Stereotype Much?

Alright alright, I had two long drawn out paragraphs, but I just erased them. Basically all I want to say is some people are really dumb. We got another estimate for our attic windows on Saturday. Mr. Rob arrives ten minutes early, doesn’t remove his shoes, yet actually takes window measurements, and had me on the fence… that was until he made some lovely racist remarks.

Mr. Rob and I strike up some idle chit chat while he’s computing the estimate. He shares a story about the historic Pike Place Market here in Seattle.

"I’m not sure what’s in their DNA, but they just don’t move while walking."

There you have it. Mr. Rob was referring to Asians. My jaw dropped mentally and he continued to talk about how Asians don’t make way for others as they shop in Pike Place Market. If any of you have ever been there, it can be quite crowded. You end up rubbing elbows with many tourists. "I suppose it’s most likely a cultural difference Mr. Rob". I had to say something after he killed the conversation and any chance of winning the window estimate he was proposing.

Honestly salespeople should know better than to discuss certain topics with customers. Although, I’m happy he did since it made my decision much easier. The laundry list of items not to chat about: religion, politics, sweeping generalizations about ethnic groups, and overall satisfaction with your employer. Mr. Rob couldn’t stop complaining about how he had to show up at our house during the ice and snow in his new Acura. How did he get the shiny Acura? Customers, customers are the reason you have a roof over your head Mr. Rob, now keep this in mind next time you open your trap and launch in to a stupid racist rant.

Thankfully we meet with the company who installed our windows in 2005 later today and we have Mr. Jay from last week as a solid backup. The interview process is almost complete and yes, I do enjoy it since it’s fun to learn what makes people tick.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Housecapades. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Stereotype Much?

  1. Buggss says:

    I’ve often found if an employee is disrespectful about any particular thing/person/race/religion,etc then it’s generally allowed/tolerated throughout the whole company right up to the boss owners.
    Ooooo customers…those pesky things that put food on the table,roof over Mr.Rob’s head and pay for his car.Damn those customer thingies!

  2. mez says:

    oh my god, some people are total idiots!!

  3. Hypersonic says:

    I bet you don’t find the asian salesmen complaining about turning out on a icey snowy day in their new car.

  4. kirk says:

    It must be tough being part of the master race like Mr. Rob. To be superior to all of the rest of us like that.

  5. Last semester I had a class in the 7800 York Road building at Towson U., which is where the computer and math departments are located, and I couldn’t help notice that a large number of the students in the building were Asian. I thought this was weird, and then I was like, “Well, why don’t I think its weird that most of the students in the English building are white?” And then I got uncomfortable about the subject and stopped thinking about it, because I’m shallow like that.

  6. meno says:

    I wonder whom he would have complained about if you had been Asian. Maybe those loud white people at the Market.

  7. Amanda says:

    Wow. I honestly can not believe the nerve of people? This guy doesn’t know you! For all he knows, your mother could be Asian, you could have an adopted Asian baby. Your wife could be Asian. He. Just. Doesn’t. Know. Why do people do that shit?
    I’m a very tolerant person. Except in the face of intolerence. Then I lose it.

  8. flounder says:

    He forgot to add that Asians are bad drivers and carry cameras everwhere with them as well.
    Oh yeah, and all Italians from New Jersey are mobbed up too.
    Are you sure that this contractor wasn’t the ghost of Reggie White?

  9. Jess says:

    Wow, Mr. Rob sounds like a Grade-A jerk. Thank goodness you have Mr. Jay.

  10. Gawpo says:

    Benefit of doubt? Could he have been referring to poise, maybe? Like as opposed to a gang banger strut? Didn’t think so. Oh well. I tried.

  11. Curare_Z says:

    He sounds really really Klassy (and yes — that’s with a capital K).

  12. Chris says:

    come on now, you’re being terribly predjudiced towards arseholes here. oh yeah – that’s a good thing isn’t it?

  13. tori says:

    My husband was selling his van after his college/rock band days were over. A guy came to look at it, offered him a certain amount and then said that my husband wouldn’t get any more money except from a “minority”. I want to believe the best in people so I went over and over that in my head, hoping he meant a minority of people as in we just had to find the right person or something. I just couldn’t make it make sense. My husband did not sell him the car.

