Productive Like a Prez

Hello again people! I’m fine, thanks for asking. I had a three day weekend and spent much of it running around like an expectant father with his head cut off. Here’s a sampling of stuff I did:

took a hammer to the back doorknob, assembled a cupboard, dismantled a crib, loaded said crib into Subaru, unloaded crib in our basement, got a haircut (more than one hair), organized the garage, took a trip to Target and Home Depot, deposited my French tutoring money, took out the recycling…

Oh, all that stuff I mentioned happened today. I did a bunch of things on Saturday and Sunday too, but I think you have better things to do than read about how I followed a French couple around a children’s store and then just happened to strike up a conversation with them en français.

Stalker sidestory: aw, speaking of stalkerish behaviors.  On Saturday morning my wife and went to scope out some tile on the way to her pre natal yoga class.  We stopped at a grocery store in the north part of town to use the bathroom and to purchase a bottle of water.  While there I recognized this tall woman who was roaming the aisles.  She happened to be someone I worked with eight years ago when I was a manager of a suburban pasta joint.  We chatted for a bit, exchanged emails, and then parted ways.  So later that evening my wife and I got dinner in West Seattle and guess who ends up getting seated right behind us?  Yep, it was the tall former co-worker again with her boyfriend.  Considering I haven’t seen this person in eight years and then saw her twice in one day in different parts of the town was rather freaky.  (end tangent)

Finally, I highly doubt you want to hear about the nice 60 degree day we had here in Seattle on Saturday. I know you’d rather read how I scribbled some smart ass remark on the side of someone’s dirty car. Alas, there are still four more days to go this week. The mischief finds me.
—————
TODAY’S RULED OUT BABY NAMES: Billy Bob, Zsa Zsa, Harrison, Mary-Kate, Dweezil, and Tyra.

…still in the hunt –> Birch, Liam, Flika, and Dermot.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Blog Fodder. Bookmark the permalink.

79 Responses to Productive Like a Prez

  1. ChickyBabe says:

    La Premiere!
    La una!
    I’m so glad you didn’t say “running around like a Chicky with head cut off!

  2. mez says:

    bloody hell are you guys organised or what?!
    Zsa Zsa is a great name. I can’t believe you canned it!

  3. Phil says:

    Hang on, if Fern is out of the running then all tree/shrub related names should go as well. No Rose, no Redwood, no Eucalyptist and no South African Mohogany (with a nice oiled finish).
    Way to go on the furniture construction!

  4. Phil says:

    Hmmm, I figure the timezone differnce gives us Australians the first commenter advantage.

  5. Chris says:

    You’ve accomplished more in that weekend than our so called Prez has in 6 years. Way to go!
    Some names to consider canning:
    Chester
    Aaliyah
    Darlita
    Lakshmi
    Rafael
    Waldo

  6. Amanda says:

    Sounds like a fun weekend – stalking foreigners is always awesome! If you hadn’t posted something soon, I was going to send out the troops (bloggers are weird – we worry when someone hasn’t posted in a few days…)
    If any of your wife’s friends/family are looking for shower ideas, I wrote about some “fun” games I played at the shower I went to this past weekend. Feel free to share them.

  7. Good for Me says:

    two more things we have in common: a subaru (mine is an outback, and the third subaru i’ve owned — LOVE them!). and following foreigners. i do this all the time in stores or at the park, or wherever. though since i’m not fluent, i rarely engage in conversation because after “bonjour”, i would just be another french speaking wanna-be lacky. still my heart is there.
    glad you a nice long weekend with lovely saturday weather.

  8. naynayfazz says:

    I kind of like Dweezil Zsa Zsa actually. Then the baby can grow up to be a guitar playing whore. Actually, maybe that isn’t such a good idea.

  9. Rachel says:

    Why did you take a hammer to a doorknob? Just wondering.
    I wasn’t nearly as productive as you were this weekend but I am happy to finally announce that I finally took down my Christmas Tree. It was only a month and a half late.

