Bear Necessities

This show is one my new favorites. The guy, known as Bear, forces himself to survive with very little supplies on hand. Of the two episodes I’ve seen I can’t stop shaking my head at the crazy shit he does. He inspires me to climb trees and live in the woods as if I was John Rambo.

The reason I mention this show is because the premise is quite interesting. They drop this guy, Bear, off in the middle of nowhere and it’s his goal to get back to civilization. The first episode I saw they dropped him off above lush Costa Rican tropical forests. In the one I’m currently watching he jumped out of a helicopter over the Pacific Ocean and made his way to an uninhabited island. He climbed a coconut tree and made the following statement while sliding down the tree, "it really is much more painful than you think, especially if you’re a bloke".  My nuts ache.  Okay, stay on target Monkey Boy.

What a great job this guy has as a film crew from the Discovery Channel follows his every move while he tempts fate. Here’s my question to you, if you could be dropped off anywhere in the and have your trip documented, where would you go?

I’ve thought about this question quite often. Personally I’d love to get dropped off on Antarctica. It’s a place I’m pretty unlikely to visit in my lifetime, but for some reason it totally fascinates me.  A close second to Antartica would be the remote Aleutian Islands in Alaska for similar reasons.  I’ve been to Alaska before and really enjoy all the wildlife and geologic activity calling Alaska home.  Third place would be Borneo because tropical forests and wild boars get my heart racing.

——————

TODAY’S RULED OUT BABY NAMES: Debi, Diane, Lotte, Samantha, Laura, and Sara. (theme = character names of women starring opposite John Cusack)

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Egan Wants to Know, Television, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

80 Responses to Bear Necessities

  1. ChickyBabe says:

    La premiere!
    (still checking out the names in case…)

  2. I have to start taping this show! I think if you were dropped off in Antartica, you would be very very cold. Of course if you were in the tropics, there would be the problem of hurricane season….ah, dilemmas

  3. Chris says:

    I just recently started watching a show that I think is on A&E called Bizzarre Foods. This guy travels to “exotic” locales and eats some really odd, in fact, bizzarre foods. It’s fun to watch his facial expressions – and of course to see theses places.

  4. Amanda says:

    Oh wow – what an interesting question. And hard! Does the anywhere have to be uninhabited like where Bear goes? Or can it literally be anywhere? I’ll have to think it over.
    I thought you were going to link to that wolf guy show for a second when I first saw that it was going to the discovery channel site (the guy who lives in the wolf habitat in the zoo in England…that guy is freaky…I would not want to be stranded there.)
    And I’m stumped on the names. I’ll have to do some research & when I come back to tell you where I want to be stranded with a film crew, I’ll see if anyone else has figured out the names.

  5. Airam says:

    Antartica is a good one. I’ve always had it in my head that I’d like to say that I’ve set foot on all of the continents and then thought … that’s far-fetched because I would never visit Antartica!! So yeah … either that or they can follow me in Italy as I walk around enjoying a gelato 😛
    Kidding … to be honest I’ve always liked the concept of that show Survivor. I’d do it not for the money but the experience of having to get down to bare essentials to survive.

  6. Airam says:

    PS – zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  7. You humans can be such wussies! I can survive out in the wild with no problem. In fact it would be easier. Stuck inside the house, with a nasty litterbox. Yuck! If I was outside, the entire world would be my litter box.

  8. patches says:

    Tate’s Hell State Forest, would one. It isn’t terribly exotic, but it supports 12 major community types (floodplain, basin swamp, etc) and its home to many species of wildlife. You probably thought I wanted to visit because of the cool name.
    There are plenty of more exotic places I would like to go, but I don’t think it would be worth the effort to document it. Those places have already been documented and by someone far more articulate (Serengeti plain, Australian outback, Galapagos Islands).

