Hooked on Narcotics

I’m in a really curious mood this week because I’d love to get some feedback again. I’m currently addicted to a show called Intervention. It’s a weekly documentary show about addictions and getting people into treatment unknowingly while a camera crew follows the subjects around town. I recorded another documentary movie recently called Montana Meth which illustrates the problems Montana has policing their recent meth explosion. These two shows can be painful to watch on many levels, but the drug problems in our country aren’t going away fast or anytime soon.

For whatever reason these types of shows are extremely fascinating to me. I think it’s because I was fortunate to grow up in a family where drugs weren’t used. My parents never even smoked cigarettes. I learned by their example and was thankfully never all that curious about drugs of any sort. I’ve honestly never even inhaled ganja. Sure I had my opportunities to smoke up starting in middle school and all the way up to present day, however I abstained. I’m not naive enough to know this isn’t the case for everyone.

This is where I hand the baton to you, the readers, for input. I would love to get your candid insight on drugs and their usage. Fill me in on what you know. Maybe you’re a parent and have used drugs in the past and don’t want your kids to even try. What are your plans? Perhaps you used drugs in high school or college and were able to squash the desire. How did that work? Why did you get started? Was it peer pressure? Did something dramatic happen in life which caused you to turn to drugs or was it more about social acceptance?

For those who have never tried them, why? What kept you away from experimenting?  I’ve given my reasons above, but I’d love to hear what worked or didn’t work for others. If for any reason this topic makes you uncomfortable, feel free to use a fake name and email address when commenting. I want to have a frank discussion about this serious topic. I realize some of you may want to take a pass on this topic and that’s quite alright with me. I truly understand why you might want to sit this one out. Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

—————–

TODAY’S RULED OUT BABY NAMES: Shelby, Kitten, Scamp, Justy, Largo, and Carol.

—————–

P.S. the mailcarriers aren’t the only people delivering these days.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Egan Wants to Know. Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Hooked on Narcotics

  1. ChickyBabe says:

    Chicky La Premiere!!!

  2. ChickyBabe says:

    I’ll probably disappoint here… but I’ve never tried drugs nor have I ever had the inclination. Not even a smoking a joint.
    I don’t see the point of losing control, so it never appealed to me. As for alcohol, I didn’t enjoy drinking it until early 20s, and even then it was the odd cocktail. Drugs never interested me. neither did smoking. I took a puff when I was 13 and hated the taste.

  3. Amanda says:

    I am addicted to Intervention, too. That show tears me up, but it is so fascinating. Very interesting topic, Les Singes.
    No drugs for me either. No smoking cigarettes (1 puff like Chicky and I hated it) and drinking is only on special occasions (because I hate the way it makes me feel). This comes as a surprise to most people and I’m not sure why. Do I look like the kind of person who would experiment? Should I be insulted that people are surprised or has it become so socially acceptable that people are fooled into thinking everyone should and has experimented? As for why…well, I’m going to use Chicky’s reason again. I don’t like feeling out of control. I don’t know what drugs would do to me and I’m not interested in finding out. I’ve seen what they do to others in person and it’s scary. Why would I want to do that to myself.
    I have more to say on the subject, but I’m going to hold back for now.

  4. tori says:

    I have never used drugs either, not even marijuana, which everyone else seems to have at least tried, although you would never have guessed that if you saw the friends I had in high school. I’m not sure why I decided not to use any, they certainly were available to me in my group of friends.
    My parents were very against drugs and don’t even drink alcohol. I have to say that I was curious about what it felt like (and still am to some extent) but was terrified about what could happen. I have a very active imagination, and things I imagine are always so much worse than what reality could be, so maybe I took the stories I heard about people overdosing or going to rehab, and convinced myself that it would happen to me.
    I also like to be in control of things (myself included). I bet that is the reason I never tried anything. My best friend and I were talking about this the other day too, both of us trying to figure out what to do to make our kids not interested…interesting that we seem to be thinking about the same topics lately.

  5. Fake But Frank says:

    I had an older sister who was quite the partier so at the age of 12 I would sit in her apartment that was above our main house and drink about 1/2 of a California Cooler 2 liter. I have tried marijuana a few times. The first time I was 12 and it didn’t do anything for me so I didn’t try it again until I was in my early 20’s. The last time was about 11 years ago and it hit me hard. It felt like I was watching everything through a fish bowl.
    Back to when I was 12. I also tried cross top speed. It was basically the same as drinking a few cups of coffee.
    I did smoke for a few years but quit about 5 years ago when my kid picked a butt off the ground and tried to light up. I quit cold turkey.
    I tend to be honest with my kids about who I am and what I have done. I hope that they learn from my experience but from what I remember kids are hell bent on trying everything themselves.
    I grew up in a household where no one smoked, drank or did drugs. No alcohol in the fridge ever.
    It wasn’t until my parents divorced and my mother had to work full time and left us on our own a lot that these influences creeped in.
    My sister was always a rebel though so I don’t think that it would have made a difference with her. It did with me though. I wouldn’t have been with my sister as much except for she was assigned to watch me.