  10. Heather says:

    I like the ‘ruled out baby names’ section,… my husband and I had the most difficult time ever trying to find the right name,… we did find it though:)

  11. Mone says:

    I’m glad you didnt just get one hair cut 😉 how much would that be nowadays anyway?

  12. darlene says:

    Thanks for ruling out Zsa Zsa… I can just visualize this little diapered girl with tons of bling, a heavy accent crawling around smacking police officers.

  13. meno says:

    Wow, you are a wicked partier!

  14. sandra says:

    When’s she due again?

  15. logo™ says:

    I was out on my motorcycle for 5 hours on Saturday, it got up to 64 degrees, what a FABULOUS day!
    Glad you had a great weekend.
    Mwah!

  16. furiousball says:

    Now does Zsa Zsa automatically bu association rule out “Cop Slapper”? If not, I’d add that to the ruled out list too.

  17. tori says:

    My dad speaks Russian and we happen to have neighbors that speak Russian. They aren’t very social, but every time my dad is here, he peeks out our window and waits until they walk out of their house just so he can talk to them. It’s sort of creepy, but whatever.

  18. Jennifer says:

    I spent my President’s Day Holiday Time Off of Work like a good American. Shopping. Oh, and yes. Spending money.
    It’s the Economy, Stupid.
    Wait. Wrong era.
    I need a nap.
    P.S. Birch is still in the running? How about Maple?

  19. Gawpo says:

    I absolutely love those small world amazements. When I was in college I had to drive from Mt. Angel, Oregon to Turlock, California. I got word of my maternal grandmother’s death and left late at night. I picked up two young girls who were hitchhiking with a huge dog. They piled into my VW beetle and I slept as I let one of them drive. Can you believe that! They got out at Sacramento. Anyway, a few weeks later I saw them at a Doobie Brothers concert in Portland. We all three got a smile out of that one.

  20. egan says:

    ChickyBabe – commenting first on my blog isn’t nearly as cool as doing it on yours. But hey, congrats are in order.
    ChickyBabe – I didn’t say the “chicky” thing just for you. I want to be sensitive to my readers, mainly you.
    Mez – if you saw our house right now, I’m not sure you’d say we’re organized. It’s a mess, but sometimes it has to get messy before it can get clean. That’s where we are now. It’s a common state known as “nesting”.
    Phil – I love trees so that means tree names aren’t entirely ruled out. I think Redwood is out of the question though. Maybe Loblolly Pine will work.
    Phil – yeah, the time zone thing does help and the fact that I tend to post in the middle of the night too. I’m such a night owl.
    Chris – we’ve ruled out Waldo for sure. The other ones don’t even merit consideration. I’m glad you caught my Prez bashing title.
    Amanda – those are some great ideas for baby shower games. I will pass these along to her. So maybe this woman I ran into this weekend was you stalking me? I knew it.
    Good for You – I stumbled into the Alliance Française on Saturday. I said “pardon” in my thickest French accent and got no response. That made me extra determined to chat on Sunday. I pull this stunt often so I can bone up. If I didn’t do this, I might not speak much French at all. Our Subaru is also the Outback Impreza. What year is yours?
    NayNayFazz – yep, that’s not the kind of kid I want. However, we adore the name Moon Unit.
    Rachel – I took a hammer to the door knob when I realized taking the screws out of it wasn’t making any progress. I used all my mite and busted that damn thing of the door. Schlage makes a damn solid lock. The fact you just took down your tree is why I don’t put one up. I’d procrastinate just like that too.
    Heather – hello and welcome to my blog. So, what name did you settle on then? I should wander over to your blog and take a peek. Thanks again for the visit.
    Mone – I’m a cheap bastard when it comes to haircuts. Mine cost $16 with shampoo. I’ve paid as much as $40 once and as little as $7. Women get screwed on their prices.
    Darlene – yep, and it’s just not a cute name as an adult.
    Ms. Sizzle – this is a name we joke about, but we still like the sound of it. Flora is still in the running too.
    Meno – very very funny. Did you party hard this weekend?
    Sandra – the due date is currently 08/07/07. I’m guessing she will give birth that day for sure.
    Logo – it was awesome on Saturday. My goal was to get out and ride the bike, but I spent too much time at a large baby store testing out gliders.
    Furiousball – I almost forgot all about the cop slapping bit until Darlene reminded me about said behavior. I do recall this bad behavior of hers. She’s also just a pain in the ass. Why is she famous again?
    Tori – I have a feeling I would love your dad to death. How are his language snooping techniques?
    Jennifer – Maple is off the map. I love maple syrup and all, but it doesn’t work so well with my last name. Birch is still in the running, but more as a girl name now. Have you considered curling up under your desk?