  9. Kyla Bea says:

    I feel so ripped off! I love this show- but I know it as Survivorman, and it seems like there’s more than a little overlap between the two concepts.
    Now I’m worried that:
    a) Survivorman was actually eaten by a bear, forcing them to explore similar ideas with a younger man
    b) Your Man vs. Wild guy has kidnapped Survivorman.
    Either way, a fight between these guys would be fantastic. Nice blog! = )

  10. tori says:

    I would loved to be dropped somewhere quiet, peaceful, and warm. That may just be because right now I have way too much to do, and am feeling stressed. I liked Australia a lot when I lived there, but I only lived in civilization. I’m not sure how I would feel about all the poisonous snakes there. I think it would be fun/rewarding to do something like that though.

  11. Tim says:

    What’s the farthest place from my office? There. That’s where I’d want to be dropped off.

  12. Tall Chick says:

    Cornwall, I think. Even though it wouldn’t be a survival thing. ^_^

  13. mez says:

    Drop me anywhere remotely uncivilised and I would PERISH, no question.
    Having said that. I’d absolutely love to go to Antarctica. The place has held a fascination for me for years. It’s extremely expensive though and I couldn’t afford to do if unless I won lotto.

  14. Chani says:

    Thanks for the show reference. That does sound very interesting!
    As to where I’d go, it’s obvious… but I know better than to think I would survive such a thing.
    Interesting to watch the baby names.
    Peace,
    ~Chani

  15. Rachel says:

    I love Man Vs. Wild. Great show. The one that I liked the most was when he was dropped off in the Sierra Nevada mountains. That one was crazy. He had to get down to a lower altitude before night so that he didn’t freeze to death. He couldn’t get off the ice pack so he made himself a snow cave.
    Then he jumped about 30 feet into a gorge to a river and rode it until he almost had hypothermia.
    He was also dropped off in Alaska and almost died when the boat that he found hit the ice floe and started to sink. He looked REALLY cold.
    For the names I am lost.

  16. Brother#3 says:

    I caught the episode where he was dumped into Sierra Nevada’s…damn that was impressive to skin and eat a snake and worms for protein! made me rethink sushi, tho. Of course, note his credentials- he’s much more prepared to be dumped on an ice flow than to understand Microsoft Office…but he’s no Ironman!! DIRTY JOBS is another cool show…the messy job man!

  17. furiousball says:

    Right now, I’d like to dropped off in a bar with someone else’s corporate Amex

  18. egan says:

    ChickyBabe – congrats on being first. I’m never going to guess your real name am I? Nicole?
    steppingoverthejunk – you should record it and let me know what you think. Bear is really fun to watch. It would be cold, but I might be able to manage.
    Amanda – I think the only stipulation is it has to be remote. Getting dropped off over Paris wouldn’t really count. I want to add the wolfman show to my TiVo list. That guys seems equally freaky. I think these guys are the Crocodile Hunter replacements, RIP Steve!
    Airam – are you trying to win me over? That Survivor stuff intrigues me for the very same reason. The social aspect would be fun, but there’s much more to it. So you’re willing to visit Antarctica with me and Mez? Sweet. We can hit Italy on the way back for some hazelnut gelato.
    Airam – wake up, you have to teach today!
    Lulu – are you the cat who has been shitting in my veggie beds? Shame on you.
    Patches – I need to know where this place is you mention. Okay, it’s in Florida. That could be really interesting in the summer months. Hey, you’re plenty articulate.
    Kyla Bea – hello and welcome to my blog. Huh, I followed your link to Survivorman. You’re very right about the overlap. It really makes me wonder which show came first. Bear is younger and more attractive, but Survivorman has to carry his own camera equipment. That has to suck. Thanks for sharing and for your visit.
    Tori – how about I put you in my mom’s yarn room in her house? Would that be to your liking? Stress sucks.
    Tim – now that’s a good answer. I want to say Indonesia would a good spot for you.
    Tall Chick – like Cornwall, Ontario? Please explain your selection.
    Mez – you city creature you! I love that you said the perish part. So funny. Let’s save our pennies for Antarctica. I think we can get you there.
    Chani – hello and thanks for stopping by my blog. Hey, you’re not going to tell me where? I can’t read your mind. Where would you go?
    Rachel – I haven’t seen that episode yet, but I have a TiVo Season’s Pass created. I wonder how far they would take it. Like if he was get a shark bite, would they intervene? Ah, it’s such a fun show.
    Brother #3 – you’re very right. He’s not your average Joe mountain man. He’s got a very impressive resumé which is why he knows the most obscure things. I wonder if he has done an Ironman. I may have one upped him on one thing. I’ve seen Dirty Jobs too. Now I see the host of that show on all the Ford tv ads.
    Furiousball – um, okay. Things alright with you sir?
    Chris – I’ve seen a teaser for that show. Is it to your liking?

