My Chunk & My Willy

Yesterday I stayed home to rest a sore throat.  Today I tried to post about how the original Willy Wonka and The Goonies kept me company on HBO.  Unfortunately I lost my post and don’t have the will to type up something new.  I think I went on and on about how as I kid I related to both movies very well and seeing both yesterday was a nice trip down memory lane.  I may have used a big word or two to describe my love for each movie and just may have made a comparison between Roald Dahl and J.K. Rowling.

————–

For anyone who gives a shit, our dishwasher install was delayed because our pipes need to be fixed.  Hopefully that will happen tomorrow.  Fancy this, older houses (1926) aren’t really designed with automatic dishwashers in mind.  Huh, good to now.  So a plumber was hired to do some stuff and tomorrow some other guys will do stuff et voilà… we’ll have a dishwasher.  When the install costs more than the dishwasher itself, is that a bad sign?

—————

TODAY’S RULED OUT BABY NAMES: Gayle, Hector, Irene, James, Katia, and Lipton.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Blog Fodder. Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to My Chunk & My Willy

  1. ubermilf says:

    Stupid houses with stupid plumbing and stupid electricity and stupid walls.
    Why don’t you go to Bath and Body Works to find a baby name?
    Cucumber Melon, Cherry Blossom, Brown Sugar Fig — instant classics!

  2. egan says:

    Ubie – no, I prefer driving around in the suburbs for inspiration: Harmony Springs, Whispersing Pines, Autumn Breeze, Klahanie, Pepper Valley, Sleeping Cedars, etc. I think I just found the perfect baby name, but I can’t share.

  3. sprizee says:

    Oh how I love Roald Dahl.

  4. Rachel says:

    Oh My Gosh!! I was watching Goonies! last night as well. It is always fun to watch it and I had my son watch it with me for the first time. He LOVED it!! He thought that it was hilarious that the kids were swearing and occasionally the laughted would burst out.
    It is good to know that the classics can still be loved by the younger generations.
    He also has the original Charlie & The Chocolate Factory on DVD and loves that one too.
    I was seriously going to blog about this tomorrow.

  5. Churlita says:

    I got my girls into The Goonies when they were younger, and they still love that movie.
    I do feel a little uncomfortable talking about your chunk and your willy on here, though

  6. egan says:

    Sprizee – Roald Dahl is the shiznit. I need to reread his books and should stick to the English versions. I read Charlie et Le Chocolaterie and kind of missed some stuff.
    Rachel – The Goonies is still entertaining, but the special effects haven’t aged well. The plot is still a little flimsy too, but it’s the characters are great. How old is your son?

  7. egan says:

    Churlita – okay, I will give you that one. You want to talk about my lovely lady humps, my humps, my humps instead? It’s too bad what happened with Sean Astin and all that stuff. He was cute back and innocent back then.

  8. Leezer says:

    Egan:
    Sorry about the sore throat. I have a bad lower back and so I’m off my “training schedule” (hee hee) for a few days. Some thoughts:
    (1) Our house was built in 1912 so I feel your pain. There’s actually a spot in the spare bedroom where you can look between the slats of wood on the floor (pine) and see the basement below. This gives me the creeps.
    (2) Neighborhood names: I hate names on neighborhoods. My friend lived in Puyallup in a neighborhood called “Paradise.”
    (3) Willy Wonka: I loved the old and the new movies. Our third grad teacher read us a chapter out of the book every afternoon. It would make me really hungary for chocolate. I have this memory of telling Harold Phenis (yes, that was his name – guess what we called him?) that I was so hungry for chocolate that I was going to go home and eat Tootsie Rolls. He laughed at me and said Tootsie Rolls didn’t count as real chocolate.

  9. sprizee says:

    P.S. You should read Boy, his autobiography, if you haven’t already.

  10. Rachel says:

    What are you talking about?? The plot is flimsy and the special effects are corny? Bite your tongue!!
    LOL My son is 9 years old. He still loves all types of cartoons but is learning to love the non-animated stuff now too.
    He laughs a lot more at commercials and regular programming than he does at cartoons now.
    His favorite character from Goonies! is Chunk. I want to teach him how to do the truffle shuffle.

  11. Amanda says:

    Sorry about the sore throat. Being sick sucks.
    Roald Dahl rules. I love the book & the movie The Witches. And Matilda.
    I kind of got grumpy at you on my blog comments, so accept my apologies. I’ve been nauseous the past week after every meal, and I read your comment after lunch.

  12. JessR says:

    Gawd, good luck with the plumbing (mis)adventures. I know exactly what you’re going through with the old house and unanticipated remodeling/appliance addition costs.
    Love those old movies!!!

  13. furiousball says:

    Plumbing is latin for “bank account siphon”…I think

  14. Chicky Pea says:

    Lipton, you ruled out Lipton? They make awesome tea.

