Fear Me Not

I can admit I get scared, in fact you could say I have some fears in life.  Some are logical, some aren’t so logical.  I’ve conquered a few of those fears over the years though and chat about them here in this post.  The very scary Candace inspired this post.  Don’t mess with her, she’s really bad ass.

Haunting me

  • knives: for whatever reason it is, I can’t stand sharp knives.  I think I watched a few too many slasher movies as an impressionable child.  Butter knives are fine, but handling sharp knives really bugs me.  This was always a little tricky as a manager of a restaurant. 
  • lost: being completely unaware of my surroundings.  As a kid I would sometimes get lost in the shuffle when our large family visited malls or other public gathering areas.  In order to cope, I taught myself to remember how to backtrack my way home no matter what.  I could have told someone how to get to my grandparent’s house 160 miles away when I was five.
  • drowning: when I was a wee singe, I used to despise taking baths because I had a fear of water.  My mom immersed me in swimming lessons and the rest is history.  I fear one day I will be over confident in my abilities and a riptide will get me. 
  • pet birds: I hate them.  Birds are meant to fly outdoors.  I don’t enjoy them being trapped in someone’s house buzzing my curly locks.  I also don’t like the dander and feathers everywhere.  Please set them free and don’t clip their wings.  (note: owls can handle cold weather)
  • public speaking: still working on this one.  I get insanely nervous whenever I’m in front of a crowd larger than ten which doesn’t consist of family, friends, or bloggers.  If I really want to be president in 2012, I suppose this is a skill I should master. 
  • losing friends: I don’t like losing contact with friends.  Again, when I was young we had neighbors who would come visit Seattle for the summer months.  They became great friends, yet I got so sad at the end of summer when they retreated to California.  It tore me apart.  Perhaps it stays with me today as I don’t like to see folks mad at me.  I know it’s going to happen since I’m a tad opinionated, but I will do my best to work it out.  Much of it has to do with family dynamics too, I often act as the middle man, attempting to see both sides of a discussion.

Conquered

  • rodents: oh boy, I could go on and on about how mice used to freak me out.  We had one in our house as a child and I had nightmares about how it would try to squeeze under my bedroom door.  So bad these dreams were I would stuff a sweatshirt or two under the door before powering on my electric blanket.  Today I’m a changed man and perhaps it’s because I don’t have an option.  Now I must confront rodents as I’m an adult and soon-to-be-parent. 
  • death: okay, this one sounds kind of odd.  I guess I no longer fear death as much as I did as a child.  I really have no plans on leaving this planet anytime in the next 60-65 years.  This one is kind of deep since it ties in many parts of my upbringing and my personal life.  Losing siblings and other family members makes you acutely aware of your surroundings.  Now that I’ve typed this paragraph, I’m wondering if it shouldn’t be in the "haunting" classification.
  • superstitions: I shun broken mirrors, ladders, black cats, and the number 13.  On Sunday I ran a 5k while wearing the number 13 on my back.  Can you say brave?   I routinely walk under ladders, break mirrors and stare down black cats.  One thing I won’t do though is get cats wet after midnight.

—————-

TODAY’S RULED OUT BABY NAMES: Moxie, Trixie, Flowbee, Tracy, Hippie, and Dorothy.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Storytelling. Bookmark the permalink.

71 Responses to Fear Me Not

  1. Airam says:

    Second! Now to read ..

  2. Cheryl says:

    Getting cats wet after midnight? Never heard that one…
    I am terrified of knives. I think it must amuse people to watch me carry anything larger than a butter knife. I especially don’t like pointy one or ones with ridges.

  3. Airam says:

    Interesting Egan … I too fear public speaking (I dread my first grad classes when we have to do introductions). One thing I’m scared of his heights. I plan on conquering this … I want to skydive.

  4. Rachel says:

    I am terrified of falling. I hate that feeling.
    Remember those dumb trust games that they made you play at camp when you had to cross your arms and fall back and trust that your friends would catch you? I would almost hyperventalate I was so scared. Strange that I was fine swinging on a rope 15 feet off of the ground though.
    My son had a pet rat named Diddy. He died over the winter. I am glad that he is gone. He smelled bad.
    I can’t watch horror movies because they scare the crap out of me and I have horrible nightmares. I had night terrors when I was a child and it seriously traumatized me for a long time.
    One that I overcame at a young age is kinda silly.
    I was scared of pizza. I wouldn’t touch it, smell it or anything. My mom finally gave me a bit on a fork and I loved it from then on.
    Crazy eh?

