It so is an Addiction

Well if you haven’t noticed by lack of activity on the net, my computer is down so I haven’t been able to surf the net and comment on blogs much the past few days.  24 hours from now I will be back at my desk and finally able to catch up on your lives.  My iBook had some problems and I took it in for a repair job.  In the meantime I will have to surf the net from my damn cell phone.  Talk about the worst way to view the net.  It’s like owning an automobile not being to leave your driveway or something.  Anyways, the net really wasn’t meant to be viewed on cell phone and it wasn’t meant to be taken away from me.  I need a better back up plan than pre-posting like I am right now.  I guess this means I will be quite productive at home this weekend.  11 more weekends (after this one) before the due date remaining.  Enjoy your Sunday/Monday!

UPDATE: all is well now, sort of.  We had to buy a new computer to replace the old iBook.  The timing isn’t great for this, but is it ever?  Now, I’m off to get my first shots in like 15 years and I’m terrified of needles.  Keep it real.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Web/Tech. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to It so is an Addiction

  1. Airam says:

    Yeah viewing the net from your cell is such a drag. Hopefully you get your computer back and as good as new!

  2. Amanda says:

    Rental Laptops!! I hope in your time away from the Net you have perfected this business plan.
    So, I think I read about this perk from TypePad…scheduling future posts, right?
    Hope your weekend was more productive sans internet and that you aren’t having “the shakes” in your internet withdrawal. Just a few more hours and it will be Monday morning (have you called Apple to see if they’re done early? I would have…but I’m probably more pathetic than you).

  3. Amanda says:

    See? I was good & didn’t comment until I saw Airam’s comment.

  4. Jennifer says:

    The internet just isn’t the internet without you in it, somehow.

  5. Chris says:

    That’s why there are 4 computers in my house. Excessive? Yes…but almost never down totally.

  6. patches says:

    FIve computers here. One with Win 98, it hasn’t been booted up in two years. One with OS 8.6, still here because it’s the only way to print color cards due to software glitches. The other three are current and used, but still the numbers are too excessive. Have a nice productive weekend!

  7. Lynn says:

    I will be without the internet when I go on my ‘silent retreat’ next weekend. I am very nervous about both “speaking withdrawl and blog withdrawl”.

  8. Curare_Z says:

    Howdy Egan!! Thought I would drop you a line to let you know that I am officially back from my almost-4-month writing hiatus. It’s taken me some time to get used to being a mom! Things are SPECTACULAR. I hope things are going well with you, your wife, and your soon to arrive bundle!!

  9. Hilly says:

    One time when we moved, I had no net access for a week. Uh, I went to the library and played there for an hour cause I am that pathetic!

  10. egan says:

    EVERYONE – I’m back online with a new MacBook because the old iBook was too expensive to warrant fixing. I’m tinkering with it, but so happy to have internet access again. Catch you later on. Welcome back Curare_Z!!

  11. logo™ says:

    I feel your pain, no net is PAIN, PAIN I SAY!
    I will do some extra surfing for you if that will help.

  12. Monkeydragon says:

    sigh, we are faced with needing to add an additional 2 laptops to the household – darn kids and their homework . . .

  13. Amanda says:

    Yay for new ZacBooks! Have fun getting it all set up!

  14. ChickyBabe says:

    Pixie has noticed, and she’s been sulking big time!

  15. mez says:

    new mac book? ooh lala!
    I can hardly view txt messages from my mobile phone, so actually I’m envious you can view the net!!

  16. furiousball says:

    I thought Macs never broke? Just kidding, I own an iMac. my STBX’s macbook had an issue with memory…after my kids dropped it on the floor.

  17. egan says:

    Airam – I’m a new man, sort of. I got a new computer, but this means I’m sure much was lost since my old computer’s display isn’t even working.
    Airam – you go with your bad self.
    Amanda – yes, I’m going to work on this rental computer business plan. I’m sure they’re already out there, but my plan will be better. I also want to start a rental car business where the cars aren’t new so you’re not targeted by thieves. With Typepad you can post in the future, it’s so 2005!
    Amanda – your patience is to be admired. You’re too kind.
    Jennifer – I think I’m back. Well I am, but just a bit bruised back this lack of computer sneak attack.
    Chris – wow, that’s an impressive amount of computers. I think I want to try and fix the old one so it will always be available as a backup.
    Patches – I remember OS 8.6 very well. That’s what our grape iMac had. For some reason I never upgraded ever on the OS and it worked like a charm until iTunes came around. Impressive computer count kitty.
    Lynn – the computer withdawl is a huge deal. I was jonesing for net access all weekend like a junkie. It’s an addiction alright. Good luck on your retreat.
    Curare_Z – hey mom, welcome back! It’s great to see you again. I will have to check on your blog and see how those four months treated you. Again, welcome back.
    Hilly – an hour is all? That takes courage. I could waste an hour deleting my spam, well maybe not but I feel you. A week if on vacation is one thing, yet when sitting at home, it’s another story.
    Logo™ – way to take one for the team. You rock! I’m glad someone stepped up.
    Monkeydragon – well that does make sense though with kids and all. I suppose I should get the old one repaired since it could be handy.
    Amanda – ZacBooks are the bomb I tell you. By the way, how is Mac liking “his”?
    ChickyBabe – let me make Pixie feel better. Be by shortly to pay her a visit.
    Mez – yeah, it’s nice to view the net on my phone. It did keep crashing my phone for some reason. Must be all the lovely words on my blog. Text messaging on a phone sucks if you have anything important to say. I’m just saying.

