Gunning Down the Future

Today’s awful story about a college shooting at Virginia Tech has left me speechless.  As I type this post the death toll climbed to 31.  Combine this horrific story with a school shooting which happened earlier this month on my college campus and it really trivializes my personal stress levels.  I can’t wrap my head around why these things happen.  I’m shaking my head and really don’t have any blog direction.   

My weekend was quite busy, but I just don’t feel right chatting about stuff I did when 31 folks lost their lives.  It bothers me to think this is roughly how many Iraqi citizens are dying almost daily in Baghdad.  Sorry, my mind is all over the place.   I’ll snap out it soon enough.  Have a good day and tell your family you love them. 

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Current Affairs, Opinionated. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Gunning Down the Future

  1. naynayfazz says:

    Can it be? I am first? HOT DOG! Not that your topic was a happy one; that shooting in Virginia is quite terrible. I just read the death toll is at 31. WTF?! I am sure this is not the end of this story. I have the tv on MSNBC at work right now and we are glued right now. Not literally glued, of course.

  2. naynayfazz says:

    Sorry about the double entry. You can erase it if you’d like. My computer was acting weird so I hit the “post” button again.

  3. Rachel says:

    31? Oh my gosh! I only saw that it was 1 person. Even 1 is too many. This is terrible.

  4. tori says:

    These kinds of things make me want to never let my kids leave the house. I can’t understand how people can do things like this, and it makes my heart hurt for their familes (both the victim’s, and the shooter’s families). How sad.

  5. leezer says:

    Egan:
    I know. I am in shock. Total shock. How can this happen? My heart goes out to the families of the victims.

  6. egan says:

    Naynayfazz – congrats on number one. You rock! Yeah, I was listening to the live MSNBC feed and had to turn off once they reported the same stuff for a third time. It seems to be all about the speculation at this point.
    Naynayfazz – no worries on the double entry. I fixed it for you.
    Rachel – that’s what I thought. I had to do a double-take when I read the headline.
    Tori – yes, it’s a scary thing alright. I’m trying to find a positive side to this, but can’t. Just don’t lock the kids up, that won’t solve anything. My heart goes out to the families as well.
    Leezer – I haven’t a clue how this could happen. I’m amazed someone could kill that many. Typically someone wrestles them to the ground or they take their own life. I just don’t get it. It sure has put me in a somber mood.

  7. L says:

    When I first heard about the shotting this morning, there was only one confirmed casualty. It’s amazing how a day can unfold, what can happen in the span of just a couple of hours. I don’t understand what would motivate someone to take such action. What drives some of us to contribute so much instability and violence in the world?

  8. sprizee says:

    Did you catch the Iraq war memorial at Greenlake this weekend? http://www.flickr.com/photos/dugfresh/19703161/

  9. meno says:

    I’ve been listening to the news about this all morning. I too am in shock. Unlike the shooting at the UW, which has also been much on my mind, we have little information so far.
    I am completely unable to come up with a scenario that makes any sense.
    Sad, i feel sad.

  10. patches says:

    It me years to understand why someone would consider taking their own life. But to take that choice away from your classmates, your coworkers, hell even total strangers with no personal connection is completely incomprehensible. I suppose it’s selfishness at its pinnacle. But I don’t think I’ll ever understand it…..may peace be with all of you.

  11. Burr-ee-toe says:

    I agree with Patches. Its one thing if you want to take your own life. Obviously it will still affect your loved ones. But to take the lives of so many innocents? I mean I think back to college and I think of the fun and carefree life that I led. These students will never get to finish and it just isn’t fair.

  12. Amy says:

    I hear ya, it’s hard to think about anything else. Our programing was interrupted in Canada also to cover that story. It really is unbelievable, and sadly it is becoming more common. Apparently this guy lined his victims in a row to shoot them. Can you freakin’ imagine what the last moments of their lives were like. They played footage on the news taken from a cell phone. They didn’t have video of the event, but the gunshot sounds were clear and steady, and there were soooooooo many shots fired. To say it was disturbing would be an understatement.

  13. egan says:

    L – I think when you heard about it that’s because they only knew about the first two killings. He then moved locations, hearded up a bunch of students and killed them. What an awful scene. Just talking about it is too much for me. I don’t get it!
    Sprizee – I did miss that, but see your picture. Those faux gravesite displays make me really sad.
    Meno – it’s terrifying. I can’t imagine the thoughts running through your head with Em going off to college next year. I’m still speechless.
    Patches – it’s so awful. It must be true selfishness combined with a few other things such as low self-esteem, ambition, and who knows what else.

