Gibberish Games

I’ve tried to find good solutions for posting more audio content on this blog. I think I finally found an alternative to Odeo. My younger brother graciously gave me a gift certificate to the Apple store for Christmas. Since I can’t use this type of gift certificate for iTunes purchases, I upgraded to QuickTime Pro. My first recording in quite some time isn’t too terribly interesting, but it’s a start MonkeyTalks.(*well well well, it was brought to my attention this link doesn’t work.  I haven’t been able to fix the problem yet so I will post something new) For those of you already dialed in with podcasting, I added a feed link in the right margin.

If you don’t have headphones at work or can’t get QuickTime to work for you. I can summarize the audio in four words, nice weather equals gardening. Finally, we had nice weather on Saturday and Sunday. This means I finally caught up on some much needed yardwork. I removed a couple young apple trees the previous owner planted too close to other vegetation. I weeded out some of our raised veggie beds and along the fence. I also installed a really bright light at the back door out of house. Thus making it much easier to identify those after hours visitors of ours. Now it is important for me to teach them the secret knock.

We finally bought purchased some new fixtures for the basement bathroom remodel project. We got out our sink, shower fixtures, towel bar and heater/fan. Mrs. Lessinges and I will place our tile order tomorrow and we should be ready to start work within the next week. How exciting.
————–
Next weekend there’s a huge blogger rally in Portland, Oregon. I’m very optimistic we’ll make the three hour drive south on Friday after we find out the sex of our child. Should be great fun to see many bloggers on Saturday night. Oh, you know what’s not fun? I’m tired of people rolling their eyes when we tell them we’re finding out the sex before birth. I suppose this is the same look I will see when we choose to use disposable diapers, breastfeed for only six months, and raise a vegetarian child named Parsley. Patience young Singe, patience!
————–
TODAY’S RULED OUT BABY NAMES: Lanugo, Amnio, Wharton, Fundal, Gravida, and Episio.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Housecapades, Web/Tech. Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to Gibberish Games

  1. ChickyBabe says:

    Chicky La Premiere!
    Sounds like everything is coming together before young Singe does.
    I think Episio Lesinge has a nice ring to it.

  2. Mone says:

    wow, you had a very busy weekend. our garden is still waiting for me to show up, it has been raining all day long yesterday, so no work done outside.
    If you get to know the sex of little m your task of outruling names will be a lot easier 🙂

  3. patches says:

    Finding out the sex before birth? To each his own. People have opinions about EVERYTHING. Paper or plastic? Foreign or domestic? Mets or Yankees? Taste Great or Less Filling? Hope the baby is cooperative. The little devils can start rebelling as early the womb and keep their legs crossed….of course during he teenage years you’ll want he/she to keep it’s legs crossed.

  4. Amanda says:

    Yeah – pretty much bad parenting right there. (sarcasm incase you couldn’t tell). Why would people roll their eyes at that? Sounds like these people suck.
    I can’t listen to your voice at work. So I’ll have to wait. Glad you were able to get outside & garden. We went for a walk (it was a little brisk, but still walking weather) and are going for another one tonight. Yay warm weather!!
    Is QuickTime Pro good?

  5. justrun says:

    Pllltthh to those who think you shouldn’t find out the sex of the baby. There will still be plenty you don’t know, I’m sure. 🙂
    I’m such a nerd, I’m actually looking forward to seeing what goes in the bathroom. I walk through the fixture isle at Home Depot like most women walk through Nordstrom’s, in AWE.

  6. Chris says:

    The two most important words in the English lnaguage for a pending parent: “Diaper Genie”. You’re welcome.

  7. naynayfazz says:

    I would love to go to a blogger rally but well, Oregon is a little too far. Darn it! 🙂
    I love the name Parsley. It makes my hungry.

  8. Amy says:

    I clicked onto your “MonkeyTalks” twice. Both times it froze up my computer. I had to turn off the power to get my PC to work again. GURRRR! I will try it again though. (Yes, I know what you are going to say.)
    I’m so jealous that you got to garden this weekend. I was so anxious to get out in the garden yesterday, I shoveled snow out of the garden pathways in the back yard.
    I’m with you on wanting to know the sex of the baby. People who are against it usually say it’s because they want to be surprised. Well, you are going to be surprised no matter when you find out. The difference is, you will be better prepared for the baby’s arrival.
    And yes, disposable diapers all the way!

