New Product Tuesday

People are you ready?  I haven’t done a New Product Tuesday post in a few months so hold on.  Normally I sample a product, provide a picture of said item, and then give some feedback about its taste/enjoyment qualities.  Things will operate a little differently this time.  Instead of providing a picture of the product, this time you will be asked to guess the product.

  1. you can put jam on the item
  2. typically ones uses much butter to make it
  3. you must put the item in a warm place
  4. most people eat this product with their hands
  5. these are a common site at baseball games
  6. think Sir-Mix-A-Lot…

Give up yet?  I know this product isn’t simple.  It’s very tough to swallow, even for adults.  Since this item isn’t as easy to guess as other items, I will provide just one clue.  Enjoy!

P.S. this post gives me butterflies.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Science. Bookmark the permalink.

128 Responses to New Product Tuesday

  1. egan says:

    Sprizee – yah, my life is going to change.

  2. L says:

    Dude, you’ve got a bun in the oven! Congratulations, Egan. And to the Mrs., too!

  3. Churlita says:

    Your can put jelly on a baby made of butter at a baseball park? Awesome!
    Hey, congrats. I bet you and your wife will be really great and ufn parents.

  4. egan says:

    Pants – well, if your mind happens to wander in that direction… I could see how you could think that. But that’s not what I was thinking.

  5. Pants says:

    Not that I need to say this…but you realize I’m an insensitive smartass, right? That said, I am very happy for you, daddy!

  6. egan says:

    L – correct you are. A bun in the oven it is. Now it’s incubating while expectant father reads more about parenting.
    Churlita – yes, I will likely ask you for advice in the not too distant future.

  7. egan says:

    Pants – insensitive people don’t make 90210 ornaments for complete strangers. Thanks amiga!

  8. sprizee says:

    Seriously, if you buy a t-shirt that says WHO’S YOUR DADDY we’re through.

  9. egan says:

    Sprizee – there’s a ton of stuff I can do. I don’t want to get too far ahead of ourselves. I think it will be the first interactive blog baby. We can have readers pick a name, circumcision options, nursery color, etc.

  10. Amanda says:

    Holy crap, dude! Congrats!

  11. cindra says:

    Beautiful! Whew. I couldn’t keep my mouth shut any longer. Yay!

  12. Hey Egan! Congratulations!!!!! That is wonderful, wonderful news! But please don’t eat your baby. Their meat is very rubbery and no amount of salt can mask the poo taste.
    Also, I moved my blog. To protect the innocent.

  13. furiousball says:

    My Boys Can Swim!
    My wife gave me a copy of this to tell me we were having our first child.

  14. egan says:

    Amanda – holy crap is right. I’m feeling as anxious about this as you. It was hard to bite my tongue as I read some of your posts.
    Cindra – you’ve been great. I really appreciate your support and patience over the past month or so. Thanks friend.
    TinaBellina – thank you. We’re very excited. It wasn’t an easy ride to get to this point, but we’re feeling pretty good about things. I will have to track you down at your new location. Yes, babies aren’t good to eat. The public might get mad and my wife is a vegetarian.

  15. Pants says:

    Same goes for nice folks who send cripples yarn and goodies!
    If you have a boy, I would like to be the first to suggest the names Brandon and Dylan.
    You’re welcome.

  16. egan says:

    Pants – that’s very funny. We’ve thought about those names. I don’t like Brenda or Donna so that’s a good thing. I think today’s baby names are required to end in a “en”, “ie”, “ey”, or “ova”.

  17. egan says:

    Furiousball – I got the “Idiots Guide for Expectant Fathers”. It’s actually been pretty useful. Try me. I’m a quick study on this pregnancy stuff.

  18. Curare_Z says:

    That is SO awesome. Welcome to the club. (5 weeks and counting for me and The Antidote)….

  19. egan says:

    Curare_Z – yes, I’ve been spying on you and others. I figured you would bust me. I’m so excited for you and anxious to hear all your tales.

  20. Amanda says:

    Hey, like I said – if other people are down with being parents and will be good parents (which I have no doubt you will be), then I’m all for it. I’m just not there yet. Although, every month for the past 3 months, I’ve had myself a nice little scare.
    Do you want a boy or a girl? Be honest – no “as long as it’s healthy” shit.

