Vanishing Act

Forgive me bloggers, for I have sinned. Time is really beginning to tick away for us. Tuesday marked the beginning of week 30 of my wife’s pregnancy. We’re less than two weeks away from the big baby shower. This means a bit of stress as we’ll be hosting my wife’s mom and her friend at our place that weekend. I’ve got many small house projects which would be nice to get done before their arrival. Oh yeah, we’ve got to stop peeking at the damn baby registry to see what folks have bought, but it’s just too much fun not to. Are there any other opportunities to register for stuff after you have your first child? Is there a death or divorce shower?

Speaking of registries, I still have grand dreams of a virtual baby shower. See our baby shower doesn’t include the dudes. Not that I don’t want to participate, but we we’re not the one’s hosting the event so we had to keep a handle on the number of invitees. Thus the reason for the virtual baby shower and it’s so wonderful to be happy.
—————
Yeah, in non-baby news… we showed our Swedish relatives around town Sunday, Monday, and this morning. I think they enjoyed the city of Seattle, yet there’s way too much to see in only two full days. Monday we took them to the Red Hook Brewery and got a bit buzzed during the brewery tour. One dollar allows you to sample five beers and pocket a nifty souvenir taster glass. After that we crossed the street and visited the Chateau Ste Michelle winery, foregoing the tour this time. We tasted some yummy Copper River salmon their first night here and I made sure to force down a few cups of Starbucks coffee. Huh, have I mentioned enough brands/companies yet?

It was really nice to chat with our relatives. They have a daughter who is our age and she just happens to have a daughter. So we made some great connections and they arrived with some really cute baby clothes. Crap, no baby talk. Right, today we took the visitors to the famous Pike Place Market for a couple hours. It’s a fun place to people watch while taking in the sights and sounds of Seattle. The weather cooperated big time and was a picture perfect 80 degrees on Tuesday.
—————-
Well would you look at the time? I best get to bed since it is 2:30am. This four day weekend with naps has really thrown my sleeping schedule for a loop. Well, I do have to work tomorrow so I best hit the sack. Someday, don’t let me forget to tell you my “sleepy work productivity” theory. It’s a hoot no doubt.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to Vanishing Act

  1. ChickyBabe says:

    I love how you Americans get ‘buzzed’! We Aussies get p!ssed… not as much fun.

  2. egan says:

    ChickyBabe – crap, you even beat me to it. I inadvertently “published” this ad. You and your feeds. Congrats to number one. Imagine my shock at 2:32am when I thought I just published and there were two comments already there. You’re fast!
    ChickyBabe – yes, we get buzzed. Buzzed means lightly drunk, first stages of sloshed. Doesn’t pissed mean more like hammered?

  3. brookem says:

    look at you go! taking the swedes on drink fest 2007. kidding. but damn, $1?!?!, for 5 beers?!
    i dont know about other showers. there was sex and the city episode (and i WOULD know this), about carrie wanting a shower for being single. why not?! i think this needs to be instated.

  4. Chris says:

    Chateau Ste Michelle? Really? My current favorite wine is their Reisling – it’s killer!
    I am glad that you are embracing this exciting time – there are some times where anxiety can be a good thing.

  5. Amanda says:

    Yes, you’re going to have to educate me in the sleepy work productivity.
    I’m really interested to see how this virtual baby shower plays out. Would you make a separate registry just for you? Would we play those “awesome” shower games like the candy bar/baby poo diaper game or the guess the baby food flavor game or the “look at this plate of baby items for 15 seconds, then write everything you can remember” game? Don’t forget about that one game that happened at my niece’s baby shower – the one with the clothespins and the blindfolded girls groping each other. I guess those aren’t really blog friendly. It would probably have to be a guessing/trivia game, which blows because I suck at those games. Shit, I suck at all games. Would there be punch and mints and nuts and dry cake?
    Fuck, I’m putting way too much thought into this. I need a life, Egan. Or a massage.