  5. Amanda says:

    I thought the rule is to not get mogwai’s wet after midnight. Or is it feeding them? I forget. But I”m pretty sure it’s them and not cats. But it could be. What do I know?
    We have a lot of the same fears. Except I have not conquered the fear of mice, yet I have with the public speaking. I still get sweaty and shakey, but I do it. Being on the speech team really helped me get over this. Birds in general scare me. Especially the black shiny birds (crows…yes, I know their names). And everytime I unload the dishwasher and I have to put away the sharp knives, I envision it falling and cutting my legs or feet. So I hold them like a 4-year old holds a pair of scissors.

  6. L says:

    What happens if you get cats wet after midnight? Do they turn into gremlins? Maybe that’s how you make a mogwai and then when you get that wet it turns into a gremlin?
    I’m still afraid of drowning, but that’s because I never learned how to swim well. It’s on my list of things to learn.
    And the knives? I’m SUPER anal about placing them (whether in use or storage) down carefully so as to minimze exposure to the sharp edge or the point and avoid injury. Knife throwing shows? Not my bag.

  7. Pants says:

    I got lost EVERYWHERE we went as a child. Before going to the mall or Disneyland, anywhere really, my parents would tell me where to meet them when I would eventually become distracted and lose them. Then I’d grab a Disneyland employee and ask them to take me to Dumbo where my parents would be waiting.
    I wouldn’t be caught dead getting a cat wet after midnight. Before, that’s a different story.

  8. Lynn says:

    I’m terrified of birds…I think it has something to do with my father “bugging me” while I was watching Alfred Hitchcocks “The
    Birds”.

  9. Churlita says:

    I’d be in big trouble if I was afraid of being lost. I have no sense of direction. Public speaking, caged birds and rodents? – I’m right there with you.

  10. mez says:

    I’m not a fan of birds when they are outside. I mean little birds are oka (and penguins are cute) but Magpies scare the bejesus out of me, as do crows and emus etc. I feel like running away.
    Also I don’t like Bees. I’ve been known to disrupt whole picnics because I’m running away from them. Yep..as an adult..yep last week in fact! I’ve never been stung and I think the fear has built up.
    Also dentist, snake, SPIDERS, rats etc. I also feel a bit uncomfortable in wide open spaces that don’t have any hills or trees. I don’t like the flatness…it frightens me.
    Good on you for conquering some of those!

  11. Burr-ee-toe says:

    Oh my gosh, I hate aliens. Don’t show me pictures of aliens on anything. Ever. I think its from watching Unsolved Mysteries too much as a child.

  12. Tall Chick says:

    I’m not comfortable with much freeway driving. πŸ˜›
    And you already know how I feel about sparring those 2 guys at TKD.
    Mostly, though, I’m afraid of failure. Which is kinda stupid, really. ^_^

  13. patches says:

    I don’t believe public speaking is really on obstacle between you an the white house……Look at the current chimp in a suit.
    I’m with Rachel, fear of failure is at the top of my list…what if something happens and I don’t land on all fours?

  14. egan says:

    Airam – first! Wow, now it’s hip to claim first on my blog. What’s next? Martians in movies?
    Airam – and second? Wow, this is interested trend you’re setting. Someone is going to comment in the first ten spots to make a point. I could get behind this.
    Cheryl – ha, the cats wet after midnight was more of a Gremlins joke. Remember that movie? (please say Yes so I don’t feel old). Knives are violent, enough said.
    Airam – skydiving would be very fun. I’m not so much afraid of heights, but I’ve never bungee jumped or skydived. Hmmm, might have to add those to my list.
    Rachel – the pizza phobia is very bizarre. No pizza pizza for you or Benny Hinn. You know Benny Hinn right? The wacky religious guy who pushes people to cure them of them maladies while they are caught. Like trust, but with Jesus.
    Amanda – you know a lot. Cats aren’t to get wet after midnight. Gizmo is nothing but trouble so keep your distance. Spike is really the good Gremlin. Public speaking is very hard and I’m glad to see you’ve conquered that one. I will leave you a voicemail then where I sound like a crow. You kill me with this comment.
    L – so would you have dreams about Mogwais throwing knives at you as you attempt to stay afloat in Lake Union? I can teach you how to swim better.
    Pants – aw, such a cute Disneyland story. Okay about the getting the cat wet before midnight, are you still talking about meow cats?
    Lynn – hey, thanks for the visit. Birds are too bad for me, just don’t like them indoors. Bzzzz.
    Churlita – I suppose if you don’t know you’re lost, it can’t really be a fear can it?