  21. egan says:

    Amanda – yes, I figured as much. The scares are interesting. I think we’re in a good spot to have kids. The Ironman was all consuming last year and now it’s time for a baby.
    Boy or girl? Damn… let me think it over.

  22. vera says:

    Grats on the reproduction thing!
    Name: Tellula-Ben Penelope Marshall The Great
    Nursery Colours: Black on Black
    Circumcision: Non
    I like babies, I can just never finish a whole one. I am, however, THE BEST AUNTY in the world. I even have a trophy to prove it.
    Again, grats and many fond memories await.
    /Vera

  23. egan says:

    Vera – you don’t mess around with answers. I like that about you. I’ve been an uncle since I was 12 so now it’s my turn to actually raise a child 24/7.

  24. flounder says:

    I once ate a baby! Get in my belly!
    Dude, congrats! It’s the best thing you will ever be priveledged enough to experience.

  25. egan says:

    Flounder – I was hoping you would check in. I recall reading your blog with all the anticipation of baby last year. Now I’m right there with you. The house stuff is now so much more important. Fun and very exciting times. Great movie quote by the way.

  26. Logo™ says:

    YAY YAY YAY!!!
    Congratulaaaaaations!

  27. Chris says:

    How about props from dad to me for guessing correctly yesterday!
    Where’s my purple iPod sock?

  28. egan says:

    Logo – thanks chica. Imagine this, me as a father. Watch out folks.
    Chris – was it the title that gave it away? How did you know? Mad props to you indeed. I don’t have the purple iPod sock anymore. Some woman in Canada has it.

  29. Karla says:

    Hurray for baby!

  30. egan says:

    Karla – ha, now it might make sense why I’ve been hovering on your blog. Thanks for the well wishes.

  31. Ok, feeling just a bit dumb — I thought the baby was a clue and that the new product was some delicious kind of bun.
    Hmmm… tricky, Egan.
    The baby wasn’t a clue. The baby was the answer. Very sneaky. 🙂
    CONGRATULATIONS!!
    When do you find out if it’s a little boy or girl? (sorry, that’s me — can’t be happy with the info I have, always need more) 🙂

  32. egan says:

    Undercover Celebrity – yes, I didn’t want to spoil the post by making it known until the very end. That’s an actual ultrasound of the baby from yesterday. We will find out in March what sex he/she is and the due date is August 7th. Thanks for the kind comments.

  33. meno says:

    Well, damn, when i sent you home to get started on that baseball team, i didn’t expect such immediate results.
    Congratulations!

  34. egan says:

    Meno – ha, I had to bite my tongue when you made that remark last week. Thanks. We’re pretty damn excited. A new phase of our lives is already underway.

  35. Randa says:

    Congratulations, Egan. That is wonderful, wonderful news. 🙂

  36. egan says:

    Randa – merci mon amie canadienne! It’s a great thing for us. Baby Singes is expected to arrive in August.

  37. *pixie* says:

    How exciting! These next nine months will be so fun for you both. I will send good thoughts that your wife doesn’t suffer much with all the ailments that pregnancy can entail.
    It’s so amazing and will be such a wonderful journey—even with the puking and swelling.

  38. Pants says:

    I’m considering taking a vow of silence.

  39. egan says:

    *pixie* – thanks mom-to-be. Now you will understand why I’ve been commenting on your baby blog. So far no puking which is a damn good thing. Some close calls, but no spew yet.
    Pants – no, no vows of silence. You’re too good for that sort of thing. You’re my hero these days. You’ve made a huge turnaround in the past year. Congrats to you.

  40. Pants says:

    I hope my most recent post doesn’t jeopordize my hero status.

  41. egan says:

    Pants – your most recent post (I just read it) doesn’t harm your standing at all. You’re still a hero in my eyes. You took the lead and asked the hottie out on a date. Good for you.

  42. ChrisTx says:

    Congrats good sir… I have great respect for anyone that wishes to replace themself in this day and age 🙂

  43. egan says:

    ChrisTX – may the force be with me?

