BYBW

BYBW?  Not sure what this abbreviation means?  Well, it’s Bring Your Brat to Work day at many companies.  The purpose of this day is to show your kids what you do at work, inspiring them so to speak.  Some folks take it a bit far though and bring six month old Johnny to work.  I’m not really sure there’s anything educational Johnny will be learning.  I suppose I could bring my daughter to work with me someday in the future.  I think she might be rather bored watching me type shit on the computer while not looking at my hands. 

Oh, Mrs. Lessinges coined the term Bring Your Brat to Work day.  This is yet another reason I love her.  It cracks me up each time she says it.   But the real reason I appreciate my wife is because she makes me laugh.  I don’t think much more has to be said.  Laughter is such a key part of any relationship, whether it be family, friends, co-workers, or a spouse.  Without laughter, things just aren’t all that interesting.  It’s what keeps us humble, keeps us from taking ourselves too seriously. 

——————

By this time next week our basement bathroom remodel should be complete.  I wasn’t able to take any pictures since they poured new concrete yesterday.  Tile is up in the shower and they will begin tiling the floor today.  Once the tiling is complete, they should only be a day or two away from the finished product.  I didn’t think it was possible to be so elated about a remodel project.  Then again I never thought cropping pubes would make for a great blog topic.

——————

TODAY’S RULED OUT BABY NAMES: Jamison, Fifi-Trixibelle, Eve, Sailor, Chastity, and Dreena. (theme = celebrity offspring)

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Egan Wants to Know, Vanity is Overrated. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to BYBW

  1. The Grunt says:

    I’m first!
    Laughter is a necessity. I can’t deal with people who don’t get my humor or vice versa.

  2. The Grunt says:

    Relationship wise, I mean.
    Second!

  3. brookem says:

    THIRD! (I don’t think I’ve ever been this far up in the commenting line!)
    I couldn’t agree more about laughter. A sense of humor is a total must in relationships. All types, right on.
    And okay. So I ONLY got the baby names after googling them. Which I didn’t want to do. If google is right, it might help if you added Ireland (and would be pretty timely too!), Scout, and Apple.
    Right?

  4. Dan says:

    Egan, nicely put about laughter. Man, if we cease to find things funny it’s over. I can’t think of something more important and therapeutic than laughter (that is one damned tough word to spell, therapeutic!)

  5. egan says:

    The Grunt – you’re first sir. Good job. As long as they don’t point and laugh at the time, it’s all good.
    The Grunt – ha, I understood what you meant. Kudos on second.
    Brookem – you’re correct. I purposely left those names off the list to make it harder. I think Fifi-Trixibelle was too easy though. Good for you on not Googling the names. Laughter is the key to everything, including marriage and pube cropping.

  6. sandra says:

    If you laugh during pube-cropping, is there danger of scissors-poking?

  7. churlita says:

    I am not attracted to anyone who isn’t funny. I’m glad you found your sidekick. It still seems like such an improbability, that two people will find each other like that. You make me hopeful, at least.

  8. Burr-ee-toe says:

    So true. That’s the thing that I loved about my first date with my fiance. He wasn’t really my type in the way of looks, but I couldn’t stop laughing that first time we went out. I was instantly hooked. 🙂

  9. Amanda says:

    You’re kidding, right? I’ve been saying Bring Your Brat to Work for years!! Mrs. L is too cool for school. And I agree about the laughter (as you know). It makes it so much easier to deal with the tougher times when you can laugh with your loved one.
    Again, good call on the baby names. Chastity is what helped me figure it out today.

  10. Amanda says:

    Oh, and this:
    “Then again I never thought cropping pubes would make for a great blog topic.”
    Made me choke on my water.

  11. Rachel says:

    Are those hooker names or something?
    We had rugrats around here but they were all well behaved.
    Our company doesn’t allow children under the age of 8 and they are here for 4 hours.
    Not too bad.
    They are all gone now.
    I didn’t bring Devon because I didn’t want him to be bored and he would learn more in school anyway.

  12. Chris says:

    Did the lovely Mrs. consider bringing you to her job today?

  13. Sofi says:

    BYBW is so awesome. It made me laugh which I really needed. About 2 hours ago, the B’s at the W were about to make me cry.

  14. Lynn says:

    As an educator, I have never been allowed to bring my sweet, darling, angelic children to work on BYBW day. Which makes no sense, since school is um…school. Humor is #1…my hubby and I were definitely attracted to each others sense of humor. Wait till “baby girl” starts to talk…I bet she will crack you both up.

  15. Gwen says:

    Hey! My brat went to work with her father today (but he works for a company that plans really cool activities for the kids and everything)! Some day you’ll be all excited to bring your daughter with you. Just you wait.

