It’s a ….??? GIRL

The day is finally here. Today my wife and I will hopefully learn the sex of the fast growing fetus inside her belly. A couple weeks ago I introduced yet another blog contest asking you to guess the sex of the child and then provide three names.

Well the results are in and I tabulated your guesses. Here’s a chart listing all the names you submitted in the comments on that specific post. Based on your guesses it appears we will be having a girl. You picked a girl over a boy by a rather resounding 20-11 margin. Maybe this has something to do with the makeup of those reading my blog. There are some really good name suggestions and some far out ones too. I’m not sure what this says about the readers of my blog, but oh well. I love all your entries and participation in this contest.

By the numbers: in my immediate family I have five brothers and one sister. I have six nephews and one niece. The last girl to enter the family was born in 1990 and has a MySpace page. My sister was born in 1962 so you can see there’s a bit of a female drought in our family. If you add the date of my sister’s birthday (11/7) and her daughter’s together (12/20) you get 48. My favorite show on tv is Kiefer’s 24 so if you double (two girls in the family) it you get 48. Man, this must be fate. A girl is clearly inside my wife’s belly based on all these wild computations. As stated at the beginning of this paragraph boys currently outnumber girls in my family 12-2. What’s going to give? I will find some way to update this post later today since I would hate to leave you hanging all weekend.

EDIT: our ultrasound appointment isn’t until 1:45pm PDT today.

EDIT II: the curse is over.  It’s a girl, labia and all!  My wife and I will be watching Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants and Mystic Pizza tonight to celebrate. It appears you bloggers do know a thing or two about predicting the gender of children. We have much to think about this weekend, but we’re very excited about everything. Have a great weekend!
————-
TODAY’S RULED OUT BABY NAMES: Boyd, Gretel, Burt, Geraldine, Balki, and Guinevere.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

87 Responses to It’s a ….??? GIRL

  1. karla says:

    Exciting times Egan! Congratulations!

  2. ChickyBabe says:

    Tease!!!!!!!! Come on… tell us! Une petite demoiselle Singe?

  3. lord f says:

    x minus 1, x minus 1, x minus 1.
    have fun.
    lord f

  4. Jules says:

    *squeals!!!
    I can’t wait! Yea!

  5. patches says:

    It’s all good…..you know provided the sonogram doesn’t reveal a puppy or an ipod sock.

  6. mez says:

    twins!! 🙂

  7. Gwen says:

    Have fun at the u/s!
    I’m still feeling boy, not that you should trust my vibe. And it’s not because I like to be contrary, either.
    (I changed my name, above, from borneochica, but you probably figured that out).

  8. Amanda says:

    I am so totally digging that chart. That is seriously too cool for school. And something I would totally do.
    I can’t wait to find out. Good luck!
    Hey – what’s the correlation between being born in 1990 and having a MySpace page? Just askin’…because some people who were born in 1979 have a MySpace page.

  9. justrun says:

    Interesting odds. But you know, you could have a little odds beater on your hands.

  10. Maria says:

    Egan! I said Gabrielle (with an e) not Gabriella (with an a).

  11. naynayfazz says:

    I forgot to tell you what girl names I liked. Crap! Can you please add me in now? I like Ava, Elaina or Isabella.
    I can’t wait to hear the results!

  12. Tall Chick says:

    If I guess hermaphrodite, I’ll be 1/2 right either way. Given that, here are some non-gender-specific names:
    Chris
    Pat
    Nermal
    I have to say that X minus 1 has a certain charm to it. And Rhombus is cool! How about Trapezoid? Elliptical?
    Zoloft? Premarin?
    Or maybe just Lumpy. Yes, Lumpy LesSinge.

  13. Vizzini says:

    I thought about guessing “girl” because Slade is having a boy, so clearly I cannot choose “boy.” But the odds of Bloggers I know having one of each could be astounding, so clearly I cannot choose “girl.” But there are so many boys in your family that the odds against yet another must be astronomical, so clearly icannot choose “boy.” But your males may be overendowed with Y chromosomes, making it virtually impossible to contribute an X, so clearly I cannot choose “girl.”
    . . .

