Not All at Once Please

Tulips I’ve been staring at the previous post for too long, so a meandering post is what you’ll get. 

The basement bathroom drain issue I mentioned a week ago,  it seems to be fixed now.  The contractor came over late last week and fished out a half dollar sized rock from the drain.  That did help a bit, yet the drain was still backing up.  He returned this week dumped some hardcore stuff down the drain.  Whatever he used a few days ago, it did the trick.  I don’t want to know what exactly was used though.  It was explained to me by the contractor it’s gunk used to remove mortar from bricks.  Powerful it is no doubt. 

After our victorious 4-0 soccer win, I took my second shower in the newly remodeled bathroom.  Is it possible to love a bathroom?  For those interested, yes… I did score a goal for you.  I think I promised four people (my wife, Airam, Jane, and Queen) I would score a goal yesterday and dammit, I made them proud.  It was the ugliest goal ever, but who really cares.  I know I know… I make similar promises before every game, but I need to enjoy the moment. 

Speaking of showers, why do I always run out of shampoo when I have a full bottle of conditioner?  Pisses me off. 

For the losers in the crowd who happen to watch American Idol, that beatboxin’ Blake dude is from my hometown.  He went to my high school.  Nope, I wasn’t in the crowd with an "I love Blake" message scribbled on my abs, but it sure was freaky seeing my hometown on national TV.  Bothell, Washington represent yo!

——————

Since I’m an attention whore, I’m busy working up a new baby game.  Such ideas include guessing the birth date, baby weight, actual baby name, eye color, meals consumed at the hospital, items left at the house, how many pictures will I take at the hospital, hours of labor, birth position used, etc.  Trust me, this new contest will be fun for all.  The winner of the contest might get to keep the placenta.  What a great prize, beats the hell out an iPod sock I’ll never send.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Blog Fodder. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Not All at Once Please

  1. Amanda says:

    Shampoo & conditioner in one, my friend. Then you will never have the full bottle of conditioner, but empty shampoo bottle issue again. Unless you’re too good for combo hair cleaner. My SIL (actually 2 of my S’sIL) turn their noses up at 2-in-1 hair products because they are “beauticians”. Whatev. It gets the job done and that’s all that matters.
    Bring on the baby games. I won’t do well at them…the only one I was getting was the ruled out baby name themes. But it’s fun to try all the same. Although, no thanks on the placenta. Just keep teasing me with the iPod sock, thank you very much.

  2. Rachel says:

    I am first…YAY!!!

  3. Rachel says:

    Dangit Amanda!!!! You beat me!!!
    I usually run out of conditioner before I run out of shampoo. It drives me up the wall too. Then I buy the pack that has both in there and I end up with 3 or 4 bottles half full of shampoo.
    I really like Blake and I want him to win. I was a “Blaker Girl” from the time that he did Virtual Insanity by Jamiroqui. Loved it.
    And the fact that he is from Washington doesn’t hurt. I have a soft spot for anyone from my home state.
    Except for Ted Bundy and the Green River Killer.

  4. brookem says:

    I was just going to say, I think girls have the opposite shampoo/conditioner situation going on. Rachel beat me to the punch!
    So glad to hear that your shower issue is mostly resolved. And I’m glad you can be in love with a shower.

  5. furiousball says:

    Baby games are a much better to flex your attention whore muscles…much better than doing handstands on the beech wearing a thong…seriously, you might fall and hurt yourself or something.

  6. Churlita says:

    Congratulations on your new bathroom and your hometown representation on national television. Whooo hooo!

  7. tori says:

    I have this weird thing where I always think we are out of conditioner while I am at the store, so I buy another bottle, when REALLY we are out of shampoo. I feel for you on this one. We have 7 bottles of conditioner in my bathroom closet but not any extra bottles of shampoo. I am going to the store tomorrow and hopefully this time I can remember it is SHAMPOO we need. It is almost comical at this point when I brin home another bottle of conditioner and put it away next to the growing number of extra bottles.
    Some people believe that the mother should eat the placenta. Something about putting back the minerals and vitamins or something. Before you ask, no, I did not even see any of the placentas from my kids and I definitely did not eat any of them.

  8. sprizee says:

    I think the best guys come from Bothell. I married one so it must be true.

  9. celeste says:

    Hey Egan,
    Just catching up here..
    The meldowns (previous post) are so understandable. I know I’d be having them if I were you!
    The m-day car for your wife from your unborn child: so cute. What a great idea!
    Finally, yes it is possible to love a bathroom. Enjoy it!

  10. nessa says:

    You have lots of baby game ideas to keep you distracted. I used extra conditioner so I am not so horriblly plagued with those terrible problems.

  11. Cherry says:

    You need to use Pert – the shampoo and conditioner all in one!
    (Do they still make that stuff anymore?)