  19. Tall Chick says:

    No, like Cornwall in England. Seat of all the King Arthur and other fasicinating legends. My wanderings would have to include Glastonbury Tor, Stonehenge and Tintagel, too.

  20. Tall Chick says:

    You always talk about shows I’ve never heard of.

  21. egan says:

    Tall Chick – okay, I was beginning to wonder about you. I don’t have anything against Cornwall, Ontario, but I figured there must be other places you’re dying to visit.
    Tall Chick – I know, I try to give you something other than the SciFi Channel to watch. It’s a service I provide.

  22. Tall Chick says:

    I knew you were anti-Canadian. It was one of those “methinks he doth protest too much” things.
    You will have to show me here on your blog, since my telly gets no channels other than “the DVD channel.” ^_^

  23. Tall Chick says:

    In retrospect, it’s probably a good thing I can’t get the SF channel.

  24. Tall Chick says:

    I’m just going to keep commenting because I love word verif so much. It makes me feel so smart every time I beat it.

  25. Tall Chick says:

    Actually, I only want to go to Cornwall to see the tiny chickens.

  26. egan says:

    Tall Chick – well if you click the provided link in the first sentence of the post, you can learn more about Bear.
    Tall Chick – I’m going to get you satellite dish.

  27. egan says:

    Tall Chick – wow, you’re back and not messing around. Look at you comment away. I feel so loved, as if I was a child of yours.
    Tall Chick – I love Canada. J’adore le Canada. There, I said it in their two official languages so it must be true. Don’t make me prove my love for Canada.

  28. brookem says:

    I haven’t seen the show but sounds like a neat concept. Hmm… I’d pick either Ireland, or some far off tropical Island.
    NO clue on the names. None.

  29. Amanda says:

    Is this remote enough?
    The other night I watched that wolf guy show. He’s going to be eaten like that guy who lived with the bears. It’s only a matter of time. But the wolf guy is freakier because he actually acts like a wolf. I was disturbed.
    And you’ve officially stumped me on the names. Google was no help unless you’re ruling out Diva names.

  30. Amanda says:

    TC is back! I missed her shenanigans

  31. egan says:

    Brookem – it really is a fun show to watch. If you’re a fan of accents, he’s got one and he gets all dirty. Fun times. Ha, I stumped you and Amanda on the names thing.
    Amanda – where the hell is that? I see houses in teh picture so that doesn’t count. Please try again. And try again on the name thing. Think of an actor who everyone loves and go from there. The wolf guy does look hella freaky, but that’s what makes it fun to watch. Rick Steeves taming wolves would be lame.
    Amanda – you and me both. We’ll see how long she keeps up her antics. I bet she will leave soon because she’s got the kids digging ditches for her. She’s so rough on them.

  32. Tall Chick says:

    See what I’m saying about the protestething? ^_^
    Amanda – Eeeeeevil shennanigans! ^_^
    I have a thread of names for you Egan. Can you find the common factor? I’ll be very disappointed it you can’t. But I’m going to have to leave out the one obvious name, too, unless you have trouble:
    Isabelle, Clarisse, Sibylla, Emilia

  33. Tall Chick says:

    You have a little over an hour, because even though it’s my day off, I’m off to teach anyway.
    I’m trying to figure out your name theme – POTO (no, silly, Egan is not a POTO fan, and only one of those works anyway)
    Ummmmm, parts played by an actress Egan likes?

