Cuatro de Mayo

Psstt… it may be a certain person’s birthday today. 

Overheard words/conversation on this day in 1973:

check out the unit on the little guy, waaa, umbilical cord, he’s kind of small, boy number five is here, holy shit, we have a swimmer, bonjour, Egan, looks like a monkey smells like a poop, how you feeling mom, that’s what he said, golly gee willickers, time for a little snippy snippy.

Thanks mom for giving birth to me.  Thanks for not being a crack addicted whore, not that there’s anything wrong with that.  A birthday seems to mean more with a child on the way.  I’m trying to picture my mom with a belly and five kids running around.  I’m currently overwhelmed with stuff and we don’t have any kids already living in the house. 

Speaking of the house, the bathroom remodel is complete.  We did our first load of laundry in the revamped bathroom last night.  I still need to test out the shower to make sure it’s friendlier than our previous death trap.  There’s still painting to be done to give it a finished look.  I will provide pictures next week so you can see the improvement.

Anyways, yes today is my birthday.  It also happens to be Sally and Brooke‘s birthday as well.  Tonight we’ll have 10-15 friends over at our place.  It will be nice to catch up with our friends and celebrate my 34 years on this planet.  Have a great weekend everyone!

——————

TODAY’S RULED OUT BABY NAMES: Kemonyoby, Yeomo, Ekomony, Boomken, Knoeby, and Moon Key. (theme = baby names created with the letters of "monkey boy")

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Vanity is Overrated. Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Cuatro de Mayo

  1. Amanda says:

    “Holy shit” will probably be uttered many a times if I ever get knocked up.
    We’re all pretty happy that your mom gave birth to you to. She has to be a special person to have 5 boys and still be sane today. Just sayin’. Have a wonderful bday get together tonight – eat lots of cake. Mmmm, cake.
    And damn you and your tricky names.

  2. egan says:

    Amanda – it was actually six boys when she retired from baby production. Six boys and one girl. Now you can see why I am the way I am. Strawberry white chocolate cake has been ordered and will be consumed tonight. Yum!

  3. Bevin says:

    Happy Birthday! The cake sounds delicious, go rock it out!

  4. furiousball says:

    Happy Birthday to one of my favorite bloggers. Thank your mom and dad for getting the blog gene just right.

  5. egan says:

    Furiousball – hey thanks man. My mom and dad are special people. I kind of wish I had a better relationship with my dad, but my mom and I get along really well. Take care and have a great weekend.

  6. Chris says:

    Happy Birthday brother E! Have a great day and a great weekend!

  7. egan says:

    Chris – just as long as you don’t call me Cardinal Egan. That dude is messed up, you should know him well since he hails from your hometown. Thank you kind sir. (I picture you saying this as Desmond from Lost)

  8. patches says:

    Awww, happy birthday egan! That cake looks really good. Will you be serving it with credit cards or plasticware?

  9. tori says:

    Happy birthday! Now I want cake! Thank goodness I get to eat a lot of it tomorrow, or you would be in trouble for making me crave it!
    I just read patches comment and it really made me laugh. I had forgotten about the credit card…interesting thought to try for old times sake.

  10. Amanda says:

    Ok, now I’m all flustered because you just mentioned Desmond from Lost.
    And I want cake now, too. I will probably go make one tonight. In honor of your birthday. Ok, not really – it’ll be just because I want some cake. With frosting. And Desmond.
    I forgot there were 6 boys. My bad. Yes, I understand why you are the way you are. Kind of. Ok, enough of my goofiness. Where’s Tall Chick?

  11. egan says:

    Patches – damn, you’ve got a great memory. I should offer credit cards as utensils tonight. I like your way of thinking. Thanks for the birthday wishes.
    Tori – I know, isn’t Patches brilliant? I might have to loan out a few credit cards for old time sake. You will get plenty of cake tomorrow.
    Amanda – your comment is a classic. I love it. I get the feeling you’re all cooped up and shit. It’s like Desmond had you as his prisoner, gag in the mouth and all. Then he took the gag out and your mouth took off like a jet. You typed what was immediately on your mind. Is Desmond appearing in your dreams?

  12. Amanda says:

    Can you blame me?
    I like this scenario. Make for good mental images while I’m trying to get through my 2 hour conference call.

  13. meno says:

    Happy Birthday to you.
    For your present, i will NOT sing.
    Be grateful.

  14. egan says:

    Amanda – do you have pin-up posters of Desmond above your waterbed? If the answer to this question is yes, please seek immediate help.

  15. StevieR says:

    Hey Egan,
    Okay, two posts in a month – I have way too much internet time on my hands. But happy birthday, hope you have a good time tonight woopin it up.
    Also, reading about your bathroom reno, I don’t know if you’re aware but there is a whole subspecies of blogs devoted to house renovations. It was started by a couple in Chicago – their blog is at HouseinProgress.net. I really have to learn to hyperlink… Anyways, enjoy your last days of non-babyhood, say hi to N-Po for me. Cheers man.