  15. egan says:

    Mez – this list of yours should make this upcoming Christmas shopping season very easy for you. The bee thing really happened? See, what guy wouldn’t love this stuff about you? The wide open spaces one is unique. Care to expand on that?
    Burr-ee-toe – aliens? What kind of aliens are we talking about? Like martians or aliens from the movie Alien? Or the kind David Duchovny hunted?
    Tall Chick – freeway driving and failure. I think you can overcome these. Does MuNKi do most of the driving when you’re out?
    Patches – you mean you side with Tall Chick about failing? Rachel has a fear of pizza and falling, go figure! Hey, be nice to chimps. That dufus GW, isn’t a fair representation.

  16. Amy says:

    Breadcrumbs Egan! You can never get lost if you leave a trail of breadcrumbs.
    I share your fear of birds. And no, I’m not just talking about that cold owl. I’m a country girl, and until I moved to the city for university, I had never been exposed to a pigeon. They scare the living daylights out of me! Birds are supposed to fly away from people, not toward people. One day when I was waiting for the bus, about 50,000 pigeons (or maybe just 10, I can’t remember) flew in my direction. I stood at the bus stop pinned to the wall screaming my head off! I could have died from heart failure, no one seemed to care.
    Actually, the only things on your list I’m not afraid of are knives, and getting lost. Wait now, why do you fear getting lost? You have a cell phone. It must have a GPS thing in it.

  17. egan says:

    Amy – your pigeon story is killing me. I love it. Maybe it was just ten, but they are still vile creatures. “no one seemed to care“. I don’t get lost much anymore, perhaps that should be in the conquered category. My mind was thinking more lost in the woods sort of thing where the cold owls roam.

  18. Leezer says:

    Egan:
    Thanks for getting all that out. I believe more people fear public speaking than death. I don’t fear either, but I fear large public works projects such as dams, canals, bridges, and so on. Oh, and I hate styrofoam . Grosses me out.
    I have conquered looking at the bottom of the pool when I’m swimming laps, public speaking (No choice. You get over it in law school or you die). Oh, and I don’t so much mind having my feet higher than my head anymore.

  19. Leezer says:

    Egan:
    Did you run the St. Patrick’s Day Dash? I was home with stomach flu 😦

  20. egan says:

    Leezer – man, you took a funny pill or something today. Your comments on blogs are killing me. I love the styrofoam one. I went home for lunch and our neighbor’s must have put those damn peanuts out, there everywhere in our yard. Damn them! I love the pool one. Were you afraid of sharks as a kid? Is there a story about your feet I need to hear?

  21. egan says:

    Leezer – I did run it, but down in Portland. I did the 5k. Nothing glamorous, but I ran. It’s my first non-triathlon 5k. The weather was awesome in Portland on Sunday for the run. Yes, I was in Portland on the weekend of Tequila Con and missed it. I suck big giant nards.

  22. Eunice says:

    I have a fear of drowning too. Unlike you though, swimming lessons only intensified my fear, so I never learned.

  23. egan says:

    Eunice – see, that’s what makes us unique. My fear of drowning stems from how well I know how to swim. More of a machismo thing. I should really consider teaching adults how to swim. I have two bloggers who have admitted they can’t swim. There must be others.

  24. patches says:

    Duh! Dyslexic Reading = Dyslexic Typing.
    Must……refrain……from…..multitasking. Cannot…..lecture about the advantages…….of feather mattresses….while….juggling……knives……and…….reading…..blogs

  25. egan says:

    Patches – I won’t hold it against you. I’ve made a couple mistakes in the past hour alone. Fancy that and I don’t think I’m dyslexic. You juggle knives? I’m scared.

  26. Good for Me says:

    Good for you for the conquering part! Now that i’ve said that we can’t be blog friends anymore. i have a bird. he is caged. his name is peanut. bye.

