I’m a Wii bit Competitive

You bet your bottom dollar I got a lot of kid time this weekend.  Sunday we visited my wife’s co-worker and his family, they have four really adorable kids.  We spent about two and a half hours at their pad.  They’re a family consisting of two boys and two girls.  The oldest boy is 9, the girls are 6 and 2 years old, and they have a precious newborn baby boy.  So yeah four kids and a hectic household.  Keep in mind I grew up in a family of seven kids so this scenario isn’t terribly daunting for me. 

The kids showed me around the house and their impressive Nintendo collections.  I finally got a chance to play the Wii and kicked some pre-double digit butt.  You bet, I have a sore arm today from playing baseball and tennis against the rugrats.  The kids are highly competitive so naturally that brought out my inner beast, it’s a big family thing.  I knocked three balls out of the park in the first inning and then taunted their daughter by telling her I’d strike her out on nine pitches.  Oh am I ever evil.  I worked at Nintendo back in the day so don’t mess with me.  True to form, she went down swinging and was a crying heap on the basement carpet.  Actually no tears were shed because we immediately shifted our focus to bowling where she handed me a thorough ass whooping.  iPod sock to the first blogger to guess the 6 year old’s name.  Hint: Hyrule Field.

Before playing catch in their backyard I was given a tour of the two year old’s bedroom.  She played the piano for me while I sat in her cozy pink Dora chair.  Since the weather was so nice all weekend I sported my Adidas flip flops.  This is kind of important because the author of this blog has an ugly left soccer toe.  So ugly a two year old can see it.  "What’s wrong with your toe?" she inquires.  I politely explain it’s the result of playing heaps of soccer.  She thinks about what I’ve explained and disappears down the hall.  I overhear her chatting with her mom about my toe.  She emerges with a small towel in her hand.

The two year old stares at me with her pretty pigtails and proceeds to try and rub away my unsightly toe.  Needless to say a bruise under the toenail doesn’t just rub away.  The daughter won’t give up though and leaves the room a couple other times with a new towel each time.  Got give her something for her effort.  Finally, a lightbulb goes off as she wants to conceal it with a Band-Aid™.  We stop short of doing this though as I was dragged outside to play catch.  Two weekends in a row, I got pampered.  Pedicures rock!

——————

The virtual baby shower and next baby contest are still in the works.  Don’t fret.  The actual baby shower is less than a week away.  It’s gut check time.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Doting Dude. Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to I’m a Wii bit Competitive

  1. *pixie* says:

    I meant to comment last time you mentioned the virtual baby shower—Josh had a diaper/poker party the day I had my shower. All the guys had to bring a package of diapers along with them. It was a huge hit and we still haven’t had to buy diapers.

  2. brookem says:

    i love your usage of heaps in this one.
    sounds like a really fun day. i love little kids. the vision of you in her dora chair is really something too. i love the bowling wii!

  3. celeste says:

    aww, what a cute story! 2 year olds are so entertaining. They make you see the world in a bit of a new light. See what you have to look forward to!
    Wii is fun. I personally like the boxing game.

  4. patches says:

    So do you have a Wii listed on the baby registry? I always get my tail handed to me on a silver platter when I play video games, so I usually stick with darts.
    If she can’t fix your toe, she can at least cover it up. That child may have a nursing scholarship in her future.

  5. egan says:

    *pixie* – hmm, I like the poker/diaper party idea. Did they ante up with diapers? We’ve had a bunch given to us by generous neighbors so far. I like the sharing aspect between parents.
    Brookem – the Dora chair is very tiny, but I was able to sit in/on it. It was rather forgiving. I will keep up with the “heaps” stuff for you.
    Celeste – I know, she was really cracking me up with her gestures, looks, and consideration. I thought about tipping her, but the parents my not like that.
    Patches – well a certain blogger, who shall remain nameless, has tried many times to convince me to add a Wii to the registry. I think it might not go over well with certain peeps if it was included. Ha, I love the bit about a nursing scholarship. You’re a thinker.

  6. Burr-ee-toe says:

    OMG I could not stop giggling while I read this. Its so endearing how kids behave sometimes. I love the innocence.

  7. Airam says:

    Looks like you’re getting plenty of practice!!

  8. justrun says:

    Wii just might be the thing that gets me back to video games. I must be very careful to resist becoming addicted.
    Kids are so tricky, with all their I’m-adorable-and-exhausting-at-the-same-time stuff. 🙂

  9. meno says:

    Her name is Zelda.

  10. egan says:

    Burr-ee-toe – I really had a great time entertaing the kids. Young girls don’t like my duck noises. Just in case you were wondering.
    Airam – you missed the question about the girl’s name. I totally thought you’d get this. I dangled this carrot for you.
    Justrun – the best part about the Wii is how interactive (physically) it is. I got my heart rate up and that’s a damn good thing for players.
    Meno – holy crikey, you’re very good. Is it because you have kids and live near Redmond?

