Dungeons & Dragons

Bathremoddayone3Yesterday they started work on our basement bathroom remodel.  Let me tell you, the place was scary before so now it will finally feel like a real bathroom.  I’ve updated the Maison photo album so you can track the progress if you’re interested in this sort of thing.  The entire project is expected to take about two weeks. 

I’m happy I’m not the one doing remodel work.  I had a really busy weekend, mainly Sunday, taking care of stuff around the house.  I would be a bundle of nerves if this was my own project.  I did spend a couple hours under the dashboard of our Subaru adding remote keyless entry to the car.  I also smacked myself in the face with a heavy duty pipe wrench.  Damn did that ever feel refreshing.  It serves me right for trying to fix the toilet the night before the contractor was to arrive. 

My wife started week 24 today.  I was able to feel part of the baby’s body last night when touching her belly during E! News Daily.  It’s such a weird thing to think all of us were created in the same manner.   I started to update my calendar for the rest of the summer and things are filling up fast.  It will be July before I know it.

——————

Yesterday’s tragic events in Virginia still weigh on my mind.  I really wish we could figure out a good solution to this.  We need to be patient and hear what sort of stuff is uncovered about the shooter and his life.  Let’s try and reserve judgement until more facts are known.  There’s so much damn speculation out there now, it makes watching (or reading) the news very hard.  My hearts go out to everyone. 

——————

TODAY’S RULED OUT BABY NAMES: Darcy, Lauren, Vanessa, Barbara, Yasmine, and Pamela.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Housecapades, Opinionated. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Dungeons & Dragons

  1. Amanda says:

    Smacking myself in the face with a wrench sounds like something I would do. Which is why I try and do very little with tools of any kind. Power drills and tape measures are the only things I mess with. Hammers, wrenches, and regular screw drivers are recipes for disaster when paired with me.
    That’s exciting that you guys could feel the baby! I’m going to live vicariously through you and Mrs. L, OK? Then maybe the dreaded “B.F.” will go away.

  2. egan says:

    Amanda – you’re welcome to live vicariously through us. I enjoy sharing these cool experiences. Feeling the baby’s body is a bizarre thing. I remember thinking the same thing when my first nephew was born in 1985. Hey, do you have a spare tape measure or screwdriver for me?

  3. Rachel says:

    If I ever tried to do any kind of remodeling it would end up like the movie Money Pit. Everything would pretty much fall into a big hole and be destroyed.
    I am not handy by any stretch of imagination.
    I loved feeling Devon when he was in utero. It was so cool to feel him flip around.
    The stomping on my bladder wasn’t that great though.

  4. L says:

    24 weeks already?? Yowza. I’m still trying to wrap my mind around what happened in VA yesterday. I can’t imagine how hard it must be for the families and friends who lost someone. Death leaves you asking a lot of questions as it is. So many deaths caused by something so utterly random and terrible must make the wounds that much deeper.

  5. tori says:

    This pregnancy is going so fast. At least for me it is, probably you both have a different opinion. I remember toward the end of each pregnancy (much more with the twins) I could feel each part of the baby’s body and actually figure out what I was touching. It is so amazing to think that there was just a very tiny layer of me seperating my hand from the baby. Those were the best days of my life! Even when they were uncomfortable.
    My heart hurts for everyone involved in the tragedy. Thankfully my kids have not heard about it yet, but my 9 year old is very sensitive to these things (as she should be) and I know when/if she hears about it, it will be stressful for her. It’s really hard to try to explain to her why these things happen, when I don’t fully understand it myself.

  6. justrun says:

    I’m having trouble coming up with anything to say about the Virginia Tech tragedy myself. I just can’t think in an organized or thoughtful way about things like that.
    I am sorry about your wrench incident, though. πŸ™‚

  7. sprizee says:

    Yesterday and work I managed to slam my hand in the tradeshow booth sitting outside my office. In you were thinking the reason why I did this was because I wasn’t used to it being there, you’d be wrong. It’s been sitting there for over a month.
    But sometimes I walk into walls. And sometimes I don’t clear the side of a doorway. Or in this case, sometimes I bruise the fuck out of my hand being an idiot. File under super coordinated and not dorky in the least.

