Time Keeps on Ticking Ticking…

Three months from today is the precise due date of our daughter.  The due date hasn’t changed once yet, although they say there’s about a 5% chance she’ll be born that day. 

Speaking of our daughter.  We have a name chosen so I can stop tap dancing around the Ruled Out Baby Name mumbo jumbo.  You’ve been great sports putting up with blog baby name games the past 4-5 months.  That’s all about to change though as her name will be revealed this week.  I will have one final game where you can pick her name correctly… stay tuned.  You have to be patient though since I’ve only dreamed up this most recent contest in my head. 

Tonight marks our first baby class and tomorrow starts the final trimester of my wife’s pregnancy.  So yes, things are becoming much more real for us.  I think the classes tonight will cement this notion for us.  We had a doctor appointment today and everything is going well.  The best part, I still weigh more than my wife does. 

——————

Oh yeah, it was two years ago last weekend we officially took possession of our current house.  It’s hard to believe we’ve already been here two years.  I updated the house pictures in the left margin or you can click here to see the finished product.  After my bike ride yesterday I thought I’d deflower the shower.  Well, it turns out the shower doesn’t drain very well so I’ve got a plumber coming over tomorrow to investigate the issue.  Sucky!

——————

Finally, the birthday party went well Friday night.  Homemade macaroni and cheese was served along with a fabulous strawberry white chocolate cake.  A good time was had by everyone, from my biased vantage point.  I made the rounds with the children and even got a present from our friend’s two year old daughter.  All the kids (and adults) attending got along pretty well.  The following was overheard at the party: "mommy, is she real?".  Our friend’s daughter, who also gave me the pink dog, said this about our other friend’s six month old daughter.  Too cute.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Housecapades. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Time Keeps on Ticking Ticking…

  1. naynayfazz says:

    I can’t wait until you announce the baby’s name.
    Yum, homemade mac and cheese. Sounds like a good birthday to me.
    I went to my sister’s birthing class with her and her hubby. It was very interesting and exciting. But then she had a c-section and I was bummed. I hope you can experience the baby birthing magic!

  2. Lynn says:

    Three months…final trimester…wow, things are really moving right along. Glad to hear that the doctors appt. went well.
    Sounds like you had a yummilicious birthday party, especially the cake;~)
    Looking forward to guessing baby girls real name…since you’ve discounted so many names, are there even any names left?

  3. Lynn says:

    p.s. Now I can’t get the ‘Fly Like an Eagle’ song out of my head. Good thing that I like it.

  4. tori says:

    Sounds like a great time! Homemade mac and cheese is one of my favorites!

  5. egan says:

    Naynayfazz – the name announcement should occur this week. I have a few ideas up my sleeve. A c-section isn’t ideal for most moms, but the alternative isn’t worth risking. I know many moms who have had c sections. To think I’m afraid of sticking a needle in me. I’m so wimpy.
    Lynn – there are plenty of good names left to choose. Someone was very very close in my anniversary post last week. That’s about all I will say right now. The cake was very yummy and a big hit with all those attending. Yep, the third trimester is upon us and my wife is starting to get sleepy again. She has about ten more weeks of work.
    Lynn – I figured someone had to get that song stuck in their head aside from me. You’re welcome.
    Tori – do you put bread crumbs on top of your mac & cheese? That’s a killer way to make it taste wunderbar.

  6. justrun says:

    Deflower the shower. Ha!

  7. Amanda says:

    Hooray! Another game where I have no chances of winning!
    Are you super excited about the baby class tonight? Hope it’s fun! Congrats on the bathroom – that’s a big thing. And I hope they figure out why it’s not draining…that is horrible – especially in walk-in showers!
    Quit talkin’ about that cake! I’m sure it was much more fabulous than the yellow cupcakes with fudge frosting that I made yesterday.

  8. Amanda says:

    Oh…and you should do a pool for the actual birth day (provided Mrs. L goes natural, of course). Like they did on Saved By the Bell when Mr. Belding’s wife was pregnant. Again, another contest where I have no chance, but still fun to watch all the same!

  9. Airam says:

    Can’t wait to hear all about the class …. do you think that there will be reference made about the vagina being like a flower or that the only way a male can know what birth feels like is by pushing a watermelong up is a-hole?

  10. Airam says:

    watermelon … not watermelong … god I’m so anal.

  11. Amy says:

    What a coincidence, I had home-made macaroni and cheese for my birthday dinner as well.
    Don’t wear out your new toy before your little girl arrives. I’m sure she will love to get to play with it.

  12. CS says:

    The remodel looks good, and jsut in time it sounds like. Good luck with the last trimester – it is both excruciatingly long and terrifyingly quick!

  13. Candace says:

    I usually smell more flowery when I get out of the shower. Though I may have been deflowered in there a few times. If that can happen more than once.

  14. Candace says:

    PS VERY nice new bathroom! So you are going to stand on the sink and pee out the window onto the flowers? šŸ˜‰

  15. meno says:

    If your wife gets to the point where she does weigh more than you do, you don’t need need to mention it. Really.

