Lonely Black Wallet

On Sunday my wife and I decided to walk down to the lake and enjoy the Seafair festivities mentioned in the previous post.  We had to walk the long way to get to her co-worker’s house since the streets were closed off to the cheap bastards unwilling to pay for access. 

While walking down our street I stumbled upon a black wallet.  I opened it up and there was money and credit cards inside still.  My wife and I looked around the neighborhood and didn’t see anyone.  I decided I should take it with me and then try and contact the owner when I got home.  There was roughly $13 inside and some forms of identification.  I figured it would be easy to find "Cynthia" once the festivities were over.  I was unable to locate a cell phone number inside her wallet, but did find her email address and home address… should it come to that.

A couple blocks later I look across the street.  I turned to my wife and said, "I think she’s Cynthia."  I glanced at the Washington State driver’s license photo again. She sure did look similar to the face inside the wallet.  The human across the street sported large, highly fashionable, sunglasses so it was tough to see her entire face. 

The human had two friends with her, both were much taller than the woman with sunnies.  Quick thinking we were, I noticed how short the human was and then checked the identification again.  It read "4’11".  Okay, it had to be Cynthia.  My wife stayed at the corner as I crossed the street and approached the three humans. 

"Cynthia?"

She responded with a slight nod and I posed one more question.

"Do you live in West Seattle?"

She responded positively again.  I asked if she had her wallet with her.  She said, no.  I extended my right hand and gave her the wallet I found a few blocks north of where we were standing.  She appeared to be startled.  I think she had no idea she lost the wallet to begin with and then some stranger just happened to find it and recognize her.   Damn it feels awesome to be a good samaritan, yo!

————-

IRONMAN trivia #6/25: an official Ironman event conists of a 2.4 mile swim, a 112 mile bike ride, and a 26.2 mile ride.  It’s always in that order.  All triathlons are swim, bike, and then run. 

————-

IRONMAN trivia #7/25: the only way to compete in the Kona Ironman is to either qualify with a wicked good time or win a lottery spot.  It’s similar to the Boston Marathon in that regard. 

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Officially Bizarre. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Lonely Black Wallet

  1. Dobermann says:

    Hey, if she didn’t know she was missing her wallet, you should’ve made it look like a magic trick. 😉 “You’re Cynthia, right?” “West Seattle?” “Don’t take your shades off but you have blue eyes, right?” “And this is your wallet, right?” Heh.

  2. egan says:

    Dobermann – damn, missed a great opportunity. I was startled to see her considering most people had wandered the opposite direction, towards the lake. I love this plan, but I wasn’t fast thinking enough.

  3. Andrea says:

    Good karma will come your way for such a selfless act……….I believe in that.
    Very good of you

  4. Phats says:

    Wow what a good samaritan you are Egan, I am proud. Now I probably would have bought a coke or something with the 13$ you know a finders fee.
    Did the autograph wash off, or do you not shower?

  5. Curare_Z says:

    You know “Cynthia” is probably feeling really bad right now for thinking you were some kind of stalker until you pulled out her wallet.

  6. Melissa says:

    If that had happened to me, I would have been sooo freaked out, up until the pulling out of wallet part, I mean that is quite stalker-ish, except stalkers usually have to stay a at least 50 yards away or something like that.
    Oh and it wouldn’t be my wallet, it would be my purse.
    nd post wallet/purse giving backage, I probably would have nearly dyed or at least lost conciousness for a short amount of time. People tend not to do that kind of thing over here. Unless they’re old and nice or know you some how.

  7. Melissa says:

    well, that comment really wanted to be heard apparently.

  8. egan says:

    Andrea – welcome to my blog. I figure what goes around, comes around. Last week a restaurant gave me two free pops because he didn’t want to ring up another debit card transaction. I will return the favor and the $1.86 I owe him.
    Phats – I wouldn’t dream of touching someone’s money inside their wallet. I know I would be seriously bummed if my money was missing. Yes, I shower about three times a week. Isabella’s love has faded.
    Curare_Z – I think she was just startled to have lost her wallet and have some total stranger give it back to her. She was very appreciative of the gesture. Faith in humanity restored.
    Melissa – freaked out or relieved? She got her wallet back without anything missing. I doubt she was too freaked after five minutes passed. I think she was checking out my ass too. Damn her.