  9. karla says:

    Surprises are so overrated. I’m all about knowing up front what I’m in for too, including whether or not diaper changes will involve a lethal weapon that can spray pee across the room.

  10. borneochica says:

    Amy is right about a baby being surprising, regardless of its gender. There is absolutely no preparation for parenting … except parenting.
    And yes, steel yourself for the many opinions that people will have about things that are none of their business. You can start practicing the “smile and nod.” Oh, you don’t like the baby name I chose after careful deliberation? Smile and nod. You think I should let little Bobo cry it out? Smile and nod. You think I should never let little Bobo cry? Smile and nod. Smile and nod. Smile and nod.

  11. Trick says:

    Is there not enough surprises in parenting that people should be ok with somebody wanting to at least plan for the right sex…..get a life!!! You need to start rolling your eyes right back at them and then punch them in the left eye!

  12. runliarun says:

    Thanks for stopping by. You do have an eclectic post here. The search for the perfect baby name promises to be quite entertaining.

  13. furiousball says:

    Hey, you have a podcast! Very cool, I’ve been wanting to try that out a bit more than what I already have (which is just a podcast of the latest stupid songs I’ve been working on)…I’m all inspired now.
    As far as finding out the sex – to each their own. If someone asked me what I thought I’d say wait, because we did and the surprise was awesome. But do I judge others that do, no way. Parenting is between the parents, none of my business. I just hope for healthy babies.

  14. Jules says:

    Thought the Mrs. Lessinges didn’t know you blogged? Hmmm…details, details…

  15. Flounder says:

    I loved when people would tell me not to find out the sex of the baby because “there are too few surprises left in the world.”
    Whether I find out at the end of the first trimester or after nine months, isn’t it still a surprise? The only thing that has changed is when we were surprised. With that knowledge, we were able to get the nursery together the way we wanted and buy some clothes.

  16. egan says:

    ChickyBaby – congrats on number one! You like Episio eh? You know what Episio’s full name would be? Episiotomy. Not so attractive.
    Mone – yeah, there are plenty of advantages to finding out. I’m just sick of the eye rolling. It’s raining again today.
    Patches – it’s true people have opinions about everything. However, I’ve never felt so annoyed as an expectant parent. It’s so over the top. Everyone wants you to do what they did and they get very personal. It’s much different than discussing politics, beer, or plastic bags. I hear you on the legs crossing stuff.
    Amanda – I can sense your sarcasm. No need for smiley faces with me. I do love a good walk with my wife. It’s always fun to look at houses and chat about stuff while enjoying some fresh air. QuickTime Pro is good. I’m sure there are many things I’m not using yet, but the audio recordings are a cinch.
    Justrun – so cool of you to care about the bathroom. I will take plenty of before and after shots of the project. Your Home Depot analogy is fantastic. Yes, screw those that think we’re lame for finding out ahead of time.
    Chris – I hear it’s all about Diaper Genie II. So how hip I am.
    NaynayFazz – Parsley sounds more like a girl’s name, but maybe it could wind up as a middle name. Just follow the Oregon Trail west.
    Amy – sorry to hear about snow ruining your gardening plans. Soon enough you’ll be able to do stuff in the garden. Huh, QuickTime won’t work on your computer? Lameness. What’s a surprise?
    Karla – my thoughts exactly. A healthy kid is all I ask for. I know that’s a personal sentiment for you so. I mean that in all sincerity.
    Borneochica – those are wonderful examples. Either I smile & nod or I’m going to jump down someone’s throat. I think smile & nod is a better approach.