  14. L says:

    OMG. Yes, people are so dumb. No wonder there are Darwin Awards.

  15. egan says:

    Buggss – yep, I’m fairly certain Mr. Rob forgets who actually pays his bills.
    Mez – that’s an understatement alright. This guy was a total moron.
    Hypersonic – nice, that’s a great point. I think a bit like you do with this reciprocal thing.
    Kirk – being part of the master race is hard. It’s no surprise this guy is so bitter.
    Malnurtured Snay – this point of yours has been on my mind for years. I catch myself from time to time making generalizations based on race in my head and it annoys me. The good part is you catch yourself and don’t actually verbalize them. It’s very distracting to me when I have those types of ideas swirling in my head. By the way, my co-worker went to Towson.
    Meno – you know how the Market is, most are just awe struck. Maybe many are Asian, but there are just as many white folks lost in thought as well. I came so close to saying something back to him and then thought better of it.
    Amanda – not to sound cliched, but many of my friends are in fact Asian. This statement of his is such a crock of shit. It took me back some years to time I thought was in the past. I’m with you on the intolerance thing.
    Flounder – Reggie, Reggie, Reggie, man was that guy annoying. May he rest in peace. You mean all Italians aren’t in the Mob? Damn.
    Jess – Mr. Jay is my lifesaver thus far. Leave the negative thoughts at the door Mr. Rob. I think Mr. Rob isn’t a very happy man.
    Gawpo – highly unlikely based on other stuff he said. He’s got issues. Dissing your boss in front of clients isn’t cool.
    Curare_Z – Klassy and Krazy, that’s what he is.
    Chris – you’re right. I had one thought, “I wonder if he knows he’s gay?”
    Tori – what a weird thing for that guy to say to your husband. How does whether or not someone’s a minority play into the equation? Man, we have much to improve upon. Thankfully it’s Martin Luther King Day and I’m working. Well I do get off President’s Day.
    L – that Darwin guy, he never moves for anyone. He was such an asshole and he thought he knew everything.

  16. churlita says:

    I’m a bad driver and I’m always carrying a camera around, but I’m Irish American, so what does that mean?
    At my job, I was leading an orientation for parents of new students, when one woman started talking to me about the Mexicans (and yes, she whispered the word as if she were swearing) ruining her hometown. If I weren’t at work, I would have shown her some pictures of my beautiful half-Mexican daughters who I feel have been lovely additions to my town.

  17. Dan says:

    My stereotype is Sony. It’s held up very well for several years now.

  18. egan says:

    Churlita – you would have been my biggest bestest hero if you said something to her. Well, you’re still very neat in my book.
    Dan – you are a racist young man. My buddy Ichiro is going to kick your ass.

  19. Rose says:

    You are just figuring that out now? Why is it that people cannot accept that we live in a diverse society today? Just once I wish people would stop and think what stereotyping is doing to our world. “Sigh”

  20. egan says:

    Rose – I’m not just figuring it out now. I’ve been aware of this for quite some time, but it does pain me to hear such blatant racist comments from a stranger.

  21. Chris says:

    Hey, there’s another Chris here! Hi Chris, this is Chris.
    Mr. Rob gets a dunce award!

  22. egan says:

    Boston Chris – I’m glad you noticed this. I didn’t even follow the link for the UK Chris. Mr. Rob is a complete moron and if his company happens to call me back, I will explain why he lost the bid. Yep, I will bring up the racist rant too.

  23. snavy says:

    I agree, some people are very dumb.

  24. egan says:

    Snavy – uh huh, some people are very very dumb.

  25. Dan says:

    I can kick Ichiro’s ass with both of my hands tied behind my back.

  26. sandra says:

    I was on the phone with my mom the other day while someone was installing a new back door at her house. He started talking to her about…”differences” between races. She really had no idea what to do.

  27. Tall Chick says:

    Bummer. Mr. Jay was a cretin wasn’t he? (and I don’t mean that in a racial sense ^_^)
    Someone has started stalking my blog and it’s not you. It’s creeping me out just a wee bit. Any generalisations you can make about stalkers? Do they fit a specific stereotype? 😉

  28. cindra says:

    that would be fun to a point…then i think i’d want to push the likes of mr. rob out the window.

