Go Mustangs!

Teaching is a noble profession. I have a tremendous amount of respect for teachers since they voluntarily take on the task of educating our children. They are substantially undervalued in our society and it’s quite maddening. I had some great teachers over the years and it’s intriguing what sticks with you about each of them in present day. Let me recap grades 1-6 as best as I can. I would say these were the very important formative years of my life. When I think back about my childhood, many of my best memories took place during these pre-teen years. For all those teachers out there, thank you for all your hard work!

Kindergarten: Mrs. Bellamy –> not so nice to me as I spent much time in the hall for disciplinary reasons and students only attended for half a day. We made some pottery and felt the fire of the kiln.  Oh, the orange and yellow carpet in our classroom was très uncomfortable.  Outside of these few things, I don’t remember much about kindergarten.

First grade: Mr. Klein –> I loved him and recall a couple field trips we made to the city that school year. I kissed my first girl, Shannon, in this grade and still recall the exact location of the embrace and her childhood phone number. I attempted to learn the recorder and failed miserably in first grade.

Second grade: Ms. Divoky –> I recall her being quite tall and much older than other teachers. I was the spelling bee champ in our class and was rewarded with a bucket of Almond Roca. My mom made her first appearance at my school as The Picture Lady. This gave me celebrity status whenever my mom gave her art presentations.   Some kid named Jon Boucher was a real pain in the ass though. 

Third grade: Mrs. Palmer –> A teacher whose limits were tested often. We had a very difficult student, Chad, in our class who was routinely in shouting matches with our teacher. The principal, Mr. Hubbard, paid frequent visits to our classroom, dragging out said troubled student several times. A marvelous teacher with nerves of steel she was.  Probably one of my best grade school teachers… even with the distractions.   Penpals rock!

Grade Four: Ms. Namba –> I must have done something right in third grade because I was placed into a fourth/fifth grade mixed class. Ms. Namba was a very quiet teacher who had a talent for keeping kids in order. We did a lot of reading aloud that year. Somehow I set some school record for a 12 minute run/walk, my older brother was the previous record holder.

Grade Five: Mr. Cudmore –> After much thinking I finally remembered my teacher’s name.  I was "going out" with a girl named Aimee and distinctly remember being terrified to dial the final digit of her home phone. Sadly, I recall struggling with my reading comprehension skills in fifth grade and getting placed into a lower level reading class.  We did spend three days at a camp a couple hours north of Seattle towards the end of the school year. The three days were spent learning outside of a classroom and was easily the highlight of fifth grade. It was a huge deal and also the first time I laid eyes on a girl known only as my first true crush, Julia.

Grade Six: Mr. Rhoades –> this year really stands out compared to others. I can still recall so much about sixth grade. We actually had two teachers. My assigned teacher was absent nearly two thirds of the year for health issues. Thankfully in his absence Mr. Rhodes taught us some really great stuff. We had a mock stock market where we’d gain or lose money depending on the actual stock market’s performance. I poured my money into Colleco, the makers of Cabbage Patch Dolls.  I had enough money saved I was able to afford a full-sized monkey puppet at our mock auction. Yes, I still own the puppet today. We also acted out Romeo and Juliet in sixth grade. I played the affable Mercutio, memorizing all my lines (some I still remember… Tybalt, you rat catcher.. a plague on both of your houses) and had an crush on the girl playing Juliet. My mom helped me make my costume and I recall being so proud of my rolled up pants.  True to life, my sword broke in half during the pivotal death scene.  Oy.

—————–

TODAY’S RULED OUT BABY NAMES: Marianne, Amanda, Amy, Janet, Leslie, and Rachel.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Storytelling. Bookmark the permalink.

73 Responses to Go Mustangs!

  1. mez says:

    awww I can’t believe you’ve ruled my name out! 😛
    What a cool post! My teacher in grade 5 (Mrs Hurt) had the hairiest legs ever – it’s what I remember most about grade 5.