  21. flounder says:

    Don’t dismiss Dweezil so quickly.
    BTW – Instead of another triathalon, try this.

  22. egan says:

    Gawpo – holy shit man, you’re very trusting of people. You pick up hitchhikers and then let them drive? That’s bold. Typically that’s the kind of thing that you hear about on the local news. I’m glad they were nice to you. So they weren’t too stoned to remember you?

  23. egan says:

    Flounder – that’s some crazy shit I tell you. Running that far for 111 straight days through a desert is absolutely insane. The ultra distance runners have a few screws loose I think. Who knows though, maybe they think doing an Ironman is crazy. It’s all relative. Dweezil is out, but Moon Unit is still in the hunt.

  24. Amanda says:

    Glad you liked the games. Are you a foreigner?
    I agree with you about Gawpo. He is very trusting. I won’t even roll down the window for the homeless guy with the funny sign at the stoplight. And the 2 girls were trusting too! Getting in a VW bug driven by a Sicilian? Scary! 🙂

  25. egan says:

    Amanda – yes, I’m a foreigner. Want a ride in my MINI Cooper? Gawpo is one risky dude. I’ve decided I’m no longer answering the front door at night.

  26. Amanda says:

    I will tell you that I saw a MINI driving around town the other day and thought of you. And then I thought “how in the hell does he drive that thing? I would feel cramped.”
    How do you drive that thing? Are you tall?

  27. egan says:

    Amanda – I’m 6’1. The car is much roomier inside than you would imagine. I’m more comfortable driving the MINI than I am in the Subaru. There’s a lot more leg room and headroom in the MINI vs. the Subaru. Both cars are great. The Subaru Impreza is very practical and basic. The MINI is loaded and not quite as practical. The MINI is a damn fun car to drive too.

  28. Tall Chick says:

    I’m bummed that you haven’t binned a single one of my suggestions.
    How about Fern? Parsley-Jane? Drusilla?
    Ali Achmed A’a. He would never have a boring airport experience.

  29. Amanda says:

    Ooh, Egan – Drusilla is a sweet name. Yeah, she was a psycho on Buffy, but it’s a very gothic name.
    6’1″? You are a giant! Granted, I’m 5’2″, but still! The MINI’s are cute.

  30. egan says:

    Tall Chick – I will make it a point to rule out your name suggestions in future posts. Afterall you’re my biggest fan and I aim to please.
    Amanda – I’m not sure I would consider myself a giant. I’m the shortest in my family at 6’1. One of my brother’s is 6’7. Mrs. Lessinges is 5’2 also.

  31. Amanda says:

    Well, it’s a giant to short people like me & your wife. And is 6’7″ even possible? Your poor mother.

  32. Tall Chick says:

    Mr. Bean is tall and he drives a MINI. Is that where you got the idea? Does yours have a sliding bolt latch and a padlock?

  33. Cheryl says:

    That is really weird about seeing that person twice in one day. I also can’t believe how much you did on Monday! I feel so lazy now.

  34. Amanda says:

    TC asks a good question.

  35. sprizee says:

    Too bad you missed the Seattle Home & Garden Show. Maybe next year.

  36. Burr-ee-toe says:

    Ohh… then I won’t tell everyone about the 80 something degree weather we experienced in So Cal. Wait… yes, I will. It was gorgeous. I loved it. 🙂

  37. Good for Me says:

    mine’s an ’02 legacy outback.
    man, that’s annoying. to not get a response, that is. it would make me more determined too. what’s with that, anyway? why do you think you got no response? solely cultural?