  6. Carrie says:

    Oooh congrats!! Week 30 how exciting!!
    I briefly did a rotation on the Mat ward at a General Hospital in my city – it is such an incredible experience. Enjoy every minute of it!!

  7. furiousball says:

    What are you doing, do you have any idea how little you are going to be sleeping in around 10 weeks? Get thee to a beddery!

  8. Rachel says:

    Yay!! do we get to order you things so that you can pick them up at the local Babies R Us? Or maybe work up a collection for one baby iPod sock?

  9. Amy says:

    I’m liking this divorce shower thing. If ever there was a time when one needs support from friends it is during a divorce. Not only that, but the couple has to divide their stuff…they really do need to replace things and I would have wouldn’t think twice about helping them out. The divorce shower would have to be by open invitation though. I don’t think anyone should be singled out with a personal invitation. To me this says “come give me a gift”. I’ve never been a fan of the baby shower or wedding shower for this very reason. I loath them! (No offense intended…I realize it’s tradition and many people find them fun. This is one tradition I don’t agree with. For me…nothing spoils the spirit of giving more than feeling under obligation to give a gift.)

  10. Candace says:

    Wow! A divorce shower would be interesting. ^_^
    I never had wedding or baby showers. I feel ripped off. ^_^

  11. tori says:

    I remember feeling embarrassed at both my wedding shower and baby shower. I disliked registering for things because I don’t like to tell people what to buy me, or even that they should be buying me anything at all.
    My good friend and I decided that after 10 years of marriage, you should get to re-register and everyone should buy you new stuff. By then, you definitely need different things!

  12. Amanda says:

    No showers for Candace? You should feel ripped off! Maybe if Egan pulls off this virtual shower, we can give you an honorary one.

  13. Tim says:

    in 10 weeks you’ll have no sleep schedule.

  14. patches says:

    The divorce shower makes a lot of sense. Most people I know who have been there ended up with maybe a quarter of their assets when it was over….of course the lawyers got at least half.
    And kind of virtual shower games are in the works? Hmmm.

  15. brandy says:

    Sounds like you showed the Swedes a good time. I’m pretty sure every tour gets better with alcohol. And I’m down with a virtual baby shower, and don’t worry brookem, I was going to cite the SATC episode if you didn’t! As for other showers, I’m considering turning my upcoming birthday into a shower. An “I’m single, awesome and have spent a lot of money on other peoples showers” shower. I’m kidding.

  16. Amanda says:

    I’m really, incredibly bored and I clicked on that Red Hook link. That bartender is freaking me out.

  17. sprizee says:

    You went to Redhook and didn’t drop by my office with a beer? You suck.

  18. brandy says:

    Oh, and the quiz that will test your knowledge of Canada and will determine if you do get honorary citizen status? Yeah, it’s up. Good luck!

  19. brookem says:

    somehow i knew brandy would get that s&tc reference.

  20. meno says:

    One dollar for 5 sample beers and a glass? And i live pretty close to Red Hook. I’m out of here…..

  21. egan says:

    Brookem – not five full beers, but they were 2.5 ounce servings. And the tour guide did a good job talking smack about lush Scandinavians. You and your Sex in the City love.
    Chris – yes, I grew up just up the hill from that winery. It’s a pretty cool place with good wine. Anxiety is good, focus not so good.
    Amanda – I will dedicate an entire post to the sleep deprivation theory of mine. You totally need a massage. I love baby showers, I don’t care what anyone else thinks. Let me figure out the virtual baby shower and get back to you.
    Carrie – wow, you’re a real pro when it comes to births then. I will spare you my episiotomy questions. Week 30 in the house!
    Furiousball – what, you can’t sleep 5-7 hours a night when the kid arrives? Nonsense I tell you.
    Rachel – I’m still working out the details of the whole thing. It has to be tactful. Gifts can be a trickty concept.
    Amy – what I love about you is you’re never afraid to speak your mind. Giving gifts is a good thing and nobody says you can’t make something simple from scratch. You crack me up chica. So against the grain sometimes you are.
    Candace – a divorce shower would be interesting. I’m all over it so don’t think of stealing my idea. We have a couple showers to throw you.
    Tori – you know, there’s absolutely nothing wrong with receiving gifts. I’m really not certain why people deflect the attention. Maybe you can fill me in on this. You’re an interesting one to figure out.
    Amanda – let’s put our heads together and see what we can do for Candace. She deserves to be spoiled if you ask me.
    Tim – you’re damn right about that. So why start sleeping now, that’s what I say.
    Patches – if there’s anybody that needs love, it’s recent divorcés. I’m going to try and put this plan into action. Stay tuned for virtual baby shower games.