  16. mez says:

    Even if you have to eat a pound of butter a night you must make sure her weight stays below yours. Either that or if it gets to that crucial stage… start lying.

  17. egan says:

    Justrun – it’s not as naughty as it sounds. Just a brief shower to give the sweat off.
    Amanda – oh, perfect time for the baby name game then. Don’t you already know the name? I think I told you and a few others. Now I have to remember who I did and didn’t tell. The baby class was useful. I’m not sure I would say it was fun, but it was informative. Let’s pretend the cake didn’t exist.
    Amanda – what a great Saved by the Bell refererence. I’m very impressed. Did Mr. Belding’s wife really do that? So cool.
    Airam – ha, there wasn’t a reference to the vagina being like a flower. There was a video of a live birth which had me wincing a bit. I’m working on the pain threshold. The watermelon image isn’t a good picture in my head. Ouch.
    Airam – good, you’re so anal… or at least, that’s what he said. I’m bad, I know.
    Amy – homemade mac & cheese is the best. I love it for real. Real cheese and bread crumbs make it so good. Bonita is a keeper alright. I’ll save her for the little girl.
    CS – that’s a great description of the final trimester. Things are already starting to change I can tell. Yeah, we love the remodel.
    Candace – you and your active shower imagination. So the shower is a hot spot for you and MuNKi? I’ve noted this. Deflowered is so fun to say and type.
    Candace – I could do that because there might be a time when they really need yellow water. Nah, I’m going to refrain from this kind of behavior like a mature male.
    Meno – ha, you make a great point. Just need to let you know, I’m not the person tracking this. But yes, I will make sure the truth doesn’t get out.
    Mez – don’t tempt me young woman. I could eat a stick of butter daily. I might have to resort to lying.

  18. ChickyBabe says:

    I can’t believe you compared weight!!!
    No more guessing baby names, that’s sad. I kept checking and thinking maybe…

  19. Nessa says:

    Can’t wait to find out the name you’ve chosen.

  20. Happy Birthday! I like being 34, how about you?? You’ll remember that stuffed dog with all the details of before you had your child, especially when she plays with it and chews it and sleeps with it!

  21. Amanda says:

    Yes, you told me the name. But even knowing it, I’ll probably still lose. Because that’s just how everything works for me.
    And I think Zack Morris was the culprit behind the baby birth date pool on SBTB. I think if I recall correctly, Mrs. Belding had the baby at Bayside because they were trapped in an elevator when an earthquake happened (one of the kids had to help deliver) and Screech ended up winning the pool. I’m pretty sure that’s how it all went down. But this is all from memory so I could have some of the details wrong.

  22. tori says:

    Amanda, you are killing me with the Saved By The Bell. I think you have your facts correct about that.
    Egan, the weight thing cracked me up. I once had a boyfriend who was skinnier than me, and it was always an issue for me. Good for you for continuing to weigh more than your wife. That’s the least you can do for her since she is doing all the baby growing part herself.

  23. tori says:

    Oh, and it wouldn’t be homemade mac and cheese without the breadcrumbs!

  24. Good for Me says:

    wow, what a difference in your bathroom! and i love the tile…yummy. any chance your floor is heated? boy, wouldn’t that be even more yummy?
    glad you had a great bday…and a nice bike ride šŸ™‚
    can’t wait for the baby name game.

  25. furiousball says:

    I had a roommate in my 20s that was a horrible alcoholic and the portrait of cancer race 1999, but he could cook the crap out of homemade mac n’ cheese. Not sure what that means, but yahtzee!

  26. Cake Lady says:

    How exciting! A contest, home made Mac and cheese and finally we will know the little girls name! Can’t wait!

  27. patches says:

    Wow, its hard to believe we’re beginning the third trimester already. Uh oh, I juste type we didn’t I ? Freudian slip I suppose. Some of us our enjoying the pregnancy vicariously. Fewer things in life are this magical….Btw when it comes to the vicarious diaper changes I respectfully request to be spared…don’t have the stomach for it.

  28. Lynda says:

    Just when I figured out what the Ruled Out Baby Names was all about, too. I bet your wife is pretty glad you still weigh more than her.
    That is a sweet present from your friend’s daughter. You’re daughter will enjoy it, I think.

  29. Leezer says:

    Egan:
    Congratulations! The third tri-mester is the home stretch. Speaking of stretch, make sure Mrs. Les Singes has a comfy pair of sandals or flat shoes that she doesn’t care if she ruins. She’ll stretch those suckers out over the last couple of weeks and she’ll have to throw them away after the baby is born.
    Sorry for the practical and somewhat tedious advise. It’s what we mothers do, you know.

  30. Chris says:

    Actually, the way I recall it, the song goes “Time keeps on surfing, surfing, surfing…”
    Either way, take good care of the lovely Mrs. Lessinges as she enters her third trimester where it’s likely her hormones will make every moment of every day just a bit more interesting. šŸ™‚

  31. LeiselB says:

    I’m with Candace….