  14. Megan says:

    I can’t wait to find out!!!

  15. furiousball says:

    Rhombus sure does stand out on that list…I mean seriously. It’s straight lines, but angeled. Angeled, I say.
    I’m just hoping for healthy. Boys and girls are different, but equally incredible.

  16. ms. sizzle says:

    this is SO exciting!
    hopefully i’ll be seeing you tomorrow. 🙂

  17. tinabellina says:

    Oh, come on! I’m dying here! Tell tell tell!

  18. Amanda says:

    More Princess Bride Logic!! TC – you are too funny (you may have changed the name, but you left your URL up).

  19. Good for Me says:

    what the heck is Cervelo? I don’t recall suggesting that name. It’s Mathilda, Mathilda! That’s my choice 🙂

  20. kelwhy says:

    I really can’t wait! This is fun stuff… you’re gonna love the pics of the baby!

  21. Pants says:

    24?! Totally a girl!
    I was just working on that it seems you may be due a girl with all those boys. While completely unscientific; my father had five brothers and my mother had two, no boys in either family. I have two sisters. There have been five girls born between my sisters. I believe this leaves me as the one to make a boy. Someday. Not tomorrow or anything, but someday.
    I can’t wait to hear what you’re having!

  22. Burr-ee-toe says:

    Come on lucky 7! I mean girl! Lets go girl!!!

  23. egan says:

    Karla – yes, I’m a bit of a freak today.
    ChickyBabe – ha, you calling me a tease is quite humorous.
    Lord F – X Minus 5 hours and counting.
    Jules – really, there’s no need to squeal.
    Patches – no need to talk about how certain things that shouldn’t fit an in iPod sock do. Moving right along.
    Mez – why must you always be talking about your breasts?
    Gwen – I did figure it out and I have you in the boy camp. Go blue!
    Amanda – I’m a charting mo-feaux. I just kid about the MySpace stuff. It’s not like I don’t have a MySpace profile.
    Justrun – I think it would be great if that happened, but we’ll just have to see.
    Maria – okay, I will make the adjustment in my chart. Grazie!
    naynayfazz – yeah, many forgot names, but oh well. The contest entries are complete and only time will tell who’s the lucky winner.
    Tall Chick – Lumpy, hells no. X Minus 1 is your favorite. I knew it. Our kid will have man boobs.
    Tall Chick – thanks, I just had it stuffed…. and, that’s what she said.
    Vizzini – your warped logic confounds me friend. Great name.
    Megan – I agree with you, waiting is the hardest part.
    Furiousball – healthy is truly key for us too. There’s much more to this than the sex of the child as you know. Thanks man.
    Ms. Sizzle – it’s so exciting I can hardly focus on anything at work. My mind is mush. I hope to see you tomorrow as well. Look for the wallflower.
    Tinabellina – later today you’ll find out. The fourth ultrasound happens this afternoon. Happy 12 weeks to you and Feebo!
    Amanda – TC is always on top of things. Gotta love her.
    Good for Me – you didn’t have a name submission so I chose one for you since you stole Caro’s name based on my French note. You’re crafty. A Cervélo is manufacturer of awesome triathlon and time trial bikes out of Canada.
    Kelwhy – I’m going to pee my pants, that’s what’s going to happen. Not at the hospital, but here at work.
    Pants – okay, girl it could be. 50-50 odds, you got to like that. You know what? I’m really not all that excited. I’m simply typing at about 150 words per minute right now. That’s all.

  24. celeste says:

    Well it must be a girl then Egan because you wouldn’t want to follow the norm now, would you? 😉

  25. Rachel says:

    How much will it suck if you can’t tell the sex?

