The Year of the Ironman

ShoesOh the places I’ve gone.  2006 is almost in the books and it’s been one of the more memorable years for me.  There were some monumental ups followed by some low points during the past 12 months.  The focus of 2006 was centered on my Ironman Canada pursuit.  All my free thoughts and time seemed to be dominated by my Ironman aspirations and preparations.  My wife jokingly gave me 10 minutes a day to talk about the Ironman.

Honestly the past few years have been pretty good to me.  All in all I have a pretty nice life so it’s really tough to complain about anything.  I feel like I’m in the midst of a nice stretch of luck.  I hope I can extend it through 2007.  I want to thank my wife for being so understanding when it came to my "Ironman tunnel vision".   Her patience during 2006 was just as important as the many hours I logged in the pool, on the bike, or pounding the pavement.  Thanks Mrs. Lessinges!

The following is a personal list of some of the more memorable ups and downs during my 32nd and 33rd year on this planet.

Down: I learned pushing myself too hard while training for my first marathon back in April isn’t always a good thing.  I passed out after a 20 mile run and ended up spending a few hours in a hospital.  My blood sugar plummeted and I fainted shortly after I stopped running.  I had to go through some rigorous testing while an ultrasound was taken of my heart.

Up: there was nothing wrong with my monkey heart and I was able to complete my first marathon on April 23rd without any injuries or complications.

Up: my lovely wife and I celebrated our fifth wedding anniversary on the island of Maui in April.

Down: a very sore ass got the best of me, preventing me from completing a triathlon for the first time ever.  I have attempted 10 triathlons in my life and had completed all of them up until June of this year.  I was competing in a half Iron distance triathon, the first triathlon of the season, and about 20 miles into the bike ride I had to get off my bike.  My bum was so sore I couldn’t even sit on the seat so I jumped off my bike, stretched for a bit, and knew there was no way I could go another 40 miles without sitting on the saddle.  I sucked it up and threw in the towel.  I was bummed big time, but it taught me a valuable lesson about my bike training.

Up: angered by my lackluster output on the previous triathlon, I set a personal best time in the next triathlon of the season, improving my previous best time by five minutes and putting any training doubts behind me.

Down: we didn’t make much progress on improvements to the inside of our home.  The triathlon training forced home improvements to take a backseat.

Up: we hired someone to redo our overgrown backyard.  The waist high weeds were replaced by a deck, grass, sprinkler system, lighting, patio furniture, and smiles.  I ripped out many plants in the front yard so we can start all over in the spring of 2007.

Up: I completed Ironman Canada on August 27th.  My friend/Best Man Tod also successfully tackled the 140.6 mile course, making this one of the biggest accomplishments in our lives.  We trained together all year so it was very sweet for both of us to finish in the presence of family and friends.  I was happy to spend as much time as I did with Tod. I will miss him dearly in late 2007 when he goes to South America to work in the Peace Corps for a couple years.

Down: the "scenery" hasn’t changed.

Up: I did witness other scenery in my travels.  I visited Las Vegas for the first time in my life with a bunch of my buddies.  I also took trips to Canada three times, Boston, Chicago, and San Francisco. 

Down: procrastination still haunts me.

Up: I saw a man about a horse.

Down: I still don’t own my own business and don’t know exactly what it is I want to do with my professional life.

Up: I am a prolific blogger.  I suppose this could be a "down" depending on how you look at it.

I hope all of you had a memorable 2006.  It has been fantastic getting to learn more about all of you via your blogs, emails, comments, encounters, etc.  You’ve all been very supportive which I sincerely appreciate during this huge year for me.  You made the seemingly impossible (Ironman) possible.  It’s amazing what one can accomplish if you set your mind to it.  Take care of yourselves and best wishes for 2007!!

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Current Affairs. Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to The Year of the Ironman

  1. tori says:

    My husband and I have both been doing triathlons so we both talk nonstop about them sometimes. It only really irritated me this summer while I was recovering from surgery and couldn’t do any.
    I am stll in awe that you completed the Ironman. That is a huge thing I want to do someday…maybe after my kids are all a little bigger and I get a little more time to train.
    Looks like your list of ups far outweighs your list of downs and a lot of your downs were learning experiences to help out your ups.

