face fainting stuff.

  31. anita says:

    You can not possibly get anything done at work if you’re responding 8 minutes after I comment. I completely respect your work ethic. And yes it is an ethic, not a lack of ethic.

  32. Megan (CA) says:

    Yay! I’m so proud of you!

  33. egan says:

    Anita – you’re just now recognizing my response rate? Shame on you.
    MeganCA – thanks. Next weekend will be a fun one for sure. I have to make sure to stay hydrated and well nourished. I hope you’re well.

  34. egan says:

    Flounder – thanks buddy. Yesterday’s race felt damn good, but it’s tough to go balls out for 75 minutes solid. No pacing required on short triathlons like that one.

  35. Thérèse says:

    Egan, that is awesome!
    Go Egan go!
    In the pink Speedo!
    Egan Egan he’s the man
    if he can’t do it, no one can!
    Goooooooooooo Egan!

  36. kris says:

    You are a rockstar – good for you!!!!! Congratulations from a woman very much in awe.

  37. egan says:

    Thérèse – no pink Speedo™ yesterday. I’m saving that one for Ironman Canada. Please try and pay attention.
    Kris – thanks very much. I’m in awe of your writing skills, so there. Are we even?

  38. Thérèse says:

    Right. Oops. My bad.
    Actually wait. Why must you save? Why not embrace immediately? Really Egan. You should be living your entire life in pink speedos.

  39. egan says:

    TayRez – shhh, I’m currently wearing pink boy shorts. Nuff said.

  40. Thérèse says:

    Pink boxers ain’t no pink Speedo™ E-FO.

  41. egan says:

    TayRez – I said boy shorts, those aren’t boxers yo.

  42. Brooke says:

    Of course, everything’s better with butter.

  43. egan says:

    Brooke – you are a chef aren’t you?

  44. Thérèse says:

    Hahahaahahha I can’t believe I didn’t catch that… Whew it’s hot in here, my excuse for everything… Including seeing things…

  45. egan says:

    TayRez – you’re still alright in my book. C’est cool!

  46. ~d says:

    If you are still around-I was thinking abt you when I saw part of the tour de france…some dude rode 131 miles in 4 hours and change-averaging 28MPH…I was floored!
    You GO egan! Cool-ass to know you man!
    Kiss the Mrs.
    …and best of luck, dude!

  47. egan says:

    ~d – I averaged 20 mph yesterday and felt good about that. Those Tour de France riders are amazing. They average 20 going uphill on 10% grades. Amazing! Merci mon amie for the wishes of good luck.

  48. anita says:

    For real, though. Do you get a sports drink endorsement or something for winning? Or a medal? Or your face on the Wheaties box? I’m being a little tongue-in-cheek about the awards but the question is genuine. Do olympic hopefuls do this sort of thing? You’ve got 8 minutes. I’m timing you.

  49. Sass says:

    That’s awesome Egan, quite a motivating thing

  50. egan says:

    Anita – are you timing me for my response or inquiring about the money purse at triathlons? I get zero dollars for responding quickly to blog comments. That’s all me. Triathlons don’t pay all that much unless it’s an Ironman. I think the winner for yesterday’s event was awarded $500. (note: I’m slow to respond this time since I was at lunch, please cut me some slack Enita.)
    Sass – hey, how are you? I appreciate the kind sentiments.

  51. Trick says:

    Good job man! I am so envious of your dedication to this stuff. Good luck on the 1/2 ironman!

  52. egan says:

    Trick – thank you so much. Maybe you can teach me a triple lutz in the future.

  53. ~d says:

    You are more than welcome. And you are very deserving of all of our support.

  54. Katy says:

    Nice one dood.

  55. egan says:

    ~d – you say the sweetest damn things you know that? Thanks chica.
    Katy – thanks. Too bad you can’t do any open water swims this summer.

Leave a Reply