  26. egan says:

    Burr-ee-toe – lucky seven eh? Too much time at the craps table I see.
    Celeste – I don’t know what the heck I want to do. Girls are cool, boys throw rocks at passing cars. We’ll just have to see what happens.
    Rachel – don’t go there. My wife has already nailed home the point we might not be able to see his nards or her vag. I’m aware of this, but trying not to go there mentally.

  27. Cake-Lady says:

    I can’t believe I am saying this but “I can’t wait to find out what it is” You have me so excited for you.

  28. brother3 says:

    Um, last I counted, we only have 5 nephews and 1 niece…is there one missing I don’t know about?

  29. egan says:

    Brother3 – this includes Mrs. Lessinges’ nephew. Her brother has a two year old son. I kind of stacked the deck on that one didn’t I?

  30. egan says:

    Cake-Lady – yeah, why is everyone so excited about this? Don’t believe the hype! Sorry I overlooked your comment. My brother had a question and I somehow overlooked yours. I blame it on Gizmo.

  31. Churlita says:

    I had two different doctors tell me two different sexes with my daughter’s ultra sound. So, it will probably be either a girl or boy, but you won’t know for super sure until he/she is born. Having said that, I can’t to hear what they say.

  32. egan says:

    Churlita – what’s this talk of waiting until birth? That’s like so foreign. People still do that? I think I would feel like a dog chasing its own tail if I don’t learn the gender today. I’m just saying.

  33. seb says:

    Exciting!!! It really is all fate, those numbers will predict the future.
    We are all hoping for a baby ninja. That would be the best!!!

  34. egan says:

    Seb – ha, a baby ninja. I’m thinking more along the lines of baby lion trainer. Someone has to replace those two guys in Vegas.

  35. Cheryl says:

    Oh, I’m really excited. Question (maybe I missed this during my hiatus so forgive me) are you going with an “E” name?
    I used to know a really good formula for determing sex of the baby that involed adding the number of month of conception to the mother’s age at conception, and whether it was odd or even equaled boy or girl, but I can’t remember which was odd and which was even…so I’ll just wait to hear from you.

  36. egan says:

    Cheryl – ha, an E name isn’t completely off limits. There are a few really good ones we like, so no.. many E names are still in the running. This formula of yours seems rather 50-50, but I like it. That’s really what it comes down to anyways.

  37. leezer says:

    Egan:
    Your sister was born on 11/7/62? Get out! I was born on 11/5/62! My daughter was born on 11/8/00!
    I can’t believe you ruled out Gweneviere (sp?) I think it’s pretty.
    I hope you get the sex (gender) you’re hoping for. I was secretly wishing for a girl and we thought we were having a boy, but we chose not to find out. I was basing my guess on my dreams (scientific, I know). I’m glad I was wrong. I secretly wanted a girl but was too self-conscious to tell anyone because I thought they’d say, “you shouldn’t care about the gender. Just be happy it’s healthy.”
    Here’s to you during this exciting time!! I’m so happy for you!

  38. egan says:

    Leezer – ha, you’re funny. I seriously don’t have a preference on the sex. I really don’t. Healthy is all I care about. I know that sounds cliché, but it’s honestly the truth. Yes, that’s my sister’s birthday alright. You were born days apart, probably a few states apart too. She was born in lovely Van Nuys, California.

  39. logo™ says:

    Well, well, well????

  40. Vizzini says:

    So tell us the answer already! Don’t make me get out the iocaine powder.

  41. Vizzini says:

    Oh. You’re probably there now.

  42. Rachel says:

    It has been 18 minutes already!!! Didn’t you take your laptop so that you could update us immediately??
    Sheesh! How Rude!!! LOL

  43. Burr-ee-toe says:

    haha… ohhh, right. I’m obsessed with Vegas at the moment. I’d like to bet on the gender of your baby. Are there any bookies on this blog?

  44. runliarun says:

    Oh, how does this work? Do you ask people to suggest baby names so you have a pool of names to be ruled out? Well, choices by exclusion are a fascinating business.