  2. egan says:

    Tori – yep, I know exactly what you’re talking about. When two triathletes meet, it’s very hard to get them to stop talking. There’s so much stuff to discuss whether it be gear, strategy, training, shoes, or fellow athletes.
    Which Ironman would you attempt? I truly did learn how to better train by the shortcomings. Funny how that works.

  3. Megan says:

    Great list Egan. You’ve certainly inspired me this year. While I don’t think I’ll be doing any Ironman adventures, I’ve been contemplating doing a marathon because you get me excited about it when I read your blog.
    I wish for you a wonderful 2007. I’m so grateful to have found your blog in 2006. I count you as one of my absolute favorites.

  4. Amanda says:

    Great year in review! Cool way to approach it with the ups & downs. It sounds like you tackled a lot of personal goals and that is awesome.
    Procrastination will forever be an issue with me. Blogging definitely doesn’t help the issue. But I actually do better work after procrastination. Weird.
    Thanks for being here to share your life with us! You have given me a lot of different perspectives on things. Here’s to 2007!!!

  5. MuNKi says:

    Ironman-
    Too bad about the Very Sore Assβ„’. Is this a result of the preceeding Honeymoon celebration?
    Mrs. Lessinges must be quite the Pary Grrrl.
    She has my respect.

  6. egan says:

    Megan – you’re so kind. I think you made me blush with your heartfelt comment. A marathon would be very cool and I’m sure you can do it. Best of luck to you in 2007 as well.
    Amanda – blogging has me put off the inevitable. Time management isn’t a strong skill of mine. It’s been very fun learning about you and your cat. Thanks for reading.

  7. egan says:

    MuNKi – I knew I could count on someone like you to make the honeymoon/sore ass connection. They aren’t related at all though. Too much ass time on the way to the triathlon was the culprit, nine hours.

  8. ChickyBabe says:

    It’s been a pleasure knowing you, Egan, and thank you for your continued support. May 2007 turn all your downs into ups!

  9. egan says:

    ChickyBabe – always a pleasure to have you stop by. Your blog is very fun to read as you offer a great insight on many things. Good luck to you in 2007.

  10. ubermilf says:

    Up: Übermilf still talks to you, and she TOTALLY ROCKS!

  11. Cake-Lady says:

    You may be a procrastinator but you motivate me! I hope 2007 is as good if not better to you then 2006.

  12. egan says:

    Ubie – I’m amazed you still comment on my blog after all the things I’ve said and done to you. You do rock.

  13. egan says:

    Cake Lady – hello there. I’m glad I inspire someone since there are days where I’m not all that good at motivating myself. Here’s to 2006 and 2007!! [raises wine glass]

  14. Katy says:

    How is that garden of yours anyhow?

  15. Margaret says:

    I’m dizzy from your ups and downs!

  16. L says:

    I don’t think prolific blogging is a down at all. In fact, I aspire to your blogging greatness.
    In all seriousness, it sounds like you’ve learned a lot about yourself this last year, with all this marathon/triathlon training. Kudos for sticking it out (even if it did cause tunnel vision) and for learning something from each outcome. An unexamined life is not worth living.

  17. Tall Chick says:

    That must have been one memorable pee! I’m glad it was an Up and not a Down.
    What sort of business do you want to own? A cat shelter? A Speedo store? A store that sells cat Speedos?
    You talked to Amanda about her cat and you weren’t mean. What’s up with that? πŸ˜‰

  18. egan says:

    Katy – not much has changed since I haven’t felt like being out in the yard much with our crappy weather. I did rip out the area about the rockery in the front, including the plum tree. The rose bushes are up next.
    Margaret – no need to be dizzy. The blog will not give you seizures.
    L – why thank you friend. I have done plenty of examining and appreciate your thoughts on the subject. The low points in our lives can teach us a lot about us and the world around us.
    Tall Chick – well, or was I? Hmm, there’s a story there. I’m very sneaky about the cat stuff as I know many of my readers love the felines. I’m really not sure what kind of business I want to own so that might be a reason why it hasn’t happened yet.

