Yolks from the Underbelly

If you haven’t heard, my wife and I will be celebrating our sixth anniversary on Friday.  I’m not sure why you would already know this unless you’re one of those people who actually reads other people’s comments on blogs.  Anyways Monkey Boy, stay focussed.  We’re only working a four day week and heading a couple hours north of town for a couple nights.  We unfortunately weren’t able to swing the Hawaii thing since accomodations were nearly impossible to find in our price range.

Instead we’ll hang in the San Juan islands, a stone’s throw from Canada.  It will be a nice relaxing time and our last official trip out of town before things get insane pregnancy-wise.  You know the whole third trimester is on the way, 14 more weekends.

Since it’s the week of our anniversary I’m required by law to share stories about my wife.  Without further ado, here’s one we joke about often.  Let’s call them nerdy food puns.  The most common word is falafel.  Think of all the words which happen to rhyme with falafel and you have yourself a rather falafel-ly amusing time.  The falafel jokes rarely get old, if you ask me. 

SkiesOn Sunday we made falafel patties and ate them for lunch on our back deck under mixed skies.  I’m not sure which brand they were though, but that’s not what’s important here.  What’s wicked important is how we had leftovers and are both eating them for lunch here on Tuesday.  My wife called me during lunch and I made a falafel joke about her hunger.  It went some like this:

Mrs. Lessinges: you make me so hot Egan, so hot.

Me: That’s a falafel shame since you’re preggers and all.

Mrs. Lessinges: You don’t know hummus that makes me laugh.

Me: blah blah blah… [pauses for a couple seconds] …did you say what I thought you said? 

Mrs. Lessinges: yes

Me: I need to write this ….  [insert childish laughter for roughly 30 seconds] …this down  Nice use of hummus.

I tell you, food puns rarely pass their expirary date.  *Note, some of the above dialogue has been fabricated which explains why this post isn’t categorized as "Mrs. Lessinges Approved".  I’m willing to make up a story like this to protect the innocent.  As I’m rereading this, it’s clearly something you had to overhear, it’s pita that way.

——————

TODAY’S RULED OUT BABY NAMES: Renee, Natasha, Jaslene, Brittany, Dionne, and Jael.  (theme = America’s Next Top Model Cycle 8 contestant names)

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Games. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Yolks from the Underbelly

  1. Amanda says:

    Sometimes it doesn’t matter if other people get jokes between spouses. It’s funny to you and Mrs. L, so that’s all that matters. (Oh, and if Mrs. L truly used hummus that way, then she is cooler than I already thought she was.)
    It’s a good thing the two of you are going to be able to get away for your anniversary. We weren’t able to last year and we were a little sad. But we have plans to this year. It’s important, me thinks.

  2. egan says:

    Amanda – Mrs. Lessinges totally used it that way, but I didn’t ask that exact question. I’m sneaky like that. I believe it’s really important to celebrate the anniversary because it’s an accomplishment. Damn was the hummus ever good. Yummy.

  3. Amanda says:

    I’ve never tried hummus. It scares me a little bit, but I’m a picky eater and if it smells, looks or feels weird, I probably won’t eat it.
    I think celebrating anniversaries are pretty important as well. I think my grandparents are close to 70 years this year.

  4. Burr-ee-toe says:

    OMG, every single time I tell my fiance that I am going to yoga or that I went to yoga, he responds with “yoga? mmm.. I LOVE yoga? Can you get me strawberry flavor?”

  5. meno says:

    Most of the family humor around here is of the “i guess you hadda be there” variety.
    We find tater tots funny, except we call them tater tits.

  6. Lynn says:

    Orange you glad that you and Mrs. L. have a similar sense of humor?

  7. Airam says:

    All I read was falafel and started salivating profusely and therefore couldn’t concentrate on the rest of the post. Does hummus have a shelf life of four months?
    😛

  8. Diane Mandy says:

    Happy Anniversary! It sounds as though it will be a great weekend for you two!

  9. egan says:

    Amanda – you’re going to try hummus this week and blog about it. Trust me on this one. Try the Trader Joe’s platter with four different flavors.
    Burr-ee-toe – so he likes strawberry yogurt then? He’s a kinky guy if I’m not mistaken.
    Meno – tator tits or Mexi Tits.. you know, Taco Time.
    Lynn – it’s falafelly good we get along so well.
    Airam – so you like hummus? I’m adding this to the list of items to woo you on our first virtual date. Noted.
    Diane Mandy – it’s going to be an awesome weekend. Thanks for the congrats on the anniversary.

