Bunnies Are Adorable

After a startling realization our future daughter has more clothes than her dad, we went on a bit of a clothes shopping spree for yours truly.  I got a new pair of pants, a few buttons shirts, new shoes, some socks, and some brand new white t-shirts.  I was in a very cranky mood while trying on clothes Saturday as I struggled to fit into clothes.   Note to self: before next trip to the mall make sure to shave and look halfway decent before leaving the house.  You know you’re getting older (or an expectant parent) when you arrive to the local mall before it opens.   I’m just saying.

Allow me to get to my point of this post.  Speaking of cuteness, when do we lose our cuteness?  Does it happen at puberty?   I recall thinking how cute my nephews and niece were, but when did they stop being cute?  How does this happen?  Do our personalities make us more or less adorable?  Once my nephews could talk back is this when they became less cuddly?  I ask this so I can prepare myself for the future.  I suppose my mom must still think I’m pretty cute, but then again she’s rather biased.

Speaking of my mom, we hosted an Easter brunch yesterday for my mom and my younger brother.  It was nice to have each of them over.  We showed them around the house, including all the new baby belongings.  It was a pleasant start to our Easter day.  I’m not religious at all, but Easter holds a special place in my heart since it was the day I proposed to my wife in 2000.  As a kid it meant hunting for Easter eggs either inside the house or in the backyard, pending weather conditions.  Once we found the hard-boiled eggs we chowed them all down either with egg salad sandwiches or simply devouring them once the shell was removed.  Anyone have any Peeps they want to share?

——————

TODAY’S RULES OUT BABY NAMES: Jordan, Morgan, Devin, Casey, Alex, and Taylor

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Bunnies Are Adorable

  1. Amanda says:

    Ok, I had to go read about your proposal. Awesome. And clever. I love hearing about proposals because mine was pretty creative for Mr. ARM and it makes me happy to hear about other people’s creative ways of proposing.
    And I always get cranky when trying on clothes, too. In fact, last Saturday ended with me cussing out clothes makers.
    Cuteness…will have to come back to that one as it is a very interesting topic.

  2. egan says:

    Amanda – now I had to go reread since you did. I usually never get cranky, but Saturday just wasn’t the best morning. After that I settled down and went for a run in the afternoon. That made a huge difference. Yes, I want to hear your take on cuteness.

  3. Rachel says:

    Hey… you already eliminated Pat. Are you going to start recycling previously eliminated names?
    I hate shopping for clothing.
    I think that kids stop being uber-cute around Jr. High school age. That is when the get mouthy and back talk more.

  4. snavy says:

    Peeps are only good after you leave them out for a couple of days to get stale.
    I’m glad you are ruling out all the sexually ambiguous names.

  5. Amanda says:

    Ok, I’m back. I had to actually w**k for a few minutes. I feel so dirty.
    Anyway, cuteness. This is an interesting topic to me because I was just talking about this the other day with a friend. Naturally we were talking about the cuteness of my new niece. Then somehow we went off on this tangent (how did this happen?…) and started talking about when babies lose their cuteness. Is it age, size, attitude? It’s hard for me to say. My oldest niece is 12 and I can’t see myself going on about how cute she is. She’s very pretty, but cute? She does some cute things every once in awhile, but overall, she’s not little baby cute anymore. So, does that mean age decreases cuteness? Well, I have 2 nieces that are both going to be 7 this year. One is tiny and silly and…cute! The other I don’t really call “cute.” She’s not as little and is kind of bossy. So, maybe size and attitude do have a play in this.
    I personally think it’s a combination of the 3. However, in relation to parents and their babies, I think they will always consider their children cute, adorable, pains in the ass, funny, sweet, special, etc. No matter how old, big, or snotty they get. I think it’s a bond that only a parent and a child can have, to be honest. But that’s just me.

  6. Amanda says:

    Holy shit. Shall I tell you what I think or what?