  44. *pixie* says:

    Come visit and comment anytime. If there is anything I might be able to answer, please ask. I’m no expert, but you learn a thing or two along the way.

  45. egan says:

    *pixie* – I’m sure you have much wisdom you can share. There’s a bunch of learning with your first child. I can’t stop reading books about this stuff. That said, the female body is amazing.

  46. CSL says:

    It’s the toughest job in the world and the money’s lousy, but it will make you rich beyond measure. Congratualtions!!

  47. Brother #3 says:

    So much for my “Scone” guess!
    It’s about time you share the news-yippee!! Isn’t that what Miss Jolie would refer to as “a blob?”

  48. Amanda says:

    I have more questions. Now that you’re going to be a daddy, are you going to start answering the question “how old is he/she?” with 24 months (or 32 or 48)? Are you going to trade in the mini-cooper for a mini-van? When the baby farts, are you going to call it farting, or are you going to call it “tooting”?
    Ok, that’s all I have right now.

  49. Based on the Top Secret email the other day, I had wondered if this was it…awesome! You are in for the ride (good ride) of your life!!! WOO HOO!!! Yay PAPA!

  50. Bob says:

    Holy babies Batman! Egan’s gone reproductive. I will now begin the chant of: “One of us, one of us, one of us.” Will Egan survive this test, tune in next time… Same Bat-channel same Bat-time.

  51. egan says:

    CSL – I’m sure the pay is crap, but it the rewards definitely make up for the shitty salary. I had a pretty good childhood so I’m excited to see life through my kid’s eyes. Thanks.
    Brother #3 – yep, the cat is out of the hat. You’re going to be an uncle again. Want to place bets on the sex of the child (blob)?
    Amanda – I don’t know about the month thing yet. Maybe I will, but I will say them in French. Nope, the MINI Cooper stays. Perhaps we get a little bigger car to replace our Subaru. At this point we won’t be making any car changes since they’re both paid for. They are farts. I will not resort to cutesy names for normal bodily functions. A fart is a fart. Keep the great questions coming. Hey, did you get my email?
    steppingoverthejunk – yeah, I hear parenthood is tough, but well worth it. I was part of a very large family so this will be an experience. It seems like just yesterday when I would sneak downstairs and open Christmas presents early.

  52. *pixie* says:

    Yes, it is. Just wait until about 20 weeks when your little one is wriggling all about and you can both feel it. The MOST.AWESOME.THING.EVER.

  53. egan says:

    Bob – you’ve got me grinning man. It’s Aquaman though. Batman can’t swim worth shit. We’re going to name him Euripedes if it’s a boy or Bertha if it’s a girl.

  54. egan says:

    *pixie* – so it was around 20 weeks for you? It’s freaky to see the ultrasounds and see it moving around inside Mrs. Lessinges, unable to feel Baby Singe. The best part is the smile on my wife’s face when viewing the ultrasounds. It’s fantastic.

  55. Phil says:

    I love a bit of good news over my morning coffee.
    Please pass on our congratulations to the mother to be!

  56. *pixie* says:

    It was around 16 weeks, but they were little flutters and not so easy to discern. Around 20 weeks was when they were strong enough to not only feel from the inside, but the outside too. Now he kicks constantly and it never fails to make me smile (even if it’s in the middle of the night).
    We only got 2 ultrasounds since I’ve been healthy and not high risk, so as cool as that is, I didn’t get enough like I do the kicks. I also love hearing the heartbeat at each doctor’s visit.

  57. egan says:

    Phil – thanks man. I will pass along the kind words… or my wife will most likely end up reading this post. Enjoy your coffee.
    *pixie* – ha, we’re ultrasound whores. My wife has had three already and each one is so amazing. We actually haven’t had the joy of hearing the heartbeat yet. Maybe at our next appointment we will. Bring on the movements I say since I’m not the one carrying the child.

  58. Amanda says:

    Phew! I was worried – I don’t think I could have stood by & watched you blogging in a year or so, talking about Baby Les Singes’ “tooting” antics. And I think I can handle the age in months if said in French…how do you say 24 months in French?
    Yes, I got your e-mail (the one from Saturday, right?). Haven’t had a chance to respond, but I took your advice. Grazi, mi amico.