  12. Winters says:

    I feel your pain with the hair washing paraphenalia scenario, Egan.
    For me, other bathroom tragedies include “soap falling on toe”, “toothpaste falling off brush”, and of course the appalling “I though I had just a little more toilet paper.”

  13. L says:

    Ew. I’m not playing that game. A placenta prize does not interest me.
    But! If you can successfully lobby Lever 2000 and its corporate counterparts to sell smaller bottles of conditioner, I’m on board with that!

  14. Amy says:

    Really? A rock? That worries me, there could be a hole or the pipe might be crushed. But hey, if it works now, don’t worry…be happy.
    I always run out of conditioner and have lots of shampoo. I think I go through conditioner about 2 1/2 times faster than shampoo. Perhaps we could swap bottles.
    I’ve heard that some mothers (human mothers) eat the placenta. I was very surprised to hear what percentage (although for some reason, that number escapes me). It’s supposed to be good for the immune system or something like that.

  15. Chris says:

    I had enough of that running out of one or the other, which is why I now use 2-in-1’s almost exclusively.
    I am glad that the drain is fixed-but if that stuff can remove mortar from bricks, makes ya wonder what havoc it may wreak on the plumbing.

  16. Leiselb says:

    Well congratulations on the bathroom….our bathtub is oddly sinking into the ground away from the wall so I’m always pleased to hear of new, nice, bathrooms. 🙂

  17. Lynn says:

    Glad to hear that the bathroom shower is working well. Yay on the goal (no one said it had to be pretty). In answer to your shampoo/conditioner question…use less shampoo and more conditioner, problem solved. And finally…not to gross you out, but the placenta looks like ‘liver’ and no I didn’t eat or bury mine;~)

  18. Golden says:

    I was actually royally pissed off when I found out I wasn’t done delivering after my son was born. You gotta deliver that placenta too. Same kind of pushin for not the same result. Sorry.. that was just gross. It’s your fault Egan, you started it.

  19. justrun says:

    Okay, I need to know what that plumber used because mine, apparently, does not know of this mortar-melting substance of which you speak.
    More baby-themed games. Good news. Also, I am shocked. 🙂

  20. egan says:

    Amanda – shampoo and conditioner in one is so wrong. You can’t clean and condition your hair at the same time. It’s like combining soap and lotion. Impossible.
    Rachel – not so fast grasshopper.
    Rachel – we don’t have to talk about Ted Bundy and Gary Ridgway. Those two losers ruin our state’s image. Blake is here to rebuild it like no one else can. Go Blake!
    Brookem – I’m not sure there’s really an order to it. My point is they never go out at the same time so I feel like I’m always buying either one. I use heaps more conditioner than shampoo, must be a swimmer thing. Can you relate?
    Furiousball – you clearly have seen me in a g-string yet. I’m so hot man, so hot.
    Churlita – you feelin’ it dogg? Sorry I’ve been possessed by Randy Jackson.
    Tori – while you’re sending me baklava cookies, you can throw in your extra conditioner bottles. Thanks. I will send you my address too. I’m so glad you clarified the placenta thing before I asked.
    Sprizee – isn’t that the truth. I hear there used to be a kickass yarn store there too.
    Celeste – I love the recap comment. The Mother’s Day card idea was a blogger suggestion and went over very well.
    Nessa – these truly are horrible problems. Maybe I can combine the hair stuff with a baby game. Let me think this over.
    Cherry – Pert is the Falwell’s work. I’m not putting that crap on my head. Oh, thanks for commenting and welcome to my blog sir.
    Winters – man, the list continues. Maybe I need to dedicate a full blown post to these tragedies. thanks for your contributions.
    L – so you use Lever? Does it disappear in your tub at a rate slower or faster than Irish Spring? I think Irish Spring dissolves in your hand after one use.
    Amy – yes, a rock. I’m a bit worried too, but that’s not what cleared the drain. It was the heavy duty shit they poured down. Your conditioner to shampoo consumption sounds about the same as mine. Placenta pâté anyone?
    Chris – I’m kind of nervous about that. I guess the worse case scenario involves digging up the pipes anyways so it was worth a shot.
    LeiselB – sinking and moving away from the house? Yikes, that sounds pretty awful. Do you live on a steep slope or something?
    Lynn – I’m relieved you didn’t consume or bury the placenta. I think that’s kind of sick. I use tons of conditioner since I go for the radiant shine. Well the radiant shine doesn’t last long because then I put in heaps of hair product to keep the curls in check. My life is really really complicated.
    Golden – two weeks ago I would have said “you have to deliver that too?“. We saw a video in our birthing class about this placenta thing. Passing the placenta hopefully is just an afterthought.

  21. egan says:

    Justrun – I will see if I can find what the substance. I will ask him and get back to you on it. I wonder if it eats away at the foundation of our house? Maybe I should have asked that beforehand.

  22. Cheryl says:

    Honestly, I think I will pass on the contest with that prize. And I think it is totally possible to love a bathroom…and room really.

