Election Day Fools

Yes, it’s Election Day.  The best part about election day isn’t that we get to vote, it means the end of annoying tv, radio, and newspaper political ads.  Those suckers are truly too much to stomach.  I can’t tell you how thankful I am we have TiVo during the past month.  I would purposely watch national tv stations such as ESPN or E! to avoid local political ads or skip all the ads using TiVo.

However, I’m thrilled to vote and actually look forward to elections.  It’s a great way to get involved and feel like a part of the solution or process.  I know some may disagree with me about the solution bit.  They say a good election turnout is around 50-60% of registered voters.  How is that good?  I know I have a decent readership on this blog so I must pose this question and refrain from passing as much judgement as possible.  To those of  you who do not vote (or don’t plan on voting today), can you please tell me why?  I honestly want to figure out why turnout numbers in this country are so low.

Is it because you just relocated?  Maybe you didn’t mail in your absentee ballot?  Is it a fear of jury duty?  Perhaps you feel disenfranchised with the whole process?  Is the two party system not to your liking?  Maybe you don’t know the issues and figure it’s not worth your time to vote?   

Whatever the reason, I want to hear it.  Like I said, I will do my best to not pass judgement.  I may have some questions for you, but I want to remain as objective about this topic as possible.  So hit me with your best shot. 

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Egan Wants to Know, Opinionated. Bookmark the permalink.

80 Responses to Election Day Fools

  1. egan says:

    Tall Chick – really?
    Candace – did you really vote or not? Don’t mess with me.

  2. Of COURSE I voted. I’m wearing my sticker right now. I voted on the way to teach little kid class and brought my 4 uniformed children with me. We were quite a spectacle, though I, myself opted to change into my own uniform after we got to the gym.
    But I didn’t really vote twice. Well, I marked a bunch of ovals, but I only took one ballot.

  3. Tall Chick says:

    Sadly, my vote is probably pretty useless, but it’s worth a try.

  4. Tall Chick says:

    695 words in case you’re interested. And even if you’re not.

  5. egan says:

    Candace – good for you. I think it’s great you brought the kids along. It’s a nice lesson for them to see the process in action. Did it remind you of college?
    Tall Chick – it’s not useless at all. Every single vote matters so I’m pleased you made your way to the poll. (damn, I’m not so good at this non-judgemental shit)

  6. egan says:

    Candace – wow, you’re plugging away with your story.

  7. Tall Chick says:

    I like to show them how it works, so it’s not scary the first time they do it. Plus it’s good talking fodder – who believes what and why.
    College? No. There weren’t any drunk frat boys or loud sorority girls behind me, I wasn’t taking notes, and air wasn’t so humid that it was like trying to breathe through a wet dog. There was no super-busty psych prof nor mind-numblingly boring Mass Comm prof, nor was I pinching my arms trying to stay awake. THAT would have reminded me of college.
    You said plugging. I told you. It’s not THAT kind of story for once.
    I’m not going to judge you about judgementality.

  8. egan says:

    Tall Chick – once again, I like your approach to bringing the kids to the polls. Good job. Your college experience sounds quite memorable. Now about this plugging thing… did you just try to derail the topic of this post?

  9. JohnnyDC says:

    Ego, you stole my blog theme.
    Now you owe me a boston kreme.
    Or Seattle kreme.
    I like all kinds a donuts.

  10. egan says:

    Johnny DC – I stole your theme? I haven’t seen your blog today so I will pay it a visit now. Donuts are in the mail.

  11. anita says:

    I vote, in case you needed another reason to think I rock – which I suspect you didn’t.
    P.S. Don’t check my blog; it’s still the Diedrich Bader post.

  12. Tall Chick says:

    You stole mine, too, even though I have yet to write it. Damn you. Now I’ll have to do something else. I would like a Krispy Kreme please.
    College was. . . long. But not a bad thing overall.
    Plugging? Derail? Are we talking about electric trains? Ohh. THAT kind of trains. Is your mind ALWAYS in the gutter?

  13. egan says:

    Anita – it’s too late, I already checked your blog and left a comment. It’s like a virtual reacharound. Voting is what all the cool kids do.
    Tall Chick – I stole your blog post idea? I can’t be the only blogger in the blogosphere to chat about the importance of voting. College was totally wicked. I enjoyed it very much. My mind is hardly ever in the gutter.