  7. egan says:

    Rachel – you’re right so I replaced Pat with Devin. I actually don’t mind shopping, but things weren’t fitting as I want and I was in a grouchy mood. Middle school seems to be about right.
    Snavy – I hear Peeps do weird stuff in fires. Stale Peeps don’t stick to your teeth though. Yes, ambiguous names aren’t my thing.
    Amanda – I really think you’re on to something. As we grow, develop a personality and such it seems much difficult to use the term cute. However I’ve seen many cute grandparents and elderly people… such as your own family. So what does it mean? Is it the same is when a boy outgrows that term and becomes a man and the same with girl/woman?
    Amanda – hey, you gave me much information for this. I like it when you share.

  8. furiousball says:

    Otters holding hands while they sleep and float is cute. Whenever I don’t feel cute, I hold hands with a sleeping otter.

  9. egan says:

    Furiousball – ha, that’s pretty funny. That video sure has made its rounds on the net. It’s amazing I knew exactly what you were talking about.

  10. Amanda says:

    Hmm…you’re right about the elderly. My grandparents are incredibly cute and I call them that all the time. When did that happen? I would have never called them cute when I was younger. Do they like it that I call them cute? Does it make them feel less able that their granddaughter thinks they’re cute? There used to be a time I feared my grandmother…now I call her cute.
    Damn you, making me think.

  11. egan says:

    Amanda – I can’t help it. I got to thinking about it over the weekend after staring at numerous cute pictures of my brother’s boys. Are bloggers cute?

  12. Amanda says:

    Bloggers cute? Or is what they decide to blog about on a given day cute?
    I think the bloggers whose blogs I frequest are cute in their own way. But in a different kind of cute. Does that even make sense?

  13. egan says:

    Amanda – it sort of makes sense. My question is more about can someone aged 20-45 (bloggers) be considered cute?

  14. Amanda says:

    Sure, why not? Not the same kind of cute you would call a baby, though. But, I think it goes back to personality again. There is a certain blogger who I don’t think it cute and even if I saw a picture of him and he looked like Orlando Bloom, I still wouldn’t think him cute because he’s an ass. And I’m sure you know who I’m talking about.

  15. Rachel says:

    You replace Pat with Devin? Now I am offended. Devin is WAY better than Pat. :)~

  16. minijonb says:

    oooh… ya know, it’s the day after Easter… all the chocolate is half-off at the store!!!

  17. patches says:

    Every kid (person) has a different cuteness expiration date, and there are a few whose cuteness never expires. You’ve probably seen them in action, they get away with murder, never get speeding tickets, don’t have to pick up their own laundry, and never have to buy their own drinks.
    Since you will be siring the first girl in the family since 1990, your daughter will have an extension placed on her cuteness factor, due to the lack of competition from other young adorable females. In other words she will receive an artificail extension of cuteness, provided no other girls are born into the family for the next ten years. From what you’ve mentioned about male dominance in your family, this is a possibility.

  18. Eve says:

    Hmm. I think people aren’t cute any more once they start working. Worrying about paying bills is not cute.
    Or when their pores are visible.

  19. L says:

    I think I stopped being cute when I lied about not turning in a fish report in 3rd grade. Or maybe it’s when I sassed back to my 10 years older sister and told her I hated her guts for stealing the dollar I found. Bitch.

  20. sprizee says:

    I didn’t get an easter basket this year. Perhaps now that I’ve hit my 30s I should no longer be expecting one? Gosh, I hope that’s not true. Maybe I’ll have to have a kid, so I can start stealing their easter candy. Hands off the white chocolate rabbit ears. I called dibs.

  21. Burr-ee-toe says:

    Saturday night I sent a picture message to Pants of some yellow Peeps I had put in the microwave, then put in the freezer per her suggestion. They looked a little deformed, but they were delicious! I can tell you when I stopped being cute. Third grade. My mom chopped my hair off. It was all downhill from there.