  10. brookem says:

    oooh i love me some humus. it’s wicked good.
    happy anniversary! hope you have a great little excursion!

  11. brookem says:

    and um, names of … singers?

  12. Chris says:

    Happy Anniversary you two!
    Thanks for the food ideas – it’s falafel for lunch tomorrow from Big Fresh!
    Peace!

  13. Amanda says:

    Oui, Les Singes. Just you wait.
    And Brookem…I was stumped on the names this time, too! My first thought was singers as well. And only because of Dionne & Brittany – I can’t place the others. Egan is trying to make the themes harder.

  14. L says:

    You are such a dork. I love it. Have fun in the San Juans!

  15. furiousball says:

    Excellent, throw big pointy rocks at Canada

  16. sizzle says:

    i dunno, i found it very amusing.

  17. Lynda says:

    LOL. I thought it was funny. Congratulations on six years!

  18. Tall Chick says:

    No wonder you married her. 🙂 Are you going to Tahini for your anniversary?

  19. Kale Rae says:

    Sounds like someone is an America’s Next Top Model…
    Oh and remember sixth wedding anniversary is to be made of Iron…now, not an iron – made of iron….

  20. justrun says:

    As usual, cuteness of barf quality.
    At least if I’ve yet to know someone I can make ridiculous work jokes with, I can read about people who do!

  21. justrun says:

    That was ridiculous *word* jokes, by the way.

  22. tori says:

    Congratulations on the anniversary! I love that you make the silly jokes with your wife! My kids are just now deciding that we are dorks and embarrassing when we do things like that. It took until my daughter was 9 though, so you have lots of time before your baby might come to the same conclusion!

  23. Eunice says:

    Hey if you hit Friday harbor, let me know if they rebuilt the Hungry Clam. That was seriously the best fish & chips I have ever had — shortly after our trip there, there was a fire, completely destroying the place.
    Oh, but stay away from the chinese place across from the pub.

  24. Jess says:

    Hey, happy anniversary! You guys are too damn cute with your falafel joking. Have a great time this weekend!

  25. mez says:

    you’re not into the cha cha diva Jaslene?
    happy anniversary! 🙂

  26. egan says:

    Brookem – you can say that again, hummus is wicked good. Thanks for the anniversary wishes.
    Brookem – nope, that’s not the theme I was shooting for. You’ll have to try again. Try an internet search and see what you find.
    Chris – that’s a falafel-ly good idea for lunch. Let me know how it grows.
    Amanda – I will be waiting to hear what you think of the hummus. It really is tasty. I stumped the only two people who pay attention to the theme of the Ruled Out names. Great.
    L – we’ll have heaps of fun up there. The weather looks like it should cooperate. Correct, I’m a dork.
    Furiousball – I would never do that since I love Canada. I don’t throw woks at neighbors.
    Sizzle – it’s kind of funny. So little of the actual dialogue is true because I have a horrible memory.
    Lynda – I suppose amusement is in the ear of the beholder. Thanks.
    Tall Chick – you can’t make puns like that and then disappear for a week. Nope, we’re not going to Tahini, we’re headed to the Sandwich Isles.
    Kale Rae – you win! you win! Tu as raison mon amie. ANTM is correct. An iron would be a bad gift for an anniversary. Thanks for letting me know what the gift should be. Really, you spared me some research time.
    Justrun – barf quality eh? I like that classification.
    Justrun – I get where you’re coming from. I’m glad you’re a sucker for the punishment.
    Tori – I don’t know, at my rate I may wear my daughter out by age six. I will have have to see what happens. Nine isn’t too shabby though either.
    Eunice – I totally remember the fire in Friday Harbor. I don’t think they’ve rebuilt it yet. It was expensive to fix. I will avoid chinese food as suggested. Have you spent much time in the San Juans?
    Jess – you’re right about the too cute stuff. I will make sure to minimize the cuteness the rest of the week. I hit the maximum allowable today. Thanks Jess for the well wishes.
    Mez – someone else who happens to watch America’s Next Top Model. Can we be friends? Thanks for the anniversary wishes Mez.

  27. ChickyBabe says:

    Joyeux anniversaire de mariage.
    I’d say Mrs Lessinges wins that round!

  28. Good for Me says:

    you guys are too cute…and i laughed at the pun even though i didn’t hear it. nice one! have a wonderful getaway!

  29. Candace says:

    I shall try not to. Sometimes I feel like a juggler. Which beats being a jugular. I heart you. ^_^

  30. Amanda says:

    Ok, Hlogs has advised me that we are not privy to Trader’s Joe product here in our econonmically advanced state of NE. So we’ll have to settle for whatever variety platter they sell at our specialty grocery store. Don’t worry…you’ll still get your photo essay.