  2. ChickyBabe says:

    I remember having a huge crush on my science teacher, and when he left to teach in the Seychelles, he used to send me postcards. I wonder what he’s doing now…

  3. patches says:

    So cool that you have such memorable teachers. Mister Hombre’s most talked about memory is stabbing himself in the palm with a pencil…..he’s never talked much about specific teachers during that age, he talks more about the high school years, but I guess those tend to be the glory days.

  4. sprizee says:

    My vote is for the name Madeline.

  5. nessa says:

    My husband can remember all of his teachers’ names, too and all of his classmates. I can’t remember any.
    I never went to kindergarten. In first, I was scheduled to skip into second, but they decided to keep be in first because in one assignement where we were to cut out words and paste them into the correct sentence, I cut mine out lost them, rememebred what the words were and wrote them inot hte sentences, getting them all correct. But I didn’t follow the rules. No other memories until 5th, when we gave our teacher a nervious breakdown and a girl made fun of my Christmas present to her. In 6th grade, I got a “D” in spelling. Last bad grade I ever got. We didn’t know about dyslexia back then.

  6. Amanda says:

    How awesome that you remember your teachers – except for the 5th grade one…is that because you were in a mixed class during 4th grade? I remember all of my teachers from elementary to my senior year. It helps going to the same school district with the same classmates, though.
    Oh, and good call in ruling out fellow blogger’s names. Could be confusing for readers if you write, “last night while giving ____ a bath…” And the blogger with the same name comments later in the post.

  7. naynayfazz says:

    Little Egan doing Shakespeare…. Priceless. I remember most of my teachers as well. All of them, at one point or another, told me to stop talking so much! One of them even put me in the back of the room. Ha ha ha

  8. Rachel says:

    EEEEEEEEEKKKKKKK!!!!! You ruled out the name Rachel?
    …gasp, clutch the pearls….

  9. Rachel says:

    Oh…back to your post. I remember all of my teachers.
    I had a really difficult student in my 3rd grade class to. He actually hit my teacher Mr. B.
    My kindergarten teacher was Mr. Fry and HATED it when we called him Mr. French Fry.

  10. Amy says:

    One of my closest friends is a teacher. I wouldn’t do her job for all the money in the world. Lucky for her though, teachers in this province are paid a fair wage. There salaries compare well to other occupations. I understand this is not the case in the USA. That is unfortunate, because you are likely loosing good teachers to other higher paying jobs.
    I remember all my teachers names. Many of I was (am) on a first name basis with. I still see most of my teachers regularly. In fact, I am doing work right now for my 10th grade history teacher, who also happens to be married to my 6th grade teacher.
    I never enjoyed school,EVER. I think it’s because I didn’t enjoy sitting down all day or following a set schedule. It had nothing to do with my teachers. I love most of them.

  11. Christina says:

    Egan – I totally agree about teachers. I was lucky enough to have some really great teachers and I will never forget them. My all time favorite was Mr. McLaughlin, who taught my AP American History course. He was just incredible. I wish he could have taught me all through college, too.
    Oh, also, I took down the old blog b/c my sister found it. It was a “secret” blog and I didn’t want family reading it. For now there’s just Feebo.

  12. furiousball says:

    Excellent topic. My extremely spirited son is in kindergarten, his teacher is amazing. We are really working with her and addressing my son’s distractability. He’s responding really well and finding productive outlets to channel his amazing nuclear reactor of energy.

  13. tori says:

    The teachers my kids have had are all amazing. It is fascinating seeing the relationships my kids build with their teachers, and how each teacher each of them has had has been just the right fit for their personality. I have many memories from grade school too, and hope my kids end up with lots of positive ones too.
    I was a kindergarten teacher before I had my first baby, and I still get letters from a few of the parents and kids. It is hard for me to imagine those tiny kids as 16 year olds now though, and when they send pictures or talk about learning to drive, it boggles my mind because in my head, they remain 5 and 6 year olds.

  14. Burr-ee-toe says:

    You know the crazy kid in your third grade class? I must have had his evil younger brother in my second grade class. This horrible boy Aaron had some mental issues and thought that kicking me under the table really hard every day was acceptable. I finally broke down and started crying and told my teacher what he had been doing and was so happy when I got to move seats. I heard that he eventually got sent to a mental institution. Shocker.