  59. egan says:

    Amanda – you say vingt quatre (pronounced “van-cat”). Trust me there will be baby posts, but I this blog won’t be soley about my future child. There are too many other things going on in this world of ours. Glad you got the email and did what you did. What a pain.

  60. Amanda says:

    I’m actually very excited to see you blog about your baby – it will be from the future daddy’s perspective. I’ve read many blogs where the authors are the mom. I’m ready for something different!
    Thanks for sharing such a huge piece of news about your life with us.

  61. egan says:

    Amanda – thanks for the encouragement. I think I have some unique offerings in the world of expectant fathers. We’ll see what readers like yourself think.

  62. margaret says:

    yay! that’s so cool! was the blob conceived at the ball game or is it going to be born at a ball game?

  63. egan says:

    Margaret – no way, the blob will be conceived in our bathtub or in France. I want a water baby or a citizen of another country. Okay, that’s a lie… most likely a hospital.

  64. i like jam, but not on babies. i like my babies naked.
    congrats and good luck and good health.
    hugs and mittens,
    lord f

  65. egan says:

    Darlene – correct, buns are good. You clicked the link right?
    Lord Fondleberries – hello and welcome to my blog. When a baby is born, it looks like they have jam on them. Thanks for stopping by.

  66. mez says:

    Egan that is so wonderful!! 🙂
    Congrats to both of you, you must be so excited!

  67. egan says:

    Mez – hells yeah we’re excited. The focus at work today has suffered, but it’s all good. I’m sure my drive to work hard will only improve as we approach August (too bad I can’t type that with a straight face). So, it was very tough for me to bite my tongue on some of your posts last week.

  68. L says:

    Hey, was that the actual ultrasound? Baby Les Singes makes her/his first public appearance! Did you sell the rights to the photo for millions?

  69. egan says:

    L – crap, that is the actual ultrasound from yesterday’s visit. Perhaps I need to sell that to Billy Bush’s team?

  70. Amanda says:

    Oh my God, I’m slow on the uptake. Your first post today had everything to do with this, didn’t it?

  71. egan says:

    Amanda – you care to explain your thought process please. Thanks.

  72. Amanda says:

    Oh. I just read in one of your responses that “…my drive to work hard will only improve as we approach August”. I’m assuming Mrs. L is due in August? Then I realized that your first post was titled “August & everything after.” Maybe I’m reading too much into it?

  73. egan says:

    Amanda – nope, you’re right on the money. I was hoping people would do the math and figure out the six to seven months in the future thing. You were on the right track for sure.

  74. Burr-ee-toe says:

    Woo hoo! Congratulation! I still have tons of stuffed animals to treat as if they were my children. I think Build a Bear was invented for people like me.

  75. kirk says:

    Congratulations. Start saving for the therapy sessions. With a dad like you, junior is gonna need it.

  76. egan says:

    Burr-ee-toe – are you admitting you have a stuffed animal fetish? It’s very charming.
    Kirk – you say the sweetest things. I’m completely normal bro just like you’re charming. I will be saving money so junior can have a kickass blog and decent education.

  77. Amanda says:

    You are a very clever blogger. More clever than I can ever dream to be.

  78. egan says:

    Amanda – I had some time to think it over. Now everyone knows so the surprise is gone. Now we have other things to decide such as to cut or not to cut… if it’s a boy.

  79. sprizee says:

    Kirk, Smile.
    Egan, Kick Kirk.

  80. mez says:

    haha I bet – and there will be more to come I’m sure! well I just found out yesterday that my good friend is due in August as well 🙂 We all knew she was preggers and she finally came clean!

  81. egan says:

    Mez – that’s how my wife was feeling. Her co-workers were totally on to her. It’s not that we didn’t want to share, but there’s always the change things could go wrong and then you have to explain over and over why. We’re not out of the woods yet, but there’s less than a 5% chance things could go wrong. I like those odds.