  19. Amanda says:

    Yeah, I’m not quite sure that Egan was being truthful about it being fun learning about my cat. Most people think I’m a little weird. Which I am. No denial in that one.

  20. egan says:

    Amanda – you’re very perceptive. Tall Chick loves cats and I’m not so in love with them. It’s a fun cat & mouse game we play.

  21. Chris says:

    Right back at ya brother! It was a great pleasure to met you and the Mrs. this past year. Your blog is a great read.
    All the best to the Singes family in 2007 and beyond!

  22. Amanda says:

    Perceptive or just used to people not being as into cats as me? I think it’s the latter (or is it ladder…wait…that’s what you climb on. Stupid language – I’m not getting along with it today).
    My husband told me the other day that if he and I weren’t married, I would have become a crazy (crazier) cat lady. I scoffed and then pouted because he’s right.

  23. mez says:

    Mrs Lessinges is an angel πŸ™‚ You’ve had GREAT ups and those downs are just momentary blips. 2007 is sooo going to keep on rocking for you!

  24. egan says:

    Chris – I must say it was very nice to meet you too. It was a pleasure to sit down and have a meal and a ride to the airport with you. You’re a great guy. Best wishes for a fruitful 2007.
    Amanda – ha, that’s funny what your hubby says to you. Thankfully my wife is allergic to pets and this makes the whole pets thing a no brainer. Not that object to them that much, but it’s nice to leave town without all the pet arrangements.

  25. Tall Chick says:

    No pet arrangements? I wrote my masters thesis on the impact of pet-owning in today’s society in forming networks among what would otherwise be unacquainted neighbours.
    Amanda, MuNKi just told me we couldn’t get cat #5 (he was soooo sweet and needed a home) and when I retorted that my friend has 8 he replied, “yeah, but she’s a Cat Lady.”

  26. egan says:

    Mez – thank you so much. I’m pleased I discovered your blog this year. I enjoy reading blogs by teachers as I toy with the idea of becoming a teacher some day. I’m still on the fence about whether or not I’m cut out for going back to school. I truly agree with you Mez about Mrs. Lessinges, she’s an angel. I still can’t believe I met her in a dance club. Best wishes to you next year.

  27. Tall Chick says:

    Wow, I really did piss you off with my pussy post.

  28. Amanda says:

    Would you believe me if I told you I am allergic to animals? I am. Very much so – if I don’t take my Zyrtec and if we don’t keep her shaved, my eyes can sometimes swell shut. My husband is the same way. But we still have a cat. I grew up on a farm and we always had cats and dogs other animals – I just learned to take my medicine before playing with them.
    TC – MuNKi thinks he’s funny, doesn’t he? (I do have to admit I giggled a little).

  29. Tall Chick says:

    Heh! Probably. But that may be due to the fact that he’s always cracking me up. ^_^
    Wow, you are a dedicated Cat Lady. πŸ™‚

  30. Dan says:

    Egan, you have so much to be proud of this year. Good for you.
    As far as procrastination — you’re human. We’re all human.
    Happy New Year, my friend. Great to meet you “virtually” in 2006!

  31. egan says:

    Tall Chick – it’s going to take a lot more than a couple pictures of cats sprawling about and a shot of built-in bookcases to make me flaccid. Give me some credit yo.
    Amanda – it wouldn’t surprise me at all to know you’re allergic to them. I think many of my siblings are allergic to them also, yet the sit their sniffling and shit sans medications. I just have no desire to take drugs in order to be around pets. We had dogs when I was a kid and they got severely neglected. I made a vow to not own pets unless I could properly care for them.
    Tall Chick – does MuNKi really exist?
    Dan – thanks man. 2006 was a very pivotal year for me and I expect a similar one for me next year. Things are going to change in 2007. It’s nice to have met you too. Enjoy the final days of 2006.

  32. Amanda says:

    Egan, I’m glad to hear that. Really. I would much rather someone say that than to pretend they want one because “society” makes them think they should have one (I don’t know where that came from…it sounded right so I went with it) and then the animal suffers because their owner doesn’t want to take care of them. There are so many animals in shelters and ultimately are put to sleep because of just that. It breaks my heart. But I’m a huge softy when in comes to animals. People – not so much, but animals are different.
    Basically, the way you feel about animals is how I feel about children. I could not properly care for a child, so I will never have one.

