Our Clean Little Secret

BeforeshotBEFORE: here’s a lovely shot of our backyard about six weeks ago.  Then it was referred to as "our dirty little secret".  We inherited a barren yard that eventually was overtaken by weeds.  the previous owner covered up the yard with giant tarps to kill off all vegetation.  She didn’t want the hassle of yard upkeep.  I mowed the weeds over once last year and couldn’t keep up this year.  Our backyard was completely useless.  I only ventured out there to take out the trash, recycling, and to water our vegetable garden.  I think the smurfs called it home for awhile… I know pigeons and neighborhood kitties loved it.

AftershotAFTER: the final product is complete.  Damn does it ever look good.  I can’t believe this is our backyard.  My wife and I keep going out on the deck and stating "is this our backyard?".  We are so excited to be able to hang out in our yard and enjoy the weather, grill, have friends over, and kick the smurfs out.  This is our yard.  We still have a couple finishing touches, but for the most part it’s done.  Sprinkler system was added, exterior lighting, new sod, new trees, new plants, new deck, and a bank account drained.  Hell, it was worth it though.  Next up, purchase of a shed to house all our outdoor gear (lawnmowers, edgers, tools, skis, magazines) instead of using the garage.  Our MINI Cooper barely fits in our tiny garage so you can imagine how packed it must be.  Yippee!  We have a yard! 

—————

IRONMAN trivia #8/25:  they call it the Ironman because you have to be a fool to sign up for something like this.  Therefore your head is devoid of any rational thoughts.  And you pay The Man approximately $500 as a registration fee.  That doesn’t include gear, travel, food, face paint, smelly markers, bag balm, chaffing cream, massages, etc. 

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Housecapades. Bookmark the permalink.

85 Responses to Our Clean Little Secret

  1. Katy says:

    Hey that’s great! What are those trees doing so close to the fence?? 😉

  2. egan says:

    Katy – they aren’t as close as you may think. The trees won’t get too large. You’re a silly tree person aren’t you?

  3. L says:

    Nice! This looks so great! Do you have a gas mower or a push mower?

  4. egan says:

    L – I’m not sure I want to answer that question. Okay fine, I will answer it. I’m a shithead and have a gas mower, but only mow early in the morning or later in the evening. I’m entertaining the idea of buying an electric mower because I’m a friend of the environment and gas mowers aren’t. Thanks for the nice words.

  5. Dobermann says:

    Congratulations, you have one beautifull backyard there! It looks awesome, you should be proud of it. I’m sure that even our dogs would love it. 😉

  6. Phats says:

    Wow impressive it looks really good egan.
    I hate to mow I want to turn my whole yard back, front, side into cement haha! i actually don’t even mow this year I paid kids from school to do it. What can I say I am lazy

  7. egan says:

    Dobermann – no dogs allowed. I will personally take any dog crap that ends up in my yard and plant it on the owner’s front porch. Did I mention that I don’t like pets? Ha! Yes, we’re very proud of the deck. Thanks buddy.
    Phats – thanks, we love it. I actually love mowing, but that’s because I rode around with my dad in our truck as an early teen and mowed lawns all over the city.

  8. party girl says:

    Ohmygosh!
    It doesn’t even look like the same yard! I am so jealous. Now, get in your pj’s a do some gardening.

  9. egan says:

    Party Girl – you can bet I will do some weeding in my pajamas. I will casually stroll out on the deck and then yank weeds, forgetting I’m wearing my Pac-Man pajamas. Thankfully I don’t have any cleavage for the neighbors to gawk at, but I do own a sun dress. I know, it doesn’t feel like our backyard. It’s a bit freaky right now.

  10. Phats says:

    well then you want to mow my yard? If you’ll charge me cheaper then 20$ job is all yours my friend
    Nuttina sends her love btw

  11. egan says:

    Phats – $20 to mow your yard? You’re a cheap bastard aren’t you? Don’t answer that. Nutella sends her love? Grope her for me.

  12. sprizee says:

    Pretty! I want one!

  13. L says:

    How about a good old fashioned push mower? I used to have a Brill. It was green and orange and shiny. I liked it.

  14. Phats says:

    hey 20$ is good! but yes I am a cheap bastard 🙂

  15. Burr-ee-toe says:

    Wow… that looks great!!! Are you sure you weren’t on one of those home makeover shows on TLC??

  16. Sleepydog says:

    Looks great. Our yard wasn’t bad when we bought our home, but was fairly empty. We spruced it up with bushes and flowers adn shit, and we felt such a sense of accomplishment.
    PS: Found your blog via BV & Brooke’s….good stuff.

  17. Well, it looks GREAT! And, just so you know what it feels like to have my mother for your mother…”You better keep it looking that way!” Said in a naggish tone that sucks the life out of all around it.
    Seriously, congratulations!