  6. Gwen says:

    Okay, well it looks like someone has to speak up for the druggies of the world!
    I waited until after college to begin my drug career, and it didn’t last very long, mostly because weed tends to make me even more introverted than I already am normally. But that doesn’t mean I would never smoke it again, depending on the circumstances. My husband and his college friends all used copious amounts of many different drugs (pretty much all of them except smack and meth, I think) and when they’re together someone always has something to offer.
    I find the laws that govern “drugs” curious. Yes, addiction is incredibly destructive, but alcoholism is equally horrifying and yet the very people who turn from pot in horror are often fine having cocktails. To me, neither drug is better or worse, as long as you are the one in control. The only difference between being addicted to alcohol and being addicted to crack is that alcohol is legal. Your life is shit, either way.
    I don’t know how I’m going to deal with drugs and my children. Obviously, I don’t think smoking pot is that big a deal, but I don’t want to raise heroin addicts, either. I guess we’ll do what we do with everything else: stay open and honest and figure it out when it comes up.

  7. justrun says:

    I’ve always said that we become who we are either because of how we grew up or in spite of it. I grew up with a smoker and beer in the fridge, but not consumed often. In my extended family, there’s a significant presense of alcoholism. I think all of this, combined with my fear that I’d be the one person to die the first time they tried to smoke dope (serious fear, still have it) just steered me away from it. Like you, I had plenty of opportunity and still do, I just haven’t done it. Like others have said, losing control just isn’t my idea of fun.
    This also goes for alcohol. In order for me to drink comfortably, I have to have an almost perfect situation where I know me and everyone around me is safe lest I have to be the sober one and get us all home. Of course, this might also have to do with the fact that I’m such a light weight and after two drinks, I’m ready for sleep.
    Anyway, I digressed a little but I guess, though our influences were different, we ended up in the same place regarding drug use: just not really worth it.
    Good topic.

  8. Mone says:

    I’ve been smoking since I was 14yo. I started because I wanted to hang out with the “cool” guys and not the nerds. To bad that there was nobody at home talking with me about it. Thats now 26 years, a long time. My kids hate it thats I’m smoking and I explain to them that it is not easy to stop after that long time. If they start with that stuff one day, what can I say then? I just hope they will find a different way to let out their anger.

  9. furiousball says:

    I smoked weed off and on throughout college. Then 1999 came and that was a horrible year. My fiancee left me, and both my grandmother’s died. I hated myself, literally. I was playing in a band in Atlanta and my bandmates had me on a watch, someone would hang out with me pretty much every night or call to see how I was doing. I started abusing myself pretty badly at that point. I dropped about 35 pounds, because I wasn’t eating. I came through it eventually and put weight back on, started running, i.e. got my shit together. Fast forward two years later, I met my wife. We made babies. I’ve been clean for over 7 years now. I still drink beers, but rarely get drunk and I don’t touch anything stronger than coffee.
    As far as my children, I am going to be honest with them – they need to be aware that they especially need to be careful with my addictive genes in their DNA. Mostly, it’s about choices and understanding responsibility. I plan on asking them both to read Man’s Search for Meaning by Viktor Frankl when they are old enough to understand it. I’ll try to teach those virtues of responsibility along the way too. I’ll love them and talk to them, that’s what helps the most.

  10. sizzle says:

    i don’t like feeling out of control so drugs were never that much of a draw for me. yay for being a control freak! 😉

  11. Cake Lady says:

    Egan,
    This is just too weird. The other day I planned on blogging about baseball and low and behold you had blogged about baseball. I went ahead and blogged about it too. This morning I was going to blog about drugs. I just read your blog and I’m still going to blog about drugs and I’m also going to answer some of your questions in my blog.
    Oh yeah and most importantly, my baby name suggestion for today is Eden. I haven’t kept up with all the ruled out names so it may have already been gonged. Anyway – Eden sounds beautiful to me.

  12. Laurie says:

    I have a friend who is addicted to that show. Addiction is such a weird thing no? It can come in so many forms.
    I had a boyfriend in high school and I started to smoke with him. Tried some other things. Basically when we broke up, the bad behaviors stopped. Thank god we didn’t get married. I’d be a crack ho or something.

  13. chikken says:

    Well, you know my story Egan. I’m adopting a little girl because her mother is addicted to meth, among other things. I fight tirelessly to educate on the effects of meth…to people using, and especially the children. Am doing a fundraiser this month for the foster kids who are removed from their homes…it’s sad, but if you keep watching those docs and everyone else does too, maybe things will change. Mostly, the rehabilitation money isn’t there…and the addiction grows.