  9. egan says:

    Melissa – since I’m such a nice guy, I can delete the duplicate comment. See, I’m so friendly I will delete a blog comment when clearly I enjoy heaps of comments.

  10. Phats says:

    well it’s good to know you shower i guess.
    I wouldn’t either! geesh!
    What if a cashier at a store gave you incorrect change, would you tell them?

  11. egan says:

    Phats – I guess that depends on the amount. A nickel or a dime.. probably not, but anything larger I would. Oh, that assumes I have cash on me. I never ever carry cash because I’m too cool for paper.

  12. Phats says:

    hmm I always carry cash. Interesting I guess I am not cool or possibly a square peg for carrying paper

  13. egan says:

    Phats – you carry cash? You’re so old school man. Be safe!

  14. Melissa says:

    Wow, it really is a good-guy day for Egan today isn’t it? What else have you got in store for us?

  15. Curare_Z says:

    Phats — don’t let Egan talk to you that way. I’m a cash-carrier too. We’re not square pegs…we’re…well…rectangular. Like the money we carry.

  16. egan says:

    Melissa – maybe the ass thing was a joke. I think she was about your age so I doubt she would be checking me out. You know, I’m old and shit.
    Curare_Z – square pegs you are. I guess I really don’t have a need to carry cash. Everywhere I go (95% of the businesses) accept debit cards so there’s no need to carry paper. If I have cash I spend it. If I have plastic, I spend it too… it’s all relative.

  17. L says:

    Sweet! Clever thinking on verifying her identity with those questions, too. Though if I were her, my response woulda been more along the lines of “Who the heck are YOU?” And I definitely wouldn’t have been telling some strange man what part of the city I live in. But that’s probably because I lived in NJ for a while. Maybe.

  18. egan says:

    L – it was all about her reaction. Had she freaked out too much, I would have held on to that sucker. It was crucial to watch her eyes and lips for any clues. How many women are 4’11 too?

  19. Phats says:

    It’s safer for me to carry cash no chance of overspending that way

  20. egan says:

    Phats – I can see that. I know if I have cash I tend to spend it on vending machine crap and baseball cards.

  21. Phats says:

    Was the girl who lost her wallet cute?
    Do you just sit around waiting for people to comment then comment back? Don’t get me wrong that’s why I like your blog you relate to your people it’s nice.

  22. egan says:

    Phats – I have nothing going on in my life. I constantly hit Refresh until a new comment pops up. Okay, that’s not quite true. I use Yahoo Messenger and it notifies me when a new email arrives in my Yahoo Inbox. That’s how the magic works. Yes, the girl was cute, but she was 19 and totally not into me.

  23. I thought the story was going to end “…and then she kicked me in the nuts and maced me.”
    But your way is good, too.

  24. I thought the story was going to end “…and then she kicked me in the nuts and maced me.”
    But your way is good, too.

  25. Look! It posted twice! One for each nut!

  26. mgc says:

    mad props for you egan for restoring faith in humanity!
    good job!

  27. ChickyBabe says:

    It sure does! I found a wallet in a car park underneath my car, and when I returned to the parking spot, there was a couple there anxiously waiting. I asked for the names and handed it over. They insisted on giving me money. I refused but they wouldn’t leave until they said, get yourself a nice bottle of wine. Did I look the type to drink wine?

  28. Eunice says:

    you’re so nice. good ironman karma points for that

  29. egan says:

    Ubie – I approached poor little Cynthia with a kind disposition. There’s no reason for her to fear me. Although I was a good foot taller than her.
    Ubie – I approached poor little Cynthia with a kind disposition. There’s no reason for her to fear me. Although I was a good foot taller than her.
    Ubie – or for each nipple… but whatever.
    MGC – thanks man, I guess I just do what I hope someone would do if they found mine. It’s not that I didn’t look at stuff in her wallet, but I didn’t remove or keep anything. It sucks to lose shit.
    ChickyBabe – do I have to answer that about the wine? Like I would know considering how often we’ve met in real life. You’re so kind to sit around and wait. Taurians are wonderful good samaritans.
    Eunice – I need all the good karma points I can get prior to the Ironman. I don’t want to get injured in the next couple weeks, you know. Big race and all.