  16. Amy says:

    Tip for next year. If you don’t invite people over, you get more cake for yourself. I still have 1/2 a chocolate chip cheese cake in the freezer since Tuesday. I’m enjoying it one slice at a time! Yummy!

  17. egan says:

    Amy – ha, that’s a great birthday cake tip. Plus there are zero calories on my birthday and money means nothing either. That’s how I like to roll on my birthday. Spare nothing on the most important day of the year.
    Stevie R – is this you Mr. Canada? How are you? I will have to check out the site you mentioned. To link to something such as a URL, use the (h ref) html tag. It’s good shit. Thanks for the birthday wishes. Are you living on the Island these days or back on the mainland? (P.S. I changed your URL to a link)

  18. justrun says:

    Happy Birthday!!
    Hope it’s a great one! I’ve always heard 34 is a fantastic age- so don’t let me down. 🙂

  19. jeci says:

    Happy birthday, dude!

  20. naynayfazz says:

    Happy Birthday to you. You live in a zoo. You smell like a monkey and you throw poo like one… TOOOOOO!
    Thank you, thank you. Be good to your bartenders. I’ll be here all night.

  21. egan says:

    Justrun – you know, the last few years of my life have been really blissful. I mean that too. I hope to carry the trend through my 34th year.
    Jeci – thanks chica. I hope your biking training is going well.

  22. egan says:

    Naynayfazz – ha, you made a funny about bartenders. Like I’m going to see one tonight. Very funny. Thanks for the song and the well wishes.

  23. brookem says:

    THANK YOU!!! Happy Birthday to you as well! Enjoy that fantastic sounding cake. I’m jealous!

  24. Lynda says:

    Happy birthday!! I thought you were a few years younger than me, but we are pretty much the same age. Well, we were yesterday.
    Will you mail me a piece of that strawberry white chocolate cake? Sounds delicious!

  25. Jennifer says:

    Oh, Egan. Your heartfelt thanks to your mother for not being a crack addicted whore warmed my heart.
    Happy birthday. May all your wishes come true.

  26. Karla says:

    Big Birthday Wishes Egan! But are you lowering your standards in your old age?
    “Thanks mom for giving birth to me. Thanks for not being a crack addicted whore, not that there’s anything wrong with that.”
    Funny!

  27. Cake-Lady says:

    Happy Birthday, sorry I’m late with the Birthday wishes.

  28. Happy Birthday, my dear! I hope you get good cake tonight.

  29. Airam says:

    Happy Birthday to you. You live in a zoo. You look like a monkey. And you smell like one too!

  30. sizzle says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

  31. egan says:

    Brookem – the cake will be amazing. I know the cake very very well. We had the same kind of cake at our wedding.
    Lynda – I get the age thing all the time. But nope, me is 34 today. I know exactly what goes into the cake down to the chocolate that’s used. I’m good like that since it where I worked in college.
    Jennifer – I’m glad you understand my sarcasm so well, seriously. My mom did call today from Northern California. My brother and my mom drove down there to see family sort on a whim. I love that about my family. Thanks for the birthday wishes and best of luck with your son.
    Karla – my mom would love that I typed that out. We’re tight. Have a nice weekend.
    Cake-Lady – thanks for the bday wishes. I’ll save a piece for you.
    Sally – happy birthday to you as well! Woohoo! You know exactly where I’m getting our cake. The only place that matters when it comes to cakes, fuck what Yelpers have to say. “cake” isn’t an innuendo is it?
    Airam – must monkeys in the US do live in zoos so you’re right. Thanks for the birthday wishes.
    Sizzle – thanks chica. Now we’re the same age again. Woohoo! Tauruses rock the house yo!

  32. sprizee says:

    Happy Birthday Egan!

  33. egan says:

    Sprizee – thank you very much. Have a great time north of the border.

  34. Thomas says:

    It looks like the new blog is working well, Egan. Good job.

  35. StevieR says:

    Yup, it’s the Remedios boy up in Vancouver. I’m well, just got back from traveling to SE Asia a couple months ago, and am looking to head down to Portland soon. Sounds like you’re doing well. Take care man,
    Steve

  36. kim says:

    I hope it was a great party Egan.. Happy Birthday *big hugs*

  37. jungle jane says:

    HEY! it’s my birthday too! i can’t believe your forgot!

  38. Good for Me says:

    Bon Anniversaire! Lovely tribute, Egan. Hope your celebration was wonderful!

  39. Tall Chick says:

    Duuuuuuuude! Happy birthday!!! I’m sorry I missed it. I hope you had a wonderful day!

  40. Brooke says:

    I missed it! Hope it was a great one. I’ll get details later.

  41. Amanda says:

    No…no pinups of Desmond. I’m not that bad. Yet.
    How was your party? And the cake (pictures if you have any)? And did you get any good loot?

  42. Lady Roxanne says:

    awsomeness… happy b day monkey poo smelling man

  43. logo™ says:

    Hope it was a fabulous birthday and the party was good fun.
    Cake sounds amazing and a big shout out to your non- crack whore mom, she did good!

