33/32/BFF

Is it June 12th today?  There’s a pretty good reason this is a significant day.  Let me think, what could it be?  Um, the day I graduated ten years ago?  Nah, that’s coming up though.  Um, summer solstice?  Nope, but also just around the corner. 

Mrs. Lessinges’ birthday?  Oh yeah, that’s it.  For those of you not in the know, today is my lovely wife’s birthday.  On the start of her 32nd week of pregNancy, she happens to turn 33.  Yeah, it’s been a really busy past few days in our household so I feel like her birthday might get overshadowed.  Trust me, I have a plan in the works to make sure this doesn’t happen.  Nobody wants one of those Molly Ringwald moments. 

I met Mrs. Lessinges nine years ago next month in a crowded dance club.  Believe it or not, those chance encounters can actually work quite well.  I’ve chatted on this blog about how we met, where we met, the moment I knew she was "the one", the proposal story, and even posted a few pictures of her. 

This is all well and good, but I think it’s time to share about the woman who’s most important in my life.  The woman who completes me.  I thought about typing a separate post about what makes a woman "sexy".  But I figured I could combine the topics into one post since I find my wife to fit this "sexy" profile.  If you have a weak heart or don’t like sappy stuff, you’re clearly reading the wrong blog… now’s your chance to look away or come back on a Thursday.

Sexynpo Why is my wife sexy?  I think it all comes down to personality.  Those eleven letters are critical and can mean so much.  Sure my wife is very attractive, but her personality is what won me over the night we met and over the course of the following few months.  While we were dating and doing the long distance thing, we’d chat on the phone until the wee hours of the morning.  Her intellect sucked me in as she was completely herself, meaning no games whatsoever.  The woman from Chicago’s suburbs is comfortable in her own skin and that my friends is very sexy.   I can’t tell you how alluring it is for a woman to be confident, but I think you get the picture. 

I know she’s a keeper because she can read my blog and laugh.  She knows I’m a goofball and can accept this about me.  I know she’s a keeper because she’s got a great heart.  She so compassionate and understanding.  I know she’s a keeper because of her laugh and ability to let her guard down.  She’s got the most infectious laugh I’ve ever known and she’s not afraid to use it.  As you see I could go on and on about how great my wife, but I’ve got to pace myself since she’s only turning 33.  She’s going to make one wicked awesome mom, this I know.  Happy birthday Mrs. Lessinges, I love you!

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Doting Dude, Facial Tissue. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to 33/32/BFF

  1. Amanda says:

    Ok, I have to make this comment before I forget it. I HEART it that you made that Molly Ringwald reference. 16 Candles…Jake Ryan was my heart throb.
    Ok, back to reading.

  2. Lynn says:

    Happy birthday Mrs. Lessinges! Sounds like not only does the Mister think that you are a keeper…he sounds like one too!

  3. Amanda says:

    This is the sweetest post ever (and if I’ve said that before on previous posts, well forget that and apply it to this one only…and another one in the future may overshadow this one, but for now…sweetest post ever title goes to this one).
    Seriously though. It is obvious how much you love your wife in the words you write not only in this post but in others as well. From what I’ve been learning about you, the fact that you are so open with your love for your wife, unborn child, family, and friends is something that is so rare.
    Happy Birthday Mrs. L!! Have a good one! And make sure to have lots of cake and eat a piece for me!!!

  4. Airam says:

    What you and Mrs. Lessinges have is something I hope to have in the future. Thank you for being so sappy Egan!! We can see why Mrs. Lessinges loves you as well!

  5. Airam says:

    Oh and HAPPY BIRTHDAY N-PO!

  6. That Mrs. Lessinges sounds like a very lucky woman! And she’s smart enough to know it! I love her!!

  7. Laurie says:

    I agree. Mrs. Lessinges is a very lucky gal. She’s hot too!
    Hope she has a very happy birthday!

  8. tori says:

    What Amanda said is perfect, so I am not even going to try to write the same thing a different way.
    Your wife seems like such an awesome person, and you are both so lucky to have found each other. Happy Birthday!!!!

  9. Hilly says:

    Happy Birthday to Mrs. Les Singes!
    And I totally agree that sexiness is all about the personality with men or women!

