Bouncing Baby Spurlock

Babies, babies, and more babies.  They are everywhere.  It’s a good thing I like kids because it seems we’re in a bit of a baby boom. 

Something’s wrong ’cause my mind is fading

And everywhere I look there’s a baby grinning

Temperature’s dropping at the stinkin’ change table

Stealing kisses from the neighbor’s faces

Okay that’s enough of the Beck stuff.  I’m overwhelmed by the amount of friends, family, and acquaintances having kids.  My wife plastered a list 12-13 names long on the side of our refrigerator with the names and expected due dates.  I’m very thankful my mother-in-law can make quilts fast.  We get a box of baby quilts from her each month to send to the newborns.  Lucky kids!

——-

I have to throw this out there.  If you don’t watch the tv show 30 Days on FX, you should.  Mr. Morgan Spurlock was the genius behind the great documentary Super Size Me.  Morgan throws himself and others out there for the greater good.  In the episode I watched last night he spent 30 days in a Virginia penitentiary to learn more about life behind bars.  I’ve seen other episodes where a pro-choice woman lives with pro-life family.  You can see where this is going.  Very thought provoking subject matter and worth everyone’s time.  TV isn’t all trash when you can watch this kind of show.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Current Affairs, Television. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Bouncing Baby Spurlock

  1. Phats says:

    ahh the great baby boom. I spent my vacation with 3 kids all 3 and under and discovered I am never having kids, NEVER
    Hmm I might have to watch this show. thanks egan

  2. egan says:

    Phats – kids are fun, but I just can’t believe how many there are. Three years ago there was a similar boom so I guess most of our friends have moved on to baby number two. You really should check out 30 Days as it does a good job showing both sides of rather controversial topics.

  3. Phats says:

    I have to know where you went to college now! haha

  4. egan says:

    Phats – I will give you three guesses and that’s it.

  5. Phats says:

    three guesses! do I get any hints?

  6. egan says:

    Phats – you get zero hints. It shouldn’t be too hard to figure out based on where I live.

  7. Phats says:

    A washington Huskie?

  8. egan says:

    Phats – see how smart you are. One guess and you figured it out. It’s Husky, not huskie though. The plural is spelled huskies so you’re close. You suppose there are any huskies in Connecticut?

  9. Phats says:

    Just the womens basketball team 😉
    We played UW in the rose bowl my senior year. Got to know some of their cheerleaders, when we did parades at disney, and pep sessions.
    Added UW to my predictions! haha

  10. L says:

    AWAH! I don’t have cable, so no FX for me. I’ll have to schlep over to someone’s house who DOES have it and be all parasite-like to get my fix.

  11. Pants says:

    I’m experiencing a similar baby boom. Do you think it’s our age?
    My lil’ sister had a baby girl this week! I say little, but my sister is an adult. I can’t wait to meet our new addition. She’s damn cute.

  12. msmachine says:

    I have a couple of hundred channels (slight exageration) and I don’t think FX is one of them. Damn. I liked that movie and it sounds like the kind of show I would really get into.
    And babies are great. I only had one and wish I had 3 or four more. The only thing to remember is that they all become teenagers! I need to find some friends who are just having babies so that I can enjoy the holding and cuddling.

  13. egan says:

    Phats – that year was probably the last year the UW went to the Rose Bowl. We will get back, but those damn sanctions really hurt the football program in the mid to late 90’s. Our women did win the volleyball national title last season against Nebraska.
    L – the first season is now available on dvd. Add it to your Netflix queue or something.
    Pants – sure, I think our age is definitely of the baby making stage. I’m sure all the kids will turn out to be angels. “Aunt Pants, hold me!
    MsMachine – wander down to your local movie store and rent the first season. You will like it. I think the topics covered in season 2 are much better though. Perhaps you could attend a cuddle party?

  14. Thanks for the tip, Egan – I’m definitely going to check out that show!

  15. sprizee says:

    I saw an episode of that show once. They lived on minimium wage for 30 days and…shockingly! they couldn’t really afford anything like luxurious like healthcare or rent. Food was about all they could cover…sometimes not even that. Morgan rules!

  16. egan says:

    Evil Genius – you really should check out the show. It’s very good and really does get you to think. Not many shows have that ability on tv.
    Sprizee – yes, that was part of season one. They’ve had great topics every episode. I loved the one with a Minuteman border dude who lived with a Mexican immigrant family in south central LA for 30 days. It was cozy in their one room apartment, but it did seem to change some minds.

  17. L says:

    I like the word “queue”. It’s so continental.

  18. celeste says:

    ahh yes my friends are starting to get into the baby making phase too

  19. egan says:

    L – I figured you would like that word choice and that’s precisely why I used it. Now what were we talking about again?
    Celeste – yep, babies are everywhere. Do you have a mother that likes to make baby quilts? If you don’t, I suggest you teach her or outsource somebody.

