Sit Still Young Man

My brain has a first name.  It’s F R A N T I C.  So much to do, so much to say.  Why hell am I blogging away?  Today is identical to the day before a triathlon.   My mind is all over the place and not for a specific period of time.  I should be working on stuff before flying east tomorrow.  This could be our last trip sans enfant since we’re not sure the April trip will happen as we’ve gone on a bit of a baby supplies bender recently.  I must take time to enjoy the sun in Florida and the buffet food. 

My father-in-law is recovering from prostate cancer so he won’t be quite his normal self, but he’s very excited to see us.  Each time we chat with he and his wife they love to ask about the progress of Baby Singes.  Now we can say, "she’s doing well".  I have to stop cursing because Baby Singe will soon develop her hearing skills in the womb and I don’t want her to hear me say "golly gee willickers" or "fudge".  Those aren’t good for any child unless you’re a superhero.

Pack, pick-up remaining tile, pack, blog, clean, garbage, work related stuff, charge iPod, find all my electronics, books, chargers, Speedo, clothes, toiletries, don’t forget the hair gel sir, running shoes, shorts, visor, heart rate monitor, laptop?  Ugh, I got to cut this post off now before I go crazy.  Gnome sane?

UPDATE: If you don’t gnome sane, it means blogging for me will be sporadic over the next 4-5 days.  Trust me I will do my best to get my hands on a computer though because I’m like that.  Like when we went to Hawaii last year I blogged.  Some thought it was weird, but I thought it was quite fun.  Anyways, that’s my updated status.  Take care gang!

——————

TODAY’S RULED OUT BABY NAMES: Samantha, Belkin, Mindy, Nadia, Valerie, and Rhea.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Sit Still Young Man

  1. Amanda says:

    The day before going on a trip is crazy. It will be good to get to see your in-laws, though. How fun.
    My parents cussed around me all the time. Now look at me. Yeah.

  2. Pants says:

    We weren’t permitted to say “butt” or “fart” in our house and now I have a mouth like a motherfucking sailor.

  3. furiousball says:

    One time while my son was cuddling in bed with my wife, he ripped a righteous fart, I commented that he had just made a dutch oven. I then asked if he wanted pancakes. He asked if I would make them in the dutch oven.

  4. L says:

    GO TO HAWAII. You will always be able to earn more money. You will not ever again be sans enfant after she’s born.

  5. Burr-ee-toe says:

    One time I nearly offended my mother by saying socks. She thought I said a different word that sounds like it. Haha… she’s so cute and innocent.

  6. sprizee says:

    Don’t forget to pack your camera charger! And at least 3 Choose Your Own Adventure novels.

  7. Gwen says:

    Hey, we’re going to Florida in a few days, too. I’ll wave to you while we drive by: we’ll be the grimy, vomit smeared van with the children yelling “Fucker!” at you. Lovely, no?
    Have a good trip. My brain is similarly tripping right now, so I’m glad to see that I’m actually human and not just weak.

  8. Stephanie says:

    Golly gee I hope you have fun in the sun in the good ole Florida! And never joke about it, because Superhero Baby Singes is a total possibility.

  9. meno says:

    My parents did not swear, much, around us. And look at me.
    I swore around Em after she was old enough to not repeat the words without knowing that she could get in trouble for using them. And look at her.
    Yeah.
    Have a good time and enjoy the warm, and the insects.

  10. CSL says:

    Good luck with cleaning up your language – after 13 years I’ve stopped trying.

  11. Rachel says:

    I have always hated the day before vacation. So much to do. So much excitment that you end up putting off all the things that you need to do until the last minute.
    I have been there more times than I would like to remember.
    Have a fantastic time in Florida.

  12. Hannelie says:

    My friend is trying to get me to Try-a-Tri on the 31st, but since I have not trained I’d rather not, transition might be a problem and open water swim. It’s a small one, 200m swim, 10km bike and 2km run, easy but gosh, I’m to nervous!!
    Good luck with yours, get Mrs. Mum-to-be 🙂 to take some pics for us.
    Enjoy and come home safe!

  13. patches says:

    Best wishes to your FIL on the prostate cancer bit….been watching my neighbor (he’s only 43) cope with it. It really bites. Skimming through your pack list and thought I read vibrator in between shorts and heart rate monitor…..guess we know where my mind is…geez.

  14. Cheryl says:

    Have a fun trip!

  15. tori says:

    Have a great trip!

  16. Diane Mandy says:

    A Speedo? Oh, ok…Florida, you’ll fit right in. 😉 Have a great trip!