  27. Good for Me says:

    Gotcha.
    the fear of getting lost. i can relate to that but it has to do with being in a city. i’m afraid of cities. but mostly it has to do with the driving and navigating (train, subway, etc.) i live an hour from Baltimore, two hours from DC, 45 minutes from Phili and 3 hours from NYC. I’m afraid of one way streets and getting lost and ending up on one of those ‘exit only’ lanes that dumps out onto an unknown road in an unknown direction. I shudder at the thought. I used to be terrified of driving on the interstate, but I conquered that after several years of driving it for work.
    my biggest fear is being in a dark body of water alone. actually i don’t like being in a pool alone either. if someone else is with me, all is good.
    i have no fear of death. looking forward to it.

  28. egan says:

    Good for Me – nooo, don’t go. That’s not enough of a reason to not like you. Now, if you bike with a bike on your shoulder, I might have to reconsider. I have one question, do you know why the caged bird sings?

  29. Good for Me says:

    bike with a bike on my shoulder? hmmm. please explain.
    why does the caged bird sing? he is happy and chipper and playful.

  30. egan says:

    Good for Me – damn, I got all flustered in my disdain for birds and fumbled my fingers on the keyboard. I meant to say “bike with a bird on yer shoulder” What do you feed your birdie? Does it talk? Can it fly and can I see a picture of it? I might, just might, change my mind.

  31. Good for Me says:

    oooooh. now that makes much more sense! he eats lots of millet. and he gets fresh food every day too. loves carrots, zucchini, broccoli, lettuce, cabbage, and squash. i’ve tried lots of fruits, but he just doesn’t go for them.
    he’s a sweet little parakeet. he sings and chirps and makes all sorts of sounds, but doesn’t talk yet. he was L’s Christmas present, so we’ve only had him a few months and is now about 6 months. you can check him out on my blog. look under January — the first post was Welcome Peanut.

  32. Leezer says:

    Egan:
    Actually, I think fearing the bottom of the pool is more a fear of heights because it’s twelve feet down, and the goggles make the water distort less, so it’s like you’re high-up.
    And peanuts – my husband hates the styrofoam peanuts so much that if his Mom sends him a package with them in it, he sends it right back. I kid you not.
    Feet above head – I fell doing the high-jump in track and hurt my tail bone pretty bad. I think that’s it. That was when I was 14, and I still can’t Fosberry flop.

  33. egan says:

    Fleezer Flop – hey you, I can’t believe you mentioned the Fosberry. That’s pretty wicked. I was a high jumper too. I think there was a point in grade school where I could jump higher than my actual height, using the scissor jump or the Fosberry.
    I like how your husband thinks. They now have those air sealed bags which seem much better than styrofoam. I can’t stand that shit. I know I can take them to the UPS store in your hood, but it’s such a major pain. They stick to your clothes and everything they can find. They’re like leeches. On the plus side, they are damn good for the environment.
    The pool bottom? Like sinking to the bottom? Is it the ear pressure that bugs you? I’m going to take a wild stab and guess you don’t like swimming in open bodies of water.

  34. egan says:

    Good for Me – okay, I will check him out. Now I feel rotten for insulting a bird owner. They still scare me, but maybe I can conquer this fear with your help. I’m off to learn more about your parakeet. Bonjour Peanut!

  35. Good for Me says:

    I will say bonjour to him for you. i can completely understand the fear. personally, i just don’t want him pooping in my hair. thankfully his wings are clipped a little so when he is out, he gets some lift, but not very high.
    interested to hear your thoughts on my fears.

  36. Good for Me says:

    no need to feel rotten. i was teasing. cuz i know you can take it πŸ˜‰

  37. Good for Me says:

    this is getting funny. Skype anyone?

  38. The Grunt says:

    I have a phobia of fish. I try to overcome this fear by fishing. It is weird to be the one guy out there fishing hoping to catch nothing. When I do catch a fish I go into what I call “shit tizzies”. Mostly it is all internal, but I really get panicked. So, after unhooking and handling the fish, I release it, wash my hands and calm down. I can’t seem to trace the origin of this phobia, though.

  39. egan says:

    Good for Me – I scoped out Peanut. He’s a cute little birdie. Oh, if it pooped in my hair once… game over. I was pooped on once by a seagull while delivering desserts. That was a lovely day. Wait, what are your fears?
    Good for Me – I can take it. I have a very thick epidermis and many siblings.

  40. egan says:

    Good for Me – don’t believe the Skype. Do you have Yahoo or MSN messengers? They rock.
    The Grunt – hmm, I might be able to add fish to my list, but I don’t fish. I don’t know how you do it Mr. Grunty. I also don’t like fish hooks. It’s not a task/hobby for me. How’s Geldof?