  22. Here’s a question…Are you going to the baby shower? When I had my babies, my husband refused to show his face until everyone was gone. It was too “girlie” for him. It upset me because everyone wanted him there and such. I was curious if you planned to be there.

  23. funny that you posted about Red Hook what a small world… and yes i will need all the tri tips i can get. congrats on your baby to be…

  24. egan says:

    Brandy – ha, yet another SATC reference. That show was pretty damn good, but I can’t stand it edited for tv. I need the profanity and the glimpses of nakedness. You’re kidding? Are you really? We spent a ton of money on baby showers prior to our own child, but I think it’s a good thing.
    Amanda – why are you so bored? I got plenty of stuff you can do for our new company. I will email you the details.
    Sprizee – correct, you weren’t working on Monday were you? If you were, we need to find you a new job stat. Well, we must find you a new job regardless… beer or not.
    Brandy – thanks for taking time out of your hectic day to test my mastery of Canada. You threw a few tricky questions in there. I’m still waiting for the results.
    Brookem – Brandy is all about the SATC. I have decent knowledge of the show so don’t try and pull any fast ones on me.
    Meno – not five full pint glasses, but it’s totally worth it. So bring a pregnant person and double up your consumption for two bucks.
    Steppingoverthejunk – I will show up at the baby shower. I might be there most of the time since the presents are for us as a family. “too girlie” isn’t an expression I know.
    Seattle Mamacita – hello and welcome to my blog. Red Hook was hopping on Monday. Heaps of cyclists everywhere. Spandex Nation! Thanks for the baby wishes and best of luck on the Danskin. I gave you a pointer on your blog. It’s a simple one, but should help a bit.

  25. Amanda says:

    We have a new company finally? Yes…I need details, stat! I’m bored by choice. I have stuff to do, but it’s not as fun as messing around on the internets. But I’m leaving in 30 minutes to go to the doctor, so that will help relieve my boredom.
    Candace totally deserves to be spoiled. Any published author does!

  26. Trebuchet says:

    Please keep us posted on whether you pull this virtual shower thing off. If you do, there is hope for all sorts of cool virtual events most people would rather not attend anyway, like “virtual dentist appointments”, “virtual rehearsal dinners” and “virtual graduation ceremonies”… SNOOZE.

  27. egan says:

    Amanda – yes, we have a new company but my lawyers have stated many times how unwise it would be to divulge what exactly we do on my blog. I will shoot you an email with all the critical information. Capiche? I’m married to a published author and she doesn’t happen to be Candace. So cool.
    Trebuchet – I’m working on the virtual stuff right now. Not any of that Sims related shit either, I will think of something fun. Oh hey, thanks for visiting my blog. By the way, I have a the best dentist ever.

  28. Cherry says:

    Oy. A weekend of relatives can be so exhausting. With everything else you and your wife are going through, I’m surprised you’re still standing!

  29. egan says:

    Cherry – thank for your sympathy regarding our stamina and the relatives from Europe. We’re tough souls. I’m not going to lie and say we didn’t take a fair share of naps. Oy, me loves the naps.

  30. brookem says:

    i could totally pull some fast ones with s&tc (get up with the lingo, yo!).

  31. egan says:

    Brookem – I’m all ears. Try and pull a fast one on me, I dare you. I watched the entire first season in the buff… shit too much information.