  10. L says:

    Happy birthday, Mrs. L! Funny – I was just having this conversation with 2.0. If someone attractive opens their mouth and out comes the verbal equivalent of diarrhea, I’m totally turned off and can’t get past that and any attraction goes right out the window. Did you see the article in the New Yorker a couple months ago about 5 minute crushes? Hilarious stuff!

  11. Chris says:

    Happy Birthday Mrs.Lessinges!
    A touching post indeed my friend. Having had the delightful pleasure of meeting the wonderful woman in question, I concur in saying that she is both attractive and extremely personable. You are both very lucky to ahve each other and that Anna is gonna be one fortunate child.

  12. brookem says:

    happy birthday mrs. lessinges!
    this is such a sweet post. seriously, brought tears to my eyes. may everyone be as lucky as the two of you. what you have is so special and unique, and really, quite admirable.

  13. Tim says:

    Happy birthday Mrs. Lessinges!

  14. meno says:

    Any man who can’t be sweet and sappy about his wife is no man at all.
    Happy Birthday to the Mrs.

  15. justrun says:

    Awww, great words there. Happy birthday to your wife and baby momma!

  16. Candace says:

    You 2 sound like a wonderful match. Lucky little Anna! 🙂 This was a cool tribute to your awesome Monkey Missus. 🙂

  17. kim says:

    You’re a sweetie Egan, and very wise too!
    Happy Birthday Mrs L 🙂

  18. Eunice says:

    I love the way you dote on your wife. She is a lucky woman to have a man like you to love her. 🙂

  19. Chick says:

    Yes! A sappily romantic man! Yes! Are you the only one left East of the Mississippi? Wait…I didn’t look to see where you’re from…oh…doesn’t matter…you rock…happy birthday wifey momma…you’re very lucky indeedy.

  20. brandy says:

    What the hell, I’m so late on the comments again, oh well. HAPPY BIRTHDAY Mrs. Lessinges! It sounds like she’s the type of woman I strive to be. I hope she has a fantastic birthday.

  21. brandy says:

    And can I just say her picture pose just re-affirms her coolness?

  22. celeste says:

    Happy Birthday Mrs. Lessinges!!! I hope you two are celebrating in style 🙂

  23. ChickyBabe says:

    Joyeux Anniversaire Madame Lessinges ! I hope he spoils you on your special day :).

  24. mez says:

    happy birthday Mrs Lessinges! 😀
    You are lucky to have a guy that notices ALL the awesome things about you. 🙂

  25. Gwen says:

    So much more than just your baby momma! Happy Birthday to your the Mrs. Monkey! Hope it’s a great day!

  26. Amy says:

    Ooops, I’m a bit late for the party. Happy belated birthday Mrs. Lessinges!

  27. furiousball says:

    Good for you two. Happy Birthday lady. I like reading your guy’s blog. He’s got a good heart. Stuff like you two keep my chin up about love and stuff.

  28. Rachel says:

    Happy Birthday Mrs. L!!! I hope that I get to meet you and your fantastic husband soon.

  29. Cake Lady says:

    Happy Birthday To You
    Happy Birthday To You
    Happy Birthday Mrs. Lessinges
    Happy Birthday To You!!!!!!!!!

  30. Churlita says:

    It renews my faith in men to read that there are actually men who appreciate their women and aren’t afraid to admit it. We need more men like you out here.

  31. kelwhy says:

    Hey egan!
    Happy Bday to the Mrs. Hope all is going well in the emerald city.
    Looks that way…

  32. sizzle says:

    i love how you talk about your wife. everyone should be so lucky to find someone they adore like that!
    happy birthday to her. 🙂

  33. Good for Me says:

    Dude, you’re not supposed to make me cry at work. I admire what you two have, and the way that you so precisely express it. You guys are fortunate 🙂

  34. sprizee says:

    And she can make a fierce model face. Look out Tyra!

  35. Nessa says:

    Happy Birthday, Mrs. Lessinges. Your hubby is a sweetheart. It sounds like you are both very lucky to have each other.