  14. naynayfazz says:

    That show “Intervention” is fascinating! I am a goodie goodie, so I never even had the couriousity to do them. I think it has a lot to do with your coping skills and how you deal with stress in your life. People use drugs, alcohol, food, sex, etc as comfort and a way to numb themselves from their issues. People on the show, are a real extreme situation. Their issues stem a lot deeper than “I feel fat today.”

  15. meno says:

    I started smoking dope in high school and continued through college. It felt like no big deal back then. I remember walking down the sidewalk at the UW smoking a joint with friends. The police drove by and yelled out the window “Knock that off and put that away.”
    That would not happen anymore.
    I did it because it was easy and i swear my first year in college, EVERYONE smoked dope.
    There was no big deal with quitting, it just doesn’t interest me any more. Haven’t touched any in maybe 20 years and have turned it down when offered.
    I have talked about this with my daughter. Explained that the dope these days is about 50 times more powerful and the penalties are severe. She is a real straight arrow and professes no intention to do any drugs.
    We will see what college brings.

  16. logo™ says:

    Tried a cig, after I was 18 and thought it nasty.
    never done illegal drugs, never been drunk though we do drink on occasion.
    I’ve talked with my kids about it already and they seem to have the important information that is age appropriate. Now I have to wait and see how they choose to live it.

  17. Burr-ee-toe says:

    I never really had the inclination to try drugs. I think the Just Say No thing is school actually made sense to me. In college I had a stoner boyfriend, so I tried smoking weed a couple of times and absolutely hated it. I love drinking wine, but that’s about it.

  18. Trick says:

    Been there, done it. No real reason. Just to see. No realattraction to it. Just a way to kill a few hours (and probably brain cells). I am all grown up now and no longer have the need or desire to try anything new but motherhood. That’s new and experimental enough for me!!!

  19. Pants says:

    I had a severe Intervention OBSESSION. I had to stop watching regularly because sobbing hysterically on Sunday night for a couple of hours before going back to hell on Monday morning wasn’t doing anything for my psyche.
    Have you seen Devil’s Playground? It’s a documentary about Amish teens who experience modern life before they choose whether or not to remain Amish. Since you like Intervention, I think you may like it.
    As you know, I grew up in a conservative religious household. My parents have never smoked, drank alcohol, used any sort of controlled substance…hell, we didn’t even have coffee or tea in our house! Oddly, their good example had the reverse effect on me. I remember sitting in church as a little girl and maping out my future life of crime. I didn’t get too deep into using, but for some reason all the goodness I grew up with made me want to rebel…even as a child.

  20. sprizee says:

    I’ve never smoked pot but every time I tell people I know this they are in disbelieve. Apparently I look like a real pot head. But the truth is you can attend WWU and never reach 4:20. I attended parties in college where friends where high on acid, having delusions about walls melting and non-stop laughter and it honestly just looked beyond boring.
    If The Dude and I had a Euro for every time were approached to buy pot in Portugual last month, we’d still be there right now.

  21. egan says:

    ChickyBabe – congrats on the top spot. I know a certain blogger is going to be really jealous.
    ChickyBabe – you’re not disappointing me at all by confessing this. I would prefer not to be associated with drug users, but we all make mistakes. Some are tougher than others to shake. I really didn’t start drinking until I was 21. I rarely drink these days for the control issues you stated.
    Amanda – Intervention is the shiznit. I’m so happy there’s a new season. I hear you on the “do I look like stoner” thing. When I tell someone I’ve never smoked up, they get a bit perplexed. The control issue is a huge thing for me, but I think it comes into play more with alcohol than drugs. I have zero interest in drugs.
    Tori – control seems to be an underlying theme here. It’s good your parents were such good role models for you. We have something in common there. Personally I think there’s nothing worse than losing control of your own body’s functions. I would be devastated if my kid started using drugs and it’s something I have to think about. Great minds they say…
    Fake But Frank – thanks for sharing and I’m glad someone took me up on the anonymous posting offer. Speed must be weird, thankfully you didn’t get hooked. I tried a No-Doz in college and that sucker did mean things to me. I appreciate your insight and imagine how seeing your kid try to light a butt would make you quit cold turkey.
    Gwen – this is great feedback on your life and how drugs played a part. It’s interesting to read what people are willing to share. I’m a believer that pot isn’t all that bad for you. I agree that alcohol and pot are both bad for you and wonder why the difference in regulation and punishment. As someone who has never inhaled, it’s very fun to watch how pot changes someone’s mood. Good luck on the kid thing. Druggies represent!
    Justrun – yeah, I think you and I are similar with this topic. I’m learning with this post we’re not alone. Many others have tried. I’ve opportunities to smoke pot often and even had someone bring cocaine into my apartment. That was surreal to me as the offenders rolled their bills and snort the white stuff. Control is important and my health means a lot to me.
    Mone – I didn’t realize you’ve been smoking for so long. Have your kids expressed much interest? I do think cigarettes and hardcore drugs are a bit different, but equally addicting. My father-in-law is addicted to nicotine gum.
    Furiousball – wow, you had a really rough patch there around the turn of the century. I’m excited to hear you were able to turn things around and kick the habit. That had to be tough, but oh so rewarding. What a huge accomplishment. Thank you for sharing your personal story.
    Sizzle – that’s not a bad thing at all. In fact, it’s a huge turn-on. Good for you.
    Cake Lady – Eden eh? So what’s your take on the drug thing? I will stop stealing your ideas unless you plan to blog about kittens tomorrow.
    Laurie – hello and welcome to my blog. Yes, it’s a good thing you kicked that guy to the curb. You don’t need a bad influence like that in your life. Addiction is incredibly fascinating to me.
    Chikken – yes, your story is poignant. You’re such a great person for doing what you do. You have an amazing heart. I’m a believer in the education aspect and together we can do our best to diminish the impact of meth and other drugs. It worked with me so it must work on others.