  32. Megan says:

    Man, she’s already 30 weeks? Where the heck does the time go? You guys are almost there! Exciting!!

  33. Burr-ee-toe says:

    Oh my gosh, we haven’t done the registry thing for our wedding yet. I put two things on it so far. A blender and a mixer. We just can’t seem to find the time to actually go to the store, grab the scanning gun and go to town. I’m sure it will be fun though. Have I mentioned that I really want to go to Seattle? SO many cool things up there!!!

  34. Jen says:

    I am totally guilty of checking my wedding registry ALL THE TIME to see what people have purchased! I feel ONLY very slightly guilty about it.. . At least you don’t know WHOO has purchased WHAT? Right?! Still sort-of a surprise!

  35. egan says:

    Megan – I know, can you believe it? 30 weeks already. She heard about a co-worker having her child 6 weeks early so my wife is a bit freaked out today.
    Burr-ee-toe – what the heck are you waiting for? Register dammit! It’s the right thing to do. Scan a bunch of shit. Where are you registered?
    Jen – ha, I’m so glad you confessed this. I actually haven’t checked, but my wife has and that’s because we keep changing our mind on items. Might as well go big considering you never register again. Hey, welcome to my blog by the way. I’m glad you love Portland. It’s a fine city.

  36. brookem says:

    well imagine how out of control you’d be with my six season, SERIES collection.

  37. egan says:

    Brookem – out of control in what way? What kind of person do you think I am? I’m soon to be a father. You make it sound like I’m the kind of guy who would streak through his house on Thanksgiving wearing nothing more than a g-string. I’m a sane man.

  38. jungle jane says:

    dude i can’t seem to find a purple i-pod sock on your baby gift register. So no gift for baby then…

  39. egan says:

    Jungle Jane – you have a point there, did you see the Wii on the registry?

  40. Amanda says:

    Good call. I’ll await my instructions.
    Are you pulling my leg with the published author bit? If you aren’t, how in the hell did I not know this?

  41. Sounds like you were a good host/tour guide.
    I just got back from my trip to the land of drizzle… and I found my new favorite restaurant of all time in Seattle. Purple. It’s downtown and quite possibly the coolest place ever. After the wife pops out the little one, you must take her there!

  42. Cheryl says:

    I say register for any future kids too. Give them even playing ground. You don’t want to hear “How come SHE got a registry and I didn’t?!”

  43. Lynn says:

    Sounds like you showed your Swedish relatives a good time. As you said, nothing like relatives coming to get those house projects done! By the way how is that basement shower, post reaming…I mean toxic cleaner dumpage, doing? As far as the virtual shower…can’t wait to hear the plans…

  44. Burr-ee-toe says:

    Well I signed up for the registry. That’s a start, right? We’re going with Target, Bed Bath and Beyond, and Macy’s. Its a good variety 🙂 Where you do register for a baby? Babys R Us? Target?

  45. chikken says:

    Well, when the baby comes, you’ll be ready…one way or the other…I just know it! 🙂

  46. Airam says:

    Peaking at the registry is what makes it fun though!! Everyone does it … don’t feel bad for going to the dark side.
    And 1 dollar for 5 beers?? Hook it up!

  47. brookem says:

    airam that’s what im sayin! the beers!
    egan, out of control in the g string way exactly.

  48. Phats says:

    Hey Egan,
    Glad to hear everything is going well with the pregnancy, keep up the good work!

  49. Crashdummie says:

    Hmm, maybe your swedish relatives can teach you babytalk.. in swedish? that would be cool!
    (in a disturbing kinda way)

  50. ChickyBabe says:

    I was quick on the buzzer, but I wasn’t buzzed! :p
    You’re right, pissed is more like hammered. You’re learning a lot about Aussies!

  51. Just so I don’t forgoet …tell me abotu that theory of yours……I am glad things are coming along well with the baby’s arrival…I am excited for you both!