  22. tori says:

    That cute thing is an interesting topic. We were discussing it yesterday at Easter dinner. My husband is out of town, and Easter dinner was at my husband’s aunts house, a little over an hour away. Despite the fact that I have four children, my husband’s family still considers me “cute” and “little” and asked me repeatedly who drove me to the house. I think it may have to do with attitude/outlook on life but whatever it is I guess I still have it. I’m not sure if that is good or bad though. I like to think of myself as pretty self sufficient, but apparently I am not always seen that way.
    My best friend (my husband’s cousin) and I were discussing the fact that both of us are considered cute, so unable to do anything for ourselves. Most of the time it works to our advantage…the family gets us drinks, fixes plates of food, etc. But when either of us has a party for our kids, they call our parents to RSVP instead of us, even though we are the ones throwing the party. Interesting.

  23. meno says:

    I love your proposal story. I’m a sucker for a romantic tale with a happy ending.
    Cute is an attitude.
    I was cute until i got those blue cat eyed glasses in the 4th grade.

  24. egan says:

    Amanda – I know exactly who you’re talking about. Get the door, it’s … I feel you.
    Rachel – is someone close to you named Devin? It wasn’t on purpose I promise.
    Minijonb – hey, thanks for the visit on the tip on chocolate. Yummy!

  25. Good for Me says:

    I must confess I ate 10 yellow chicky peeps today. I did this while “I” was taking a nap. When he awoke he was interested in a peep and rummaged through the pantry to find that two of the three trays of peeps were empty. He looked at me with sad eyes and I said, “Mommy, was a piggy.” He agreed, of course.
    Cuteness? Hmmm. I recall in college in one of my psychology courses studying this. There are distinct phyical characteristics that qualify “cuteness”. I don’t remember them all, but it has to do with the roundness of the face and eyes. The spacing of other facial features, small nose, etc.
    I just checked the web and there’s tons out there. Just Google “The Psychology of Cuteness.”
    I’m going to read your proposal post now.

  26. Good for Me says:

    Okay Cervelo, that proposal sets the bar quite high for all other men in the world. Now that was cute!
    I find it somewhat ironic that in this post you say that you’re not religious at all, and in the proposal post you say you were living in sin. interesting.

  27. Airam says:

    I loved that story of how you proposed. That makes you cute.

  28. jeci says:

    I love your proposal story. I love hearing the genuine ones.
    I lost my cuteness when I was 29. I’m still annoyed.

  29. caro says:

    I think my girls are still pretty cute. Especially when they are sleeping. Lovely story, your proposal to Mme. Singes. You guys are blessed to have found one and other!

  30. kris says:

    If there were peeps they are now long gone. Can’t wait to go back and read the proposal story. I hope it doesn’t involve PDA and a bunny suit . . .

  31. justrun says:

    Woohoo, new duds!
    Don’t take this the wrong way, but it’s reassuring to know that guys can try on clothes and not have them “fit right.”
    By the way, as far as cuteness, I hope people/things never lose it. I want to always adore cuteness in the same way I do now. Then again, I live in a fantasy world sometimes. 😉

  32. Cheryl says:

    Great. Now I want an egg salad sandwich.
    I think the cuteness fades around 11 or so, but I also think that is when an attitude starts setting in. Coincidence? I think not.

  33. Lynn says:

    I hope that the clothes that you purchased in the mall were the wash and wear kind, given that you are going to have a very cute daughter who will be spitting, leaking and possibly “glorping” various, not so cute items, onto your clothing.

  34. mez says:

    from the teacher point of view this:
    *Do our personalities make us more or less adorable?*
    has an answer and the answer is yes. The grade 5 kids stop being cute because they inherit an attitude of ‘too cool for anything’. Once a kid becomes aware of things such as coolness, the opposite sex, fashion, pop culture etc they cease to be cute. Not quite sure why but it happens.