  22. egan says:

    Naynayfazz – I agree people use drugs, sex, alcohol to lull the pain. I’m not sure I agree the people on that show are the extreme cases though. I think many users are really good at hiding their addictions.
    Meno – it’s great to know you’ve chatted with your daughter about this topic. She would definitely tell you if she was tempted? Keep us posted on her college “experience”. Dope seems pretty easy to quit from what I’ve heard compared to other drugs.
    Logo – it’s very impressive you’ve never even been drunk. It makes me want to take you out, but that’s not a good idea. Alcohol isn’t something to take lightly.
    Burr-ee-toe – yes, those Nancy Reagan messages weren’t lost on me. I never had the inclination to even try. It’s very odd. Damn her and her red clothes. We might need to talk about the wine thing of yours.
    Trick – did you have more you wanted to say? Did you try them for peer pressure reasons? Is it okay to drink vs. using drugs? I’m curious about how that differs. Thanks for your insight and I love your motherhood comparison.
    Pants – I will add that movie to my list of movies to watch before being inundated with children’s movies. I could see where you would want to rebel against your religion. It’s almost so overbearing you feel you must lash out.
    Sprizee – oh yeah, that’s pretty interesting about the pot in Portugal. I’m guessing they can spot Americans and assume people our age are there to smoke up. What does acid do to people? Is that for hallucinations?

  23. caro says:

    I have tried several kinds of illegal drugs : Pot and Hash, LSD, speed, cocaine, magic mushrooms and still use two legal ones regularly : coffee and alcohol. I smokes cigarettes on occasion but liked the idea of smoking more than the cigarettes themselves. I never got hooked on any of the illegal substances but I don’t regret having experienced with the stuff. I am extremely open and forthright with my girls on the matter. like Meno I have told them to be very, very careful if they ever do experiment because of the potency and impurity of what’s out there. I am keeping an eye on all three of them as mental illness runs in my family.I think a great proportion of people battling addiction are self-medicating some type of mental illness.

  24. Tim says:

    When I was in college all the guys I swam with smoked weed 24/7. For that reason alone I never smoked until I graduated. I almost never do it, but I don’t think I’d be too freaked out if I knew my kids did it. I have yet to see an episode of Addiction about someone that smokes too much weed.
    Did you see Friday’s episode? It said he has been sober since March 17, 2007. I read that and was like “Wait, is it even March 17th yet??”

  25. Amanda says:

    I had this great response to you typed up and then the power here at work went out for a few minutes. We’re having major thunderstorms today. So let me try and re-create.
    I agree with you on the alcohol thing. In fact, I think it may be worse than narcotics. The scariest Intervention I saw was that lady who was the alcholic and drank at work and lost her kids & everything. That one was heart breaking. There is a lot of alcoholism with my grandparents, so that’s why I don’t drink often. I’ve only been shit-faced to the point of blackout once. Never again. I can’t recall a 20 minute ride from Lincoln to my friend’s house until I puked out the window of her car (friend in question?…it is indeed Hlogs). But according to her, I was awake & talking the whole time. That freaks me out that that even happened.
    What makes me angry is that society has made it to where there is something wrong with you if you don’t drink. I avoid work outings because I will not drink. People think it’s weird and that I’m being upity. It has nothing to do with that – I don’t care if people drink. I just don’t want to – I’m usually driving and I will not drive if I have had alcohol. I will not ride with someone who has been drinking heavily. And I don’t like how it makes saying and doing things ok. “I was drunk…I didn’t mean it.” I like experiencing life and people without dulling myself or, in the case of some drugs, maximizing myself. It makes me sad that some people have to drink to be able to do things. I just don’t ever want to be that way.

  26. Amanda says:

    Ok, I think that comment could be it’s own blog post….