  23. Airam says:

    Ohhhhh … a placenta??? Then I’m game for sure!! You can never have too many placentas is my motto.

  24. You use conditioner AND shampoo?
    We’ve got a word around here for people like you! Hifalutin!

  25. Michi says:

    It’s the opposite for me, I always use more conditioner, so I’m usually left with an empty conditioner and a good amount of shampoo…it’s the loveliest thing, yanking tangles out of wet hair.

  26. mez says:

    a good bathroom is the BEST. course yer in love! I’ve always got heaps of conditioner left as well.

  27. Good for Me says:

    cool info about Blake. I like him…and am greatly disturbed that Melinda was voted off. What is wrong with people? of course, I didn’t vote. shame.
    yes, one can love a bathroom. i haven’t had that experience with my own bathroom, however i’ve loved other bathrooms!
    as for the game…i know this is gross…but after i delivered my first son, and then the placenta, i asked if i could see it. the placenta that is. having almost taken the path to become a doctor, i was very intrigued. even after 13 hours of back labor.
    ugh, i’ve said too much. a contest would be fun, but i don’t want anyone’s placenta but my own thank you.

  28. Gwen says:

    Congrats on the goal. And the bathroom drain fix.
    I’m going to go out on a limb here and guess that your newborn’s eyes will be blue. Don’t ask me HOW I know that. But please, keep the placenta. I’ve already got two in my freezer.

  29. jungle jane says:

    which goal was mine, egan? i hope it was the first? I’d be MAD if you scored for the queen before me – she’s an Arsenal supporter, yanno…

  30. Amanda says:

    Ha. 30 comments. 31 after I post this. Placenta is a crowd pleaser.
    You’re right about the 2-in-1’s. It’s ridiculous for me to have even suggested it. What was I thinking?!? I don’t even need to use conditioner anymore. I have long, healthy, shiny hair (finally after years of saying “I wish my hair looked like Vanessa Marcil’s!”) and I only use shampoo (special stuff made especially for brunette’s). I think it’s that and the vitamins I take every day.
    I don’t know why I wrote all of that. Like you or anyone else really gives a shit. I blame my fever.

  31. egan says:

    Cheryl – I can’t see why you’d pass on a prize with a placenta as the reward. Oh well, I can’t blame you to be honest.
    Airam – now, finally… someone who really wants the placenta. Think of all the cloning you could do with the placenta. Just think about it.
    Malnutured Snay – yes, I’m very snobby. Suave is what all elitists use.
    Michi – yeah, it’s actually the same for me. I use much more conditioner than shampoo. I’m thinking I need to update the post to reflect this. Hey, hello and welcome to my blog. Have a nice Friday.
    Mez – I can never get the damn shampoo/conditioner thing to work just right. Tiled bathroom with a heat lamp, yum.
    Good for Me – thanks for sharing your placenta story. I’m sure they are totally fascinating. Was delivering the placenta a pain or was it rather simple? Just curious. Melinda got robbed if you ask me, but I don’t vote either. She’ll do just fine though.
    Gwen – blue eyes, I think you could be on to something. You know my wife don’t you? Do you really have two in the freezer? Is that your own way of “cord banking”?
    Jungle – the final goal of the game was mine. Actually I scored the goal, turned around and didn’t even have a chance to give a player on my team a “high five” before the whistle was blown. See how great it was? Nevermind the fact I kneed it in. The Queen has good taste.
    Amanda – there you go again, talking about 90210 cast members again. She does have very radiant hair and she’s rather pretty. I didn’t like her character on 90210 though. Yes, 30+ comments and one annoying anonymous fuck I had to delete.

  32. Amanda says:

    I saw that comment and wondered if it was an unwanted one. Jerks.
    If it’s not Lost I’m going on about, it’ll probably be 90210 or SBTB. We were looking at the DVD box set of season 2 of 90210 the other day at B&N and there was a little disclaimer on the box saying that some of the songs that were part of some episodes had been changed. That was kind of weird.

  33. what in GOD’S name is an ipod sock?

  34. egan says:

    Amanda – it’s all good though now. The anonymous person at least had enough balls to send me an email. So he’s not so bad afterall. We even chatted about what each of us do for a living. Desmond loves me.

  35. egan says:

    Steppingoverthejunk – that’s a great question and I’m here to share the information. This is an iPod sock. I bought a pack of them with my blogger buddy Sprizee and offer them as prizes.

  36. Tim says:

    How will you send the placenta? Plain white envelope?

  37. egan says:

    Tim – dry ice works pretty well. The last time pizza was shipped to me from Chicago it did the trick. Placentas want to travel.

  38. Lynda says:

    Glad your drain is working well again.
    I don’t think I want to win anyone’s placenta, but thanks.

  39. egan says:

    Lynda – geeesh, people are so fickle about their prizes. I might have to change to prize to encourage participation.

  40. Monkeydragon says:

    {off to check shampoo/conditioner status}

Leave a Reply