  8. brookem says:

    wow, look at you mister handy-man- being able to install a remote/keyless/entry, thing. that’s pretty sweet! aside from the wrench accident.
    were you going through the cast of baywatch for baby names? pamela, yasmine….
    πŸ™‚

  9. SUPER impressed that you installed keyless entry all on your own. Pretty sure you’re ready to be a dad now.

  10. SunSpotBaby says:

    The rage, the tears, the helplessness….that’s what I feel and imagine the families of these young people who were cut down way before their time must feel. If only they could face this tragedy with the enormous faith that the Amish did when their children were killed (and some of them may) – but I still can’t get my head around how they do that…

  11. Lynn says:

    Glad that you are photodocumenting your remodel. We added a bedroom and bathroom to the back of our house a few years ago(so that my mother could move in with us). It was so exciting watching as the room progressed. Can’t wait to see your after pictures.
    Smacking yourself in the face with a wrench…yeow! That’s really gotta hurt. I hope not too much.
    24 weeks, how exciting for the two, I mean three of you. I loved feeling Ten and Twelve move inside of me…My hubby loved it when he’s put his hand on my belly and the baby would move, although more often than not, the baby would stop moving at that moment.

  12. Lynda says:

    Maybe instead of hitting yourself in the face with a wrench, you might want to try a refreshing cold shower next time.
    Any time a major tragedy like the VTech shootings yesterday occur, I have to avoid the news for a few days, just for my own sanity.

  13. Lynn says:

    I told you I am a technotard. Sorry about the double comment.

  14. Chris says:

    I too am prepping for a bathroom remodel so it’s nice to share the pain with someone who understands.

  15. egan says:

    Rachel – Money Pit is clearly the movie which launched Tom Hanks career. Yeah, babies in utero and bladders aren’t a good combination.
    L – I know… the “drinking” date we had with you says it all. Man, that felt like so long ago. 24 or so weeks ago it was. I’m sure the wounds are very deep for families today attempting to comprehend what happened. What a struggle they have ahead of them.
    Tori – it’s very weird to think the baby is right below the skin. It’s like having a wrapped present on your desk moving across your desk. Then having it sit there for nine months. Really, the best days?
    Justrun – I know exactly what you mean which is why I posted a fluff piece today. It’s an awful event. Oh, the wrench didn’t do much damage. I have a sweet cro magnon brow.
    Sprizee – you should be careful of moving promotion booths. They are very dangereux. Oh, we have a wicked sound booth at work. It’s my new office.
    Brookem – I’m glad you said something about the keyless entry thing. I need someone to stroke my ego other than myself. I keep locking and unlocking the car like a little boy. I feel so proud. You’re observant aren’t you? You got the Baywatch thing. Nice work.
    Undercover Celebrity – once I finished the install, I thought about installing them for a living on Subarus. I got the learning curve mastered now. Bring on the kids.
    SunSpotBaby – the Amish were remarkably forgiving. I still don’t get it and never will. Thankfully that sort of thing just doesn’t cross my mind. I avoid fights/violence at all costs.
    Lynn – damn, it happened to your hubby of 19 years too? It’s so frustrating, I put my hand there and she stops moving. She’s already afraid of me. I will keep the photo album updated as best as possible. I will also avoid hitting myself in the jaw with a 10 pound pipe wrench.
    Lynda – I wasn’t hot and bothered silly. I was just frustrated. Pulling realy hard on a plastic toilet bowl not isn’t always a good idea. Avoiding the news for a few days is good, but don’t forget what happened. Right now the news is all about speculation. I want the facts.
    Lynn – I beat you to it. Your duplicate comment has been removed.

  16. egan says:

    Chris – what exactly are you doing? You’re not doing the work are you? I like to sneak in each day and see exactly what was done. It’s amazing what the guts of a house look like.

  17. Amanda says:

    Thanks. I’m glad you like to share it! You’re so happy about it, so it makes it fun to hear your stories. It is a bizarre feeling. When our friend in TX (who we will be visiting next month) was pregnant, she kept trying to get my husband to touch her belly. He was all freaked out because his sister used to get mad when people touched her belly while pregnant. So our friend kept chasing him around and “bumping” him with her belly. It was hilarious. Well, it was hilarious at the time…maybe some of the humor was lost while trying to type this.
    Spare tape measures & screw drivers? I think I know what to get you for your birthday now.

  18. Lynn says:

    Baby Girl is not afraid of you, she’s just playing a game with you…I think it’s called “Let’s tease Daddy.”