  34. Amanda says:

    Only an hour of TC? No!!! That’s not enough!
    Damn…I thought that would be remote enough. Ok…I’ll just go to Antarctica with you, Mez & Airam. Because I can’t think of anywhere else. To be honest, I would die anywhere there was no actual bathroom to use even port-a-potty’s would be acceptable)…Amanda is not down with squatting to pee, yo.
    What is a POTO? What kind of acronym is that?

  35. Laurie says:

    rain forest of belize. it’s where i’d like to visit next if i could get my kids to get the damn immunizations.

  36. Chris says:

    I do like the show – there’s something interesting about watching someone else eat funky stuff in “exotic Locales”.

  37. Amanda says:

    And I give up on the names. Me too sleepy to think right now.

  38. Lynn says:

    I would like to be dropped off on a beach in Maui, with a tall cool drink and some nice shade…if needed.

  39. sprizee says:

    I’ll tell you the story of Jimmy Jet —
    And you know what I tell you is true.
    He loved to watch his TV set
    Almost as much as you.
    He watched all day, he watched all night
    Till he grew pale and lean,
    From “The Early Show” to “The Late Late Show”
    And all the shows between.
    He watched till his eyes were frozen wide,
    And his bottom grew into his chair.
    And his chin turned into a tuning dial,
    And antennae grew out of his hair.
    And his brains turned into TV tubes,
    And his face to a TV screen.
    And two knobs saying “VERT.” and “HORIZ.”
    Grew where his ears had been.
    And he grew a plug that looked like a tail
    So we plugged in little Jim.
    And now instead of him watching TV
    We all sit around and watch him.

  40. Amanda says:

    Weird. In my attempt to keep myself awake (and because you & TC decided to quit playing…sheesh), I was looking through Blogger’s “Blogs of Note” and found that link. There are some cute penguin pictures.

  41. meno says:

    Drop me off in the middle of Manhattan. I would perish in less than one day. Or did i get dropped off with charge cards?

  42. Amy says:

    Now there’s a show I could get into. Not like that other show you talked about (Intervention – I think?).
    A pee headdress…cool!

  43. Burr-ee-toe says:

    OMG, I was watching that same episode last night!!! I loved that he was climbing that coconut tree with no shirt. Yummy! I was also wondering how they got a camera up in the tree.

  44. egan says:

    Candace – I love when you comment on my blog so carry on. Um, I need more time to figure out the name thing.
    Candace – what’s POTO? Don’t make me create my own abbreviation. Nope, think of an actor loved by almost every woman between 25 and 45.
    Amanda – I know, an hour is clearly not enough. Come to Antarctica with me, Airam, and Mez. It will be a grand time. Mez and Airam are teachers so they would give us all the science lessons. You could croon about it and I will document it on my blog. I have no clue what POTO is.
    Lynn – I love love love Maui. Somewhere off the beaten path near Hana would be pretty great too.
    Sprizee – I didn’t know you had this in you. I’m impressed. (this is when you tell me you copied and pasted it from somewhere else right?)
    Amanda – see, I can blog about trip too. I want to be a Blog of Note someday.
    Meno – Manhattan isn’t that scary, trust me. I’ve been there a few times. Sure there are tons of peeps, but they don’t bite.
    Amy – I think you’d really like this show. I know Intervention isn’t your style, but Man vs. Wild should be right up your alley.
    Burr-ee-toe – he’s a hottie. Without the shirt on and stuff and the accent, dreamy. I can’t quite figure out the camera stuff either, especially the raft thing. Sharks!

  45. tori says:

    Your mom’s yarn room would be perfect. Could she keep me company and knit with me too? Sign me up for that!