  38. egan says:

    Amanda – 6’7 is definitely possible. I feel bad for my mom because she squeezed out ten kids. Most of us were in the 5-8 pound range.
    Tall Chick – all my ideas in life come from Bean. He’s my hero. I need to see that movie of his again. I never laughed as hard as I did during the first viewing of that movie. I wonder if it was just the circumstances or it was actually that bloody funny.
    Cheryl – guess what her name is? Yep, you and her share the same great name. I will most likely be lazy the rest of the week to make up for such a productive day.
    Amanda – she does ask good questions. Nope, no padlock. Just your normal locks and no need to bash them with a hammer.
    Sprizee – I hear you had a splendid time at the NW Flower & Garden show. Plants are cheap, the food rocks, the admission is inexpensive, the men are oozing with hotness. Fun times.
    Burr-ee-toe – now that sounds like some nice weather. Are you going to see any of the Tour of California bike race?
    Good for Me – well I think I caught the guy off guard. He clearly wasn’t a native French speaker. He may have been there just for the conversation practice and not an actual employee. Do you find the 2002 Legacy Outback to have good space in the backseat?

  39. celeste says:

    Excellent names to rule out. You don’t want a name that is an easily recognizable celebrity name. Those hollywood types tend to misbehave and muddy up their good names. And no one wants to be associated with that!
    Sounds like a pretty great weekend!

  40. Burr-ee-toe says:

    I didn’t even know there was a tour of california bike race. I’m afraid of bikes. Even stationary ones. Did you know that?

  41. egan says:

    Celeste – yep, I don’t want my child to have any celebrity names. Hells no. The weekend was nice and busy. Too bad there are laundry fairies.
    Burr-ee-toe – you didn’t know there was a Tour of California? I’m shocked. Well this is only the second year so it’s not too shocking. It’s a seven stage race so it’s nothing compared to the Tour de France.

  42. egan says:

    Burr-ee-toe – did you fall off a bike at an early age? They can be scary when you’re young, but nowadays you shouldn’t fear them. I really want to know more about this “vélophobia”.

  43. Phats says:

    You should name your kid Oompa Loompa! that would rock. If you had a big family you could then name the rest of them after the other willy wonka characters.

  44. egan says:

    Phats – that’s true, but I think the big family thing just isn’t happening. 2-3 kids maximum as I want them to go to college and all that good stuff. Student loans suck.

  45. Nessa says:

    Birch would be a mistake. Trees don’t make good names.
    Slow down. You’re going to need all of that energy soon. Conserve, conserve.

  46. egan says:

    Nessa – you don’t like tree names? What’s wrong with you? Now that’s why I don’t share Names in the Running on my blog. Don’t make me stop sharing. (I’m being overly dramatic for no apparent reason… it’s nothing personal) I happen to like the names Dogwood, Yew, and Loblolly.

  47. Eunice says:

    Are you sure she hasn’t been secretly following you around for the past 8 years?

  48. Amy says:

    I’m really curious about something, how and when did you develop your interest in the French language?
    I was forced to take French every year from Kindergarten to grade 11. I HATED every second of French class. Finally in Grade 12 after all my years of complaining (backed by my parents approval) the school allowed me to take another class instead. I can’t imagine voluntarily sitting in a French class. In fact, if someone offered me a million dollars to sit in a French class for a year, I honestly would have to think long and hard about it.

  49. egan says:

    Eunice – that’s a great point, but highly unlikely. I have mad skills so it’s not often someone would be able to follow my tracks for eight years.
    Amy – great question. I think it started when I first took French in ninth grade. It came pretty naturally to me and it was so cool to converse in another language. My grandma sang in French from time to time so I think it got stuck in my head. Languages aren’t for everyone. If I took any subject for 12 grades, I would likely have the same reaction. I’m jealous you got to start at such an early age. Most public school kids don’t start until middle school at the earliest.
    Hey, where did you grow up in Canada? Was there a lot of anti-Quebec sentiment? Could that have factored into the equation at all? Hate? That’s so extreme. C’est la vie. Thanks again for asking Amy.

