Shiver Me Timbers

Mountains The Swedes are officially gone.  I’m happy to report they had a great time in Seattle and the Pacific Northwest during their week long visit.  After they left Seattle last week I sent them to Port Angeles for a couple nights so they could explore Olympic National Park.  Olympic National Park is one of my favorite places to unwind in the state of Washington which is why I sent them there.  I then suggested they visit Victoria, British Columbia, which they did.  I’m very jealous because they took one of those wicked whale watching cruises and saw a few pods of whales.  I’ve only seen a couple whales in my entire life so I’m naturally a tad jealous.  While in Hawaii last year, a mom humpback and her baby breached right by our boat, truly an incredible sight.

The Swedes wrapped up their trip by crossing over the Cascade Mountains which divide the state of Washington into East & West, passing through the North Cascades National Park.  This is one of the least visited national parks in the lower 48 states for some reason.  Mt. Rainier and Olympic National Park are huge draws and have easier access.  I’ve spent some time in the North Cascades National Park and it’s beautiful.  It’s a very desolate place with emerald green lakes and tremendous access to the wild and that’s the way I like it.  Well worth a visit if you ever happen to make it to Seattle.

Back to the Swedes though.  They arrived back in Seattle last night and head to Chicago for a couple days and then board a plane destined for the mothership.  I chatted with them about their Seattle adventures and they were very gracious of the recommendations I provided.  Things went really well for them and had no hangups or problems while crossing the US-Canada border.   We relieved their adventures and they

All of this travel talk makes me get back to my roots.  I studied forestry in college because I really love the outdoors.  In fact I love them so much I got a cute degree in Forest Resource Management.  How do you like them apples?  Sounds lovely eh?  So you ask, what are you doing with that degree young man?  I will be completely honest and say nothing.  I chose forestry because I love being out in the woods and seeing nature first hand.  I’m a very visual learner so studying trees was a natural, plus I hid in the woods when I was a bad boy for about five years of my childhood (ages 9-14).

Recently I’ve had discussions with people about careers and it’s abundantly clear I’ve got a career shift in the making.  Last Friday night I discussed teaching with a woman at a party.  She gave me tons of great information, including her digits, about schools, teaching, qualifications, curriculum, etc.  She graciously invited me to stop by her school in downtown Seattle to see what I think.  On the drive home from that party I was all hopped up chatting about the school.  I pulled in the driveway and my wife says "you didn’t stop talking the entire way home".  As much as it pained me to admit this, it was true.  I must listen to my heart and see where it leads me career wise since professional blogging seems more like a pipe dream than a reality. 

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Shiver Me Timbers

  1. churlita says:

    It sounds like teaching may be your calling. My sister started teaching a few years ago and really loves it. It takes a lot out of her, but she thinks it’s worth it.

  2. brookem says:

    churlita beat me to the “first!” punch.

  3. egan says:

    Churlita – I just don’t know if it’s me for one big reason, the pay. Sadly teachers in my state don’t get much. I don’t think they make much anywhere which is such a travesty. I got to really think about it. Thanks for chiming in.

  4. egan says:

    Brookem – that she did, although she had some meaningful insight. Where’s yours?

  5. brookem says:

    i love that you shared all those great places, i need to get there one day.
    you said cute degree and that made me laugh.
    AND, i think you’d make a wonderful teacher! it’s exciting and a SPEC scary thinking about a career change, but it’s also encouraging and eye opening to see what else is out there. ive often though of teaching too. summer off anyone?

  6. brookem says:

    THERE! come on, give me a sec damnit.

  7. egan says:

    Brookem – ha, there you have it. Here’s the real comment I’ve been waiting for. Yes, summers you do get off, but it’s more like 6-8 weeks and not three months. The hours are very long as you create lesson plans, grade papers, and meet with parents & faculty. Thanks for saying I’d make a wonderful teacher. Trust me, it’s on my mind a lot these days. Oh, the Northwest is a beautiful place here.

  8. egan says:

    Brookem – I should know better than to challenge your typing speed prowess.

  9. Rachel says:

    Teaching is a scary prospect. You go through so much training and then you get paid a pittance and have to deal with the dreaded parents.
    So many of Devon’s teachers have told me that dealing with difficult parents is their least favorite part of their job.
    If you decide to become a teacher I think that you will be fantastic.