  17. logo™ says:

    You could always inquire about personal decision of theirs so you can reprove them.
    That is always so nice.
    Grrrrrr

  18. egan says:

    Trick – I’m going to do more than roll my eyes back. I will blog about it and show them. Don’t mess with me. I won’t throw any punches though, that’s not who I am.
    Runliarun – hello and welcome to my blog. Thanks for the visit. Yeah, Mondays are tough for me to gather my thoughts after a busy weekend.
    Furiousball – I tried my first podcast using QuickTime Pro and Typepad. We’ll see how it works. Parenting is challenging enough and then everyone else will offer their take on things. Fun times.
    Jules – when did I say that? Oh, you must have thought I was serious when I told Tori she doesn’t read my blog. Mrs. Lessinges definitely reads this blog. She might even be a regular commenter.
    Flounder – that’s a great point. There’s still a surprise there. It’s just not on the birth date. Your nursery looks awesome. I might need to put the drill to my head too.
    Logo™ – you know, that’s a good point. If it’s a dude I will ask them about their foreskin. If it’s a woman I will ask them about their hymen.

  19. Churlita says:

    Have fun at Tequilacon. If I lived closer, I would totally try to make it.
    The bad thing about becoming a parent, is that so many people think they can judge everything you do. I liked knowing the sex of my girls before they were born. I also get why some people don’t want to know, but it doesn’t bother me that they choose not to find out.

  20. egan says:

    Churlita – yeah, I guess more people would bite their tongue or think twice before spewing advice. I see why people choose to find out or not, I just don’t need a guilt trip. Save that for church.

  21. Chris says:

    Super hip dude…I have something called a litter locker at home – whcih is the same concept of a diaper genie but applied to cats and cat litter.

  22. mez says:

    ha! I thought it was the other way around, where people thought you were crazy for NOT finding out the sex of your baby. I guess people will get their knickers in a knot over anything.
    You should use polystyrene nappies and keep your child in a cage – that should really freak out the neighbours!

  23. meno says:

    It’s nice how everyone thinks that you should do things exactly as they did. *rolls eye*
    Mu opinion is that there are too many opinions in the world about stuff that is none of your damned business.
    That was confusing.

  24. Burr-ee-toe says:

    Egan, I get to start being like you and fixing stuff in a house and then having babies!

  25. Rachel says:

    I wanted to know the sex of my son before I had him.
    I had wanted a girl because that is what all of my friends had but I had this bone-deep feeling that I was having a boy.
    After I had the sonogram and I told the tech she told me that you would be amazed at how many women know the sex of the child that they are carrying.
    Ask the Mrs. what she thinks that it is.
    you should write a post and ask for peoples advice for things that they wish they would have had or known when they had their first child. It will give you a serious leg up.

  26. tori says:

    You have to be pretty sure of yourself in order to have kids…you get looks no matter what you decide to do. When I breastfed my first for 13 months, people rolled their eyes and asked if we were ever going to stop. When I fed my twins bottles after two months of exhaustion trying to breastfeed, I got the same looks, but this time for stopping the breastfeeding. No matter what you do, someone will have a reason why you shouldn’t be doing it. I have learned to nod and smile and then do whatever the hell I wanted to do in the first place.

  27. sprizee says:

    You can record audio files with Microsoft XP. Go to start/accessories/entertainment/audio recorder…if you’re cheap, like me. Hola y adios.

  28. darlene says:

    I was judged for a lot of things when I had my kids (who are basically grown up now) I didn’t nurse, I used disposable diapers (I’ll be damned if I’m cleaning poopy diapers as well as poopy bums) – I totally wanted to know the sexes of my children, but they wouldn’t tell me.
    Do what feels right to you – not anyone else.

  29. egan says:

    Chris – I want our house to smell like baby poop so nobody will visit us. Shouldn’t that be the goal?
    Mez – your cage suggestion had me laughing out loud here at work. That’s hysterical. Part of me just wants to piss off the nosy people. Joking about a cage is no laughing matter. Speaking of knickers, I could use a pair.
    Meno – not confusing at all, I know exactly what you meant to say. Thanks for your support and all that good stuff. You’re solid.
    Burr-ee-toe – huh, that’s a very interesting statement. Do you have something you’d like to share or must I go to your blog?
    Rachel – my wife thinks it will be a girl at this point. That answer changes daily though. I’m not sure I want to solicit anymore advice than already. You ask and people won’t shut up about it. I mean that in the nicest possible way too.
    Tori – oh I bet you did get tons of advice. It’s just a pain to me. If I ask, that’s one thing… if not, then leave me alone. So true I’m sure about someone always having a differing opinion.
    Sprizee – that assumes I have a XP on my work computer. Very funny. You make funnies from Europe too. How cute of you. Hope your trip is going well.
    Darlene – thanks, it’s true… do what feels comfortable to me. Cloth diapers still need to be cleaned and I can barely keep up with our own stuff.