  27. egan says:

    Caro – un gros merci mon amie! It’s good to get a different perspective on this topic. It’s good you never got addicted to the illegal substances. It’s good to be open about these sorts of things. I haven’t experienced drugs so I won’t have a point of reference with someone who has. You raise a very interesting aspect by chatting about mental illness. That’s a huge wildcard. Again, thanks for your insight.

  28. egan says:

    Tim – my brother swam in college and many of them drank heavily. I guess a majority of college students do, but it kind of shocked me at first. Yes, I did see Friday’s episode. That was the pizza joint kid right? His parents kept bailing him out. I love that his dad gave him $40 to spend per day on drugs. Nice. We know that guy will be relapsing.
    Amanda – ha, I agree society does place a great amount of pressure on social drinking. It’s really not good as many commenters have pointed out. Why is it okay to drink, but pot and other drugs are so bad? People need to learn not to bug others if they don’t drink. Who knows the reasons why. Moderation is everything, but sadly most can’t keep things in check.
    I know the Intervention episode of which you speak. The lady worked in a small boutique and would sneak out to her huge SUV to pound a few travel size bottles. I felt so bad for that family. She was a mess. Or are you talking about the woman who actually pounded a bunch of beers on her way to work and while sitting at her desk? I don’t think she actually lost her kids though. Her husband tolerated her behavior for some bizarre reason.
    Amanda – it’s all good.

  29. Kourt. says:

    I did smoke cigs for about a month, but it never became an addiction so it wasn’t that hard to stop. However, my daughters sperm donor was a drug user and is now a drug dealer. He’s been imprisoned, through rehab, in jail, and all of this numerous times, yet he still doesn’t see the need to quit, or maybe it’s because it’s such an addiction.
    I however, have no desire to try drugs. BE DRUG FREE!!!
    P.S. I love intervention as well!!!

  30. L says:

    Life is hard enough to deal with sometimes. I don’t need drugs clouding my judgement. And I have enough entertainment poking fun at myself.

  31. damasta says:

    I abstained from drugs (besides nicotine and alcohol) until I was 26. Until then, like a few ppl mentioned before me, I was afraid of losing control. The first time was more b/c of social acceptance– and I felt safe with the ppl I was with in case I did “lose control”. I still do it on occassion b/c I know how it affects me–and it’s not that bad. But I don’t have children and nor do I plan to. As for cigs and alcohol, I participate socially.

  32. damasta says:

    Oh, I meant to say that the only drug I do and have ever tried is MJ, of course.. seems to be the most popular and the most readily available.
    And also? My parents never smoked cigs or drank alcohol in the house, ever.

  33. Trick says:

    No peer pressure here. I do what I want, good or bad. I do see a difference in drinking and drugs if you can control it and not drink yourself into blackouts every night…or ever I suppose.
    One thing I have learned, is that, drinking or not, your child still gets up at the same time every morning. It hardly seems worth it at that point.

  34. SunSpotBaby says:

    To see how a drug problem can just rip a parents heart up, check out http://lettingeachothergo.wordpress.com/ This father talks about living thru his son’s drug addiction and his successes and failures. Every kid thinking about experimenting with drugs should be made to read what this father is going thru.

  35. Churlita says:

    I experimented a lot when I was younger, but now I just drink a beer or two and I’m addicted to running. That’s my real drug.

  36. Lynda says:

    I am/was very naive when it came to drugs. Never tried them, not even cigarettes. If they smell nasty when someone else is smoking them, why would I want to try it. My siblings experimented more, and my mom even found something in my brother’s pocket and asked if I knew if it was a crack pipe. We then asked my husband, because how the hell should I know?
    The closest I have ever come to drugs was cigarettes, when a coworker asked me to light one for her. I was sitting with the cigarette in my left hand, the lighter in my right hand trying to light the thing. I told her it wouldn’t light, and she laughed at me and said I had to put it in my mouth. I refused.
    In school, I was never offered drugs. I probably was too nerdy or geeky. Or the kids thought I would rat them out. I don’t know. Even so, I read a story about a gal who had a heart condition and died from using cocaine, and seeing I was born with a heart condition, and am allergic to dying, I probably wouldn’t have tried it if it was offered then either.
    Anyway, there are the boring details. LOL.

  37. Lynda says:

    Oh, and drinking. Never drank much. Don’t like it. Use to work with a guy who would get drunk every night and talk about falling over tables and not remembering it, and thought, “What’s the point of that?”

  38. Burr-ee-toe says:

    haha… what’s to talk about? Wine is great? I went on a wine tour in Santa Barbara county (a la the movie Sideways) and learned a lot about how its made and how to taste and smell it. Good times!