  35. egan says:

    Patches – I love the Cuteness Extension Factor you speak about here. It appears you’ve done some thinking about this cute thing. I’m impressed with your theories and you’ve given me something to think about. Good work kitty.
    Eve – ha, those are interesting factors. Babies can have big pores though can’t they? Paying bills will also turn your hair gray prematurely.
    L – so maybe it starts when you’re able to use the bitch word freely? A book report I’ve heard about, but a fish report? That must have been exciting.
    Sprizee – now that you’re 30 you can expect many things to end including, but not limited to: the term cute, free candy, random hugs/kisses, and taxes you can do on your own.
    Burr-ee-toe – hair really has a way of ruining all things for all people. Damn those curls!
    Tori – that’s interesting you had this very conversation. Here’s something for you, I consider my wife to be cute. I think much of it has to do with a charm factor combined with a few other traits. Maybe it’s her fantastic smile and great sense of humor, I don’t know. Personally I consider it to be a good thing.
    Meno – yeah the proposal story worked out great. I need to find a way to get that video off the VHS tape and onto a more useful format. Crap, I got glasses so that must be the reason for my downfall. As a taller woman, do you feel your cuteness is compromised?
    Good for You – you ate some Peeps like a good mom should. They are impossible to resist. Yes, I think I recall reading some studdy or two about what scientifically constitutes “cute”. They said something about the symmetry of the face, spacing of the eyes, and nose… Who nose really. Ha, I’m funny.
    Good for Me – I see you’re back for more. Yes, I apologize to other guys for setting the bar as high as I did. I got pretty lucky in a couple cases. Hey, I was kidding about the “living in sin” bit. Not that we weren’t, but I wouldn’t use that phrase ever. I thought it was funny because to me it’s completely unrealistic to get married to someone and expect them to never live together before tying the knot. Just my two cents.
    Airam – I’m glad you like the story. Sometimes things just happen to fall into place quite nicely. That was one of those instances.
    Jeci – is there a specific story at age 29 we need to know about? Is that when you got glasses or your first pimple?
    Caro – ha, I’m glad you mentioned the sleeping thing. I think that’s what got me thinking about this so much. We babysat our friend’s four month old daughter for them. She looked so damn cute swaddled in their crib. So cute I wanted to grab her out of the crib and hug her. It’s good to know you think your girls are still cute. I think my wife and I make a pretty damn good team. Merci pour les mots gentils.
    Kris – nah, no PDA or bunny suits. I did own a PDA back then, but it was not a prop in the proposal and a bunny suit wasn’t used to win over the family.
    Justrun – I know what you mean. I’ve never had that happen to that degree before. I’ve been annoyed I couldn’t get into the right sizes, but it’s never really bothered me while actually at the store. I’m happy to report the pants (size 33 waist) fit just fine. I hope to get back to my 32s very soon now that I’m back on track workout wise.
    Cheryl – that’s a popular answer, the pre-teen puberty years. That’s ashame it’s so early. Can we blame acne on this?
    Lynn – crap, I didn’t think about that. Well, I have tons of shitty t-shirts I can use while holding the her. I will be more aware of this with future clothing purchases. Do I want to know what “glorping” is?

  36. ChickyBabe says:

    I think we lose it at that unusual phase between childhood and puberty. Boys suffer the most. The cutest of boys turn ugly for a while. It broke my heart when the boy I had a crush on since I was 6 started to change.
    And why am I not surprised Melle Lessinge has more clothes than you? She’s a girl!

  37. Lynn says:

    “Glorping” is when every ounce of milk that the cute adorable baby drinks, comes up in one fell swoop. The sound it makes is…well…glorp!

  38. meno says:

    Yeah, it’s hard to be cute at 6’1″. But it’s great for intimidation, especially for men who aren’t comfortable with tall women. Very useful at work.

  39. Burr-ee-toe says:

    Seriously! Curly hair is very sensitive to haircuts!

  40. egan says:

    ChickyBabe – yes, that seems to be the concensus here. Puberty equals a loss of the cuteness vibe. She’s not even breathing air yet and she has more clothes. I have a feeling if she was a he it would be the same. I need to acquire more clothes.
    Lynn – wonderful description. I will share this with my wife.
    Meno – intimidation does have its privileges too! I bet you freak out the short Napolean types in the office.
    Burr-ee-toe – yes, it’s very sensitive to many things including wind and red leather coats.

Leave a Reply