  14. Tall Chick says:

    I’m sorry to hear that.

  15. egan says:

    Tall Chick – you’re not sorry at all. You’re laughing at me while burning shit in your backyard. I bet you have a Monkey Boy effigy too.

  16. Tall Chick says:

    “I am NOT A MONSTER!!! “(The Elephant Man?)
    1,086 words. Woo hoo!

  17. Margaret says:

    I voted, and knew who several of the candidates were

  18. egan says:

    Tall Chick – good job. Keep on keeping on.
    Margaret – thanks for voting. It is very tough to know all the candidates. I do my best to get as informed as possible, but a few caught me by surprise this time. I didn’t even know our city had a city council spot up for grabs.

  19. Curare_Z says:

    I’ll vote on my way home from work…especially important this year because VA is a “swing state.” And that DOESN’T mean we all put our keys in a glass bowl at the beginning of the voting line and then just “take out a pair” when we leave. 🙂

  20. egan says:

    Curare_Z – that would be a good idea to get more voters to the polls though. I’ve spotted some very cute women at election rallies.

  21. the husband is voting on the way home. the ballot place is within 3 miles of my hizzle and I am going when he gets home. It will be my 20 min repreieve from the chillin!
    YIKES!

  22. egan says:

    Stevie Wonder – we need to work on your relaxation techniques. Maybe we can get you in a sound studio soon instead.

  23. Burr-ee-toe says:

    Okay, I’m going to vote after work, but I have no idea what to vote for me. I’m in so cal. Can someone just tell me what to vote for? Please???

  24. egan says:

    Burr-ee-toe – I’m thrilled you’re voting, but we need to get you up to speed prior to election day. I pulled this link off the SF Gate’s website. I’m not sure if you tend to be left leaning or not, but that’s how I roll. The most important thing is to vote.

  25. Amanda says:

    Hey. You stole my blog subject. Seriously I was going to write why I was so happy today was election day. Oh well Ill just type it here – I am so glad to not have to watch/hear/see these ridiculous political ads for at least 2 years.
    Oh, and I WILL be voting. There are some pretty important stuff going on in NE.

  26. Amanda says:

    And apparently knowing my grammar isn’t important. Shit.

  27. Jennifer says:

    All your readers seem to be fine upstanding citizens. I’m still interested in the response to your question from those who prefer not to participate, though. It’s always been curious to me why only 40% or less of the registered actually come out to play on the day.

  28. egan says:

    Amanda – and this is why TiVo will become an even larger hit. I can’t imagine how bad it will be in 2008. Good, get out there and vote your heart out!
    Amanda – you made a grammar mistake? Oh, NE = Nebraska. Noted.
    Jennifer – I know, I’m bummed nobody has owned up to not voting. I guess I’m not only talking about this year, but in the past. I know someone that brags about not voting. It was so appalling to me.

  29. kayla says:

    I voted, although there were a couple of positions on the ballot where it was a toss up, and I didn’t vote for either.
    And I can’t believe that photo is really Dale Chihuly!
    I saw a huge exhibit of his at the Oklahoma City Museum of Art.
    Never knew he wore a patch for pete’s sake.

  30. egan says:

    Kayla – hey, better to cast some votes than none at all. It’s tough to be educated on every single ballot measure, candidate, proposition, etc. At least you made the effort and that’s what truly counts.
    Yes, Dale Chihuly wears an eye patch and has for quite some time. He’s not really a looker, but his art is fantastic.

  31. L says:

    I rocked the vote! With my 39 cent stamp.

  32. egan says:

    L – how many? If I’m not mistaken it required two stamps. You might have to rock the vote with an additional thirty-nine cents.

  33. snavy says:

    I voted. So far many people agreed with me – I like that.
    My sister didn’t vote – that kind of annoyed me – especially since she’s a teacher and their were huge educational issues concerned.
    We discovered today that one of the twins is a republican and the other a democrat – so much for identical.

  34. Tall Chick says:

    Did YOU vote, Egan?