  18. Phats says:

    haha burr he is really ty pennington on home makeover!

  19. egan says:

    Sprizee – you want a backyard or a smurf?
    L – let’s not think about the things you used to have, deal? Okay, push mowers are great for smallish mowing jobs. It’s not so good for our new backyard. I can’t wait to edge the lawn. I’m awesome at that sort of thing.
    Phats – $20 is good? How long does it take the kids to mow your lawn?
    Burr-ee-toe – I don’t recall anyone with a megaphone stepping foot on our property. I love Ty!

  20. egan says:

    Phats – I’ve toyed with becoming the next Ty Pennington. I do a mean Ty imitation, but it only takes a megaphone and spikey hair to mock him.

  21. msmachine says:

    Wow! I love the before and after photos. It has come a long way and it is beautiful. Last night I spent 2 hours in my postage stamp sized yard just pulling out weeds. I would love to have some professionals help! By the way, I use a push mower.

  22. egan says:

    MsMachine – yah, our yard was past the point of no return. I’m pretty good with yardwork… I just keep going and going and going, but the backyard was out of control. You like your new place? Push mowers are great, I mean that. I borrowed our neighbor’s a few months ago and it did the trick perfectly.

  23. Wow! You Launched an all-out assault on that piece of dirt! What an amazing difference. Now you’ll just have to perform a de-Gnoming and you’ll be good to go!
    BTW, I saw the smoke from your burning weed pile from here.

  24. Phats says:

    Well I know where you can get a megaphone!
    not very long there are 2 of them that do it. they also trim the bushes.

  25. egan says:

    Sleepydog – crap, I almost missed your kind comment. I must have been overwhelmed with something work wise and overlooked it. Anyways, welcome to my blog. Brooke and BV are great bloggers (and peeps) so you’re in good hands. Working in the yard is so great if you ask me. It’s a great way to leave daily stresses behind and you get a huge sense of accomplishment. I love removing dead plant matter, that’s my specialty. Thanks for stopping by.
    Blonde Vigilante – geez, I nearly missed your comment too. I know, it’s going to be tough to keep the lawn edges looking that nice because I’m crappy at edging the lawn. We should be able to keep it green with our sprinkler system. Let’s home the moles stay away. I don’t want to have to get medieval on their asses.

  26. egan says:

    Candace – nice try, we didn’t burn shit in our yard. That’s your racket chica. I bet you know smoke signals and the other associated crap that accompanies fires. Remember, it’s Smokey Bear and not Smokey the Bear. Only you can prevent forest fires!
    Phats – you said “trim the bushes”. Ha! Megaphones are a lifeguard’s best friend.

  27. It is? There’s no “the” in Smokey the Bear? Seriously?? I feel my world beginning to crumble around me. What other delusions have I been operating under all these years?
    I didn’t think you burnt shit, cuz that would smell pretty bad. (I imagine)

  28. Phats says:

    Megaphone’s are a cheerleaders best friend!
    HAHA i know i immediately thought of that after I wrote it haha

  29. egan says:

    Candace – here’s another one for you. It’s Fozzy Bear and not Fozzy the Bear. I hope this improves your day. I avoid burning shit because it belongs in the toilet and stuff. I don’t enjoy pooping in the woods because I’m not good at hovering.
    Phats – yes, think before you type yo! Oh yeah, you were a cheerleader. Have you seen Bring it On II? It looks damn good. I know that song about toros in the atmosphere, yep… I’m that hip.

  30. Phats says:

    I have seen bring it on, but none of the sequels.
    yeah not many squads do that cheer though, especially college squads! haha

  31. egan says:

    Phats – there’s a difference between high school and college cheer teams? ESPN 2 loves the cheerleading competitions. There must be some toros in the atmosphere.

  32. celeste says:

    Gorgeous! I can’t wait to have a backyard of my own 🙂

  33. egan says:

    Celeste – you’re working on that aren’t you? Saving your loonies and twonies for a decent down payment?

  34. NMOTB says:

    Wow, that is some transformation!!!! Like the new blog!

  35. egan says:

    NMOTB – welcome to my blog. I’m guessing you found your way here via Phats’ blog. He’s a crazy unregistered voter. Yes, the backyard went through a major renovation and looks so much better. It’s actually useful. Thanks for stopping by. Oh, I haven’t used the Blogger blog in over 15 months. I kicked Google to the curb because they don’t put out.

  36. Randa says:

    Egan, it looks GORGEOUS. Is that the first spot you hit when you get home? Grab a Mojito, sit on the deck, and survey your backyard domain?
    Have you and the Wife ‘christened’ the deck in the moonlight yet?

  37. egan says:

    Randa – damn you and your questions! Very funny young lady, very funny. You think I’m going to answer that question on my blog? Ha! You should know better. MoGeeTohs rock! We’re definitely in love with deck, but I think that’s a bad thing since its inanimate and stuff. Morning wood.