  39. patches says:

    I am a recreational catnip user, but that’s not really the issue.
    The Missus grew up with an alcoholic parent, and both parents were chain smokers. Her Mom just celebrated 19yrs of sobriety (WooHoo!). Without a doubt these factors affected the Missus’s choices. The whole smoking thing made tobacco products and pot a total turn off. No temptation, no problem. She would like to see a feasibility study to legalizing pot. Not from the standpoint of personal use, but to eliminate the black market and make it more readily available for medicinal use.
    The alcohol was a little different, because of the alcoholic parent and an older sibling. She consumed more alcohol between the ages of eleven and fourteen, than she consumed from ages twenty-one to twenty-five. Go figure. Today, she consumes moderately, but she’s well aware that she might be taking a risk.

  40. Amy says:

    I can’t understand why people want to watch shows like intervention. What is the attraction? That show disgusts me! Maybe I’m just a cold hearted bitch or something, but I have no sympathy what so ever for those people.
    I’ll never understand why people choose to piss away their lives like that; no matter what environment they grew up in. This is one area where I am pretty closed minded.
    I don’t just feel that way about drug addicts. Anyone who can’t get out of their own way to live a productive life infuriates me.

  41. Diane Mandy says:

    I’ve never tried anything stronger than a Jaegerbomb, and I’ve never even been curious. However, I am the only one of 4 children in my family who didn’t experiment with drugs. In fact, my little brother use to smoke pot with my paternal uncle. Why some people do while others don’t? Got me!

  42. Hannelie says:

    No, never touched it or smoked it!
    Mum and Dad smoked and drank alcohol (not alcoholics), but it never appealed to me.
    I suppose in old fashioned South Africa those years it was seen as a scandal if you touched drugs or loose self control, we were brought up very strict. Funny that, I wondered if my own parents knew that their drinking and smoking was/is an addiction.
    I have a beautiful scary poem about Crystal Meth on my blog, I’ve put it up over the weekend, you might like to read it, as they say
    ‘great minds think alike’ another one who blogged about drugs this week.
    I am thankful that I’ve never touched any or was ever offered it, I haven’t even been drunk in my life and are not planning to be either.
    Go Good Health!!

  43. Kale Rae says:

    I love the show Intervention….and I can’t really explain why either….
    I actually grew up on the Vermont/Canada border (on the Canuck side) and it was a prominent growing area for pot. Everyone knew someone who was either growing it or selling it. However, it never really struck me. I tried it when I was 17 or so and it did nothing for me and I felt it was a real waste of time. My parents were very open and talked about how the first and only time they smoked pot they were married with kids! I just never saw the point. So I never got into it.

  44. celeste says:

    I am hooked on Facebook. I tried to find you but there are like 1000 Egans on there.

  45. Kerry says:

    I saw Intervention advertised and it looked pretty interesting. I havent had a chance to catch it… but sounds like maybe i need to record it and watch it later!

  46. egan says:

    Kourt – sucks that your daughter’s sperm donor was a drug user. I’m glad you have no desire to use drugs. Say no is all I say! Intervention is the shiznit.
    L – ha, that’s something I would say too. Why the hell do I need them? To each their own, but I have no desire to dabble.
    Damasta – thanks for your story. So you didn’t try pot for the first time until you were 26? Just checking. Damn that peer pressure.
    Damasta – yes, I figured you were chatting about pot based on your other vices. So the parents didn’t set a bad example? Noted.
    Trick – I like your bluntness about this topic. You have an interesting take on this blackout scenario. For me, it took a really bad puking incident and I’ve never been wasted. That’s just me.
    SunSpotBaby – thanks for the link. I will have to get back to it. It seems like a very heavy read, but that’s what it takes to further the message about drug abuse.
    Churlita – running isn’t a bad drug at all. Do you care to share about your usage when you were younger? If not, I totally understand.
    Lynda – hello and thanks for visiting my blog. Since you have a heart condition I think you’re very wise to pass on drugs. Heck, you don’t even need that as an excuse. Those aren’t boring details, they are real.
    Lynda – I don’t get why someone would want to drink to that extreme every night, but alcoholism is a disease. It’s important to keep that in mind.
    Burr-ee-toe – you’re right, wine is great. Box wine is the bomb!
    Patches – I’m not at all surprised by the alcohol use between the ages of 11-14 vs. 21-25. Well, maybe a little, but it’s at 11 that you lose your cuteness and begin asserting yourself. See last post for details. Even though I don’t smoke pot, I’m in agreement on the legalization.
    Amy – you really want to know the attraction with Intervention? I think for those of us that don’t use drugs it sheds some light on a different lifestyle. Kind of like how it’s interesting to watch shows about the lifestyles of rich celebrities or some shit. Does that make sense? I like to know what triggers the addiction. Amy, it’s important to remember the show is about turning around their lives. One less addict is an improvement on society.
    Diane Mandy – I’m not sure why some do and some don’t. That’s what I was hoping to figure out with this post. I’m glad you steered clear. I’m in the same boat as you, having zero desire.
    Hannelie – hats off to you for never being drunk. That’s a huge accomplishment, something you should keep close to you. Crystal meth is dangerous shit. I will check out the poem on your blog.
    Kale Rae – you got to love the border town stuff. We have similar stuff near the BC – Washington border. There’s all this talk about BC Bud here and it’s so funny. So your parents talking about it was a good thing for you or did you tune them out?
    Celeste – 1,000 Egans? That’s a nightmare. Let’s make sure to correct this. I bet most are their last names. Check the Seattle network. Do we need a Facebook intervention.
    Kerry – yes, make sure to record it and get back to me. I know it’s not a show for everyone though. Give it one shot though.