  10. tori says:

    I used to teach Kindergarten and I LOVED it like crazy. You are correct about the not so good pay. The adult people in charge (principal type people but it was a private school so they didn’t use that term) were awful, and were the reason I eventually left. Well, that and the fact that once I had my first baby, I would be paying more to have someone watch her than I would be making and I just really wanted to stay home with her and snuggle her all day long and smell her wonderful baby smell. Perhaps stay at home dad would be good for you? Either way you will be awesome at it!
    Also, I posted the turtle pictures the other day, but I don’t think you saw them yet. I wouldn’t dream of forcing you to read my blog, only mentioning it so you know they are there…

  11. egan says:

    Rachel – thanks for your support. I think the parents would be a major pain in the arse. I umpired Little League baseball for a couple years and those parents were whiny little bitches. Now think about that with grades and everything else. This is why I’ve avoided it.

  12. egan says:

    Tori – I’ve had a tough time making the blog rounds as of late, but I will get over there for sure. Turtles are cool and I want to read about stuff in your life of course. Kindergarten teacher you say. Interesting. I can see you doing that and being very good at it. Stay at home dad is an option, but I need to make some money too. We’ll see how things pan out. The woman I chatted with last week does work at a private school, K-5.

  13. brookem says:

    true, the “off work” hours, spent doing work stuff at home can make it long. it’s definitely something worth looking into. i dont know one person who is a teacher that doesn’t enjoy it more than not.
    that’s right, you know my skills in typing are out of this world.
    remember mavis beacon??

  14. brandy says:

    Ohh Egan the teacher! I like it. As for working long hours, you just need to work in a location where it rains a lot and your school floods. Then besides the 2 months off in the summmer, Easter and Christmas breaks, you can get occasional Wednesdays off. Yahoo!

  15. egan says:

    Brookem – yes, the hours can be quite long as I’ve been told by countless teachers. Of the teachers I know, they do seem to really enjoy what they do. Sure there are tough times, but they generally seem pleased about their impact on their students. Mavis Beacon? Researching this now.

  16. egan says:

    Brandy – this is funny stuff. You know I live in Seattle and we get heaps of rain. So I must find one situated on a flood plain then? Got it. I’m still not sure about teaching. I’ve sitting on this idea for about five to six years now, toying with going back to school or not. How’s your current gig treating you?

  17. Lindz says:

    First of all, did you happen to get your degree at OSU? OSU has an amazing forestry program so I was wondering if perhaps we were Beavers together. Second, Gob bless the national parks of the pacific northwest. I HATE the rain we get here but damn our parks are amazing! I actually just wrote a very non-reflective post today myself about sites to be seen near Bend and LaPine 🙂

  18. brookem says:

    come on. dont let me down with mavis. she taught me some sweet skills. homerow!

  19. Teachers are heroes. Go for it!

  20. brandy says:

    Egan, it’s so great I feel guilty taking money for it- almost. I know it’s hard work a lot of the time, but June is a great time to be a teacher. As for your location, the city is good for rain, but I suggest you look for a school that’s situated in a ditch or that has a really dodgy roof that looks like it might leak.

  21. egan says:

    Lindz – hey, I think this is your first comment on my blog… so welcome. Nope, I got my degree at UW. OSU does have an amazing program though and so does that other Oregon public university. We won’t talk about them though. A few of my college profs got their masters at OSU. Go Beavers! I liked your post very much, but got distracted with the final photo you posted. My bad.
    Brookem – Mavis is a good friend of mine. Was she like like Resusi-Annie? She was the CPR dummy.
    Chaos Control – they are heroes in my mind. Clearly they don’t get enough respect. Can they blog?

  22. egan says:

    Brandy – thanks for chiming in on this with your current gig. I read your post and you seem to be enjoying the work. I will be curious to see how you feel once a genius finally hires you. I bet you’re a great teacher. Ditches scare me. I love the term “dodgy”.

  23. Teaching is something you do because you love it. The reward is not financial but that you are doing something you love.
    I would love to visit the Northwest. It sounds fabulous.
    Teaching forestry? Could you do that? Combining two loves?

  24. Kyra says:

    If you’re that excited to teach, you should go for it! I know well and good that I am not capable of being a teacher. I could take on an apprentice (you know, if I took up making swords and needed to leave my magical art to someone so they could guide the next Highlander or something…) but never teach. There are so few who can teach without being on a power trip, that those who can most definitely should.
    I’ve never been to Seattle, but I’ll mark those parks on my list too!

  25. brookem says:

    oh i love resusi-annie. probably more resusi-andy. more my type. hey maybe i should get recertified in cpr. probably the most mouth to mouth this gal has seen in a while. oops.

  26. Cherry Ride says:

    Good for you re: thinking about a change in career – especially to education since this country needs all the good educators we can get.
    I too love Olympic National Park. Have you been to Lake Crescent Lodge? It is my favorite getaway place on the planet!