  15. Pants says:

    I’m impressed with your memory…I can only remember the names of two teachers I had K-6.

  16. naynayfazz says:

    Egan- Can you give me the Feebo blog address? I only had Popo’s other blog on my blog and now I can’t get to the Feebo address. Thanks

  17. Mae says:

    I enjoyed this post, being a teacher myself when I’m working (I’m currently staying at home with kids for two-three more years). I hope I’m one of those teachers kids grow up to remember. I know that there are kids that I’ll never forget!
    My mom ran into my second grade teacher at the grocery store while I was in graduate school (for education) many years ago. She gave me her contact information and I wrote Mrs. O’Connell a letter letting her know how I remembered how warm her hands were when she held them the day I was introduced to my second grade class on a rainy November morning. Life changed for the better for me that day, that year, with her. And I’ll always thank her for that moment 🙂

  18. meno says:

    mez and rachel, don’t feel badly, he ruled out my name several weeks ago, i mean my real name.
    egan, i have some good friends who are both teachers. The amount of work and caring i see that goes into their jobs is amazing. I get my knickers all in a knot when people criticize teachers in a blanket statment.

  19. egan says:

    Mez – ha, I really do like your name. Don’t take it personally. As someone, Amandan, points out.. the names are all bloggers. I had to go back up and read your comment. It was a female teacher with hairy legs. I bet that was distracting. Keep up your great work friend!
    ChickyBabe – really? Did he send other students postcards? Did he speak français aussi? Je sais qu’on parle français aux Seychelles.
    Patches – I stabbed myself with a pencil too. It hurt like a mofo to say the least. Damn led.
    Sprizee – Madeline is a good name, but very popular now. Like Stephanie popular when we were kids.
    Nessa – very interesting stories of yours. Are you a child prodigy? Dyslexia wasn’t known yet? Huh, you must be a bit older than me. It seemed to be all the rage when I was a child.
    Amanda – I finally remembered the fifth grade teacher’s name. I think I blocked out his name since I really struggled in fifth grade. I got too girl crazy. We seem to have had similar childhood experiences. I attended school with some people for almost 17 years. In fact, there’s a buddy of mine that works across the street from me now and he and I went through public school together, then college, and he works directly across the street from me. So bizarre.

  20. egan says:

    Naynayfazz – I wasn’t ever told to go to the back of the room in grade school. I really acted out though in eighth grade. I became a bit of a monster then.
    Rachel – what pearls are we talking about?
    Amy – your last paragraph gives me much to learn about you as a person. Thanks for sharing this. I’m glad teachers in your province are well funded. Unfortunately that’s not the case here. I think teachers in our state rank 42nd out of 50 states. It’s pathetic.
    Christina – sucky to hear about your sister. You’re not interested in password protecting it are you? There’s always Feebo still. I hope you don’t mind I updated the links accordingly. Amazing how certain teachers really connect with us. Glad you had a good teaching experience.
    Furiousball – that’s a great description of your son, super spirited. I remember having unlimited energy similar to your son.
    Tori – I had no idea you were a kindergarten teacher, it does make sense since you appear to have great patience. I bet you’re thrilled to see them connect so well with your children.

  21. egan says:

    Burr-ee-toe – well it sure is tough for a bunch of young kids to sit in a class, rather motionless. Thankfully there was recess and P.E. class.
    Pants – have you considered electro shock therapy to remember those days?
    NaynayFazz – I hope you got the address, wait.. I know you got it.
    Mae – that’s a great story. Sweet, another teacher who happens to read my blog. I’m sure you’re one they remember. Were you new to the school in second grade? What a nice fond memory you have.
    Meno – did I rule out your name already? I didn’t realize I had. Damn, it’s so true Meno. None of them only work 10 months, nor do they work traditional 8 hour days. Hats off to our educators.

  22. Pants says:

    It’s possible I’d need elecro shock therapy to block those days out, should I remember them.