  47. Candace says:

    Never tried drugs or cigarettes, never wanted to. Mostly because I was raised to believe that it was wrong. It probably didn’t hurt that my parents were both nurses, and that I had to sit through several of my dad’s “5-day stop smoking” presentations, and “Smoking Sam” took up residence in our attic stairs for a while. (and scared the crap out of us on more than one occasion)
    I’ve always thought drug use was stupid. But I do enjoy a glass or 2 of wine now and then. Never, ever before driving, though.

  48. snavy says:

    Aside from Internet Addiction, the only thing I have a problem with is food.
    Can’t really give that up. So ….

  49. celeste says:

    I did check the Seattle network and still no go! Maybe cuz I’m in the Vancouver network? I’m still learning the ropes. Oh my god. Yes, someone needs to intervene!

  50. mez says:

    I have (especially in my early years) drunk alcohol to the point of passing out and hangovers. I don’t do it now, maybe every two or three years. I’m not really so much a big drinker now but I like a cocktail every now and again, wine with dinner etc.
    Some people are like ‘oh I don’t drink to get drunk’ but those same people will have a couple of spirit drinks at least friday, saturday, sunday with the work crowd or friends crowd. If you’re in that boat, then yeah you’re drinking baby, that’s actually a lot of alcohol once you add up all the drinking nights a week together (not really counting wine here since you usually just have those with dinner)!
    As for smoking – my dad smoked and died, so I’ve never even had a puff. It always signaled something dangerous to me and smells disgusting. I hate it when people smoke in restaurants and when they introduce the no smoking in pubs/clubs rule I’ll be in heaven. For a non-smoker it pisses me off that my clothes and hair and lungs have to suffer because someone else NEEDS a fag.
    I’ve not really tried many drugs. I have tried pot but oh lord I am such an embarrassment with the coughing and spluttering that it was a laugh riot. Didn’t do much for me but I felt my arms disappear at one point though. I’m not too fussed about pot as a ‘bad drug’ though I really feel that other drugs are worse – including alcohol and cigarettes actually. In fact if I had to choose a more dangerous drug between pot and alcohol I’d pick alcohol. So many people get into fights, drive drunk, hit their spouses, kill etc while using alcohol.
    My friend’s brother used herion for a few years. What a waste of a life. He was a gorgeous boy that had a lot of promise ahead of him until heroin came along. It is a horrible, horrible, horrible drug. His life is down the tube – he’s been in trouble with the cops a few times and has a record. Bad scene that.

  51. egan says:

    Candace – given your parents professions I can see why you never tried. Kudos to you for this. Some rebel in the situations, but you stared it down and refused.
    Snavy – I would guess most bloggers have some form of an internet addiction. Well I know I do.
    Celeste – we’re officially linked so prepare yourself for some debauchery.
    Mez – so you can still smoke in restaurants, pubs, etc. in Melbourne? They passed a law a couple years ago outlawing smoking in those places.
    Ugh, your dad’s life being lost. That’s enough to make anyone not want to forever. I can’t even comprehend what that would be like. You sound like you were close to him too so it had to be even more difficult.
    I’m in complete agreement. I think alcohol is so much worse than pot or cigarettes. Cigarettes are very bad. Alcohol leads to many deaths and some very unfortunate stuff such as rapes, drunk driving, murders, vandalism, theft. Pot seems so mundane comparatively speaking.

  52. jeci says:

    I think there’s a different culture in Canada around pot (we keep toying with legalizing it). For sure in BC, not too many ppl think it’s that big of a deal to have the occasional hoot and a lot of ppl will smoke a joint in the open and there’s pot cafes that aren’t technically legal.
    I tried pot a handful of times when I was a 18/19 b/c it just didn’t seem like a big deal. And it’s not. Drinking is far more of a debacle. It was a matter of simple curiosity and there was no peer pressure. I was offered other drugs, but I had no interest b/c they were too hardcore.
    Personally, I think telling kids that all drugs are the same is dangerous. I think they should know that pot isn’t addictive. Most kids try pot first (and most kids try pot) and they should know most other drugs are different. And telling kids they will get addicted the first time they try something is dangerous too. If they try something and don’t get addicted the first time, they’re more likely to try again, thinking it doesn’t apply to them. If we told them there’s no way to know when an addiction will form, but the more you try the more likely addiction is, they’ll maybe make different choices.