  44. col says:

    Moon Key…I like that!

  45. ChickyBabe says:

    Joyeux anniversaire Egan! I bet you were a cute petit singe who threw cute little tantrums before learning to fling poo!
    xoxo

  46. Laurie says:

    happy belated birthday! hope you had a good one.
    i always said if i had 3 boys i’d have my uterus ripped out. your mom had way more guts than i ever will.

  47. Laurie says:

    i am glad i did it even though we don’t have a super close relationship. i did find out that breast cancer runs in her family which was one of the main reasons for finding her.
    i think it was on reunionregistry.com or something like that. i put in my info and she put in hers 3 days apart. my birth cert matches the name she gave me at birth (well the numbers matched) it was very surreal though.

  48. Janet says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY CHUM!!!! I’m very thankful that your mother wasn’t a crack whore either (can I say that??? Will you hate me???) because I couldn’t imagine you being half as fun to read if you mind was anyway otherwise.

  49. mez says:

    oh my god happy belated birthday!!!!! I’m glad your Ma gave birth to you too *big hugs* 😀

  50. Happy Belated Birthday, Egan. I’m a bit jealous that you’re five years older than me but look five years younger. Bah!

  51. celeste says:

    Hey Egan,
    I hope the weekend is going well for you! I’m also happy for you that the bathroom reno is done, that must be a big relief 🙂

  52. sandra says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  53. egan says:

    Thomas – thanks for visiting my “new” blog. I had this blog for over two years though. Good job is right.
    Steve – were you traveling in SE Asia or working? Thanks for the home improvement blog. I will keep my eyes peeled. What are your plans for Portland?
    Kim – it was a great party. Ironically we were the only ones sans enfant. I can see why my single friends didn’t show up. I good time was had, thanks for asking and for the birthday wishes.
    Jungle Jane – great I will send a flat of lettuce to Asics.
    Good for Me – the celebration was grand. I think my tribute warms my mom’s heart.
    Tall Chick – the birthday was good. The weekend was also very awesome. Busy, but got much accomplished. Thanks for the birthday blessing.
    Brooke – the day was great, more details to follow.
    Amanda – the cake is all gone and I failed to get pictures. I’m afraid it would make you all too hungry. Some might even be tempted to move to Seattle and we don’t need that. I heard about the tornadoes. Be safe.
    Roximoon – hello there and thanks for the birthday wishes.
    Logo – my non-crack whore mom is probably in a car driving back up to Seattle after a few days in Northern California.
    Col – Moon Key is a fan favorite and sounds kind of like monkey.
    ChickyBabe – I’m not really sure what I did. Birthdays as a child in a big family kind of got overshadowed. We lumped our birthdays together since three of them happened within two weeks. Lots of Taureans. Merci pour les voeux!
    Laurie – hmmm, what about three girls? Are boys really that bad? Thanks for the belated birthday wishes.
    Laurie – thanks for answering my questions regarding your adoption. I know my wife has no interest in finding her birth parents, but to each their own.
    Janet – thank you for siding with me. Yes, you can say all you want about the lack of a crack addicted mom. It does make life easier and I can even maintain a blog.
    Mez – hugs right back at you. I’m pretty fortunate my mom had me and that I was never lacking for love. Thanks for the birthday wishes.
    Snay – that’s a nice thing of you to say about my appearance. I’ve got a baby face as they say.
    Celeste – we’re stoked the bathroom remodel is complete. We did discover something I wish I learned about before, a slow drain. It’s a huge relief and now it’s time to paint. Stay tuned for pictures.
    Sandra – ha, thanks woman. Aging rocks!

  54. Cazzie says:

    Just wonderful, a bithday, a new bathroom and laundry and a baby on the way, marvellous 🙂

  55. egan says:

    Cazzie – yeah, much is happening in my life these days. I suppose that’s why I fell asleep on the couch. I shit hit the sack now.

  56. Happy Birthin’ Day!
    (I’ve sent you some virtual spankings and waiting for you to cut the cake. I’m hungry.)

  57. Jay says:

    Happy birthday, sweetie.

  58. Churlita says:

    Hey, happy birthday. I’ve never thought to thank my mom for not being a crack whore before. If she were still alive, I would get right on that.

  59. nessa says:

    Happy Belated Birthday. Hope you had loads of fun and that your shower is safe.

  60. egan says:

    Mona – virtual spankings? Sweet, how do I redeem them?
    Jay – hey thanks for the well wishes and the visit.
    Churlita – it’s the least I can say to my mom. We don’t thank them enough for the things they didn’t do. Mother’s Day is fast approaching so I will have another chance soon enough to thank her again for something equally as important.
    Nessa – the baby shower was safe, unless… unless you were the Curious George pinata. Poor Curious George.

  61. amber. says:

    Ahh, come on, Moon Key is a great name. Please reconsider.
    Amber.

  62. egan says:

    Amber – hello and welcome to my blog. Moon Key is fantastic name for sure. I think we’re skipping over it though since my last name isn’t Zappa.

Leave a Reply