  11. meno says:

    So i snatched the carrot from Airam’s mouth huh? Do i still get a sock?
    My daughter was/is completely obsessed with Zelda. Each time a new game came out we wouldn’t see her for days. Plus she thinks Link is cute.

  12. egan says:

    Meno – ha, Link is a looker. I will send you your prize or deliver it to your doorstep. Whichever is easiest for you. Airam is going to be pissed at you.

  13. tori says:

    We have been trying to buy a Wii exactly because it would be a good workout for the kids if they insist on playing video games. Sounds like you had fun.
    I sometimes think kids are MORE perceptive to things like the ugly toe than adults are. My kids notice everything…my 3 year old told me I needed a “hairstyle” when he caught me in a ponytail a few too many times.

  14. tori says:

    Can you fix that for me? Apparently my computer is having problems!

  15. Airam says:

    Honestly I’m having trouble remembering my name these days. That clue went right over my head. If that was supposed to be easy for me then I’m in trouble.

  16. Airam says:

    ummm … can you fix that?

  17. tori says:

    Airam, thank you for making me not feel as dumb! I appreciate it!

  18. Airam says:

    Ha! Honestly I thought I was seeing quadruple. Then I refreshed the page and realized that (thankfully) that my vision was just fine.

  19. Airam says:

    And you’re welcome.

  20. Hannelie says:

    63 days to go!!!!
    Your weekend sounds lovely.

  21. Amanda says:

    Kicking kid’s asses on the Wii is fun. I do that to my 12 year old niece all the time. I rule at Wii bowling, but suck at tennis.
    Airam and Tori are cracking me up here.
    The kid with the rubbing of the toe? She’s brave. Boy feet freak me out. And if they are gross from sports injuries, then those freak me out even more. Too much torment from three brothers, I suppose, with nasty boy feet being stuck in my face.

  22. Amanda says:

    And you know my thoughts on the virtual baby shower. I will help if you want………..

  23. Phats says:

    I love nintendo wii!! Don’t ever play tennis though if you have a ceiling fan on, accident waiting to happen. I played for the first time last week myself, now I want one

  24. Phats says:

    btw I think I could kick roddick’s ass on wii! haha

  25. Lynn says:

    We love our Wii…I am so glad to hear that you are not one of those adults who ‘let’ the kids win just to make them feel better.

  26. Michelle says:

    That is too cute! How adorable! I have somewhat arched pinkie toes from having walked on tip-toe for the majority of my childhood and some of my teenage years (okay, as a young adult I still sometimes walk on tip-toe and dancing doesn’t exactly help)…anyway, I used to baby-sit for a family that had a little boy and girl and they would ask me, “What’s wrong with your pinkie toes?” and then they would massage them because they thought my toes hurt or something. Kids are so cute!

  27. Chris says:

    I loved the Mad Libs post. Funny how its evil, yet fun to kick video game but, especially against a rugrat.

  28. furiousball says:

    Haven’t played the Wii yet, I refuse to do it as I am weak like a frail little old man and I will cave and become addicted.

  29. Rachel says:

    I haven’t played Wii yet either. I would like to try it but considering how poorly I do at sports in real life I can’t imagine that there would be much improvement in video game land.

  30. Sandra says:

    I kick butt at Wii bowling…less good at tennis, though.

  31. Laurie says:

    I love my wii. It just makes me happy. It always makes me happy to kick my 4 year olds ass at it. Usually the opposite happens. sucks

  32. Pants says:

    I LOVE Wii!!! So much fun! I was so sore the first time I played!

  33. Amanda says:

    I can’t believe you’ve already forgotten about Lost. What kind of fan are you? For shame. And don’t you dare blame your impending fatherness.

  34. Amanda says:

    Is “fatherness” a word?

  35. Yes, I admit it. I’m a bit behind the times. I’ve never even seen a wii. Or a PS3 for that matter. Although this wii thing has intrigued me. My brother has one … perhaps I will invite myself over for dinner …

  36. Phats says:

    Today’s my birthday did you buy me a wii?

  37. egan says:

    Tori – get the Wii, your kids and you will be très happy. As for the hair, I don’t know how kids do it.
    Tori – I fixed the comment thing. Sometimes Typepad gets a little freaked out and gives me an ego boost with extra comments. I corrected the problem.
    Airam – well I don’t know how much you know about Zelda, but I thought you might figure it out. I know you’ve been busy so it’s all good.
    Airam – ha, I see you and Tori got caught in the Tyepad Strokes Egan’s Ego vortex. It has been fixed.
    Tori – Airam is a doll isn’t she?
    Airam – do you wear contacts or glasses? Just filling out my files on you.
    Airam – yes, you’re welcome.
    Hannelie – the due date is just a tad over two months away. Nope, I’m not at all freaked out.
    Amanda – I think Tori and Airam need to get a room. I fixed their problem and they still are all mushy. My left big toe would freak you out then. Be thankful I didn’t post a picture as I’ve been known to do.
    Phats – I bet Roddick is scared of you. You really do need space to play the Wii and some muscle relaxers.
    Lynn – I’m far too competitive to let just anyone beat me. They were talking trash before I had the controller in my hand. I silenced them shortly after. Three home runs in one inning will do the trick usually.
    Michelle – a kid offering a pedicure is a bit of heaven. They are so damn cute. Coconuts!
    Chris – the Mad Libs stuff is the genius of Patches. She deserves the mad props.
    Furiousball – you did confess to having an addictive personality. If you don’t buy, that means I can get it. Thanks.
    Rachel – it’s all about the wrists. Give it a try. I bet D will love it.
    Sandra – I got to work on my bowling skills so I can beat the little girl who has never lost. It’s my mission and I accept it.
    Laurie – kids are so good at that stuff. I don’t think it’s a bad thing for them to play video games either, but maybe that’s because I was raised on them and turned out kind of normal.
    Pants – hey you, my arm is still a bit sore today. Damn Wii!
    Amanda – Lost is dead to me until next January. I’ve moved on already to bigger and better things. Have you heard of Facebook?
    Amanda – meow.

  38. brookem says:

    the last thing posted here is meow which caught my attention. me and my kitty mission.
    i cant believe lost is dead to you. damnit to hell.

  39. egan says:

    Chaos Control – if you know what’s right for you, you’ll invite yourself over immediately. Make sure to bring some Icy Hot™ too.
    Phats – happy freaking birthday man. I’m not sure I can swing the Wii, but happy birthday nonetheless. How old?

  40. Amanda says:

    Facebook? What is this “Facebook” you speak of? Is that like some kind of insult tracker? Do you keep some kind of ledger everytime you say “in your face!”? Is that what this is? You keep talking about weird things today…Facebooks, Mochi’s, Lost being dead to you. I feel like i’m in some kind of alternate reality or something. And I keep typing stuff. I know I should stop, but I can’t. And I know I should highlight and delete and not hit that post button right below this, but I don’t know if I can make myself do this! If you see this on your comments, you shall know I was not successfull and that I need to 1. learn how to spell and 2. need a drink and 3. need some serious mental help.

  41. egan says:

    Amanda – you’re cracking me up yo! Are you a clone?

  42. egan says:

    Brookem – I’m almost overlooked your comment. Lost is dead to me for now. I can’t think about it anymore as I have limited space for thoughts in my head. I say “meow” when I’m backed in a corner and have nothing of any value to add. So now you know.

  43. Nessa says:

    Sounds like you had a great Daddy-practicing weekend. Very cute.

  44. Phats says:

    I am 30! an old man for sure

  45. sprizee says:

    Eww, your toe always looks like that? I assumed that was just a temporary thing. This is why you should wear steel-toed boots when you play soccer. I’m sure the other players won’t mind. I’ve never been more sure of anything in my life.

  46. Airam says:

    I have glasses.

  47. mez says:

    haha, love the toe story. That is very cute 😀

  48. L says:

    Ocarina? Is her name Ocarina?

  49. egan says:

    Nessa – you can definitely say I got some good dad practice in. No diaper changing or swaddling though.
    Phats – I remember 30. It ain’t no big thang. You’ll adjust quite well. Personally I felt more at ease with myself. Good luck and happy birthday.
    Sprizee – I wish it was a temporary thing, yet since I play each week it never gets a chance to fully heal. I think it almost did last year before the Ironman, then that posed another issue. Steel toed cleats, you might be on to something.
    Airam – you do have glasses? Now you tell me these things. When do you wear them?
    Mez – yes, the toe bit had me falling in love with this little girl. She was so adorable I tell you.
    L – close, but nope. Zelda was her name.

  50. Cazzie says:

    How gorgeous! I love it that I have 4 kids, sure the place can be feral with all the activity alot of the time, but it is when the younguns come out with things like the 2 year old says and does that make it all worth while!
    You know, I may just go into a business…bare with me, it is this…
    I hire my kids to people who are going to become parents soonish…for about, 25 bux an hour..just long enough for them to baby prood the house…yes, a baby proofing service!!!

  51. Airam says:

    I wear them when I remember I have them. I probably should wear them more often … it’s a very light prescription and it’s to see far away. I can see far away fine but with the glasses I get a crisper image. They’re pretty cool looking too.

  52. Amanda says:

    Do clones function well on only 4 hours of sleep?

  53. egan says:

    Cazzie – you might on to something here. Hire out your kids for expectant parents. Or, hire them our for those considering kids. Either way, we need to make this happen as soon as possible.
    Airam – and they are cool looking? Are you torturing me?
    Amanda – yes, clones don’t need nearly as much sleep as their human counterparts. Ask Jacob.

Leave a Reply