  14. egan says:

    Burr-ee-toe – yeah, it’s so unfair to kill other people this way. If you’re unhappy, do something about it before it spirals out of control. Of course this is easy for me to say from afar. My hearts go out to these families.
    Amy – really? I’m not sure I could listen to that. The callous nature of the killings is mesmorizing. Thinking about their last moments makes my heart sick.

  15. Airam says:

    I wish I knew why shitty things happen in this world. It’s devastating to think that you’re starting a day like any regular day and something can happen that can just jolt you or make this change forever. Unfortunately it’s times like these that really make you feel fortunate for the things you have … but is that what it takes to feel it?

  16. egan says:

    Airam – that’s a great question you pose. An event like this has you questioning so many things. It sure as hell does keeps things in perspective. Cherish the days we have.

  17. sizzle says:

    this makes me incredibly sad.

  18. Hilly says:

    After I typed out my totally whiny entry last night and was commenting back and forth on it today, this news starting pouring in and I felt like everything I was feeling was so small. But it is all relative in any case. I am just sad that this still happens.

  19. Eunice says:

    Egan, I feel you. I was dumbfounded and then instantly shot (no pun intended) back 8 years to the Columbine shooting (which happened on my birthday)…I just don’t get it. I don’t really know what else to say.

  20. Phil says:

    Thoughts and prayers to the communities.

  21. Lynda says:

    It is very sad the extremes people will go through and the needless pain they cause.

  22. Amanda says:

    These types of stories make us remember reality ourside of ourselves. It’s so easy to get caught up in our own lives. So when really horrible stuff like this happens, it takes us by surprise. And yes, it trivializes any “issues” we may have been having. I guess that it is normal, but it doesn’t make us feel any better, does it?
    You would think we would learn from history. Sadly, not in this case. Many thoughts go out to the victims and their families.

  23. furiousball says:

    this is so sad. the pain right now in the homes of the parents of those 32 is mind-numbing. i can only hug my two kids and wife and be thankful for what’s around me.

  24. I’m staying in my apartment and I’m not coming out.

  25. Lynn says:

    It is a sad, sad, world that we live in. Besides the victims and their families, I also feel for the shooters’ family. I don’t think that one can imagine what they are going through. I am gearing up to be INCENSED when some assh*le get’s on the t.v. and says that the shooter should be given forgiveness…you just know that’s gonna happen.

  26. Hannelie says:

    The news hit us here in Australia too. It’s sad and shocking. We get hourly updates about the questions what, why, who?
    The saddest part for me is that it is such young people who lost their lives, ones who were working hard and studying for their great futures.
    Our thoughts are with their loved ones.

  27. churlita says:

    How awful. We had a guy kill a bunch of people on my campus in 1991. I guess they’re making a movie about it with Meryl Streep. I knew the only survivor and she is paralyzed from the neck down for the rest of her life. It just breaks my heart.

  28. egan says:

    Sizzle – it’s very sad and makes me not want to blog much. Maybe I’ll snap back tomorrow. I’m avoiding the news until there’s less speculation out there.
    Hilly – yeah, a story of this magnitude really makes you think about your own situation. Has a tendency to make you think about your life, family, and friends.
    Eunice – no worries, it’s hard to say anything. Thanks for chiming in.
    Phil – agreed, my thoughts are definitely with family members on this horrible day. I’m watching cycling on tv now to avoid the sad tales.
    Lynda – uh huh… we still need to be patient to learn more about the shooter(s). Very little is known right now.
    Amanda – they say the inability to learn from our mistakes is what keeps us down. I’m really not sure what could have been done to prevent this. Tough call for sure. I attended a college with a population of 35,000+ so I can see why it would be hard to prevent something like this.
    Furiousball – and yes, hug them tightly. I have put myself in the minds of these victims all day today and can’t imagine the horror in their minds.
    Snay – I don’t blame you, well… you never know what will happen. Getting in your car and delivering pizzas is pretty dangerous too. Car accidents are very frequent.
    Lynn – you’re going to hate me for this. We need to wait and reserve judgement on the shooter(s). We don’t even know if it’s one person or more yet. Maybe the person had mental illness that went undiagnosed. Maybe something traumatic happened. I don’t mean to dismiss it, but you really don’t know the whole story and we never will since shooter called himself.
    Please don’t hate me for saying that. I’m not pleased at all with what happened. It makes me sick to know 33 people died. I’m not really sure what positives can come out of something like this. Perhaps warning signs were missed. Let’s just see what unfolds. Somehow we must learn from this awful day.
    Hannelie – it’s very sad and makes me wince thinking about the families.
    Churlita – it does break my heart when a heartbreaking senseless act happens.