  46. Lynn says:

    Near Hana would be fine too…just as long as no one dropped me off at the Haleakala Crater after dark…it’s toooooo cold.

  47. Cazzie says:

    I would go to Kalbarri Western Australia, just marvellous 🙂

  48. Amanda says:

    Lost, Lost, Lost, Lost…please tell me you watched it last night.

  49. tori says:

    Amanda, I watched Lost.

  50. Tall Chick says:

    Phanton Of the Opera
    FINE! I will give you the last name and you’ll get it right away: Vesper.
    You give up too easily. ^_^

  51. Tall Chick says:

    So you’re saying your thread of commonality is that these are names of characters played by some hot actor guy?
    Um.
    No, maybe his counterparts. Or ex-wives?
    *tries desperately to think of male actors whom Egan would consider hot*

  52. Amanda says:

    TC – I know the commonality of these names now. Monkey Boy was being tricky! And when you say Phantom of the Opera, you’re kind of close because the person who played Carlotta in the recent musical has been in another movie with this HOT actor Egan referenced (and I agree…I do love this guy and he is hot).
    Yay! Tori watches Lost, too!

  53. brookem says:

    so what was the name answer?
    sweet, i can join the cool kids club because i watch lost too!

  54. sandra says:

    I’d like to get dropped off somewhere warm and beautiful…and could there be cute men there?

  55. egan says:

    Tori – my mom has the gift of gab, so yes she would gladly keep you company. I will add you to her list.
    Airam – lag is Italian for caliente right?
    Lynn – Haleakala, the best Hawaiian name/word ever. Well maybe wahini and pu’unene are a close second/third. It’s cool near Hana.
    Cazzie – I would love to get to Australia at some point. I hear it’s nice Down Under. I love your posts sharing Melbourne’s history.
    Amanda – yes, I watched Lost. Hit me! Or knife me!
    Tori – and… what did you think?
    Tall Chick – normally I don’t give up so easily, but I had no clue on your hints. Opera singers?
    Tall Chick – think GP near Detroit and I guy who owes someone two dollars.
    Amanda – those are some good clues. Now let me track down where you’ve starting chatting about Lost.
    Brookem – I will post theme very shortly. Here’s a hint, in your eyes. Let’s chat about Lost yo.
    Sandra – hi and happy belated birthday. I totally suck for taking so long to say anything. Sounds like Hawaii, not sure about the men part. Yeah, there are men there too.

  56. brookem says:

    You give me the urge to go bust out Sixteen Candles…
    Do you think Kate is going to be preggers?

  57. egan says:

    Brookem – I never even went there, but now that you mention it… it could be a possibility with all that crazy sex she and Sawyer are having. Hmmm, I wonder.
    Sixteen Candles? No wrong movie. Think of the one that was filmed in Seattle.

  58. sprizee says:

    I had the entire works of Shel Silverstein memorized by the age of 8.

  59. Burr-ee-toe says:

    My fiance has told me I need to stop yelling out “take your clothes off!” when we watch Man vs. Wild. 😦

  60. brookem says:

    I think I chose Sixteen Candles because there was a Samantha in it. Idiot for not connecting the right song.
    Say Anything?!

  61. Amanda says:

    Kate preggers??? I didn’t think of that either, but yeah…she has been doin’ it a lot. But she annoyed me last night running off to tell Jack. She needs to get off her Jack dependency. He’s with Juliet now (I don’t really know that he is…I’m just sayin’). “Get over it…go out with someone else!”
    Also Better Off Dead…favorite quote from this one?:
    “She only speaks French, Roy. She doesn’t speak imbecile.”

  62. egan says:

    Sprizee – I’m trying really hard to figure out how the Shel Silverstein remark of yours ties in to things. I’m in the dark here.
    Burr-ee-toe – wow, that’s pretty hot stuff. Do you scratch him and stuff too?
    Brookem – correct on the movie Say Anything. You’re not an idiot, you’re a Taurus like me. Never a bad thing.
    Amanda – yes, think about that why don’t you. Brookem could be on to something with her preggers theory. I want to know what they’re not telling Kate. My guess is it’s the baby thing. I love Locke’s character a lot. Now that’s a great quote Amanda.