  50. Maria says:

    I always find it funny (not haha funny) when you run into someone you haven’t seen in a long time more than once in a stretch of time. I remember a time years ago, my cousin came for a visit from Italy so my brothers and I took him out. We ate in a restaurant close to our house (in the suburbs) and saw a couple of girls seated right next to us. After dinner we took my cousin to a trendy cafe in downtown Toronto only to see the same two girls. It was pretty freaky.

  51. Tall Chick says:

    I meant did you get the idea for being tall from him.
    Maybe.
    The Bean movie was OK, but the series TOTALLY cracks me up. 🙂 Genius!
    Rowan, Willow, Shagbark Hickory, Pine, Cedar, Cypress, Elm(er), Oak, Bonsai

  52. Cindra says:

    Yeah, the Bean movie was only okay…
    So, how about Max for a boy, and Kinsey for a girl?

  53. Phats says:

    Kristen wants 3 kids I want 0 I wonder who will win

  54. egan says:

    Cindra – Max? Every eighth kid is named Max these days including my nephew. I kind of like Kinsey, but I don’t think it will make the cut. I liked the Bean movie, but I’m a dork like that.
    Phats – umm, make sure you two reach commonground before you get too far especially if you don’t want any. I think she’ll win.

  55. msmachine says:

    Great weekend activity! Lately I have been spending my weekends cooking, roasting coffee beans and spices,and ignoring the home improvement projects I had planned. I seem to be all about the pleasure. Hope you are enjoying your “nesting”.
    Names (there is a theme here) : Bruce, Jamie, Clark, Diana, Selina, or Logan

  56. The Grunt says:

    Dweezil is a good Christian name. Egan, if I happen to be driving my pickup in Seattle and it doesn’t have “I have a large penis” mysteriously written on it, then I will demand my money back. Who I will be demanding that from, I have no idea.

  57. I with Mez on this one, if you don’t like Zsa Zsa how about hyphenating it with darlingk… ie ZsaZsa Darlingk Singe – see rolls off the tongue, perfect isn’t it?!

  58. Nessa says:

    Ok, Birch is not good because one letter mistake and your daughter would kick someone’s a$$. I like Yew. “Hey, Yew, get out of the street.”

  59. Good for Me says:

    my outback is very roomy in the backseat and the cargo space is too. though i don’t sit in the back, the two little guys do. safety is a huge factor for me with the boys. we were rear ended on the highway summer of 2005 in our then 97 legacy outback. car was totalled and we were all safe and walked away without a scratch. quite a miracle. after that — and lots of consumer reports research — i chose another outback. that was more than you asked for though 🙂
    sounds like the “french” guy was maybe doing the same thing you were, huh?
    interesting reading about Amy’s experience. one of my dreams is to be fluent in french. wish i had time to study it more, or live in a french speaking country for that matter.

  60. Burr-ee-toe says:

    Egan, I fell off my bike many a time as a young child. I think it all stems back to when I was still in the child seat and my mom took a big spill with me. My confidence is still non-existent on a bike… remember my post from July?

  61. Candace says:

    My sis and I had a car named Dweezil.
    Wolverine

  62. Candace says:

    Francesca – to celebrate your love of all things French

  63. Caro says:

    En moyenne moins quinze ici depuis les derniers 10 jours. Tu sais quoi faire avec ton soixante degrés! Vivement l’été. Vivement les terrasses de La rue St-Denis, le festival de jazz, les tams-tams du Mont-Royal etc… Venez-donc faire un p’tit tour à Montréal cet été! On ira boire un pot à la santé de junior!