  23. sprizee says:

    Heather was the most common name in my elementary school. And when kids start referring to you as FIRST NAME LAST INITIAL you know that’s got to be fun times.

  24. Pants says:

    I was never been a first name, last initial kid.
    (Welcome back Sprizee!)

  25. You know, at this rate, all baby names everywhere and in every language will be eliminated. There are only so many names, you know.
    You might get stuck with an unsuitable name for your kid.
    Like LaFawnda.
    Or a ridiculously hyphenated name.
    Like Brian-Roberto.

  26. TayRez says:

    Pantsy, I shockingly was a first name last initial kid, even with a name like Thérèse. Imagine.

  27. Pants says:

    Speaking of baby names…I met a brother and sister this weekend named “Chance” and “Faith”.
    **insert humorous comment about throwing up in my mouth**

  28. Phil says:

    Thanks Egan for brining up some sweet memories of teachers. My favorite teacher was Sister Mary Greer. Great teacher, awsome Nun (who played soccer with the boys during lunch in her nun gear) and one hell of a lady.

  29. Chris says:

    I can’t remember every teach, but many of them I do. I grew up Roman Catholic and went to a Catholic school for 12 long, very long, years.
    In the early days, there was mass in Latin – which was crazy boring and totally impossible to make sense of.
    There were nuns who beat the crap out of me, most of the time because we weren’t allowed to hit back.
    There was was nun whom we drove insanne, literally, buy doing many of the classic bad things like gluing her books together and throwing everything off her desk regularly.
    Oh them days.

  30. Brooke says:

    I can’t tell you how happy it makes me that you remember your first grade teacher. You don’t know how much I worry that my kids won’t remember me when they grow up. I feel so much better now!

  31. Amanda says:

    5th grade was a weird year for me, too. I was boy-crazy. One of my crushes bought me the Vanilla Ice tape. There are about 4 people who work for the same company as I who went to school with me. And even more who were either younger or older. It’s nice, yet at the same time, very weird how tight knit a community can be.

  32. Candy says:

    wow- I don’t think I can remember all of my teachers’ names… we need more good teachers. Some of them really shouldn’t be there because they obviously don’t want to be. It’s not a profession one can really do without wanting to. I mean, I know the money is great and all… haha.
    Anyway. I do remember my 4th grade teacher very very well – he knew how to get kids excited about school. I also remember having a crush on him and being sad that he was already married with kids. Now that I actually understand the idea of romance I realize how utterly gross it would have been for him to be my guy. Kindof funny, the things we don’t really get as children.

  33. justrun says:

    Wow, I thought I was the only one that remembered every teacher. How cool!

  34. celeste says:

    I can’t believe your remember your grade-school teachers names!
    That’s impressive!

  35. Tall Chick says:

    I didn’t know you could LIKE your teachers until 5th grade. My 2-4th grade teacher was something else. But Mr. Hooper (5th and 6th) was awesome.
    My 7th and 8th teacher (also the Principal) I don’t think I ever quite forgave for implying — OK flat out wondering aloud to my face — that I was a lesbian because I drew a ballerina on my friend’s arm and she added nipples and a “triangle” of pubic hair. Thank you for that Mr. Lindeman, you uptight poop.
    Petty, aren’t I? 😛
    Great post, Egan! Did you post this before I asked your advice on teaching recalcitrant semi-goth girl today? It went really well, by the way. Hooray for that.

  36. M says:

    Have you considered Twyla? I think Twyla might be the one, man.
    I had a physics teacher who did imitations of electrons in high school who fully guided my career. Those electrons sure get stressed out when they go through resistors.

  37. Hannelie says:

    What a good memory you got!!

  38. ChickyBabe says:

    No, he didn’t send them to other students. He was English, and I don’t think he spoke French. Come to think of it, the postcards continued for a few years, until I left school. He was most interested in the subjects I took up in high school and what I ended up studying at uni. Rather nice, come to think of it now.