  16. egan says:

    Sandra – there’s always a danger of scissor poking when taming the pubes. It’s part of the lure though too. Happy early birthday!
    Churlita – thank you very much. It’s crazy to think we met at a really cheesy nightclub too. Damn those after hours places where drunks congregate.
    Burr-ee-toe – I hear you on this. Funny how a sense of humor (or lack of it) can change everything. You got a good man from you’ve said about him.
    Amanda – I figured Chastity would be the giveaway on this one that or the crazy hyphenated name. Yeah, phooey on those tough times.
    Amanda – you’re not choking on water, you’re choking on pubes. Shit, did I type that? My bad.
    Rachel – I think it’s good your work doesn’t let them hang out all day. It can be really hard to get anything done when kids are taking Lego™ toys off my desk. School is where it’s at.
    Chris – touché!
    Sofi – don’t let the bastards drag you down. Listen to Bono, he knows everything.
    Lynn – wait till baby girl talks back. Man will that be fun. I’m sure I will be shocked and giggling at the same time. Yeah, kind of tough to bring your kids to work if you’re an educator.

  17. egan says:

    Gwen – just you wait is right. She can sit on my lap and watch me type smart ass replies to blog comments. I’ll show her whose boss. Your hubby sounds like a pretty cool hombre.

  18. meno says:

    EIGHTEENTH!!!!
    When i worked and it was BYBW Day, we always made sure we went out to lunch as the cafeteria was, literally, a zoo. Eecch!

  19. egan says:

    Meno – when you worked eh. Rubbing it in. Can’t we just talk about cropping pubes? I bet it was a zoo where you worked with all the kids running around. Thanks for being the 18th commenter.

  20. tori says:

    I totally got the names right away. I think that means I know way too much useless stuff.
    My neighbor’s kids went to work with their dad today and his company planned so many activities/gave away so many prizes it was almost better than a carnival. My kids are super jealous. I bet they will want to work there when they get older.

  21. Burr-ee-toe says:

    We definitely had a few kinks to work out, but things are awesome now. I definitely found a keeper. 🙂

  22. L says:

    I like BYBTW Day. But mostly because I get to enjoy the kids for the brief few minutes while they’re behaving and then send them off to the next person.

  23. Airam says:

    I love to laugh and will never hesitate to point at friends and laugh heartily in their face or do the same to me when I’ve made a fool of myself.

  24. egan says:

    Tori – you did? I’m very impressed you got the names so fast. Celebrity names are the best. Was there a bouncy house?
    Burr-ee-toe – is there a double meaning to kink? I’m glad you got things worked out and now are getting married. Yeah.
    L – not only that, but you can take their candy. Yum and fun.
    Airam – you seem like a really fun person. I bet you’re a tremendous person in real life. I’m keeping a close eye on you.

  25. Good for Me says:

    it ate my post…
    bring your child to work day is a fun event at my company. i know it’s not that way everywhere though.

  26. egan says:

    Good for Me – it can be quite fun. I guess I think it’s funny some bring their children who can’t walk or talk yet to work. It’s not really meant as a day away from daycare. Do they bring the bouncy house to your work? Start me up!

  27. Amy says:

    To avoid any unwanted “scissor poking” use electric trimmers. They do double duty. They cutter part shortens the hair while the vibrations…

  28. Amy says:

    That’s “the” cutter not “they” cutter.

  29. egan says:

    Amy – what setting do you use for something like that? Two? When I get my haircuts, I have them set the trimmer to two. And then there are the vibrations. Bring on the neck massagers too!
    Amy – I feel you. It’s all good.

  30. Amanda says:

    Olive you stop with the pube cropping talk!
    Although…I have to admit that Remington does make a nice personal grooming kit. Lots of different attachments to make different designs.

  31. Good for Me says:

    yeah, the daycare at work for the day doesn’t work at all. no bouncy house. you could get a tour of the print center though. boy, wouldn’t that be fun?

  32. Desiree says:

    As an Human Resources Manager I would just like to proudly say we don’t have a BYBW day… but I wish we had a BYOW (wine) day! Work would be more fun! 😉

  33. Amanda says:

    I’m with Desiree…that would be a kick ass kind of a day. And coming from a HR manager to boot! Desiree, can you come work at my company and try to implement that?

  34. egan says:

    Amanda – you’re just jealous of the pube talk. Remington is still around? I don’t know any guys who happen to use electric shavers for their face so maybe things have moved south.
    Good for Me – the print room can be a good thing. I could grab tons of facial tissue boxes and walk around the office. It’s fun to explain why the boxes. Bouncy houses in the office would be awesome.
    Desiree – hello and welcome to my blog. Did you have problems with Bring Your Brat to Work day? I didn’t recall hearing much at our company, but there were a few little ones there. Wine, now that’s a sound remedy.
    Amanda – she’s new to the blog, but this Desiree blogger sure does have a great point. I know, she’s in HR… how cool is that? I think you will have to get in line.

  35. Lynda says:

    My husband would probably call it BYBW day also. LOL! This is the same program that use to be for daughters, until the boys complained they wanted to get out of school too, right?

  36. liv says:

    I love it all, and particularly the “cropping pubes” bit. Somehow during pregnancies this always gets to be a hot topic. I’ll have to see if I can dredge up my 38 weeks pregnant and getting a Brazilian post… I think the word “Sasquatch” was used liberally.

  37. egan says:

    Lynda – I’m not sure about the history of this. If it was meant only for girls, I’m glad they did change it to include boys. Brats!
    Liv – ha, that’s very funny. Oh, welcome to my blog. I will steer clear of the Sasquatch remark as I don’t want to say too much. I’d love to read your post about it though. Thanks for the visit Liv.

Leave a Reply