  38. Randa says:

    ‘Morning wood’. I’m not dumb; I get it. So you get it on in the porch in the a.m. Sneaky bugger. Stud. SPEEDO Stud.

  39. Phats says:

    a big difference. Most HS teams don’t require tumbling to make it, some do. College pretty much all require at least a standing backtuck
    See I am great advertisement for egan’s blog! all my peeps are coming by to see you

  40. logo™ says:

    You are a good samaritan with a righteous backyard! That looks incredible, I have yard lust.
    I can completely understand why you are so pleased, Egan, that is so awesome.

  41. Stephanie says:

    Egan! It looks SO good!! You should definitely throw a celebratory bash to christen it. I’m imagining tiki torches and margaritas. Want me to bring the guac?

  42. Stephanie says:

    And Amen to google not putting out. C’mon, I know it’s free, but shouldn’t it be easy then as well?

  43. Stephanie says:

    And your and phat’s man love is starting to become more obvious!
    Ok, 3 comments in a row, boo-yah!

  44. *pixie* says:

    Holy Cow! That doesn’t even look like the same yard. Gorgeous.

  45. egan says:

    Randa – it’s so hard to slip one by you. Always bringing your A game.
    Phats – who are these peeps you’re talking about? Oh, I just got back from Sears and it turns out there’s a Ty Pennington line of furniture. Perfect.
    Logo™ – I swear you sent me the same message via Instant Message. Did you copy/paste me? How dare you! Thanks, we love the yard. It’s the bomb as they. Can I borrow your riding mower?
    StephanieCHI – I love guac, please do. Avoid overripe avocados. Thanks.
    StephanieShowdeen – Google can blow me. Their products are less than desirable for the most part. What product of theirs is NOT in “beta”?
    StephanieMusic – Phats wants me to boost him up over my head as a show of cheerleading solidarity.
    DJ Steph – I just did yo! So bring it. I was out running errands. Sorry for the delay.
    *Pixie* – isn’t that the truth? I’m hopeful our updates will entice the San Diego Chicken to take up residence in our splendid backyard.

  46. Phats says:

    haha oh brother. People mock cheerleaders until they realize all the perks!
    Whatever will I do when summer break ends and I have to go back to work.

  47. egan says:

    Phats – what exactly is “work” again for you? Please tell me you don’t own a pair of pom poms.

  48. phats says:

    Negative on the poms
    I am a High School teacher. teaching history classes, as well as coaching Girls Varsity Tennis in the spring and the Girls Basketball Cheerleading Squad

  49. Stephanie says:

    B-A-N-A-N-A-S
    It’s been stuck in my head all day, I had to, I’m sorry.
    It’s ok about the “delay”, I mean, I did post all of them in the span of like…5 minutes.
    Maybe at your blogger party that you are going to throw in your backyard, you and phats can finally cheer together. Aaaah, the pictures that could be….

  50. phats says:

    HELL FRICKEN YA!
    I will teach you how to tumble! how about that man I can’t wait.
    Also Kristen and I agreed to name our first two kids Egan and Steph

  51. kris says:

    Holy cannoli that’s good looking. That’s like a real grown-up person’s yard. That yard belongs to people who make their own sun tea and have at least five years of couples’ Christmas ornaments together.
    Fogies.

  52. Stephanie says:

    Phats – Hi! That’s a good idea about your children’s names. That way, they will grow up to be super uber cool, just like Egan and myself.

  53. Phats says:

    Steph true that, true that! their middle names are going to be Phats, and Nuts.
    Where the hell is Egan

  54. Stephanie says:

    Phats Nuts.
    Sorry, but that’s just wrong. 🙂
    He’s stalking me right now. He keeps a very tight schedule.

  55. Phats says:

    He looks like a stalker, close your curtains! Unless you like it? Hey he can speak french too haha

  56. Stephanie says:

    oui oui. I love it!
    ha!

  57. Phats says:

    haha hmmm I wonder if he is watching SYTYCD??

  58. Stephanie says:

    OR….is he AT SYTYCD???
    Truth revealed!!

  59. Phats says:

    OMG! he met cat and ran off with her, or maybe mary murphy, or hmm maybe Benji? HAHA! 🙂
    Egan who is going to win!?

  60. Stephanie says:

    Egan, Phats and I want to have a badmitton tournament at your BBQ.

  61. Phats says:

    Oh yeah! and after that we totally are doing DDR! Steph don’t forget it

  62. Janet says:

    The yard is amazing. If I had a backyard like that, I would never be in my house! It’s fantastic!
    And today’s IRONMAN trivia was very amusing.

  63. Stephanie says:

    Phats and I are putting our taking over your blog on hold until tomorrow.
    Night Phats!