  35. egan says:

    Snavy – don’t even get me started about teachers not voting.
    Tall Chick – I voted more than 13 hours ago. You’d be proud.

  36. Cindra says:

    I voted. And by the way lil’ bro…great post!

  37. egan says:

    Cindra – do all bloggers that read my blog vote regularly? I wish that were the case, but I hardly believe it. Maybe those with blogs tend to vote more than others. I owe you an email.

  38. Tall Chick says:

    I am proud. Go Monkey Boy!

  39. Cindra says:

    Maybe they do…vote more, I mean…not bloggers necessarily, but your readers…could be.
    yup. you owe me one.
    And Candace never sent me an entry as promised!2.5 hours left

  40. Tall Chick says:

    Oh crap!
    OK, I think I have 8 mins. . . Off I go!

  41. Tall Chick says:

    Oh, we’re in diff time zones. Hallelujah, Jaffar!!

  42. Burr-ee-toe says:

    Which one is left and which one is right? I’m the opposite of whatever republicans are. I think its a cruel joke that the Governator gets to stay in office.

  43. logo™ says:

    I voted last week, mail-in ballot.
    I have missed one election since I turned 18 and it was a mid-term one, only local stuff on the ballot, still bummed me out that I missed it though, that was ages ago.
    Since I mail mine in the Things went to the polls today with their papa, Mr. Logo prefers the election day experience. We spent the morning talking about bicameral legislatures, the three branches of government, the electoral college and the signifigance of the Presidential veto. We also watched some Schoolhouse Rock.
    I’m just bill, yes I’m only a bill…

  44. Carrie says:

    In Oregon they send you your ballot with a postage paid return envelope, and a spot for signature verification. You sit at home, surf the web or read the pamphlet, and vote at your leisure. I love it.
    McCain is on right now. Not surprisingly, he looks a bit worried…
    It’s a new day!

  45. mez says:

    in oz you *have* to vote – you get a fine if you don’t actually. I feel very strongly that this is way to go – none of that ‘I don’t feel like voting today/am too busy’ bullshit. When I hear about how some citizen of the US (who pride themselves on liberating other countries so that they CAN vote) doesn’t vote it makes me mad. Your election affects the rest of the world! I wish *I* could vote in it!

  46. ChickyBabe says:

    Voting is compulsory in Australia. They issue fines if you don’t! Personally I can’t stand political campaigns and their publicity…

  47. van says:

    well I’m not allowed to vote but I make trips home to Canada when it’s election time for us. My roomate says she doesn’t vote because of the jury duty thing. I think that is lame and a disgrace for someone who has the benefit of living in a democratic (sort of) nation. People too easily get wrapped up in their own lives and forget to pitch in as a good citizen.

  48. Party Girl says:

    Good discussion and topic choice.
    I also like that you took your kids.
    There were a couple parents there with their children and I wondered if it was for educational purposes or because it was right next to the daycare so there wasn’t a choice in the matter.
    Good discussion on my blog also!! I do love a good discussion!

  49. Stephanie says:

    I voted!! I think it’s very important to vote. And to do more research on all the candidates running. So many times there is a candidates that you can completely agree with, they just happen not to be a Dem or a Rep!
    I was so excited when I was 18 to vote! I couldn’t wait. Mostly because I’m a nerd!

  50. snavy says:

    I just now got the title of your post.

  51. egan says:

    Tall Chick – I’m excited you’re proud of me. I aim to please you everyday. However I will not burn leaves for you. My love does know bounds.
    Cindra – I’m not sure the science of it all, but bloggers seem to be good at voting. My guess is because everywhere you looked yesterday, blogwise, there were reminders to vote.
    Tall Chick – 8 minutes and three hours. We are three hours behind Michigan out here on the West coast.
    Burr-ee-toe – the Governator won again. It’s amazing how he turned about his negative publicity and won. Tell me you were kidding about the Democrats vs. Republicans thing.
    Logo – it sounds like the absentee ballot thing works well for you. I’m impressed you’ve only missed one vote. That’s very good. I wish there were more people like you. Like Mr. Logo, I prefer going to the polls. Glad you’re getting the kids involved too.
    Carrie – I hear Oregon’s voter turnout was over 80% as a result of the new process. That’s a great success story. I’m glad they got things figured out there because the 2002 elections made Oregon look pretty bad. McCain, ah… he’s such a tool. I’m not falling for his tricks.
    Mez – thank you. Thank you very much for stating this. This is perhaps the number one reason people should vote. The U.S. is a superpower and our actions are very important throughout the international community. Yes, we say we’re liberating countries in the name of democracy and then we have a voter turnout of 50-60%?? Thanks for painting that picture for my readers. Voting is required in Australia?
    ChickyBabe – my head is still spinning about the mandatory voting stuff. I’m not sure how I feel about fining someone for not voting. It seems a bit over the top. Is it safe to assume you’re a disenfranchised voter? If you got more involved would that improve things?
    Van – yes, it has to suck to not be a citizen and living here. You pay our taxes, live with our rules, but can’t vote. Our neighbors are from Ireland and Australia and neither of them can vote. It must make it hard to give a rat’s ass about politics since you can’t vote.
    Yep, I’ve heard that “jury duty” excuse thing before. It’s very appalling when someone can’t be bothered to serve jury duty, a big part of the democracy process.
    Party Girl – I don’t have any kids (that I know of), but many readers did bring their kids with them to the polls. I think that’s a great way to expose them to the process of voting. Your post was fun to chat about and thanks again for the Keith YouTube video and I’m glad you did get out there and vote.
    Stephanie – awesome, I’m happy you voted. Yeah, it’s tough sometimes to get fully informed about candidates that aren’t in the two major parties. There’s nothing wrong with being a nerd.
    Snavy – maybe you can explain it to me then??

  52. jenny says:

    I voted (still depressed I didn’t get a sticker, though…), but I’ve heard speculations that the reason we have such low turnout in the US is that people don’t feel like their lives will be that dramatically different one way or another. It seems that low voter turnout is a symptom of a fairly stable government/economy – it’s the countries in huge turmoil that have 99% voter turnout.
    And because we’ve had the right to vote for as long as any of us can remember, sadly, I think a lot of people take it for granted.
    I definitely don’t share that viewpoint – I get a total sense of pride every single time I vote – but it’s a theory I’ve heard several times.

  53. egan says:

    Jenny – thanks for your contribution to this discussion. I’ve heard similar excuses for not voting. I do think you’re right about the taking it for granted thing. We’ve never not had the ability to vote after we turned 18.
    It’s too bad people feel that way. Imagine how the folks in Virginia that didn’t vote yesterday feel. In 2004 our governor race in Washington state was so close (300 votes or so) that it completely makes a difference. We will get them motivated to vote again. It’s so worth it. Best of all, Rumsfeld is resigning!!

  54. sprizee says:

    Reason #243 why voting matters.
    RUMSFELD RESIGNS.

  55. egan says:

    Sprizee – isn’t it a great day? Rumsfeld is history. He can join the ranks of Tom Ridge now and feel like shit for all the lives lost in Iraq.

  56. snavy says:

    It’s not like April Fools Day?

  57. egan says:

    Snavy – it is actually, good work. Today is amazing, Rumsfeld is out of there. The smug prick can try to explain his way out of Iraq. Oh, this will be fun.

  58. Flounder says:

    Everyone for whom I voted won their election.
    I just wish I was eligible to vote in Montana or Virginia.

  59. Cheryl says:

    I totally agree with you about ads. They seemed especially viscious this year too.

  60. egan says:

    Flounder – that’s good man. Voting in multiple states, what a great idea. Did you have a chance to vote in favor of any gay marriage amendments? Even though our politics don’t see eye to eye, it’s a good thing you got out there and voted.

  61. egan says:

    Cheryl – the ads in Washington state weren’t too bad, but I heard about the ads in Illinois. Some vicious stuff there. This will provide for a great segue to my next post.

  62. Flounder says:

    No, like Massachusetts, our legislators have forced civil unions on us here in Connecticut. The public doesn’t even get to vote on it.
    Homosexuals in a civil union have all the same rights and benefits of marriage, but it is not called marriage. Now homosexual groups are suing because they believe that civil union status still denies them their right to marry their life partner. They contend by denying them the ability to marry, the State is violating the liberty and equal provision of Connecticut’s Constitution.
    Man, I miss America.