  20. logo™ says:

    I will wait for the whole first season to come out on disc. I am currently working my way through the first season of House, no commercials, SCORE!

  21. Candy says:

    your comment counts are low lately.
    I suggest a new contest where the winner never gets an ipod sock of any specified color (since apparently the purple one actually got sent away awhile ago, I can’t say purple and don’t know what colors you have left).
    Guaranteed to double your comments, or triple your money back. Don’t forget you paid nothing.

  22. egan says:

    Logo – no commercials is a nice way to go. You get the same sort of thing when using TiVo.
    Candy – thanks for pointing out the low comment count. There are a variety of reason for the lower comment count, but I’m not feeling like specifying why. I still have the light blue and gray iPod socks let. The purple one is gone, but who knows if it was ever received. TayRez says she got it, but I never saw proof like she promised. I guess I need to send her shoes for the sock. What’s new with you?

  23. Pants says:

    I am the “favorite” aunt!
    While in WA I decided I want to start quilting. S’s mother taught her and she will teach me!

  24. L says:

    I also like the word “kumquat”.

  25. Burr-ee-toe says:

    When are you going to have babies, huh? huh??

  26. Pants says:

    I just want you to know that I didn’t smack Burr-ee-toe on the ass…but I did grab my other girlfriend’s ass when she was in front of my on escalator. She didn’t find it nearly as amusing as I did.

  27. Candy says:

    well, several of my cells are new every day.
    I’ve really sucked at updating for awhile, but I’ll do one soon. Basically I’m back at school and trying to take 24 credits. I am bursting with joy and, of course, free time.
    And I’m glad there aren’t a lot of babies here! Cute, yes, but not necessarily good for college girls to have.

  28. egan says:

    Pants – people love quilts and they make wonderful gifts. Quitling is all the rage these days.
    L – why do you like the name of that fruit? Is it because it sounds like a naughty word?
    Burr-ee-toe – ha, you’re very funny. Good thing I know you’re kidding.
    Pants – glad you reported back, but you didn’t follow my very strict rules to spank Burreetoe. I won’t hold it against you though since you did go to SFMOMA and take picutre of the fountains across the street.
    Candy – you and your talk about new cells makes me so hot. Can we talk about hydras or euglenas too? Oh how I love that stuff. You do sound very busy. Keep up the good work et bon courage avec les enfants.

  29. mone says:

    My sister says all the time, its nice to have your kids for a while, but its also nice to bring them back, haha. I wonder if she ever wants to have kids, she is 35 now. So I dont think its the age thing…

  30. Snavy says:

    I’ve only ever seen 1 episode of 30 Days and I was not impressed. However, the premise is interesting. I never saw Super Size Me either.
    I’m good at those baby guessing games. I even knew the day my 1st child would be born the day I found out I was pregnant. Freaked the hell out of some poeple when I was right. I had a feeling about the twins but was off by 3 days.

  31. Eunice says:

    I don’t know if I can watch it though. I felt like Super Size Me was tainted, even though it made an excellent point.

  32. egan says:

    Mone – that’s the best thing about being an uncle, never really have to put the kids to bed. It’s fun to entertain the kids and then split. I did change my fair share of diapers when I was younger.
    Snavy – wow, you have some wicked ESP. I’m very impressed by your mad birth guessing skills. Do you own a crystal ball? Yes, I understand 30 Days isn’t for everyone, but I like how it challenges the viewers.
    Eunice – tainted? What do you mean? Like he didn’t present a fair story? We’ll have to chat about this Eunice.

  33. Eunice says:

    He presented a fair story, and as any good documentary goes, hit us hard in the gut with the truth. I believe in the story he presented, wholeheartedly.
    However, he went from a 100% vegan diet to eating Mickey D’s every meal for thirty days. Tell me that some of his issues weren’t attributed to his body just being in complete shock from not eating what he’s used to. I remember when I quit fast food cold turkey (yes, I say it like it’s an addiction, because I believe that to be a partial truth), and having a Sausage McMuffin four months later, I wanted to puke, it hurt my stomach so bad.
    I think that if he was just an average Joe and did that, he would still have gotten the most of the results that he did, but not to that extreme.

  34. egan says:

    Eunice – that’s fair enough and I even thought the same thing. I think his point was to show how bad it can be over an entire lifetime, not just 30 days. He sped up the timeframe because the American public has the attention span of a gnat. Sure he ate there more than normal over those 30 days, but it proved the point how truly awful that type of food can be if consumed regularly. He did eat meat before his experiment. His girlfriend is a vegan though so he probably consumes less than your typical male his age. Anyways, it was compelling.
    I think McDonald’s has done a good job trying to change perceptions. Unlike Burger King and others that boast 3 hamburger patty options.

Leave a Reply