  39. egan says:

    Pants – nah, you don’t have to remember them. It’s only something freaky people such as myself tend to remember.
    Sprizee – that’s exactly what I hope to avoid. What does Sprizee mean again? Can I borrow it?
    Pants – your name is very cool. I like it muchly.
    TayRez – hey, what’s shaking? Um, LaFawnda has never been on my list for a good reason. Six names a day for the next 140 days maximum.. I guess there really aren’t too many names to choose from.
    TayRez – really? That was the case for you? I suppose based on where you grew up. I do love Therese as a name.
    Pants – was their other kid named Immaculate?
    Airam – I thought you might. Don’t let anyone every understate the importance of your job. I know some will try to say you only work 9 months a year or some other crap like that. Slap them silly for me.
    Phil – Sister Mary Greer seems like a great person. Any teacher who takes time out of their day to play soccer with their kids wins big time bonus points.
    Boston Chris – it sounds like you and Phil have a few stories you could share. Your school experience seems quite opposite of Phil’s. You weren’t a bully were you?
    Brooke – I’m confident most will remember you. Based on the stuff you’ve shared with me and your readers, those kids really look up to you. Continue the great work.
    Amanda – you and that Vanilla Ice guy, I think there’s something going on with you. I’m not sure I could do the small town thing. I like having my friends close, but not sure if I could do it that close.
    Candy – this love for your fourth grade teacher doesn’t surprise me. I think it’s fairly common since teachers tend to be nurturing types. I can see how you might fall for the guy. We don’t need any more wacky Mary Kay LeTourneau stuff.
    Justrun – yeah, I know many of them and that was only grade school. I didn’t mention all my French and science teachers.
    Celeste – I didn’t think it was that uncommon to know them until everybody commented on this post. Good to know I’m sort of freaky this way.
    Candace – don’t take this the wrong way, but was Mr. Lindeman a reason why you homeschool your kids? I typed this post late Tuesday night well before we chatted about your despot 17 year old tkd student.
    M – you’re kidding right? Twyla? The first college apartment I lived in had a married couple who happened to be the managers. Twyla sounds too much like a really bad female body part.
    Hannelie – thank you very much. I like this sort of stuff.

  40. egan says:

    ChickyBabe – hmmm, did this seem odd to you at all? I’m sure he had good intentions, but to a typical bystander it seems odd. I guess he could really be interested in your progress.

  41. ChickyBabe says:

    Not at all. He wasn’t weird or anything like that. And without sounding like I was a special student, a few teachers had taken interest in my achievements over the years, including some who never taught me. I found it very humbling actually.

  42. Amanda says:

    Trust me. The small town thing pretty much sucks. You shouldn’t live somewhere where you are able to see the same really freaky person in many different settings. Although, there isn’t really any smog, so there’s something.
    And I used to be obsessed with Vanilla Ice. Not so much anymore. I talk about him a lot because it’s my way of coming clean with past errors in judgement (even though I might still get a little excited when I hear that beat on the radio…you know the one. And then it turns out to be Queen & David Bowie and then I really get excited).

  43. Mone says:

    I just fell over the name Aimee. Is it a typical american name? Its soooo coool!!

  44. Rachel says:

    Haha…the pearls I clutched were the ones around my neck.
    Where did you think the were????

  45. sprizee says:

    It derives from greek origins and basically translates to “spaz that is dizzy”. It’s good to be back!
    Heather B, Heather R and Heather S say hi. Maddie, Maty, and Madison too.

  46. Tall Chick says:

    LOL! Not taken the worn way at all. No, actually, that never entered my mind as being a reason to homeschool. I guess it’s just another perk. ^_^ My main reasons are quality of education, breadth of experience and, well, it’s just who we are. We love being together and learning together. Maybe it’s just a thin excuse for me to learn all the cool things I was never exposed to in school.
    You must have written in on Monday, then? Weird, that.