  63. Melissavina says:

    Whoever said they’d like to be dropped off at a bar with a corporate Amex card, is a genius.
    I, however, would like to be dropped off into a giant pool full of cash, and somehow a wheelbarrow is there, and a jet.

  64. egan says:

    Melissavina – I believe Furiousball made that comment about the corporate credit card.
    Hmm, cash and a jet. That being said, where would you land the jet once you stuffed all the money on the plane?

  65. Amanda says:

    Either the baby thing or that Juliet is acting like she’s there for Ben, but really they have something else planned. But she has to keep the facade or something. I don’t know. But next weeks episode looks scary!

  66. Nessa says:

    I can survive anywhere after watching those shows. The first rule is to stay dry.
    I’d like to go to New Zealand.

  67. Hypersonic says:

    If I were dropped off somewhere, it would have to be in the wilds of Las Vegas with it’s exotic wildlife and dangerous situations. Poisonous insects and unfriendly natives. To rough it in a five-star hotel and try to survive on only room service and gourmet restaurants. Oh, the horror and the hardship!

  68. justrun says:

    That’s pretty cool. Some people get all the fun jobs- dang. I’m thinking, though, at this point I’d be happy to be left somewhere and NOT immediately find my way out.

  69. Lynn says:

    O.K….I’ll bite…I know that “wahini” is a woman (I think), but what is pu’unene?

  70. ChickyBabe says:

    Funny you chose Nicole… she was my first ever friend and like a sister to me. But no…

  71. The Grunt says:

    Egan, I share the same love for Bear as you do. I also like the Canadian guy who does a similar show on that network.

  72. jungle jane says:

    when did you move into a tree, Egan? will the baby be okay on a branch? It’s all so confusing…

  73. Lynn says:

    Since you have not posted yet today, let me be the first, from blogland, to wish you a very happy birthday…so without any further ado…hummmm (I’m getting my voice ready)…Happy birthday to you, cha cha cha. Happy birthday to you, cha cha cha. Happy birthday to Egan, cha cha cha. Happy birthday to you, and many more;~)

  74. brookem says:

    Happy Birthday, bday buddy!!! Hope it’s fabulous!

  75. Amanda says:

    Feliz Cumpleaños a ti!

  76. egan says:

    Amanda – I love how much thought you’ve put into Lost. You’re cracking me up. Juliet is a skank.
    Nessa – wow, this sounds like a challenge. I think I’m going to plop you on the north island in New Zealand then. You ready?
    Hypersonic – Vegas, now that could be an adventure. Five star hotels and swanky restaurants are such a drag.
    Justrun – I’ve always had this fantasy of that exact thing, blindfold me and I have to find my way back home. I think NBC tried to do a reality show similar to that a few years ago. It was a flop, but an interesting idea.
    Lynn – pu’unene is the name of the highway in Maui. My wife and I love saying it over and over. Same with Haleakala. We’re huge dorks.
    Brookem – thank you so much. I hope this day is special for you too. It’s sweet when your birthday is on a Friday.
    Amanda – gracias amiga. You’re so kind.

  77. Lynda says:

    If I could be dropped off anywhere…I will have to think on that one.

  78. Tall Chick says:

    Darn! I didn’t get back here in time to guess. But you’re right. He IS hot. 🙂 (In that endearing puppydog sort of way)
    If you didn’t get it from Vesper, you need mental treatment. They’re all characters played by Green. Eva Green.

  79. egan says:

    Lynda – yeah, think about it and get back to me. In the spirit of the show it should be somewhere very remote.
    Tall Chick – yikes, I don’t know her roles well enough. I know other “things” about her though. I know she was born in Paris and speaks both English and French. I also know she’s pretty damn hot. Vesper, noted.

Leave a Reply