  82. egan says:

    Sprizee – what can I tell you? I have a feeling Kirk is “sort of” kidding. This gives him a clever way out of his comment. I don’t really give a shit though. If the kid needs therapy, I will give the kid therapy. No family couldn’t benefit from counselling. You find me a “normal” family and I will find you a pro baseball player not on steroids.

  83. Nessa says:

    Congrats, Daddy. Parenthood is great.

  84. egan says:

    Nessa – thanks for stopping by and the well wishes. I think it will be fun and quite rewarding. I’m not crazy though, I know it will be very tough at times. As long as the good times outweigh the bad ones… it will be fun.

  85. Evil Genius says:

    FANTABU-AWESOME-RIFFIC!!!! Congratulations to the mom and dad to be!!!

  86. Kristin says:

    Oh, how I love to read such good news… congratulations!

  87. Amy says:

    Wow, that’s big news! Congratulations Egan!
    Creative announcement. Please don’t eat the baby. If you’re hungry maybe you can just lick off the jam.

  88. Tim says:

    most people eat babies with their hands?? I only eat my baby on a stick.
    Congrats!!

  89. egan says:

    Evil Genius – fantabulous is right. We’re celebrating eating some good fatty food like pizza.
    Kristin – yes, this is good news for us. Now we get to wait for the baby to pack on the pounds inside my wife. Thanks for stopping by.
    Amy – good point, we won’t eat the child. It was the whole “bun in the oven” metaphor. Babies aren’t meant to be eaten. Now I’m going to be put on some government watch list.
    Tim – well, buns can be eaten with your hands. I know… I didn’t want to give away the surprise until the final “clue” link. Thank you sir for the stick tip and the well wishes.

  90. Leezer says:

    Egan! Congratulations!!!
    I still have my sonogram pic of our daughter six years later. It still makes me cry! I’m so happy for you!

  91. egan says:

    Leezer – thank you kindly fellow swimmer. Now we have a scanner so I can put these aside forever… or until I accidentally erase the contents on this computer or my external drive.

  92. Buggss says:

    Woohoo ! Congrats to you and your missus !
    Now start assembling the nursery furniture coz it’ll take about 6 months to find the missing nuts,bolts,instructions and allan key down the back of the couch/in the vacuum cleaner 😉
    Names – whatever you decide on,make sure you agree on the shortened version/nickname BEFORE anyone else suggests their version.
    And make sure you can call that name late for dinner at dusk over the neghbourhood without blushing “Tarquin Algernon Mergatroid Crispin Jones your sprouts are waaaaaiting ”

  93. Tall Chick says:

    Hmmm, I had it all figured out until I clicked on that cute baby. Though I rarely put jam on MuNKi’s. Coconut oil is great, though.
    Oh, argh! I never sent you those links. I will. Honest.

  94. Eunice says:

    I promise not to annoy you with all of the “baby advice” I was peppered with. I already have a victim to take that out on. But if you have any questions, ask away. 🙂
    Congrats dude. You’re going to be a great dad.

  95. Tall Chick says:

    Funny, I could swear there was going to be some sort of audio on this blog. . .

  96. ChickyBabe says:

    Felicitations a vous deux et salut Bébé Le Singe!
    xoxoxo

  97. egan says:

    Buggss – you’re full of useful information. I can tell you which names won’t make it: Gunnar, Erasmus, Cyril, Jasper, Cody, and Ian. Those are just a few of the hundreds I will reject. I will start assembling furniture in 15 minutes as the guest bed has been moved upstairs… go Ikea.
    Tall Chick – you’re never going to send me those links forcing me to make unwise decisions about the environment. I can’t believe you’ve left me hanging this long. You will pay for this. No jam please.
    Eunice – thank you so much. Now I can chat you up about pregnancy. You’re going to be my new best friend. I really do appreciate the offer.
    Tall Chick – hey, now you can blab to anyone you want. The audio is coming you … you… you sexpresso freak.

  98. egan says:

    ChickyBabe – merci mon amie. Un bébé de moi? Mon dieu, je vais devenir un pere. Je vais parler francais seulement. Mon enfant doit parler une langue étrangere.

  99. ChickyBabe says:

    Mais bien sur, il faut parler en francais des qu’ils sont jeunes, pour apprendre l’accent. je parle francais avec mon neveu et il me regarde un peu et puis il me sourie de tout son coeur.