  30. Blogger Rally! Are those regional or what? I wanna go!

  31. Amanda says:

    When I tried to open your “podcast” it said a plug-in failed on the page. I have QuickTime & it works on my ‘puter, but not that link. No Monkey podcast for me.

  32. egan says:

    steppingoverthejunk – it’s hard to say. I don’t think this one is. This particular group met last year in the Midwest I think. They seem to be more frequent on the East Coast and maybe that’s because more people live there.
    Amanda – thanks for the heads up on this. I tried it from my work computer and it’s not doing anything either. I click the Play button and nothing happens. It works fine at home, but I will do some troubleshooting. Nobody has commented on it so I think you may not be alone.

  33. Egan:
    Yes, and today (Monday) it’s even warmer here in Seattle!
    I wish I could go to Tequilacon – mostly out of morbid curiosity – but I have to give my gerbil a bath and pierce my six year old’s tongue (kidding, duh).

  34. Phil says:

    I can’t get monkeytalk to work. Curse Zezus!
    I’d be careful about letting Mez babysit.

  35. Amy says:

    We got even more unexpected snow today. I went to the gym and when I came out there was about 3 inches on the car. GURR! I’ll never get to garden again!
    I’ve used QuickTime before, I don’t know why I’m freezing up.

  36. egan says:

    Leezer/Soapbox Gal – I love the rant, seriously. That’s pretty funny. Trust me many people have suggested this. One or two people here and there, no big deal. Unfortunately many have rolled theirs eyes. Isn’t it awesome out? I think it hit 60 degrees and yes, I’m very curious to see what happens. I will take notes while I’m wearing a wig.
    Phil – yeah, there’s something wrong with the file. It work on my iBook, but not here. I will try and fix it. Mez would be a fabulous babysitter. The kid would be so artsy.

  37. egan says:

    Amy – QuickTime is freezing up like your garden. I will look into it. It worked fine at home, but not at all on my work PC.

  38. Eunice says:

    It’s funny how there are still two camps on the sex thing. Those that will and those that won’t. Personally, I could barely stand the torture. And I only had to wait a week.

  39. Tall Chick says:

    Are you a Yuppie?

  40. egan says:

    Eunice – yeah, thanks for that. It’s not easy to wait. One way or another, it’s still a surprise.
    Tall Chick – are you a hippie?

  41. Maria says:

    ohhh … parsley! I like that!
    Perhaps you should use the Italian version Prezzemollo. Or maybe Mollo for short.
    With regards to the sex thing I don’t care either way … I have a couple of brothers who knew the sex (and even named them) before they were born. It’s all good 😉

  42. leezer says:

    Egan:
    Guess what? I changed my name to “I’ll get on my soapbox for a minute if it’s ok.” for another blog I was reading and I forgot to change the name back to Leezer! Sorry! Hope you had a great day!

  43. Phats says:

    Send some of your good weather our way will ya! 🙂
    Name your kid something interesting, not something common! Trust me S/he will thank you for life!
    Best of luck in finding out the sex 🙂

  44. egan says:

    Maria – are there any silent letters in those Italian words you offered up as baby names?
    Leezer – it’s all good about the name thing. I genuinely laughed when I saw what you typed. I thought you were a different blogger. Nice touch.
    Phats – 62 degrees in Seattle tomorrow. We will work on something nice and unique. Four days and counting.

  45. Pants says:

    Parsley, I love it.
    Though I don’t have my own children…I’ve seen many friends get “the look” and a mouthful of opinionated crap from people who think they know best. F those stupid know it alls!

  46. ChickyBabe says:

    Funny I thought about that yesterday but um… ouchy that would hurt.

  47. Don’t use “Shave and a haircut” for a secret knock; everyone knows that one.
    A blogger rally in Portland? That sounds interesting.
    I need to thank you for being a good sport, Egan, for participating in my silliness at my blog.

  48. The Grunt says:

    Uh, I forgot to change my identity back. Sorry.