  63. egan says:

    Flounder – you did sense my sarcasm right? If someone told you and your wife you weren’t allowed to get married, how would you feel? You say they forced civil unions on you like it’s a bad thing.
    Please tell me how it impacts you at all? How does a marriage between same sex couples change your life? Aren’t there more important things in the world to worry about than gay marriage? I don’t know say education, foreign policy, environment, economy, or house prices?

  64. Flounder says:

    There are more important things to worry about for sure.
    But
    How do I tell my son that I take to church every week and who I am raising to be a Christian man that two women are married? It’s confusing for a child and that is how it impacts me the most.
    I may have to tolerate homosexuality in this society and even love homsexuals as a Christian should, but I refuse to call something I believe is wrong, right.

  65. egan says:

    Flounder – that’s a good point. I’m not a Christian so I don’t have this same point-of-view as you. But…
    How about this sample approach:
    Son, God teaches us to love everyone regardless of their race, religion, or beliefs. Son, those two women love each other just like I love your mom, unconditionally.
    Leave it at that and let him figure things out on his own. Let him determine what’s right or wrong. Isn’t the overall message of Christianity to treat others as you want to be treated?

  66. Flounder says:

    I would never discriminate against or act mean towards any homosexuals, so in that, I agree with you.
    But a child’s concept of right and wrong is formed by his parents. Look at these teens in Muslim countries that have been raised to think that Jews and Christians are evil, and are now willing to blow themselves up to kill some. It’s an extreme belief, but it’s being put there by family and culture.
    My son will learn about homosexuals as he gets older and form his own opinions no doubt. But while he is young, I will make sure that he is exposed to what we believe.
    This is a great discussion, and I appreciate your POV.

  67. egan says:

    Flounder – I truly appreciate your perspective too. I know a fair amount of muslims and they all voice their displeasure with what’s happening in Iraq and what happened on September 11th. They are peaceful people, not violent suicidal types.
    Radicals in any society are very dangerous. We’ve had our own share of Timothy McVeighs and Theodore Kaczynskis, but I don’t want to get off topic. I think we can put the gay marriage topic to rest now. Thanks man.

  68. Burr-ee-toe says:

    Egan, I’d like to tell you I was joking, but if you knew me better, you’d know that politics is not my strong point. I like butterflies and the beach, remember???

  69. egan says:

    Burr-ee-toe – I’m a little saddened by this news. I do think butterflies and the beach are tremendous things, but so is the political process.

  70. I am glad it is over not only because of the commericials and what not, but so the lady on the corner on the way to drop my kid off at Kindergarten will now stop accosting me and telling me who to vote for (for the last two weeks, she was planted there)

  71. egan says:

    SteppingoverJunk – welcome to my blog and thanks for commenting. Did you ever bother to tell the woman to shut up?

  72. Burr-ee-toe says:

    There’s only so much of me to go around. Unfortunately I spread myself quite thin in the political arena. Sorry. I still love butterflies and the beach.

  73. egan says:

    Burr-ee-toe – that may be the case. I’m not asking you to subscribe to the NY Times and read it cover-to-cover daily. I only hope you will know the differences between the parties, issues, candidates, etc. I know it’s a bit of work, but so is running a half marathon.

  74. I didn’t vote because foreigners aren’t allowed too, silly.

  75. egan says:

    Trundling Grunt – I understand that foreigners don’t get to vote here. Thanks for chiming in on the subject.

  76. ChickyBabe says:

    Egan, I don’t discuss politics but I’ll say that there are times when it is a futile exercise. The fines don’t just apply at federal govt level.

  77. Burr-ee-toe says:

    Its boring though. Its up there with watching the news. I like to avoid it completely. I’d rather stick something sharp in my eye.

  78. egan says:

    ChickyBabe – thanks for the information on the fines. I’m still not sure I like the idea of mandatory voting. It seems a little out of whack. No more politics.
    Burr-ee-toe – ignorance is bliss I suppose. I understand politics isn’t for everyone, but don’t you feel a little lost? Honestly, you didn’t know what was on the ballot in California or the differences in the two major parties. I guess it truly isn’t your cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