  29. Lynn says:

    Just so you know…I don’t hate you. Maybe, depending on what unfolds, it might be possible to show compassion for the shooter(although I find that highly unlikely). Unfortunately, the only people who can truly forgive the shooter, are all dead.

  30. egan says:

    Lynn – thanks. We just don’t know the story. If we are to learn from what happened today, we need to make sure we don’t rush judgement. Mental illness goes undiagnosed too often and doesn’t get proper attention. Men in their early 20’s have a high propensity for mental illnesses, it’s when signs start to show. Let’s see what happens and thank you for not hating me.

  31. Fitena says:

    We haven’t heard any of that here. Too much killing going around. It’s terrible.
    Fitèna

  32. mez says:

    this is all so incredibly sad. 😦
    Guns man, whyyyyyyyyyy? sigh.

  33. Good for Me says:

    it’s tragic, and there really are no words that can access the pain and sorrow that embodies such an act.
    i sat last night at the dinner table silent. “L” asked me every few minutes, “are you still thinking about it?” yes…how can i not?

  34. Gwen says:

    I’m glad you brought up the point about how many people are being killed in Baghdad daily. I was thinking that all day yesterday, that every day I open my Yahoo page to see the same headline: X number killed in Baghdad market bombing or some such number … and yet I’m so numb to it, really, to the daily suffering of innocents in another country. I wish these tragedies actually resulted in SOMETHING, more help, more love, fewerfewerfewer guns, but we all cry and feel sad and then go back to life and nothing changes. It’s hard not to feel hopeless ……

  35. Amanda says:

    Yes, what could have been done to prevent this? And from what I read this morning, they don’t know much about the shooter aside from the fact that he was a “loner.” I agree with you, though – we need to reserve judgement until we know the whole story. It’s hard this day and age, but in order to learn from this, we have to be open to knowing the truth. This is hard to say, seeing as though I’m a feeling person who goes by gut instinct on most topics.

  36. Cheryl says:

    Amen. That’s all I can say, cause you said it all. So sad to even think about.

  37. egan says:

    Fitena – oh my, you can say that again. I hope this changes things, but I’m not optimistic. Two weeks from now things will be pretty much back to normal. More killing and less dialogue.
    Mez – beats the hell out of me. Is it so hard to talk to people?
    Good for Me – I’m glad you were honest with him. He needs to see it’s okay to grieve. We seem to think it’s wrong to show emotions, a sign of weakness.
    Gwen – thanks. The tragedy is horrible. I can’t understand why this man killed all these people. I’m sure it will be hard for anyone to comprehend. It bugs the shit out of me how numb we’ve become. I read something by Lee Iacocca the other day about how upset he’s become about the state of the world. It’s good to see he’s fiesty. I’m hopeful we can change “hopeless” to less violence. I feel your pain Gwen.
    Amanda – I’m not really sure anything could be done to avoid it. This guy wasn’t well. We’ll have to see what comes out in the next few weeks. If he couldn’t kill people in that building… he likely would have done so elsewhere.
    Cheryl – you’re so right, so tought to think about. Time will heel, but it’s not going to be fast.

  38. Marty says:

    You know, somewhere in between the soulful sorrow over the tragic events and the indignation/anger over the ridiculously accusatory reporting from the Big 3 cable news networks, I thought of the same thing: “33 dead here is a tragedy of unbelievable magnitude; in Iraq, it’s a light day of mayhem.”
    It’s a sad statement on both counts.

  39. egan says:

    Marty – yeah, the magnitude of this event is significant. I hope this will get people to pay attention to the news. I’m skeptical though because I keep hearing people say “I’m sick of reading about this Virginia Tech shooting stuff”. Really? It’s only been in the news for two days. Yet Anna Nicole’s crap is forced down our throats all the time. Now that’s a sad statement.

  40. The Grunt says:

    It is so awful that we don’t even bat an eye at the daily violence in Iraq. I am sad over all of this killing. I am beginning to wonder what on earth is built into Homosapien DNA. I watched a show on rogue chimps and I don’t ever want to go near “Bobo” again.
    That last bit sounded trivial, but my mind is just all over the place about this now.

  41. egan says:

    The Grunt – I know, we’ve lost something in the past few years. Humanity seems to have taken a back seat to something. I’m not quite sure what has replaced humanity, but the change seems to have happened.
    I watched something on TLC about orangutans in Africa who kill rival orangutans and then eat them. The canibalistic nature of the monkeys kind of shocked me.

Leave a Reply