  33. egan says:

    Amanda – thanks, wow this comment of yours is very intriguing to me. So you’re kind of saying you care more for pets than humans or am I putting the wrong words in your mouth? Please correct me if I’m wrong.
    Oh, it’s not bad not to have kids. I’m thrilled you know you don’t want them and aren’t planning on having them. There are so many people with kids that would rather not be parents. It’s very sad. Birth control people, birth control!! In our neighborhood we’re an anamoly because we’re married (not gay or single) and don’t have any kids or pets.

  34. L says:

    Amen, brother!

  35. Amanda says:

    Nope, you’re about right with what you’re saying. I’ve often said that I like animals more than most people. After I re-read my comment, I realize that what I wrote is the same way I feel about people having children. I agree that there’s nothing wrong with having them. I love my nieces to death and I’m happy for my brother’s that they have kids and that they can care for them properly. But the same thing goes with kids as with animals (people laugh at me for comparing animals to babies, but there really are a lot of similarities…)- society makes you think that because you’re married and a certain age, you should be knocked up. But why? There are so many children out there that have no homes. I commented on Cindra’s blog that if I ever decide I want children, I will most likely adopt. Why bring another child into the world when there are so many without homes.
    This is a good subject. One that I have a lot of feelings and opinions on that I will spare you of this lovely Friday night. Sometimes I have a hard time putting feelings that I’m really passionate about into words to make them make sense to others. This is one of those feelings.
    You do this to me a lot…evoke strong feelings about stuff. Not a bad thing, though! πŸ™‚

  36. Tall Chick says:

    I’ve been lying all this time, Monkey Boy. MuNKi is merely a figment of my imagination. My 4 children were immaculately concepted ^_^ which is why they all look like clones of me. But Shhh! We’re not announcing the World Takeover until they’re all of age.
    I can totally get what Amanda is saying. Pets are very like family members. OK, to us they ARE family members. The pet store we went to for kitty food the other day adopts out rescues. One of theirs was from someone who had passed away and I had to work pretty hard not to cry seeing her curled up there all alone. I think I would have pressed hard to take her home had we been a good fit for her, but she needed a quieter home than ours.

  37. egan says:

    Amanda – there’s nothing wrong with speaking your mind. I won’t make you feel bad for your beliefs. My wife and I will likely have a child and then adopt one or two children. We’ll see how things go. Kids/pets aren’t for everyone. I totally respect your decision not to have kids and wish more people put thought into how it will shape their lives. (hold that thought… I will be right back)

  38. egan says:

    Amanda – I’m honored you feel this passionate about things. I wish more people would think about about how kids will impact their lives. I will wander over to Cindra’s blog and read your comments. Have a good weekend Amanda.
    Tall Chick – okay, so MuNKi is a real human. I believe you. I also believe you love cats very much and welcome them like family members. It does take a special person to give pets a loving house. I’m thankful for people like you Canadce.

  39. Tall Chick says:

    There are a lot of great tax incentives in place now for adoption. I’m reading a great book for review right now called Hungarian Rhapsody. It’s about a couple who adopted a sibling group of 4 from Hungary and went on to adopt 2 more. MuNKi and I seriously looked into adoption after #1. Very seriously. We couldn’t afford it, though, so we made our own. We still haven’t completely ruled out adoption though, should the opportunity present itself. πŸ™‚

  40. egan says:

    Tall Chick – it’s so sad it’s a matter of money as far as adoption is concerned. We definitely have plans to adopt. Let me know what you think of the book Candace. It sounds interesting.

  41. kris says:

    Up: You are an absolute rock star, and I love that I “know” you!

  42. Eunice says:

    Egan, you had a great year, despite a few downs.