  15. egan says:

    Leezer – that is interesting. I don’t think I’d be comfortable with seeing the floor below me. Paradise in Puyallup? Ha, that’s very funny. Tootsie Rolls do not count as chocolate. Just like eating fish doesn’t make you a vegetarian.
    Sprizee – Boy is one of the best U2 albums. Good suggestion.
    Rachel – Chunk is the real deal. You got to love a character that loves ice cream as much as I do.
    Amanda – no worries about the comments on your blog. It makes sense and I can’t blame you.
    Jess R – I’m entertaining the idea of stripping a few nights a week to pay for some of our much needed home improvements. My wife thinks it’s a great idea.
    Furiousball – emé hinksté ouyé reaé ightré.
    Chicky Pea – please bite your tongue! Lipton? You must not know what my wife does for a living. Let’s just say my wife likes the name Tazo Singe.

  16. kirk says:

    Good to see your rejected baby names include several of the killer hurricanes that have struck the gulf states.
    Also, Kirk if its a boy. And with girls names, be careful not to give her a stripper name or you’ve pretty much sealed her fate. Not that there’s anything wrong with strippers.

  17. egan says:

    Kirk – shall we run through the names of strippers to make sure I have them all covered?
    Tina, Chyna, Nikki, Asia, Celeste, Lucious, Christy, Jasper, Shasta, Cheyenne, Tara, Tiffany, Marla, Bo, Amber, Cleo, Pamela, and Pia.
    *note: if any of my readers happen to have a name listed above, my apologies.

  18. Gawpo says:

    Egan, a way out west they have a name for rain and wind and fi-uh. I’ll cut to the chase, Dude—they call the wind Mariah. Does that…..Carey……any weight with you?

  19. egan says:

    Gawpeault – Mariah, only take photos of one side of my face, Carey is talented. She makes me tremble. And how does she keep selling records? Hey, I owe you an email about Oregon and the tribes.

  20. L says:

    Maybe it just means you should upgrade the dishwasher already. Hope you’re feeling better!

  21. Janice says:

    I loved the Goonies. I remember seeing it in the theatre with my friends and NO PARENTS! It was so much fun.
    How about Chunk for a baby name? Or Truffle Shuffle? Or Corey Feldman?

  22. egan says:

    L – we are upgrading the dishwasher. Well it’s not really an upgrade since it’s going from human washing to machine washing. I can’t wait to have that bad boy installed. It’s a little sick in fact.
    Janice – ice cream, ice cream. Back when that movie came out there was a local brand of ice cream called Fratellis. Damn was that stuff in the blue container good. I used to think it was ice cream made by the creepy family in The Goonies.

  23. TayRez says:

    Nah, it’s not a bad sign.
    Shows how desperately in love you are with that particular dishwasher though.

  24. Hypersonic says:

    The Goonies Rock. I watch it on the bus down to São Paulo. But I must say that i do prefer the Johnny Depp Wonka.

  25. TayRez says:

    Also… HI EFO!!!

  26. egan says:

    TayRez – is that you? You’re alive? Yes, I love me an Asko dishwasher.

  27. TayRez says:

    And also, sorry to hear you have a sore throat. I also have one so I’m like… extra, really sorry. Cause I know how you feel.

  28. TayRez says:

    Yes yes, it is me. I am now in Calgary though! One mere hour’s time difference away from you. Be delighted!

  29. egan says:

    Hyersonic – Johnny Depp was pretty good in the movie. I wasn’t at all upset with his portrayal. The original did scare the shit out of me as a kid.
    Tay Rez – holy how are you?

  30. TayRez says:

    I’m fabulous! Never better! Seriously, though, really never have been better.
    I’m off to home now though, cause it be quittin’ time. I’ll stop back on by to your your bloggie bloggie blog blog later on.

  31. egan says:

    TayRez – one hour away? Can you come stalk me please? I miss the four hour time difference.
    TayRez – delighted doesn’t even begin to explain how I feel. I’ve missed your banter on my blog. How’s the move treating you?

  32. egan says:

    TayRez – thanks for checking in. I assumed you had disappeared in the vast Canadian wilderness never to blog again. Thankfully I see I was wrong about that. Have a good night mon amie!

  33. TayRez says:

    Okay, one more little message before I skidaddle.
    I’m in Calgary, Alberta now. Just north of Montana. HOW COOL IS THAT! We call this Cowtown. I wonder if there’s an American equivalent.
    The move is good. We finally got our stuff after three weeks of sleeping on the floor. Fantastic!
    Oh, and since I was last a regular over here, I have managed to quit a shitty stressful job, be unemployed for a few months, find a great great job, fall in love (he blogs), and have him move over from the Maritimes to Calgary with me. It’s been an eventful bunch of months.
    Okay, I’ll check ya later!