  27. Amanda says:

    1. Nooooo!!! We can’t give up on our professional blogging dream, eGan! We just can’t! Please say it isn’t so!
    2. You know how I feel about you with teaching. You are a natural. You have already taught me a lot with the French language stuff. I’m being completely honest with you with that statement and not blowing smoke up your ass. You are patient and willing to help people and you get excited when educating people (and this can be seen with your interaction with the visiting Swedes) and those are wonderful traits to have.
    3. I don’t really have a number 3, but since I’m writing this comment in bullet points, I couldn’t just leave it with only two of them. It didn’t look right. Bullet pointed lists have to be 3 or more in my book.
    4. Argh, matey.

  28. Nessa says:

    All of those places sound great. Makes my traveling urges kindle.
    I think you’d be a great teacher.

  29. tori says:

    Amanda! You crack me up completely!

  30. patches says:

    That picture is really surreal. I want to visit. Air sickness be damned!
    It’s always perplexed me the number of important jobs out there in which people are underpaid, teachers, sanitation workers, childcare workers, law enforcement, paramedics….the list is dreadfully long.
    Why would you underpay the person who helps shape your child’s future? WTF?

  31. Amy says:

    I frequently think about what I want to be when I grow up. I would love to make a career change as well…the sooner the better. Like you I’m reluctant to make the change because the pay of my “dream job” is pretty crappy. The “dream job” I have in mind is retirement. I know I couldn’t get by on the income my “dream job” would provide.

  32. Airam says:

    I think you’d make a great teacher … just be prepared to not be on the blogosphere all day long. Can you handle it? And Brandy I have to disagree with you about June being the best time of the year for a teacher. The reason I find it difficult is because you are trying to wrap up the year, finish all curriculum, mark final tests, projects etc. and get report cards done. AND if that wasn’t enough, now you’ve got to tidy up your room and pack stuff up for the next year. It’s extremely hectic for me. The part of June I like best is probably the last few days. And even then it’s full of emotions as you say goodbye to the kids that you’ve spent 10 months with and who so lovingly call you mommy (ok they don’t call YOU mommy but they call me mommy).

  33. justrun says:

    Wow, I love things like this! I will live a little vicariously through you in this career move thing because I’m still getting a few things figured out.
    Good luck!

  34. sprizee says:

    Oh my god, you would be an awesome teacher. Do that! Do that!

  35. egan says:

    The Exception – yes, one could teach science or something similar or become a park ranger. My other great love of French could somehow be added too. Yeah, I know it’s something you do because you love which is why I’m a tad hesitant.
    Kyra – hello and welcome to my blog. Have we met in the afterlife? Perhaps not, but the Highlander thing threw me off. Seattle is a great town, yet you will have to learn this on your own.
    Brookem – you and your “oops” comments. I love the mouth-to-mouth bit. You could bring him along on dates and talk to him like he’s real. It would go over well I bet.
    Cherry Ride – I’ve been to Lake Cresent and seen the lodge. Sadly I haven’t been inside it.. not that I recall at least. I’m glad you have such fond memories of that place. It’s a great area for recreating. Thanks for the teacher stuff. I hold them on such a high pedestal.
    Amanda – are you trying to win the “sweetest comment” award? I think you got it for this post. A heartfelt thanks. I really appreciate you saying this. I will think about it after baby arrives. I get the feeling the baby is going to be an impetus for change. Points three and four are classic. Are you under the influence of an eye patch?
    Nessa – I know, I want to get out of town again once more before baby arrives. We’ll see if that will happen. Thanks for the compliment about me as a teacher.
    Tori – Amanda was on a roll with that comment. I saw her do this on a couple other blogs too. I know things are hectic at her house these days, but I can see she still has her great sense of humor.
    Patches – can I elect you for some office? I couldn’t have worded it better myself. Olympic National Park is so nice you would be willing to sacrifice your unfavorable stance on flying.
    Amy – good stuff here. Retirement. Maybe we can all live in that cozy shed of yours that doesn’t have electricity or plumbing. Retirement, what a nice idea.
    Airam – ah yes, a great teacher like you to keep tings real. I have heard June sucks with finals, room clean up and getting ready to close the room down for the summer months. Do you mind if I call you “mommy”? Thank you for the support teacher wise.
    Justrun – don’t expect anything immediate, but I’m more open than ever to finding my true niche. Thanks for the support.
    Sprizee – who have you been talking to? Have we met? Do you like the movie Big Fish?

  36. brookem says:

    bring him along on dates? how about bring him AS my date. that’s more like it.

Leave a Reply