  41. Good for Me says:

    yeah, that poop in the hair by the seagull thing. that is just nasty and would completely freak me out. the last time my sister and i went for a bike ride a bird pooped that magenta colored poo right in her hair when she was stopped under a tree. She was convinced it was berries, but I knew otherwise. I didn’t have the heart to tell her cuz she would have flipped.
    a thick epidermal layer is very useful. i can’t say the same. working on it though.

  42. Good for Me says:

    what’s wrong with Skype? No, don’t have the others.

  43. egan says:

    Good for You – your sister totally would have freaked. You made a wise decision not sharing with her about the poop. Magenta poop? Thick skin, we can add that to your fears.
    Good for Me – I don’t know if I can get Skype on my Mac. I will check it.

  44. Good for Me says:

    my aussie friend has a mac. he introduced me to skype. give it a whirl. you can also call friends for free. it’s pretty amazing.
    i must retire. eastern standard is beckoning my head to my pillow.

  45. Good for Me says:

    my fears are noted right after the “i can’t be your friend” comment. au revoir! j’usqua un autre jour.

  46. egan says:

    Good for Me – I tried to download Skype, but it apparently costs money. I’m not sure if I need it that bad. Good tip though. I’m thinking I will watch Lost and then retire.
    Good for Me – in cities, pools, and open water. I think these are fairly normal as they involve getting you out of your comfort zones. So a normal public pool with nobody else there would be freaky? That’s a dream come true for me. I used to not like one way streets until I moved to Portland, OR where there are many downtown. It does have its advantages, mainly much safer for pedestrians. (I somehow missed this comment in your flurry of comments)

  47. Phil says:

    Give me an audience and I’m probably at my most comfortable. Public speaking is my version of golf. It’s fun, relaxing and nobody really keeps score.
    It’s easy because it’s not you. It’s a version of you. Whatever you want to create.
    1 to 1 I’m fine with but small groups say 4-6 people freak me unless I already know them. I loathe team negotiations.
    I hate posionous snakes with a passion (Oh joy I live in Australia with the Brown Snake being very common and ranked number 2 for lethality!). At the farm we have our own version of whacking day.
    We call it Shotgun Sunday but any day of the week will do.

  48. Rodents…urgh…I can’t stand ’em. That and snakes. I’m sure there’s something Freudian in there….

  49. mez says:

    hm, open spaces. Well it’s not a huge fear..it’s not even really a fear at all. But if it’s just flat or too wide without anything around then I feel …uncomfortable. It’s not always an altogether bad feeling and I don’t feel like leaving or anything if I’m faced with it but I’m just wary and on edge.
    I have no idea where this came from.

  50. Vi says:

    I say I’m not superstitous but I’ll still put salt over my shoulder if I spill it! And NO WAY will I walk under a ladder (only cause I don’t want anything to fall on me!)

  51. furiousball says:

    I’m currently working on my own fear of worms so I can bait my son’s hook, I don’t mind snakes or even our big lizard. Words just skeeze me out.

  52. tori says:

    I had a lot of fears that got worse once I had kids. I have a fear of heights, and we have a very open railing (it is normal, but in my afraid of heights head it is very open) on our second floor loft. When I would carry the baby anywhere in that room, I was practically hugging the far wall just to avoid accidentally dropping him or tripping and having him fall or something. It wasn’t even realistically possible, but in my head, the fear remained.

  53. tori says:

    Oh, I also can’t/don’t walk over grates in the ground. My kids do it and it freaks me out!

  54. nessa says:

    I have a problem with phones. This stems from when I was a small child. People would call when someone died. I would answer the phone and they would tell me they had “bad news and I don’t want to upset your mother and so and so died. Bye.” This happened four times before I was six and with different callers. What the hell?
    I’m not afraid of death but I am afraid of death by fire. I don’t know why this particular form of death.
    I’m not afraid of heights but I am afraid that when I go up high I will not be able to resist the urge to step off intot he air. I really, really want to do this.

  55. Jennifer says:

    Did you know that more people would rather be in the casket at a funeral than speak at one? I’ve always found that bizarre, but then the same holds true for me. I’ve never been afraid of death. But I’m deathly afraid of public speaking.
    I’m also terribly afraid of growing old gracelessly and of losing my memory. If my mind starts to go, I want to be put down. Like a race horse.