  19. patches says:

    Remodeling is exciting. There are advantages of having a professional do it. For one, you won’t have to worry about your toilet taking up temporary residence in your bathtub (Oh, wait I forget that happens at my house..)
    Feeling the baby, now that’s exciting. You just made contact with the next generation…..she has a chance to learn from our mistakes, and an opportunity to make a difference…makes me feel all warm and fuzzy (wait I am warm and fuzzy).
    VT just leaves me speechless.

  20. kate says:

    ‘the place was scary before so now it will finally feel like a real bathroom.’… ummm not sure what it looked like b4 but… its sure a work in progress! lol
    Soooo totally cool about feeling the baby! I have 3 kids and it was always so awesome to watch my belly roll and move about not at all my doing! I was mearly the host! lol

  21. Amy says:

    You smacked yourself in the face with a pipe wrench! Humm… Why haven’t I done that yet? I’ll be extra careful the next time I pick one up.

  22. Hannelie says:

    Yikes, let’s hope if they say 2 weeks that that’s what it’ll be.
    My neighbours 4 month renovations just ticked over as 8 months!
    But we have a tradesmen shortage in Australia recently, and the money they charge is outrages.
    Good luck with it all.

  23. sizzle says:

    i am reminded of the underground tour when i look at that toilet picture. πŸ™‚

  24. Airam says:

    Aww … isn’t it awesome feeling the baby move around like that?

  25. Tim says:

    hmmm, you’re a better person than I. I don’t care what kind of life that kid led, I’m judging him. He could have been locked in a cage with rats for his first 22 years of life. That gives him no right to kill 30 random people.

  26. Hart says:

    That’s ome scary loo.
    But another, even more scary was one I encountered while traveling in Estonia with my high school.
    The door didn’t close properly, so you had to stand and hold it – and not the handle (there was no handle), the nail jambed in it instead of a handle.
    The toilet seat was no toilet seat – it was a bottomless bucket placed over a hole in the ground. It moved on it’s own. The floor was soft, like rottening wood. Moist. I don’t care to identify why.
    You were holding your clothes with one hand, holding the door with the other while balancing over a hole in the ground on shifty floor.
    AND – the door opened out, so if somebody would jank the door open, you’d find yourself on your stomach on the floor at their feet with a bare ass up in the air…
    Now THAT’s scary!

  27. egan says:

    Amanda – I love the belly chasing bit of your husband. I have a fun image in my head of a pregnant woman running around your house. Don’t think this doesn’t get added to the profile. I have birthday coming up?
    Lynn – I think you could be right about the game thing. It serves me right. I felt her a bit tonight and read Dr. Seuss to her.
    Patches – yes, the fact the job will actually get done and look great is a huge plus. If I did the remodel, well it might not add value to the house. The VT thing might only get worse as we start to learn about the victims. I shed a tear or two during the local news.
    kate – hello and welcome to my blog. I think we had something named The Gimp living in our basement before. It wasn’t a very pleasant space to use the facilities. The moving belly still weirds me out a bit. Thanks for the visit.
    Amy – be thankful you haven’t done that. The location of the bolt and my fatigue factored in to the equation. It wasn’t too bad. I didn’t even have to ice my face.
    Hannelie – that better not happen. I chose this contractor because his wife recently had their first kid. So he knows we’re under the gun to finish this before trimester three starts. I’ve been very impressed with his work so far.
    Sizzle – I need to do the underground tour. I have some relatives visiting this summer so that might provide the perfect opportunity. I have to read your post about your visit under Seattle’s streets. Happy Birthday!
    Airam – it sure as heck is. You felt them with your sister-in-laws? Or is there something you need to tell me?
    Tim – i totally understand where you’re coming from. It’s not an easy stance for me to take. I get the feeling this kid put a ton of pressure on himself and cracked big time. We’ll see. It still doesn’t excuse what he did. I guess I’m thinking many warning signs were missed that should have been used to prevent this.
    Hart – huh, not a good bathroom at all there in Estonia. Was that common there? Oh, thanks for visiting my blog.

  28. The Grunt says:

    Les Singes D.I.Y!

  29. ChickyBabe says:

    I wouldn’t want to stumble into this bathroom late at night!