  32. Rachel says:

    Poor thing. She is going to be 9 months pregnant in July/August. I hope you have central air or you are going to have one cranky mama.
    Are we going to find out the real name of the baby or the name you will use on the blog?

  33. brookem says:

    I LOVE love love the deck! And everything else, looks so great! Ha, sorry I kind of laughed at the shower drain issue. Is it all set now?
    Can’t wait to hear the chosen baby name! Happy Final Trimester!

  34. egan says:

    ChickyBabe – I wasn’t the one comparing the weight. It wasn’t my idea to do such a thing. I gave up on the baby name thing and your actual name. It just wasn’t going to happen.
    Nessa – I’m glad you’re anxious to learn about the name. I will do my best to keep the game as engaging as possible.
    steppingoverthejunk – yes, I will remember that stuff. I love stuffed animals, but don’t tell anyone a 34 year old man is keen on them. It’s likely to raise an eyebrow or two. Being 34 is good so far. No real complaints.
    Amanda – wow, I didn’t know you knew so much about Saved by the Bell. I had a few crushes to women on that show, but none were as intense as my crush on Screech.
    Tori – Amanda knows heaps about many useless tv shows. Try her! I will make sure I weigh more than my wife to some extent. However, making me eat ice cream every night isn’t a good thing. Damn those skinny guys.
    Tori – you got that sister, no breadcrumbs… why bother? That’s my thinking.
    Good for Me – the floor tile isn’t heated. However the light does blow warm area and it makes it nice and toasty in there. I hope to get a bike ride in today as it’s beautiful out.
    Furiousball – you’re a whack job man. I’m not sure how that story of yours relates, but it’s funny you shared.

  35. egan says:

    Cake Lady – look how generous I am. Providing all these details for you when I could keep them private. I’m the best.
    Patches – I love the “we” bit you typed. That’s some good stuff. Nothing wrong with living the vicarious lifestyle. Isn’t that the joy in bloggin? We get to hear/read about things others are doing. Trust me, there will be no diaper changing play-by-play on this blog.
    Lynda – it’s a goal of mine to weigh more than her and kick ass at my triathlon this summer. Something’s going to have to give though. Little Bonita is a cute pink dog.
    Leezer – so wearing heels is out? We’re hella excited to be in the third trimester. It’s go time.
    Chris – I hear the hormones take control of the body. Fun pregnancy fact alert: a pregnant woman produces as many hormones during pregnancy as it would take a non-pregnant woman 150 to produce. Enjoy.
    LeiselB – you’re with Candace on which point? The peeing out the window or making love in the shower? I need to know.
    Rachel – you made a funny. Come on now Rachel, you lived here didn’t you? How many homes had a/c you know of? We have a basement and it’s nice and chilly down there. Good question about the name. If I’m feeling generous, it will be the real deal.
    Brookem – the shower situation has gotten worse so no more laughing. I know you meant no harm. We also love the deck. It’s such a great spot to hang after work and on the weekends. Bring on the sun.

  36. jungle jane says:

    Dude. You had SO better not change your mind about the baby’s name. You know i won’t be happy if you do…

  37. egan says:

    Jungle Jane – oh really? I think you just threatened me. Now stay tuned Ms. Huffy Puffy or else suffer the consequences.

  38. jungle jane says:

    *starts chewing her fingernails*

  39. egan says:

    Jungle Jane – be careful where you spit those nail trimmings.

  40. brookem says:

    oh im sorry. im done laughing. i hope it gets all under control very shortly.
    do you have another shower?

  41. egan says:

    Brookem – yes, we do have another shower so it’s not a huge deal. It’s not like we used it before. We want it available so when the stream of out-of-town guests arrive before and after the baby, we’ll have two showers. In the grand scheme of things, it’s not the end of the world. The contractor says it’s a “50/50” thing too so it’s all good.

  42. Amanda says:

    SBTB is not useless. It got me through a month of being stuck on the sofa my senior year when I had mono.

  43. Amanda says:

    Procrastination has taken hold of me again. If I don’t pack tonight, I will have to do it after my final tomorrow and that will blow.

  44. egan says:

    Amanda – mono is the kissing disease right? You’re such a whore!
    Amanda – stop reading my blog, pack!

  45. Amanda says:

    MySpace & Facebook are boring today so I’m back. I don’t wants to pack!

  46. Amanda says:

    Mono is the kissing disease, but I got it from all the people in our fall musical. From sharing water bottles & chapstick. Bad idea.
    Oh, yeah…and I’m a whore. True dat, yo!

  47. egan says:

    Amanda – Facebook and MySpace are whores too! You can’t trust them, or so I’ve heard.
    Amanda – oh, I’m sure that’s your story and you’re sticking to it. I believe you yo!

  48. Amanda says:

    They are whores! I hate them! And they are evil. Pure, unadulterated evil.
    Humphf. Stupid myspace & facebook.

Leave a Reply