  56. naynayfazz says:

    I have never heard of getting cats wet after midnight being a superstition Hmm. Do they turn into Gremlins? πŸ™‚ (sorry, I couldn’t help myself)
    I agree with you on the bird thing.It is sad when they are cooped up all day. 😦

  57. Burr-ee-toe says:

    The aliens with the giant heads and scary black eyes, with skinny little bodies. Scarrrry.

  58. egan says:

    Phil – what really goes down on Shotgun Sunday? I would love to learn your tricks to public speaking. Do you undress all the women in the audience with your eyes?
    Mona – rodents are uncivil and quite uncooperative too. They should stay outside.
    Mez – hmmm, I’m very curious about this. Thanks for filling me in as best as possible.
    Vi – hey, welcome to my blog. I never understood the salt over the shoulder bit. I love ladders and walking under them can be quite fun, falling items or not. Thanks for the visit.
    Furiousball – worms are kind of nasty, but they do awesome things for our gardens. They’re very valuable, mice… not valuable.
    Tori – I imagine the overprotected vibe will get tested when I become a parent in about 130 days. I already feeling it kicking in.
    Tori – my wife has that same issue with grates. I had to ask her about it and I think it stems from wearing heels. Sadly there are a ton of grated bridge decks in Seattle and many sewer grates.
    Nessa – oh my, I can relate to this one. I especially don’t like odd hour phone calls. They freak me out. You’re unfortunately thinking the worst each time. Death by fire would be horrific, I can’t even let my mind go there.
    Jennifer – yes, I heard a report about that very topic. I guess it validated my beliefs as I loathe public speaking. I must agree on the aging thing. After witnessing my grandparents fading away to Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s, I’m very pro-euthenasia.
    NayNayFazz – I was making shit up about the cats. Aren’t all cats like Gremlins? I might be changing my tune on birdies after learning about Peanut, the wonderful parakeet owned by the blogger Good for Me.
    Burr-ee-toe – you crack me up. I can tell it does scare you based on your description of the cute foreign critters.

  59. Phats says:

    Birds suck, although the movie the birds very good!
    Rodents, YUCK! not a fan of those either.
    I am deathly afraid of Snakes and Fish.

  60. Amanda says:

    I don’t know…you might be right about the cat thing. I may or may not have squirted my very bad cat, who decided to jump up on the counter after weeks of being so good, with water at about 12:30 last night. She freaked out more than usual. Tore all around the house and had this crazy look in her eyes.
    But then again, I think she had just been in the litter box…………

  61. egan says:

    Phats – you also don’t like snow either. Let’s add that to your list. The Birds is an excellent movie.
    Amanda – bad little kitty. Wait, were you speaking in code about “cats”? That’s what she said.

  62. Phats says:

    no no snow isn’t a fear. I am not scared of it, I just hate it. I can live with it, unfortunately I have learned too 😦 If you could make a deal with mother nature to get rid of all snow, I will support triathletes everywhere!
    I can’t believe Romber was PHIL-eliminated!! SHOCKING

  63. egan says:

    Phats – I think it’s kind of funny actually. Rob just gave up if you asked me. How about you support soccer players instead? Deal?

  64. Phats says:

    Hmm sure if i get 0 snow next year that’s a deal! πŸ™‚ haha

  65. egan says:

    Phats – I know how you love soccer and all it’s greatness. We should watch poker on ESPN sometime at your pad.

  66. Good for Me says:

    that’s strange that you had to pay for skype. i downloaded a few months ago for free.
    yeah, a pool with no one there would be freaky to me. bizarre, eh? i can understand how a swimmer would find great joy in an empty pool.

  67. egan says:

    Good for Me – really? I couldn’t find a free version of it. I downloaded the bad boy and then couldn’t get it to load. I dug around some more and there appears to be a $30 annual fee. Maybe this is a new thing. An empty pool is truly a swimmer’s paradise. Your fear is weird, but I guess if you’re scared of swimming it doesn’t really matter. I need to offer adult swimming lessons.

  68. ChickyBabe says:

    Dogs… and roaches!

  69. egan says:

    ChickyBabe – hells yeah. I used to be fearful of dogs, but I’m better now. Roaches though should have made my list. Those suckers freak me out because they move fast and are so ugly.

  70. CSL says:

    I’m with you about birds belonging outdoors and not in cages. But I’m not afraid of them. Or rodents. But camel crickets and centipeded give me the major heebies. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