  30. patches says:

    I’m intrigued by your screening process when it comes to finding a contractor, tell us if your the recent birth, makes a difference in contractor’s dependability. We only hear horror stories about them here. The neighbor with the new pool house still has a port-o-let in his front yard.

  31. Reserve judgement?! About what? The guy killed thirty plus people. He clearly had some mental issues, too bad for him and everyone at VTech, and sure, it’d be one thing if he’d been forced to get some psychological treatment, but he didn’t and he’s a mass murderer.

  32. Candace says:

    That looks like Satan’s Bathroom at my sister’s house. No one goes in there. No humans, anyway.
    I have to agree with Snay. In this day when we are taught acceptance of absolutely everything (except non-acceptance ^_^) it’s hard to let ourselves think it, but the truth is that there ARE bad people out there, and killing people makes you a Bad Person. Sure, Hitler was metally damaged, too, but that doesn’t mean he wasn’t a Bad Person. You know?

  33. Candace says:

    Hmm, Hitler was damaged by metal when he shot himself, but I actually meant meNtally damaged there. Cursed fingers!

  34. Lynda says:

    Well, as long as you still have most of your teeth. πŸ˜€
    Monday’s events are on everybody’s mind and all people talk about, it seems. Happens with every major news event. You can’t really forget it. πŸ˜‰

  35. furiousball says:

    When my son was a baby, Kate Moss was on E all the time usually for being busted for drugs with Pete Dougherty or something. He would stop everything he was doing and just stare at her. He later admitted , “that lady is pretty”.

  36. egan says:

    The Grunt – I’m not this qualifies as “DIY” since we hired someone though. But I see where you’re going with that.
    ChickyBabe – since it’s in the basement you wouldn’t have to. In two weeks it will be more like a sanctuary.
    Patches – maybe it’s because the Seattle housing market is very stable. We’ve (knocks on wood) never had someone just stop showing up. Everyone we hired has been very reliable. Port-o-let aren’t so charming.
    Snay – maybe you misunderstood me. I’m not forgiving this guy at all. I’m just asking that we reserve judgement until more facts are known. This goes for both sides. If we pass some harsher gun control laws, that may not solve anything. If we rush to lock down all college campuses, that may not improve things. We can’t just dismiss mental issues and move on. Let’s find a better way to learn about warning signs. Anyways, I’m beating a dead horse. Mr. Cho was a monster, no doubt about it. I don’t excuse his behavior at all.
    Candace – acceptance of everything? You’re kidding right? Have you heard of Don Imus? Have you heard of gay rights? I am NOT saying this guy was friendly or compassionate.
    Candace – you’re on my shit list. Okay, I just couldn’t resist typing that. You’re all good in my book, even if you do disappear for a week at a time.
    Lynda – my teeth are still intact. I didn’t even have to ice my jaw. Yes, as they release the names of the victims it will be even more somber.
    Furiousball – do you, daddy, happen to find her attractive? I’m not much of a Kate Moss fan myself. Your son is funny.

  37. Diane Mandy says:

    I grew up near VT and had friends and acquaintences calling early on to let me know the extent of the violence was much greater than was reported early on. 😦 I know that there is no way someone who really wants a handgun can get their hands on one, I just it wasn’t soooo easy.
    24 weeks already?! Wow. Although I wonder if your wife thinks the pregnancy is going by so quickly?

  38. Pants says:

    I’m sorry to hear that you smacked yourself in the face with a wrench. I kind of feel your pain…I sat on my own hand/wrist and badly bruised it Monday night. I’m still not sure how it happened.

  39. Airam says:

    My sis-in-laws!! I’ve yet to feel a baby inside my own belly.

  40. egan says:

    Diane Mandy – sorry to hear about your friends in Virginia. This is such a tremendous loss. Yes, she’s already 24 weeks along. It’s a bit freaky.
    Pants – how does one do that? Did you just sit on it funny? I hope it’s not too sore. The pipe wrench lost.
    Airam – I knew the answer, I was playing dumb as usual.

  41. Candace says:

    Whoa! A real shit list? Kewl!!!

  42. Candace says:

    PS, tell me we’re not supposed to accept everything. I dare you. ^_^

  43. egan says:

    Candace – yes, you’re on it for siding with Mr. Snay, but I’ve moved on.
    Candace – hey, we’re not supposed to accept everything. Bring it on!

Leave a Reply