  17. celeste says:

    Have fun! Show us pics when you’re back 🙂

  18. egan says:

    Amanda – next time, I’m taking the day off before traveling like Mrs. Lessinges does. She’s wise. I knew there was a reason I married here.
    Pants – I will keep this in mind. Farting is such a great word though. I’m phoning your parents now.
    Furiousball – that’s a great story. What do you suppose they call them in the land known as Holland?
    L – I like your way of thinking. Now if we can just swing it, we’ll see. It’s looking more like an extended weekend getaway to the San Juans or Oregon Coast instead.
    Burr-ee-toe – did she think you said “fox” or was it “cocks”? You heathen you! Hey, I hear you’re engaged.
    Sprizee – Choose Your Own Adventure books are perfect for flying and short attention span folks like myself. I wish they gave you a concrete ending or when you chose a bad outcome it would say something more damming like “you fucked up kiddo”.
    Gwen – we’ll be in West Palm Beach. Are you going to Orlando with girls? I’m looking forward to a bit of sun as we haven’t seen much here in Seattle over the past five months.
    Stephanie – I love the way you curse. Now keep it down or you’ll wake up Baby Singes, the superhero.
    Meno – enjoy the warmth is right. Hey, you have many mosquitos at your pad? Man, they’re really bad already. I was gardening this weekend and got eaten alive.
    CSL – I was sort of kidding. In person I have a rather clean mouth. When we started dating my wife asked if I ever swore. It made me chuckle.
    Rachel – this will be my third trip to Florida. It’s been a decent experience each time. I couldn’t live there all year, but the weather and breeze is pretty nice. Yes, the day before leaving sucks when you’re a Procrastinator Suprème like me. Thanks for the well wishes.
    Hannelie – you can totally do that triathlon. Don’t rush yourself. It’s all about pace. You can pace yourself at 60% exertion and you’ll do fine. Open water swimming can be scary, but for 200 meters you can do it. Wear goggles where you can see clearly, I recommend blue ones. Good luck if you do it! Carpe diem!
    Patches – for a cat, you have a dirty mind. I’m not sure if one of those would get through security. I guess I could always pretend it’s a neck massager.
    Cheryl – thanks, will do.
    Tori – you bet your bottom dollar.
    Diane Mandy – I will take that as a compliment. Speedos rule.

  19. Leezer says:

    Egan:
    Are you going for work or pleasure? Some people think you’ll never take a trip after the little girl gets here, but you still can. We took Georgia to spring training in Peoria when she was three months. Of course, we forgot her in the car when it was 100 degrees outside, then we forgot that we put her carseat on the top of the car as we drove away, but other than that, it was a great trip! (Hair gel? What kind?)

  20. egan says:

    Leezer – that’s hilarious. You’re a very very bad parent for making that joke. I bet all the windows were rolled up too. Did she at least have a water dish? We’re going to Florida for pleasure.

  21. Nessa says:

    Happy, happy, trip, trip.
    I can’t believe you ruled out Belkin.

  22. egan says:

    Nessa – thanks for the trip wishes. Yes, who wants to name their daughter after a brand who makes accessories for Apple? I love my iBook and all, but Belkin isn’t so cute.

  23. Eunice says:

    Cussing is like giving up peeing or eating…it just can’t be done. (and thus, my daughter’s first word will likely be “fuck.”)

  24. Airam says:

    Rest up! You deserve it!

  25. mez says:

    I have to ask…how many toiletry bags are you packing?

  26. mez says:

    I have to ask…how many toiletry bags are you packing?

  27. egan says:

    Eunice – strangely in real life I don’t tend to swear all that much. I have more of a potty mouth with my comments on blogs.
    Airam – yes, I do. My back is killing me after tonight’s soccer game. I blew a couple wide open goals too. Then I got home and the power supply to my iBook is dead. I’m at 63% and draining fast. It was at 86% when I jumped online.
    Mez – since my wife and I are such great packers we’ll only use one. Sometimes we use one for each of us, but I don’t have much to put in there other than gel, toothbrush, deodorant, and that’s about it. (I heard you the first time)
    Mez – see response above.

  28. Amanda says:

    Mrs. L is very wise. Taking the day off (or at least half the day) before leaving town is a must. I do that all the time and I also usually take the day after off so I can wind down, unpack, do laundry, etc. (Ok, maybe I don’t unpack or do laundry, but I do like to veg out). Now you know for future trips and can plan accordingly.

  29. naynayfazz says:

    You are a dedicated blogger. And golly gee, I like that. “See” you soon. 🙂

  30. meno says:

    Egan, There are virtually no mosquitoes here. I think in the 10 years we have lived here i’ve seen 3 of the little fuckers.
    Spiders? Craneflys? Cats? Yep.

  31. Good for Me says:

    i’m the same way when on vacation. jumping on the computer is like a little getaway for me. since i’m an introvert, the computer helps me get some alone time when i would otherwise be forced to spend every waking moment of vacation with others.

  32. egan says:

    Amanda – yes, I will make a note of this and plan accordingly. It does make things much easier on each end of the vacation.
    Naynayfazz – Golly is a great word that never seems to get old.
    Meno – three skeeters is all? You have more cats than skeeters I bet. Must be all of our standing water or something. I’m making attempts to fix it.
    Good for Me – look at me, fooling around on the computer right now. I’m hopelessly addicted. It’s a nice way to unwind if you ask me and stay “connected”.

Leave a Reply