  43. Tall Chick says:

    So far I love it.
    Adoption shouldn’t be expensive. They should be glad people are providing a loving home to a child. But alas. Do you think you will adopt domestically or internationally? We had ruled out domestic partly because there was no way we could bear to give a child back and that seems to happen all too often. Just today on our sojurn into Ann Arbor we were only minutes from Baby Jessica’s house.
    But that was just us. I’m sure there are FAR MORE domestic adoptions that don’t go wrong.

  44. ms. sizzle says:

    seemed like a balanced year- cheers to that! and another fabulous one on its way. πŸ™‚

  45. The Real Me says:

    As people around here are fond of saying… Bonne Annee, Gros Nez!!
    πŸ™‚

  46. snavy says:

    best wishes for your 2007 too monkey boy
    there will be a new stock of ipod socks up for grabs this year??

  47. The Grunt says:

    Here’s to having more ups than downs for 2007, Egan. Happy New Year!

  48. celeste says:

    Whoa Egan, I’m a bit dizzy from that rollercoaster ride πŸ˜‰
    Happy New Year!!

  49. churlita says:

    Hey,
    What a great last year. Your ups were pretty high and your downs didn’t seem all that low.
    Now that I’m older, I don’t train at all the way I used to. I’ve been running for over 31 years, so I’m terrified that I won’t be able to run until I die. Now, I average about 6 miles a day and bike and swim some. It’s great that you do triathalons.

  50. jeci says:

    Happy New Year! I hope 2007 is great for you. It’s been fun finding your blog.

  51. Les says:

    Great name dude…keep up the good work.

  52. Evil Genius says:

    I’ve always wanted to see a man about a horse. Saw a man about a dog once. πŸ™‚
    Take care and have a safe and MOST enjoyable New Years! And the best of everything to you and the Mrs. for the coming year!!!

  53. ChickyBabe says:

    It’s already 2007 here! A warning though… NY’s Day starts with a headache!
    Here’s to a great year for you et Mme Lessinges!

  54. farmgirl19 says:

    Happy New Year!

  55. sandra says:

    Happy new year, Egan and Mrs. Egan!!

  56. Hypersonic says:

    Sonded like a pretty good year to me. HAve another one this year monkey-boy.

  57. egan says:

    Kris – the feeling is definitely mutual. I’m happy to “know” you as well. You’re a silly woman.
    Eunice – yeah, the downs weren’t too bad. I think I learned valuable lessons from each of them. Take care of yourself and Alissa.
    Tall Chick – we would most likely adopt internationally. I’m not a huge fan of giving a child back after falling in love with it. Not my idea of fun.
    Ms. Sizzle – thank you. I hope things go well for you this year.
    The Real Me – aw, I love me a good French saying about big noses. So cute indeed.
    Snavy – hmm… let me think about the iPod sock thing. It seemed to be a great way to generate interest in this sketchy blog.
    The Grunt – thanks man. It’s been fun reading your blog and getting to know more about you. Good luck in 2007.
    Celeste – I have a feeling this year will be a bit less of a rollercoaster ride. Please buckle up for safety though.

  58. egan says:

    Churlita – you workout often. Six miles a day is damn good. I’m very impressed. How do your knees feel after 31 years of this?
    Jeci – right back at you. Your blog tales are very enjoyable. That being said, I have some catching up to on many blogs. Happy New Year to you too!
    Les – hello and welcome to my blog! I’m glad you like the name. Yah, another Aussie. I hope you’re enjoying your summer.
    Evil Genius – seeing a man about a horse will turn your life around. It was a hoot I tell you.
    ChickyBabe – get this I didn’t get a hangover. I elected to do the driving this time around so only a tiny bit of alcohol was consumed over six hours. Kick ass this year!
    Malnurtured Snay – thanks man, have a wicked good year as well. Watch out for those Brazilians.
    Farmgirl – thanks for stopping by. I hope this year is much better than the last one.
    Sandra – thanks and have a great one in NYC. I bet your New Year’s Eve rocked.
    Hypersonic – if all works out well, 2007 will be a pretty cool year. Thanks for the comment and best of luck to you in 2007!

  59. Tall Chick says:

    Boy do I hear ya there.

  60. egan says:

    Tall Chick – that’s a huge concern of mine. I just can’t imagine how gut wrenching it would be to have a child taken away.

Leave a Reply