  34. egan says:

    TayRez – thanks for the update. This is all very good news. I hear Calgary is really booming these days. My buddy from Vancouver says he makes work trip up to Calgary and that the town is growing pretty fast. Sounds like your outlook in life has dramatically changed in the past 3-5 months. Good for you. I hope 2007 is a great year for you.

  35. Brooke says:

    Seriously, you have 34 comments from posting about a sore throat and broken pipes.

  36. egan says:

    Brooke – we can call it The Return of Therese! That’s why the numbers are a bit inflated.

  37. egan says:

    Brooke – why must you talk about me like that? “broken pipes”? So I can’t get an erection to save my life, but really… must you rat me out? Ha, Lipitor Singe to the rescue!

  38. Cindra says:

    bummer…you are so gonna love having that thing once it’s finally in!

  39. egan says:

    Cindra – I’m dreaming about how I can use it 24 hours from now. All the glasses and silverware will get a much needed deep cleaning.

  40. Cindra says:

    You should make a really really big dinner and invite the whole neighborhood over so you can wash everything in it!

  41. Good for Me says:

    “et voila” — just curious, was the “et” on purpose, or an inadvertant token of your french fluency?
    new dishwasher is way cool.

  42. egan says:

    Cindra – hey, why do that when I can invite my own family over? Instant party of 12-15 slobs. Enough said yo!
    Good for Me – oh, it was on purpose. Nice catch. I do that often with French expressions. Once you get the darn bug in you… there’s not much you can do. Tomorrow night I get to tutor a new student.

  43. Amanda says:

    I know. You’re cool like that. I just had a shitty Wednesday.

  44. CSL says:

    Roald Dahl. I’ve watched James and the Giant Peach with my kids approimately ten thousand times. It’s fatastic.
    And yes, the instalation costing more than the appliance probably is a bad sign!

  45. Phil says:

    I’d suggest glueing the dishwasher in but I’m sure that doesn’t meet the buildling code.
    My cousin ‘Fern’ is a …. um… dancer. Feel free to add that name to the ruled out list.

  46. Eunice says:

    who stays home with a sore throat? other than you, of course…I should totally pull that one tomorrow.

  47. jeci says:

    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory scared the bejeezus outta me when I was a kid. It’s like a nightmare on acid. I loved the book, though.
    I also loved The Goonies. I watched it on a rotation with Teen Wolf eleventy million times. I was madly in love with Michael J. Fox (at least until 21 Jump Street and my one true love, Johnny Depp, came along).

  48. egan says:

    Amanda – coolio. We’re all entitled to a shitty day or two a week. Sometimes it’s the entire week, but those hopefully are exceptions to the rule. Here’s to Thursday.
    CSL – it turns out the installation may not cost more than the dishwasher. It will be very close. Keep in mind we didn’t have a space cut in our cabinets before for a dishwasher. That makes the install a bit harder to do. There’s a movie for James and the Giant Peach? I didn’t know that.
    Phil – you’re a funny man. I really hope you have a cousin named Fern, but I have a hunch you’re pulling my leg. Kind of like the liquid glue and the dishwasher.
    Eunice – if you heard me cough, you’d tell me to go home. Sadly it’s taken a turn for the worse. I stayed home tonight instead of playing soccer. Damn cold. Did I mention I have 183 hours of sick time?
    Jeci – speaking of Colours, I think I was scared of all things purple after watching Willy Wonka as a kid. Teen Wolf, now there’s a well done movie. It was campy as hell, but you had to love the feel good aspect of the movie. Johnny Depp melted me in Chocolat.

  49. ChickyBabe says:

    Would you like to share my box of Strepsils? My throat is on fire! Get well Egan.
    I liked both Willy Wonka movies, but then I love Johnny Depp who was so yummy in Chocolat!

  50. egan says:

    ChickyBabe – I will take whatever you got to make me better. My cough has subsided a bit, but now I have a wicked runny nose. I loved Chocolat because of the French and Juliette Binoche est tres mignonne.

  51. TayRez says:

    I just have to say, again, and this time in your newest post, that I am thrilled from the roots of my hair to the tips of my toesies that you are having a baby. You and Mrs LesSinges.
    You know.
    AAAAA!!

  52. Phil says:

    Unfortunately Fern is real. Her Mum (linda) caught the hippie bus in the early 70s. If it helps Fern’s grandmother is a lovely lady who’s name is Monda.

  53. Good for Me says:

    Chocolat – one of my all time favorite movies. So great that you tutor. One of my dreams is to be fluent.

  54. sandra says:

    Sandra’s a nice name…

  55. egan says:

    TayRez – merci beaucoup mon amie. We’re very excited about the kid. It will change our lives, but we’re as ready as we can be.
    Phil – Fern and Monda? Okay, I will suggest both of them to my wife. They’re winners.
    Good for Me – tutoring is fun for me and it keeps my French skills primed. Let me know if you have any questions.
    Sandra – huh, it is a nice name isn’t it. Hmmm, are you trying to bribe me?

Leave a Reply