  100. ChickyBabe says:

    sourit – typos are so easy to make in French!

  101. Mone says:

    Hi Egan, what great news!!! Congratulations!!

  102. egan says:

    ChickyBabe – Je suis sur que ton neveu est un francophile maintenant. Il connait Jean Reno et Eva Green? Ca marche. Oui, les fautes orthographique sont faciles avec un clavier d’anglais.
    ChickyBabe – Je comprends tout.
    Mone – thanks. It’s still a bit surreal right now. In June I imagine I will be freaking out a bit.

  103. tori says:

    How exciting! I think babies are my favorite kind of people.

  104. Burr-ee-toe says:

    Its possible that I’ve asked my boyfriend to dress up like Winnie the Pooh. He says he’ll do it as soon as I dress like a Hot Dog on a Stick girl. haha. I think you should name the baby Margot. Thoughts?

  105. ms. sizzle says:

    what incredible news! i think you’ll be a most excellent papa.

  106. egan says:

    Tori – babies are fun. I’ve always enjoyed making stupid faces at them. Now I will be the father rolling his eyes when someone does the same.
    Burr-ee-toe – Hot Dog on a Stick girl? I think it’s time I have a chat with your boyfriend.
    Ms. Sizzle – thank you kindly. I have to say I’m excited about the change. The kind of selfish days are over, but it will be a welcome change.

  107. Buggss says:

    good lord i’m hoping you’re awake coz it’s 4.14 am here and i’m slightly more than grrrrrrrrrr

  108. egan says:

    Buggss – I was wondering about that time difference. You’re up later than me and that says a lot.

  109. I have no fucking clue.

  110. Buggss says:

    lol i’m seeing in your new morning for tomorrow if that makes sense 😛
    jan 25 here,minus 5 hours
    it’s a nice day if that’s any comfort lol

  111. egan says:

    Malnurtured Snay – you’re kidding right? You clicked on the link at the end of the post right?
    Buggss – you’re not usually up this early are you?

  112. Buggss says:

    good lord no…usually snoring til the ceiling threatens to collapse !
    almost off to bed,been a looong day and the chooks are about to start clucking at me lol.

  113. egan says:

    Buggss – I had a few of those days a couple weeks ago. I couldn’t sleep due to the baby anxiety. Now that I’ve shared and we feel good about its health, my sleep is more restful. Now stop blogging and sleep.

  114. egan says:

    Buggss – feel free to tell me to shut up.

  115. Tall Chick says:

    I don’t know how you’ve kept it to yourself for so long. I always told everyone as soon as I saw the two pink lines, LOL!

  116. egan says:

    Tall Chick – we had a really tough time. It was like a slow leak with increasing pressure. We told a few really close friends the first weekend. Then a couple more and family members. Eventually people started making assumptions Mrs. Lessinges was preggers. We still didn’t want to confirm until we got past the infamous week 12, first trimester. Don’t ask about the pink lines.

  117. Jennifer says:

    OHMYGOD!!!!!!!!!!
    I can’t believe I missed this yesterday.
    OH. MY. GOD!!!!!!!
    Congratulations, BOTH of you!!

  118. egan says:

    Jennifer – it’s all good. Yes, yours truly will be responsible for raising a child. As one reader suggested yesterday, time to save my pennies for therapy. I’m going to kick that commenter’s ass to the curb though. Oh yeah, thanks for the well wishes.

  119. jeci says:

    Oh Mon Dieu!!! Felicitations, papa! Fille, garcon, ou surprise? Moi, je pense qu’il regarde comme un petit bonhomme.

  120. Eunice says:

    Oh good, I just so happen to be selling my best friend status this week.

  121. egan says:

    Jeci – maintenant, il est trop tot d’apprendre le sex. Il faut attendre 5 semaines plus. Oui, il regarde un bonhomme de neige.
    Eunice – how much are you charging for the status?

  122. col says:

    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW

  123. egan says:

    Col – did you figure it out? I’m going to be a dad. That shit is crazy yo.

  124. van says:

    holy cow congratulations!

Leave a Reply