  31. Amy says:

    You two are big dorks. I LOVE big dorks!
    I use falafel as a nerdy food pun too, but not in the same way. I use it when I feel awful.
    I also refer to Kentucky Fried Chicken as Kentucky Yucky. I know that’s not quite the same thing, but kids find it hilarious for some reason! It must be dorky too.
    Thanks for not throwing “woks” at Canada. Happy Anniversary and have a great vacation in the “Sandwich Isles”.

  32. Mone says:

    I just LOVE fallafel and humus, to bad there is no arabic store/restaurant around here. And its to far to drive to dresden just so I can have a fallafel sandwich, hahahaha.
    Happy anniversary 🙂

  33. Gwen says:

    Okay, I’m guessing the part where Mrs. L told you how hot you were might could possibly have been made up. But I might be wrong.
    And didn’t you mean Brown, Nata, NayNay and Brit? Or are those still in the running …..
    I vote for NayNay.

  34. Happy Anniversary, Egan & wife! Enjoy your stay so close to Canada, and I hoop you get to take a boot ride.
    (Also, happy 34th post to me…)

  35. logo™ says:

    We did Orcas Island for our 10th anniversary, twas fabulous.
    We went to this farm restaurant where this guy kept going out and knocking apples off a tree. When we asked we were told the special of the day, which was a pork dish, had apples in it so that was the kitchen guy out there collecting people’s dinners.

  36. brookem says:

    oh okay… geeze… that was a tough one. i dont watch it regularly this season. if you added in say, miss j, or tyra, i would have damn straight gotten it.

  37. Burr-ee-toe says:

    Yup, he likes yogurt. The scary thing is that once I told my dad I was going to Yoga and he made a similar joke… yoga? What flavor? And here I thought I was marrying someone totally different from my father.

  38. egan says:

    ChickyBabe – I’d say she wins most rounds when it comes to a battle of witty responses. She’s a sharp cookie. Merci beaucoup pour les voeux de mariage.
    Good for Me – we’re way too cute. Thanks for pretending to laugh, kidding. Have a good day.
    Candace – are you fully healed yet from your tkd injury?

  39. Party Girl says:

    I find it very lovely and attractive how you talk about your wife. It is very refreshing to read. Very refreshing.
    On a side note: I have been hungry for falafel for weeks. This post didn’t help the craving.

  40. egan says:

    Amanda – no Trader Joe’s in Nebraska? That’s an outrage. Hlogs better not disappoint or I will beet you.
    Amy – you’re not feeling falafel today are you? How how your two days sans a blog been treating you? I would never throw woks at Canada. I love our neighbors to the north too much.
    Mone – it’s not possible to get hummus in a local grocery store? Huh, maybe I take hummus for granted and shouldn’t. Thanks for anniversary wishes.
    Gwen – ha, very funny about ANTM nicknames. What a joke those nicknames were. Why do you ask about NayNay? That’s actually a name we considered, spelled differently. Nene is a term close to our hearts since our wedding in Maui. Have you been to Maui and driven on the Puunene Highway?
    Snay – you’re clever with your puns sir. It’s a boot time you make a funny.
    Logo™ – do you recall the name of the place you ate? It sounds kind of cool if you ask me. I’ll give a shout out as we pass your neck of the woods Friday morning.
    Brookem – you can’t get them can you? I will make the next one a bit simpler. Stay tuned.
    Burr-ee-toe – you didn’t really think you could escape father comparisons with your fiancé did you? I like that your dad said the same joke. So cool.
    Party Girl – thank you for that PG. I got pretty damn lucky as my wife really does rock. She’s a great woman and tolerates my nutty antics. I’m falafel-ly sorry this post leaves you salivating. The good thing is they’re pretty easier to make from scratch.

  41. Gledwood says:

    Why did you relocate to Typepad?? I skipped from a company called Tripod that barely anyone has hurd of anyway to blogger/blogspot/whatever they are meant to be called. My present “provider” is so much incredibly more superior … no more half hour waits just to log in for one thing!!

  42. egan says:

    Gledwood – thanks for the visit. Do you really want me to answer you question why I switched from Blogger to Typepad? I’ll make it simple for you. Google sucks ass. More details available upon request.

  43. naynayfazz says:

    You don’t know hummus olive your jokes. You are gouda at it. Jamaican me hungry with olive this food talk.
    Man, that was CORNy. 😉

  44. egan says:

    Naynayfazz – nah, not corny at all. We say those kinds of things around our house. Keep them coming.

Leave a Reply