  64. Phats says:

    Steph I had a great convo here with you til Miss Jackson if you’re nasty ruined it HAHA! 🙂
    Night Egan see ya tomorrow friend

  65. Phats says:

    Night Steph! 🙂 better?

  66. egan says:

    Phats – glad to see some you have, you & Stephanie, decided to use my blog as a chat room. You kids are silly. Phats, get this… I was at a soccer match tonight between DC United and Real Madrid. I’m sure that just warms your heart. Okay, I know your profession now Phats and I’m taking notes. You aren’t really going to name your kid Egan. It’s a foolish name I tell you. What the hell is SYTYCD?
    Stephanie – Phats is only invited to the party if he brings pom poms and sings that Toro song or the b-a-n-a-n-a-s song. Just try and take my blog over on company time, I dare you.
    Kris – that’s the biggest compliment ever. As luck would have it, we’re likely going to spend our first Christmas at home in over four years. Usually we travel to NYC, Florida, or Chicago. This time we decided to stay home. Fogies? I’m youthful at heart though.
    Janet – that’s how we both feel. Better yet, I can blog from the deck with the wifi so all is good. Now we need some inexpensive patio furniture. Glad you liked the Ironman trivia. I think I need to be humorous about it since the tone of the previous ones was a bit too serious.

  67. ChickyBabe says:

    Looking good! Pixie will be impressed.
    This is like those lifestyle renovation shows. Do you have them in the states? They’re so popular here!

  68. Dobermann says:

    Hey, even though I’m fog guy, no dog shit on my yard either. They know it and even at my dad’s cabin, they run into the forest when ever they need to take a dump or take a leak. Dead simple, if I’m not going to shit on the yard, nobody is going to do it. 😉

  69. Dobermann says:

    Uhm, bad typo.. I meand a DOG guy.. Sorry, I’m such an ass..

  70. Curare_Z says:

    Your backyard looks BEAUTIFUL…and gives me hope. Me and the Antidote are in the middle of getting the weeds in our new back yard razed to the ground. I considered Agent Orange until I realized it would probably not be good for our dog…. 🙂

  71. egan says:

    Ramblingmuse – thanks, we are pretty excited about the new yard. Toga party here we come.
    ChickyBabe – yes, those same shows are very popular here. Typically those shows do the transformation on a shoestring budget, we weren’t so fortunate. I believe you get what you pay for though. Give Pixie my best.
    Dobermann – dogs are alright. Poop, not my favorite thing, belongs in the owner’s yard or in a plastic baggy. Ruff ruff. You’re such an ass, kidding.
    Curare_Z – if you can stay away from chemicals, your neighbors, city, future plants, and anything else living… will really appreciate it. I know the Agent Orange thing was a joke, but many do resort to chemicals to kill off weeds. Just be safe. Oh, thanks for the kind words. You and Antidote can have a beautiful piece of land.

  72. peek317537 says:

    That looks AWESOME! You must be so happy with the outcome. Enjoy your new yard.

  73. egan says:

    Peek – the weeds are gone from the backyard now so therefore we’re very happy. Up next, the front yard. It’s more manageable though. By the way, what does 317537 represent?

  74. Phats says:

    Aren’t steph and I cute?
    Yes I can manage bringing poms, if you let me invite my gf we can stunt for everyone. Now wouldn’t that be just too cool.
    You don’t know what SYTYCD is?! By the way Bring it on Again was on last night hahaha!

  75. egan says:

    Phats – I say hello, give me a T, give me an O, give me a R, give me an O, give me an S. What’s that spell? Toros! Go Toros! Push them back push them back, way back! You may be my lucky star, but I’m the luckiest by far. Star light, star bright!

  76. Phats says:

    OH MY GOD! that’s hysterical!
    You forgot Hit em again, Hit em again Harder Harder! So what was your HS mascot?

  77. egan says:

    Phats – if I tell you my high school mascot you will laugh or break out in cheer.. I’m not sure which is preferred.

  78. peek317537 says:

    You would be surprised how many people ask that question. Write those numbers, in that order on a piece of paper and then turn the paper upside-down. What do you get? I’m a tricky one!

  79. egan says:

    Peek – I got it, thanks for the tip. I should pay attention to my comments better.
    -07734

  80. Kerry says:

    Awesome back yard! it looks great, Egan!!!

  81. Alissa says:

    Wow – it looks gorgeous! Great job Mr. & Mrs. Egan!

  82. egan says:

    Kerry – thank you very much. We can’t wait to get some patio furniture and relax. I may have to throw some apples at our annoying neighbor behind us though.
    Alissa – thank you. We didn’t do any of the work, but we did pay for it with our checkbooks. It’s so nice to have the space to use. Congrats to you on the engagement.

Leave a Reply