  18. egan says:

    Furiousball – yeah, the damn logic board in my iBook died again. I’m going to see I can get it repaired because it would be nice to have two laptops. Portables do take more of a beating. I’m excited about the upgrade, but the price and the prospect of data loss is unsettling.

  19. tori says:

    What kind of shots are you getting? I very strongly dislike shots, but have two tattoos. Interesting, right?

  20. Amanda says:

    Shots suck! I, too, am very much afraid of needles. Anytime they show needles on a TV show, I have to cover my face until it’s off the screen. I haven’t had any shots since I went to Mexico and that’s been about 9 years. I don’t even get flu shots! Needles are the DEVIL!
    Mac hasn’t played with the iZac yet. He’s says, “That’s your toy. I’m just happy that you’re happy so I don’t need to use it.” He’s missing out.

  21. Laurie says:

    yep, you are an addict. but not a skeezy kind since you are scared of needles. hope that went well for ya!

  22. naynayfazz says:

    You are addicted to the net also??? I thought I was the only one. What did I do before blogging I wonder?
    How did the shots go?

  23. Crashdummie says:

    Needles? awww bummer. Do you want me to come along and hold your hand?

  24. Lynda says:

    I would think looking at the internet would be costly on the cell phone too.

  25. QofS says:

    …did someone say addiction? I was getting the shakes FOR you.

  26. egan says:

    Tori – I got the tdap shot which includes tetanus, diphtheria, and pertussis. I thought it was going to be horrible and it was nothing at all. Perhaps this is a good lesson where not all things in childhood are the same.
    Amanda – wow, the mindset of Mac is very similar to Mrs. Lessinges. The computer is my domain in the house except for when it comes time to paying bills.
    Laurie – yeah, addicts using needles get mad props from me. I like my internet wireless and portable.
    Naynayfazz – I can’t remember what I did before the internet. Probably read newspapers or watched more news. The shot was no big deal. I’m sure my arm will be sore later.
    Crashdummie – you will hold my hand while I get a shot? Yes, please do. I could use more people watching me turn white as the needle approaches my arm.
    Lynda – yeah, it’s covered on my phone plan. From what I know though it’s expensive and not easy to do.
    QofS – sympathy shakes? What a kind soul you are.

  27. Nessa says:

    I want to know why you are getting shots, too? Do they make you get those now when you buy a new computer or have a baby?

  28. egan says:

    Nessa – yes, when buying a new computer or as you’re expecting your first child… a shot is a must. It sedates you so you can’t fly off the handle as easily.

  29. Brooke says:

    You’ve been tagged. See my blog for details. Blame Todd.

  30. sprizee says:

    We’re contemplating buying a new laptop. I’ve seriously considered finally buying an iBook but I’ve heard a few horror stories from friends about things not being covered under the warranty and costing a lot more than a pc notebook in the short and long term. Thoughts? Yes, I know you love Apple. How long did your last one last?

  31. Amanda says:

    Huh.
    Very strange. Very similar. Kinda Freaky.
    Bills and fantasy sports. Does Mrs. L play fantasy sports? If she does, then that’s just weird.

  32. egan says:

    Brooke – you’re funny, this is a joke right? I see you don’t expect me to reciprocate. Phew. How’s life?
    Sprizee – let’s chat about this offline. I still think Macs are great computers despite the recent iBook death. The higher price tag is totally worth it in my book.
    Amanda – ha, that’s where they are very different. She’s lucky if she knows who Barry Bonds is or Michael Jordan.

  33. ChickyBabe says:

    I never knew that owning a Mac requires you to have shots!

  34. egan says:

    ChickyBabe – do you work for Microsoft? Nice one. Owning a Mac only requires an open mind I think. How are you?

  35. ChickyBabe says:

    Nooo… I haven’t sold my soul. But an open mind, that I have.

Leave a Reply