  53. Candace says:

    For a minute there, I thought you said that alchohol led to vampirism. O_o

  54. Sofi says:

    I’m hooked on Intervention, too. I actually discovered it about 2 years ago when I was in an outpatient rehab for drug and alcohol abuse.
    My drug history: I started smoking pot at 15. By 18, I was smoking daily. At 24, I stopped. I started again at 29. I always laughed when people said pot was a gateway drug, because I had vowed to never mess with the hard drugs, especially cocaine. This is because I was fully aware of my addictive personality.
    By 32, I was a full blown alcoholic. I tried cocaine on my 34th birthday because alcohol wasn’t working for me anymore. I instantly became addicted to cocaine. Within six months, my life was a mess, and I was doing cocaine all day, every day. I was afraid I was going to get arrested (which I did), and ended up quitting 16 months after I started. That was almost 2.5 years ago. I had my last drink in August of 2005.
    On another note, my parents do not drink, smoke or use drugs. All three of their children suffer from drug and alcohol addiction.

  55. Christina says:

    I’ve tried pot on more than one occassion, starting in high school and then several times in college. I say “tried” because I don’t think I ever did it successfully. It always hurt and I’d end up coughing and I don’t think I ever got high. I can say I never enjoyed it and haven’t “tried” it in about six years. That’s the most I’ve ever done, which is surprising because my parents were Peace Corps hippies and the morning I flew to Italy for study abroad (my junior year of college), my dad pulled me aside and told me that if I did anything while in Europe, I absolutely had to smoke some pot there. Outside of the pot he’d smoked in Egypt, the stuff in Europe was the best, at least in the 60’s. By the way, my dad is now an ordained minister in the Episcopal Church. Weird.

  56. egan says:

    Jeci – I’m not sure we have that different of a perception of pot in the States. I think most folks know it’s not really all that bad for you. I do agree on the pot vs. alcohol agrument as drinking is much more dangerous.
    I’m not sure I agree with trying to say certain drugs aren’t as bad for you as others though. How do you make the distinction in a kid’s mind with something like ectasy vs. heroin? Good insight on this topic and thanks for contributing.
    Candace – that’s what you were hoping I’d say. Pay attention!
    Sofi – you win the most insightful and informative comment award. I’m thankful you chimed in on this topic. I’m sure it’s not easy to chat about your cocaine use, but we all have something to gain from this. So would you say pot was sort of a gateway drug in your case?
    Christina – I think I’m falling in love with your dad. This story about trying in pot is fantastic. Make sure you remember this say 14 years from now.

  57. mez says:

    well they have smoking and non-smoking sections in some restaurants. Others don’t allow smoking full stop. They’ve been talking about removing cigarettes from pubs and clubs and a few do have that rule going but there was such an outcry about ‘smokers rights’ that it’s been hard to really get the law through. I think it will definitely happen though.

  58. egan says:

    Mez – thanks for updating me on the no smoking thing. It’s a nice treat once they all move over to non-smoking. Yeah, I can’t imagine a big city like Melbourne not passing something like that eventually. It does create weird social gatherings of smokers just outside the entrances to clubs and pubs.

  59. Sofi says:

    Thanks Egan, and thanks for such a great topic. Pot was definitely a gateway drug for me. Now that I’m an active participant in the life-long process of recovery, I hear a lot of stories from other addicts, and the majority also started with pot. Also, it seems that the earlier you begin drinking (I was 13), the more likely it is that you suffer from the disease of addiction.
    Did you catch Addiction on HBO? It was very informative.

  60. I smoked pot once; I spent the next day naked in front of my computer all day and did very little of anything that might possibly be considered “productive.” That was enough for me.

  61. egan says:

    Sofi – you’re more than welcome. It really is valuable to have first hand information about this. I wish you nothing but success on your road to recovery. It can’t be easy to admit you had/have an addiction. I haven’t seen the HBO show yet, but plan on TiVo’ing it. Thank you so much for everything.
    Snay – is that a true story? If so it’s pretty funny and I could see why you wouldn’t use again or why someone might trick you into using.

  62. There’s more to it, of course: I smoked pot because I didn’t want the date to end and I wanted to sleep with this cute girl; I didn’t. Bah! And then I worked the next night, still feeling the after-effects and made a ton of cash, too. And then a couple years later I got high a second time after having been drinking all night at my boss’ Christmas party while a few of his cop buddies watched me and several others pass a joint around. But, yeah, I decided weed wasn’t for me after spending all day naked at my computer.
    Well, ok, I was wearing boxers. Still.

  63. egan says:

    Snay – that’s a pretty funny story about the girl. Crazy what will do in the name of courtship. Too bad that instance didn’t work out. I think leaving the weed behind isn’t a bad idea.

Leave a Reply