  36. naynayfazz says:

    Your wife is very pretty. And you are so sweet to write about her. I think I said that once before but it is true.
    Also, go over to my blog when you get a chance. I mentioned you in today’s WTF?!? Wednesday. I need your help. -wink wink- (You’ll see when you get there) Don’t worry, this one is not about cats. 🙂

  37. egan says:

    Amanda – at least you spelled Ringwald correctly. I had to go back and update my spelling a few hours after posting.
    Lynn – Mrs. Lessinges is quite the keeper. She thanks you just like I do for the kind words.
    Amanda – sweetest post ever? I like the overshadow bit because I honestly do think you may have said that once before. I do love my wife very much. Thanks for such a great comment. Again with the cake eh?
    Airam – aww, thanks lady. Sappy is the new angry. Does that even make sense?
    Airam – she read this post, so she got your greetings as well.
    Chaos Control – she might be lucky, but so am I. And to think we both found each other. Weird.
    Laurie – Mrs. Lessinges is quite the looker, fo reals.
    Tori – she’s a very awesome woman and for that I’m thankful. Yippee!
    Hilly – it really is all about the personality. Looks could fade over time, but the personality is always there. So they say.
    L – 5 minute crushes? Is that like reading a blog and hitting the Next Blog button?
    Chris – you rock buddy. It was a pleasure meeting you last year. Thanks for the kind words.

  38. egan says:

    Brookem – ah, tears too. Such a sweet comment about my wife and I. Thank you so much for being sappy in return.
    Tim – she thanks you as she read the post.
    Meno – that’s a good way to put it. I’m glad I’m a man.
    Justrun – she’s very deserving of this post. I had to lay it on thick for year number 33.
    Candace – hey you, thanks for the nice comment. We’re quite fortunate we met from across a crowded room.
    Kim – thanks for the comment. I do want to know about the “wise” part. What makes me wise?
    Eunice – it’s okay to dote right? She’s worthy.
    Chick – hello there and welcome to my blog. I’m west of the Mississippi River, quite a bit west. Thanks for the nice first comment on my blog.
    Brandy – you may be late to comment, but man was that ever a huge compliment. My wife read this post so I know she liked what you typed. Thanks.
    Celeste – if “celebrating in style” means eating ice cream with chocolate, then yeah.. we did that. We’ll do something bigger this weekend.
    ChickyBabe – I will spoil her this weekend and I still have something up my sleeve.
    Mez – ah, you say the nicest things. I thank you so much for this.
    Gwen – I hope that aspect doesn’t get lost in the shuffle. Once we become parents, I want to make sure we still take time for each other too. This is possible right?
    Amy – you can never be too late in my book. Thanks for the birthday wishes.
    Furiousball – nice comment, that was a kind thing to say. Mrs. Lessinges read this post and I’m sure she was happy. I saw her grin while reading it.
    Rachel – it would be fantastic to meet you. Shoot me an email as it gets closer to your trip home.
    Cake Lady – which octave did you sing that in? Or is that key? I don’t know jack shit about singing. Thanks for the song.
    Sally – you came looking for cake didn’t you? Hey, welcome to my blog. You’re a talented artist.
    Churlita – wow, thanks for bestowing such a great compliment on me. I really mean that. That was very kind of you.
    Kelwhy – hey, how are you? Life is good here in Seattle. Thanks for asking. How’s Alabama?
    Sizzle – well thanks for the nice comment. She really does make it easy for me, damn her cuteness.
    Good for Me – okay, no more tears. I will make sure I keep it tame. Kidding, thanks for saying such great things about us. My wife cried a bit after reading this post last night and the comments. Thank you!
    Sprizee – Mrs. Lessinges is fierce. Enough said!
    Nessa – aw, thanks. I think we got very lucky to find each other. Once we did though, we felt very at ease and she’s a huge reason why I am who I am today.
    Naynayfazz – she’s a super swell woman and not too shabby looking either. Thanks for your comment.

  39. carrie says:

    Happy Birthday to your beautiful wife!
    You obviously care for her a great, humungous deal and love her very much!

  40. egan says:

    Carrie – hey, you’re very perceptive. I like that about you. My wife is pretty damn cool.

  41. jungle jane says:

    i’m sure I commented on this before…did WordPress eat my comment?
    Great post Egan…very cute indeed. Mrs Le Singe looks smoking hot in that pic – i hope she had a lovely birthday.

Leave a Reply