  47. egan says:

    ChickyBabe – okay, I get what you’re saying. Well all of your readers are interested in your achievements so it does make sense. Thank you for explaining that and I promise I won’t ask you any more questions this week.
    Amanda – you used to be obsessed? I don’t believe. You still are obsessed with Mr. Duh Nuh Na Na Nuh Na Na. Every damn time I hear the Queen/Bowie orginal I think of the dude with a spiked hair and a Mustang fetish.
    Mone – Aimee isn’t a typical way to spell it. Sometimes the pronunciation is different like uh-may vs. the traditional Amy. I went to school with two Aimees oddly enough and had crushes on both of them. I think if you were a girl and looked me in the eyes once though… I had a crush.
    Rachel – you know… uh huh.
    Sprizee – are you giving me more names to choose from? How kind. I love the movie Heathers. Thanks for the Sprizee lesson.

  48. Tall Chick says:

    I bet you knew that I meant wrong. How I got “worn” out of that is beyond me. Clearly I should leave typing instruction up to Spongebob. (software)

  49. egan says:

    Tall Chick – I wrote the post late Monday night because I received nasty threats to post something new or else…. Do you believe in the “family bed”? Just have to ask and since I know you’re not much into cribs, I think I know the answer. Your thin excuse to learn more is very good. Who doesn’t want to learn more? I should hope everyone has a natural curiousity about things.

  50. egan says:

    Tall Chick – I was able to make sense of your comment. Thanks for checking it again. When you went to school did they even teach typing. I didn’t learn until 10th grade. It made a huge difference.

  51. Amanda says:

    At least I like the Queen/Bowie version better. That counts for something doesn’t it?

  52. Tall Chick says:

    I was a staunch opponent of the Family Bed – – HUGELY, ADAMANTLY, STAUNCHLY against it (I cannot emphasize this enough, my friend) right up until our first night home with Mollusc. I crept out of bed to nurse the wee mite, laid her down once she was asleep and she was not a happy camper, so picked her up again. (repead ad infinitum) Finally, at about 6 or 7 am, I found myself curled in a nest on the floor with her and thought “How stupid is this? I might was well be doing this in bed.” So I brought her in, much fearing what MuNKi would have to say about it. He smiled to see his girls, snuggled us up and we slept very happily.
    I soon realised that after 9 mos of being a part of me, she was not too keen to be her on her own simply because she’d exited my body. ^_^
    I’d like to say that the rest is history, and it kind of is, but,really, I struggled with angst for months about “spoiling the baby” because of stuff my MIL would say. I didn’t know any other AP parents – didn’t even know there WAS such a thing as AP – until I found Amity’s. I was simply going with my heart and doing what made me a happier and better mom (good rest will do that, LOL!) Which is why my own advice to people is now to “parent by heart” and not listen to anyone else.
    Bet you wish you hadn’t asked now.

  53. Tall Chick says:

    I know my sister took a typing class, but I don’t think they offered it by the time I got to that grade. I learned by typing too much. I use a lot of fingers, but probably not in the prescribed manner.

  54. Amanda says:

    My parents had a Family Bed, too. I was really sick my senior year of high school and still crawled into bed with mom after dad went to work.

  55. egan says:

    Amanda – it certainly does count for something. Have you seen the interview with Vanilla Ice trying to explain how his beat is different? It’s hilarious.
    Tall Chick – this explanation of yours is why you rock. I can totally see why you would do that. I really hope to use the crib because I value my sleep, then again I don’t have a lactating boob to feed the little girl. Hey, what does AP mean other than Associated Press and Aussies Partay?
    Tall Chick – ha, not in the prescribed manner. Nice. Do you look at your fingers when you type?

  56. egan says:

    Amanda – I see a family bed rally cry. I don’t think this means family bed. I’m thinking more along the lines of all the kids sleep in the same bed as their parents every night… not just on nights they have horrible nightmares about monkeys chasing them around town.

  57. Amanda says:

    That interview is the reason I lost all respect for him (because the hair, eyebrow & really horrible clothes wasn’t enough to lose said respect……)
    Thanks for asking tall chick what AP meant. I was afraid to.

  58. Amanda says:

    Yeah, I left that part out. We did that, too.

  59. egan says:

    Amanda – the interview is too funny. I love how he tried to wiggle his way out of sampling. Unfortunately I still think of his damn song each time. Kind of like Dido and Eminem. I think Dido has a lot more staying power than Eminem. Mr. Mathers is much more talented than Vanilla Ice, in my book.
    Amanda – we can only hope Tall Chick will fill us in on the AP thing. Wanna cuddle?