  49. wmy says:

    I didn’t know the shave and a haircut one…uhhhhh,,,ummmmm
    how about…parsnip kiwi????
    that has a nice ring to it don’t ya think??

  50. Disposable diapers are the best, 6 months is a perfect time to wean off the boobie, and babies hate meat anyway.
    Did you rule out all the spice names? Cinnamon and Tarragon and Savory?

  51. Cake-Lady says:

    OK, in case any of you don’t know this. I was one of the crusaders for not finding out the sex. Sorry, I just like surprises. I shouldn’t expect everyone one else to like them too. I’m sure you will be just as surprised knowing now what the sex is as you would be if you waited till the birth. I’m just way too old fashioned. Hell, I thought for the longest that I was going to Hell for getting my ears peirced. I can’t wait to find out the sex and better yet the name. I have been so entertained with these name suggestions. Here is my suggestions for the day. Joy if it is a girl and Collin if it is a boy.

  52. kris says:

    Sweet Lord I understand the looks. These must be similar to those I get when I say I never want a child. Actually, those looks probably = sympathy. No one likes a cat woman.
    Happy blogger meetup, E! I wish you great weather and much meaty, off-the-record conversation.

  53. Pants says:

    I’m sad I won’t be at Tequilacon with you…hopefully next year!

  54. Heather says:

    I found out as soon as I could what sex my baby was,… it made it so much easier to pick out baby clothes and make plans.
    And disposable diapers? They are SO worth it!

  55. egan says:

    Pants – yeah, it’s annoying. Now that I’m on the other side of these looks… I will make sure I don’t do them to anyone else. Are you sure you don’t have any kids?
    ChickyMate – uh huh, an episiotomy doesn’t sound like fun. Just thinking about them makes me wince.
    Sir Bob Geldoff – is “shave and haircut” the usual knock? I had no idea it had a name. You’re quite educational. I remember doing a Native American sounding chant as we went through tunnels. I can’t be held responsible for my father’s influences.
    Mr. Grunt – does anyone ever remember to change their identity?
    WMY – Parsnip could be fantastic. I will run this by my wife later today.
    Mona – ha, my wife and I were just talking yesterday about the meat eating issue. My wife is a vegetarian and has been one since about 15 years old. I eat meat, but not much of it. Disposable are just fine once I did some more research. I heard a story on the radio today of someone backing up their pipes using those “flushable” diapers. Turns out they aren’t so flushable.
    Cake Lady – no worries on the sex thing. Crusaders sounds a bit strong. To each their own, just don’t roll your eyes if someone tells you their going to find out. Or don’t say what our neighbor said “it suits your personality”. What the fuck does that mean anyways? Joy and Collin? Not sure they will make the cut since we will know the name before month 7. We may not share until the birth date though.
    Kris – I bet you do get looks like that. People are freaky about these sorts of things. Even when we told people we weren’t going to have kids until five years after we were married, we got similar looks. You’re a cat woman? Do you have a black suit? The blogger meeting could be very very interesting. I think only a few of my readers will be there so I will likely hide in the corner and take notes.
    Pants – yes, there’s always next year. I hear that one will be in Alaska.

  56. egan says:

    Heather – you’re trying to win me over aren’t you? Yah for both of those things. Cloth diapers don’t litter landfills, but you still have to remove the shit, clean them with bleach, and then fold them. I’m not a fan of folding things.

  57. ubermilf says:

    I read the post and the comments, but my brain is too sluggish to respond.
    I say: Monster Truck if it is a boy, Disney Princess if it is a girl.

  58. egan says:

    Ubie – how can your mind be too slow to respond? You typed the above comment didn’t you? Monster Truck and Disney Princess? Those would make lovely stripper names.

  59. Maria says:

    nope no silent letters … phonetically
    preh-tseh-moe-loe

  60. Tall Chick says:

    I’m a crunchy Libertarian with a soft, gooey centre.
    Or was that a rhetorical question, like “does a bear shit in the woods?”

  61. egan says:

    Maria – I love silent letters which is why French and I get along so well. Prego!
    Tall Chick – I was being a smart ass after you accused me of being a yuppie. Shame on you. Bears do shit in the woods, but thanks for the lovely example of a rhetorical question.

Leave a Reply