  52. Amy says:

    That’s me…against the grain and not afraid to speak my mind. In one of my very first blog posts I expressed my feelings toward the baby shower.

  53. tori says:

    Nothing wrong with getting gifts, it’s actually one of my favorite things, but my showers were filled with people I did not know. They were people my mother in law knew or worked with. I was embarrassed because these people had to buy me gifts, and I registered so I pretty much told them what to buy me. It seemed more like demands than gifts. I love gifts, but not usually when they are expected. Surprises are so much more fun!

  54. egan says:

    Amanda – I don’t joke about published authors. Yes, my wife is technically a published author. Let’s not talk about quanity though, we’ll focus on the quality of the work.
    Undercover Celebrity – I’ve seen Purple, but never entered the restaurant. You speak very highly of it. Good for you. Did my town treat you well during your visit?
    Cheryl – nah, it’s uncooth to register for future kids. Some will say it’s poor for to register for any kids. I say it’s a celebration and bring on the presents.
    Lynn – thanks for asking about the shower drain. It works great as I’ve taken about five showers in it now. There was some rock lodged in the drain and some gunk. Once that stuff was removed, it worked like a charm. I’m working on the virtual baby shower now.
    Burr-ee-toe – we registered at Babies R Us and The Land of Nod. When got married we registered at Target, Crate & Barrel, and REI. You got to have some fun stuff in there too.
    Chikken – thanks, I appreciate your confidence. Now I have to convince myself of this.
    Airam – phew, I feel relieved that you agree it’s okay. I’m not doing the peeking as much as my better half is, but it’s because we’re keeping an eye on what may or may not be needed. Beers headed your way.
    Brookem – let’s not relive the g-string incident. I think I scarred my family for any future gatherings at our house. Damn that undercooked turkey. Beer!
    Phats – what’s up man? Playing tennis much? You viewed my blog because Roddick lost right?
    Crashdummie – Swedish baby talk? Hmmm, the Swedish Chef can teach me that right? Kidding of course. The relatives live near Lund.
    ChickyBabe – I am learning, but nothing beats the actual experience of being there. I’ve had some friends visit your lovely country and they’ve shared some nuggets of information. Typically here though, one is pissed if someone steals their beer. Angry bastards.
    Princess Extraordinaire – I will share my theory about sleepiness very soon. Stay tuned friend. We’re equally as excited and a tiny bit nervous.
    Amy – you’re an interesting soul. Thanks for passing along this post of yours. I completely disagree with your theory on baby showers, but oh well. We can’t see eye to eye on everything can we?
    Tori – hmmm, I get the sense you were way too nice. My wife doesn’t want anyone there that she doesn’t know personally. I honestly can’t blame her. Your mother-in-law should have sensed your discomfort with this and not included them. That’s my thinking at least. Demands? Ugh, I have to take a deep breathe now. (breath in through the nose and exhale through the mouth)

  55. jungle jane says:

    *purchases urine for Egan’s kid. Finds it a bit strange, really*

  56. L says:

    Sounds like you did an excellent job hosting the Swedes!
    I was wondering the same thing about divorce showers and parties. Did you ever see the epsiode of Sex and the City where Carrie throws herself a shower for NOT getting married and she registers for gifts and everything!

  57. Burr-ee-toe says:

    Wow, I had no idea you could register at REI. SO cool. I wish Costco had a gift registry. I love everything there.

  58. egan says:

    Jungle Jane – there’s noting odd about a urine purchase. Really, I think highly of your idea. One can never have enough urine on hand.
    L – I didn’t see that one or at least don’t recall it. Maybe we can figure out a divorce shower scenario. Carrie Bradshaw has all the cool ideas.
    Burr-ee-toe – yes, you can register there. Not sure how many register there, but we did. Costco? We might have to chat about stuff.

  59. liv says:

    I am SO into the idea of a divorce shower! Maybe I’ll go make up some registries in case teh intarnetz wants to fete me when the blessed D day finally happens!

Leave a Reply