  64. egan says:

    Msmachine – roasting coffee? Oh how I love the smell of beans a roastin’. Can I come over? Nesting is exactly what I’m doing.
    The Grunt – so I need to pay attention for your next visit then. Dweezil is a good Christian name? Huh, and I suppose you’re going to tell me Britney’s a good Christian.
    TheDailyMagnet – yeah, I’m not certain any name with a Z in it rolls off the tongue. I need proof. Wait, I love Mez as a name though.
    Nessa – are you calling me a Bitch? I see what you’re saying. Good point. This is why I post this stuff.
    Good for Me – Subarus do rock. We totally love ours. It’s so damn practical. Good gas mileage, good in the city, great on snow, unpaved road, great for moving stuff, peppy, and safe. Are you serious about the French thing? It’s totally possible to be fluent. Amy’s comment saddens me a bit, but I do know foreign languages aren’t for everyone. Want any tips?
    Burr-ee-toe – I vaguely remember that post. I will have to read it again. Doing triathlons with a fear of bike riding would be shitty.
    Candace – are you a Wolverine or are you just quoting shit from Red Dawn? Dweezil for a car? Huh.
    Candace – you make me weak in the knees.

  65. egan says:

    Caro – un jour je vair revenir à Montréal. J’adore la ville de Montreal surtout en hiver parce que je suis fou. Je manque les Quebecois et toutes les choses francaises. Je peux sentir le poutine.

  66. Amber says:

    Ha! I am quite sure you can find some trouble mischief to get into with the rest of the week left.
    Sounds like you guys had a very hectic week. Things are already in full swing and crazy… and you’re not even in the final three months; the much anticipated third trimester, yet.
    Heh, heh, heh.
    This is going to be interesting! 🙂
    PS: You really shouldn’t stalk people. There are laws against that in all 50 states.

  67. Burr-ee-toe says:

    It really isn’t my thing. Bikes have a tendency to toss me off of them.

  68. It’s like thirty degrees here today. Nice and warm!

  69. CSL says:

    Wow, you got a lot done. I could have used you here last week.
    And, if you’ve ruled out Dweezil, can Moon Unit be far behind?

  70. ubermilf says:

    I thought this post said, “Productive like the PEZ.”

  71. Caro says:

    La poutine au foie gras Du Pied de cochon. You haven’t lived until you eat one of those. Every bit as decadent as it sounds.Even though just thinking about it gets your cholesterol soaring to new heights…

  72. egan says:

    Amber – you’re right. Perhaps I can stalk Canadians living in America instead. There must be some way to make it work.
    Burr-ee-toe – I think there’s an expression we use in the software business that might work here, “operator error”.
    Malnurtured Snay – wow, you’re in the midst of a heat wave. That’s not Celcius is it?
    CSL – Moon Unit is still in the running. Not sure for how long though.
    Ubie – that saying might imply I’m constipated.

  73. egan says:

    Caro – I had foie gras for the first time on New Year’s Eve. It wasn’t too bad. If you didn’t know what it was, you might be inclined to eat more. Oh, la poutine. Rue St. Denis… I have to come visit again. Un homme peut rêver.

  74. Good for Me says:

    totally serious. in highschool i actually began dreaming in french (started taking in 6th grade). it was amazing.
    differences in culture and language intrigue me immensely. i was visiting a friend in switzerland in the fall of 2005. it just lit me up to be around people who spoke french and german. i do have to say though that my experience in the paris airport sucked royally.
    one afternoon my friend dropped me off in biel/bienne so i could have a go at my french. i exchanged my money and shopped for several hours communicating on my own in french. it was electric! so yes, i’m serious. it’s a dream…but right now not really a priority timewise with everything else in life. if you have tips though i will gladly take them!

  75. egan says:

    Good for Me – this is a very cool dream of yours. I love hearing kids speaking foreign languages. When I was in Québec City it was so neat to hear the grade school kids conversing in French. Switzerland is a great place for languages and culture among other things.
    Hey, don’t let your experience at an airport ever cloud your judgement. They’re full of visitors and crap. I actually lost my passport at Charles de Gaulle and freaked out. I didn’t hear them paging me over the intercom because my name in French doesn’t sound so great. Okay, here’s my tip. Pretend the language you want to learn is someone you’re dating. Immerse yourself completely. If you can, make sure to listen French radio on the internet. Bon courage mon ami. Perhaps I should start my French language blog up again.

  76. egan says:

    TheDailyMagnet – Zafod sounds a dragon in some sci-fi movie. I have made the executive decision against any sci-fi stuff. Good suggestion though.

Leave a Reply