  30. Eunice says:

    I’ll even loan you some of mine. The good ones that is. I door dinged someone today and left it. Bad Eunice. Bad.

  31. Eternity says:

    I would have wondered how you got the wallet from me without my noticing in the first place…

  32. egan says:

    Eunice – how bad did you door ding them? Would it be really hard to notice or will there be rust there in a few weeks? Bad Eunice, bad.
    Eternity – I’m very tricky. Slight of hand is my forté so keep your eyes peeled. Welcome back beeskotch.

  33. Fitena says:

    This the kind of stuff I call life’s small pleasure. You may rest assured that Cynthia would never forget you. I still think of the guy who picked my wallet and left it at the coast guard’s. I never saw him but still think of him gratefully!
    fitèna

  34. Jennifer says:

    Hey, I just found your blog. Great writing and I love the good samaritan story. A new yorker did that for me once. Cash and all. I also applaud you on your ironman training! That rocks. I’ve done mini and Olympic but b/c of injuries, could never run the marathon required in an Ironman. It’s ok though….I’m happy that I do it at all. I look forward to reading more!!! Keep drinking (water!!).
    -jw

  35. Trick says:

    ummmm….if you find another wallet, its mine. Don’t look at the picture to check. Just make sure it has lots of money and send it back, please!

  36. Thérèse says:

    You know, if you just think about that for a second, it sounds almost creepy.
    A man and a woman come in sight. The woman takes a step back, then the strange man approaches you. Knows your name. Knows your address. And he’s reaching for…
    You know, if a person were more suspcious, a person might be very nervous right up til that moment.

  37. msmachine says:

    Sounds like while making her day one to remember, you have also done the same for yourself. It feels great to do something for another person. Nice to know there are still honest and helpful people out there.

  38. Stephanie says:

    Thank goodness she didn’t call the cops on ya! Ha! It’s good that there are awesome people like you!

  39. Wow! What are the odds?!? I bet Cynthia has been telling that story all over the place. 🙂 Go Egan!!
    Do you think she’ll find the homing device you planted in her wallet?

  40. egan says:

    Fitèna – yes, I remember that kind of stuff too. Getting something back you thought you lost (or didn’t know you lost) is always nice. Do you work for the Coast Guard?
    JenniferNYC – hey, welcome to my blog. Thanks for the kind words about my blog and my writing. So you’re a triathlete as well? Oh, the marathon in the Ironman isn’t truly a marathon. They say most athletes walk at least a quarter of it, if not 50% of it. I’m drinking tons of water as the countdown to race day approaches.
    Thanks for stopping by. Oh, I have a separate triathlon blog if you want to read more about that stuff.
    Trick – I need your address and Belbin’s phone number before I do that.
    TayRez – it was the middle of the day during a very festive Seattle weekend. She was waiting with two friends for the bus and I was with my wife. I clearly had no bad intentions. Monkeys are gentle.
    MsMachine – I did what I would want anyone to do with my own wallet. Karma points are needed right now. I’m building them up for that little triathlon of mine.
    StephanieCHI – there’s no way she would have called the cops, I’m docile. Thanks for the vote of confidence. You would have done the same thing I bet.
    Candace – are you calling me Jack Bauer? Good thing I was with my wife and had my wedding ring on or else she would have jumped my bones. Ha!

  41. I would never call anyone that.

  42. egan says:

    Candace – I beg to differ. I’ve heard you, on more than one ocassion, call your goldfish Jack Bauer. You need to stop lying.

  43. celeste says:

    That’s a nice story. We need more nice stories in our lives 🙂

  44. egan says:

    Celeste – I do aim to please, despite my outward appearance.

  45. Cheryl says:

    Wow. I was holding my breath there for a while. I am glad she made it out. I hope she’s doing ok now. I wish we didn’t all have stories of that day.

  46. egan says:

    Cheryl – I couldn’t agree more. I’m guessing you’re referring to my post about my father-in-law’s wife on September 11th.

Leave a Reply