  29. egan says:

    Dan – you ignorant slut! Never talk shit about Ichiro on my blog. You’re ass is grass and I’m the lawnmower.
    Sandra – yeah, it created a very awkward moment for me too. I contemplated talking with an Asian accent the rest of the time.
    Tall Chick – what’s this about stalkers? Seriously, you have someone following you around the internet? Mr. Jay was a great guy Candace. He was our second choice.
    Cindra – Mr. Rob will remain a bitter person for some time. It’s a shame he’s not better at his job, for everyone’s sake so he won’t have to resort to shitty small talk.

  30. Phil says:

    I bet he’d be most polite if ‘those people’ needed a quote.

  31. ChickyBabe says:

    If he says such things to you, imagine what he’d say about you!

  32. Mone says:

    Dumb stereotype racial remarks from anybody just PISS me off!!

  33. Chris T says:

    To avoid inevitable chris-related confusion, i have added an initial.
    and no, before you ask, i am not in anyway related to god.
    love the blog btw – i am officially delurking

  34. ~d says:

    Sometimes ppl are so STUPID! There are some things (like you said) that you JUST DON’T SAY to a ‘stranger’. Hello!?!

  35. Jill says:

    “Some people are really dumb.”
    *APPLAUSE*

  36. furiousball says:

    if i had a super power it would be to give someone an instant headache whenever they did something stupid. this guy would get a two day migraine.

  37. Amanda says:

    It’s not a cliche – society has made it such. I believe you when you say you have Asian friends because in this day, it’s not weird. Maybe in the 1940’s, it wasn’t as common, but today it’s actually kind of odd not to have a diverse group of friends!
    I worked with this guy once who made a racist comment about an Asian couple who was coming to check in to the hotel. And he used a name that I won’t write. Anyway, I looked at him and said “that’s not cool, dude”. He was like “I fought in the war, many of my friends were killed by people like them, blah blah blah.” So I retorted “Did these two fight you in the war? No. You have no right to say something like that around me. You have no right to say that period. You have no idea my history, family or friends. So do not talk like that around me again.” He didn’t. He pretty much stayed away from me, which I am glad for because he was worthless.

  38. egan says:

    Phil – hey, welcome to my blog. You’re so right about that one. He might add in some wacky handling fee though.
    ChickyBabe – so true young lady, so true. This is precisely why I will not hire the fool. We’re using the company we used in 2005.
    Mone – I think we’re in agreement here. They make zero sense.
    Chris T – thanks for stopping by again. I love to have new readers. Sorry you’re not related to God, I will look for salvation elsewhere. Cheers!
    ~d – mais oui, not everyone is born with social grace like you and me.
    Jill – thanks for the hand clapping. Now I need to think of something truly profound.
    Furiousball – migraines do suck ass. I’m going to make sure you have superpowers.
    Amanda – are you kidding? That former co-worker of yours seems to have lost some marbles in the war. This story has inspired my next post.

  39. Tall Chick says:

    Oh, whew. I got Mr, Rob confused with Mr. Jay. I thought he was back to do work, but Mr. Ron is guy #3. Yay Mr. Jay!
    Not stalking me around the internet, just my blog. Made one comment, keeps checking back again and again and again, luri=king for long periods of time and reading lots of old pages. 😛

  40. egan says:

    Tall Chick – I will keep an eye open for this lurker. Mr. Jay is a good man. We’re going to use Mr. Grant who did our window project in 2005. In about three weeks we’ll have new windows in the attic.

  41. danasaur says:

    Whoa, racist remarks are off limits. I try to avoid such topics with patients. Although I did talk with my patient about how I never want kids and would rather adopt than have my own. Then read the patients chart and found out she was adopted… I hope she didn’t take offence to anything.

  42. egan says:

    Danasaur – I highly doubt she would take offense to your comment if she’s adopted. You’re the person that would be giving someone like her a home. She most likely would be happy about your intentions.

Leave a Reply