  45. Amanda says:

    I’m with Rachel. You have a high stakes contest going and you don’t take your laptop with you? I mean – it’s all about us, right?
    Seriously dude, I think we’re all freaking out here. Ok, Ok, maybe not as much as you and Mrs. L are, but still. Sheesh.

  46. celeste says:

    ha! girls are a pain in the arse 😉 take it from me, I am one!
    I think that no matter what it turns out to be, it will be wonderful!!

  47. Amy says:

    Yippee! I’m so excited. I kept quiet on the sex guessing game, not because I didn’t have an opinion though.
    I thought you were going to have a boy, but I really wanted you to have a girl!
    Me and my Daddy have a great relationship. I’m still very much his little girl. I have no doubt you and your daughter will have a similar relationship.
    Congratulations to you and your wife! This is great news!

  48. L says:

    SWEET! Little grrrls are way more fun to shop for.

  49. patches says:

    Since it’s official, Egan, you’ll need to update the children status entry on your MY Space page. Shame, Shame…Congratulations go without saying. Have you you ever been this excited about seeing girly parts labia before?

  50. naynayfazz says:

    Yay, you are having a girl. I hope my last minute baby name wins!
    Congrats!

  51. Vizzini says:

    Three lines! Cool!! Congratulations, Monkey Boy! Girls are so much fun! And being one of the few girl grandchildren is SO going to get her some extra love. ^_^

  52. Tall Chick says:

    OOps. I guess I can stop being Vizzini now.

  53. Chris says:

    Case #67294B
    Mother to be: Alycia Richard
    Ultrasound Result: Girl
    Nursery painted and decorated for girl. Many gifts purchased for girl. Alycia goes into labor the day that office shower was to be held but everyone had all of their girl gifts purchased (except me) and home shower had already occured netting many, many girl gifts.
    Child is born…a boy.
    This is a true story of a colleague about a year ago…use it as you wish.
    Either way, your child is destined to be attractive, and smart, and have two terrific parents.

  54. Rachel says:

    Congratulations!!! That is so awesome.
    Cute girly clothes and having daddy’s little girl.
    One of the best parts? You don’t have to put the little one through a circumcision.

  55. Tall Chick says:

    I know of people like Chris mentions, too, LOL! But ultrasounds are better now. Right? Right? ^_^
    And yeah, no having to choose on the circ is nice. 🙂

  56. mez says:

    YAY, that is soooo ace. Just as well cause boys have cooties!

  57. Maria says:

    Congratulations! I love being right!

  58. *pixie* says:

    Congratulations!

  59. ubermilf says:

    No Guinevere? Does this mean I lose?
    Yay for girls… again, remember what I said… around her little finger

  60. ChickyBabe says:

    Woohoo!!!!!! mademoiselle lessinges!
    What do I win?!

  61. Nothing like a daddy daughter relationship. I may be biased but having two girls, I love girls. Boys are good too, but I am not sure it is a good idea to paint their nails. YAY!

  62. P.S. I have a new neighbor and their little girl’s name is Annie Kate. And they call her “Annie Kate”. It is really cute. Of course, they are from Kansas City. She calls herself “Anniecake”.

  63. P.S. I have a new neighbor and their little girl’s name is Annie Kate. And they call her “Annie Kate”. It is really cute. Of course, they are from Kansas City. She calls herself “Anniecake”.

  64. CSL says:

    Congratulations! Finidng out the gender somehow makes the child more real. As soon as you guys settle on a name, you can start saying your daughter’s name to each other instead of “the baby.” And, also now you can say “My daughter.” Cool, huh?

  65. Jennifer says:

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!!!
    I’m so excited! Having a girl first is DEFINITELY the smart way to go. 😉
    Will her name begin with an ‘E’?

  66. Amanda says:

    That is so exciting! I’m so happy for you & Mrs. L. It’s just one more piece to the puzzle.
    Have an absolutely wonderful weekend. What a great way to start it!