  60. Tall Chick says:

    Fear not! These are things you usually don’t find out about until you travel in those circles. AP just means Attached Parenting. There’s no specific set of rules. They don’t all do the same things, but you’ll find that for practical purposes they TEND to do many of the following:
    -Family Bed
    -Baby wearing (sling the baby)
    -Extended breastfeeding (EBF)
    -Child-led weaning (whenever they’re ready)
    -Potty Learning (instead of “training” – this just means that you wait until they show signs of readiness and then become the facilitator, rather than checking you watch all the time and putting them on the potty and commanding them to go ^_^ )
    these tend to be rather universal with APers. You’ll see more variation (but probably a large percentage of)
    -cloth diapering
    -homeschooling
    -selective, delayed or no vaccinations
    -no circing
    Some do ECC (Elimination Communication – infant’s using the potty because you train yourself to understand their little noises and know when they need to go. Sounds very unusual at first until you consider that moms are always wearing their undiapered babes in Africa and India and wherever and somehow manage to not get pottied on.)
    As for Family Bed, it prolly means diff things for diff peeps. For us it meant that they stayed with us until about age 3. So, I’d nurse them to sleep and just plunk them in our bed. After that they tend to wander in at about 3 or 4 am until age 7 or 8.

  61. Tall Chick says:

    I can’t believe I put an apostrophe in “infants.” Kill me now.

  62. Tall Chick says:

    Although it *could* work there in a pinch. (as in Infant is)

  63. egan says:

    Tall Chick – wow, I just learned more in one comment than I learned all of yesterday. What surprises me hear is there’s a name for a style of parenting, AP or Attached Parenting. Thank you for shedding some light on this. It makes sense. I’m guessing this leads to a much more affectionate family relationship. I like it. Does MuNKi kiss Fishy on the lips?

  64. Amanda says:

    Yeah, VI was and is a freak. I have to agree that Eminem may be better.
    If you bring the blankie, I’ll cuddle.
    Oh, and look – TC responded!!! Ask and we shall receive. I think my mom may have been somewhat of an APer. Very interesting.

  65. egan says:

    Tall Chick – who proofreads your work?
    Tall Chick – yes, the apostrophe is always debatable isn’t it?

  66. Party Girl says:

    That was a very nice tribute. It’s funny what the brain remembers and what it doesn’t. Releasing those little pockets of information that float out every now and again.

  67. Churlita says:

    I remember my 3rd grade teacher best. Her husband was a POW in Vietnam and he came to talk to us about his experiences. I was totally blown away by him and his wife was so nice too.

  68. egan says:

    Party Girl – I really enjoyed grade school more than the typical student I suppose. The teachers made it enjoyable and a great learning experience. It’s important not to overlook their hard work. Thanks for the kind words.
    Churlita – wow, that had to be a moving discussion. What was his angle or did he not have one? That would have freaked me out. You still remember it today, now that’s powerful.

  69. Eunice says:

    I still talk to my 6th grade teacher, she was that awesome. And when I say still talk, I mean that we exchange e-mails, letters and birthday cards on a regular basis. I have had to adjust to calling her “Susan” instead of “Mrs. T.” though, which has been weird.

  70. Eunice says:

    Hey have you ruled out Eunice yet? Because although some people (mostly dead great grandmothers) seem to think that “there’s no finer name,” I so strongly disagree. I’m just sayin’.

  71. egan says:

    Eunice – that’s very cool you still talk with her. I wonder if this is more common in smaller towns. I don’t know any of my friends that still communicate with theirs. My fifth grade teacher used to be a regular customer at my mom’s yarn store.
    Eunice – nope, I haven’t ruled your name out yet. Consider yourself lucky. Hey, you’ve made it your own and that’s what really counts.

  72. Eunice says:

    Darn. I vote for ruling it out. The only plus side to a name like Eunice is learning how to spell it real young. And dealing with the fact that no one else can.

Leave a Reply