  67. churlita says:

    Oh, I wasn’t saying you should wait to find out, I was just saying that sometimes it’s hard to know for sure, just from the ultra sound.
    But, a girl, eh? All I can say is, brace yourself for the drama, and you will get a make-over at some point during her childhood.

  68. lord f says:

    congrats. x times 2.
    lord f

  69. Farmgirl19 says:

    CONGRATULATIONS. I was so excited when I had my daughter because I was convinced it was going to be a boy. I love her to death but she is a definite handful.

  70. Good for Me says:

    aha! see? the multitude was right. though i just read chris’ comment above and that sort of makes you wonder! congratulations to both you and the mrs. i’m so excited for you!

  71. Phi says:

    Congrats family Le Singes!
    I asked my neice what Dads need to know for raising a daughter.
    She said to learn how to do plaits that are straight, play patty cake and don’t smell up the toilet in the morning.
    You should be good to go now.

  72. Eunice says:

    Egan, that’s awesome. So does that mean I can ship you all of the undersized girl clothes we have? ha ha ha

  73. Kerry says:

    I knew it!!! Congrats!

  74. Phats says:

    OOO Congrats Egan!!! I am happy for both you and your wife 🙂 Phats can be unisex you know?
    Mystic Pizza is such a chick flick, but umm I like it mock me if you must!

  75. Diane Mandy says:

    Yeah!!! Biggest congrats!!

  76. Cake-Lady says:

    Ohhhhh – Congratulations! Sisterhood of the traveling pants is an excellent movie. Another girl celebration movie pick from The Cake Lady would be Now and Then starring Demi Moore, Melanie Griffen, Rosie O’Donnelll and Rita Wilson and the music is good too. I just ordered the soundtrack last week!

  77. Janice says:

    Congratulations! I know I didn’t take part in the contest, but I’m still going to offer my two cents. I think you should name her Brenda Kelly Donna Andrea Valerie Claire Gina Singe.
    I think it’s perfect.

  78. M says:

    congratulations, dude!
    And, for the record, the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants got robbed at the Oscars. Absolutely robbed.

  79. egan says:

    Logo – it’s a girl.
    Vizzini – it’s a girl.
    Tall Chick – we were waiting for the ultrasound when you commented. I was likely rolling my eyes or something.
    Rachel – nah, no laptop to hospital. The fetus is a girl.
    Burr-ee-toe – I’m not aware of any bookies on this blog. We’ll have to see.
    runliarun – hey, thanks for visiting my blog. Um, no I just randomly rule out baby names with each post. Sometimes there’s actually a them for the names ruled out. Thanks for commenting.
    Amanda – I didn’t want anyone to freak out. I tried to figure out a way to blog in the car coming home from the hospital. No dice. It’s a girl.
    Celeste – well we’re having a little pain in the ass then.
    Amy – your comment really means a lot to me. I saw your pictures of you when you were younger. They brought a smile to my face. I’m truly honored you’d make that comparison. Thanks.
    L – yes, because 7/8 of any department store is for women. The 1/8 dedicated to men is also open game to women. Men get shafted. We bought a little outfit for her this weekend.
    Patches – you actually followed the link to my MySpace site? I’m impressed. I might update the link. I guess it’s not a huge deal since I don’t use that site to meet folks, but yeah. And yes, age 19.
    NaynayFazz – I will add it to the list. Now we can rule out all the boy names. How exciting.
    Tall Chick – yes, girls are fun. Heck, look at this blog and you can tell girls are fun. She will be very loved for sure.
    Vizzini – I like it when you act.
    Chris – ha, I’ve heard that before. Don’t you think you could hold off on that story though man? That’s kind of a bummer. Thanks for the kind remarks about parents. I take the mean stuff back I said about you in this comment.
    Rachel – the circumcision decision would have been really tough for me. That’s one of the first thoughts that went through my head on Friday, “phew, don’t have to think about that anymore”.
    Tall Chick – yes, I’m glad no deciding to cut or not. No, the sex reversal won’t happen. We have another ultrasound in 2-3 weeks to verify the frotn of her face.
    Mez – I agree with you, boys do have the cooties. I will make sure she never dates until 18 and doesn’t cave on the peer pressure to wear a training bra at 10.
    Maria – right you were, along with 19 others. I think your name selections are very strong.
    *pixie* – thanks, it just makes it all the more real.
    Ubie – I’m sorry, what did you say about her finger?
    ChickyBabe – you win a signed portrait from Mlle Lessinges when she can write.
    steppingoverthejunk – I have much to learn about girls. I was raised in a family of boys so this should be a wake up call for me. Manis and pedis.
    steppingoverthejunk – I’m not sure I’m a fan of the two name first name. It gets kind of confusing, but we’ll see. AnnieCake is adorable.
    CSL – yes, so true. This weekend I said “my daughter” over and over. It freaked me out in a good way. I think it’s easier for me to start bonding now, even though I still can’t feel her kicking.
    Jennifer – I think many readers of my blog would agree with you about the girl thing. We might use an E name. There are a few we like, but nothing definite.
    Amanda – thanks, I mean that. It’s going to be fun, challenging, educational, humbling, shocking, sad, and happy… among other things. We’re thrilled and the ultrasound went well.
    Churlita – you’re funny. Boys have much drama in their life too. I will be bracing myself as we have many friends with daughters in the 2-4 year old age range. Fun times.
    Lord F – Pie Squared?
    Farmgirl – thank you kindly. Aren’t we all handfuls? Oh, that sounds a bit naughty. I mean even as adult many of us still are pieces of work. Girls, girls, girls.
    Good for Me – don’t pay any attention to Chris’ remark. That stuff never happens anymore. (crosses fingers and knocks on wood)
    Phil – this is hysterical. What are “plaits”? Um, I’m kind of stinky so I might be in for some trouble with my future daughter. Thanks sir for the well wishes.
    Eunice – if there’s even the tiniest bit of sincerity in your comment, we’d be happy to take them. Send me an email and we can chat. Thanks.
    Malnurtured Snay – thanks sir. You can make a Lego quilt right?
    Kerry – you’re psychic. Thanks. Girls, girls, girls.
    Phats – I’ve seen that movie many times too, but not on my own accord. Phats as a name? I’m not sure you could create a worse name for a child, boy or girl. Maybe Wedgie would be worse.
    Diane Mandy – thank you very much.
    Cake Lady – the movie you suggested scares me very much. Heck I’m scared of Dora after this weekend at our friend’s house in Portland. At least Dora’s bilingual. Is Now and Then the S.E. Hinton novel?
    Janice – or perhaps just Nineohtwo Oneoh Singe?
    Thanks for the congrats.
    M – I know, that movie got so robbed. Heck, that America chick has her own show now. Something good came out of it.

  80. ChickyBabe says:

    And I would cherish that :).

  81. lord f says:

    not pie squared, silly, two x chromosomes (as in, it’s a girl); thus x times 2. incidentally, my favorite cigars are itsagirls. ba-dum-dum.
    lord f

  82. tori says:

    Congratulations! How exciting!

  83. furiousball says:

    Congrats amigo, you have many evenings of watching tv or reading books together before naptime. My little princess perches herself on my chest every night and we get our nightly dose of spongebob. Little girls are great!

  84. Tricia says:

    I am so excited for you and your wife. You wil be AWESOME parents! Lucky girl!

  85. egan says:

    ChickyBabe – I will make sure to keep in contact with you for the next three years. By then I may have guessed your real name. One can dream right?
    Lord F – pink cigars taste better.
    Tori – it’s very exciting. I will be tapping your parenting knowledge often.
    Furiousball – I suppose that means I should bone up on my reading aloud skills. That will be very fun though and will most certainly bring a tear to my eyes.
    Tricia – hello there friend. Nice use of the caps lock. Yes, we will be awesome… or so I’ve been told.

Leave a Reply

