The Scene is Clear

BaberoomThe company is gone, the company is gone.  Hurray!  Finally we’ve got our place back and it’s time to whip the guest bedroom into the nursery.  To the right is a photo I took prior to the changing of the guest room.  We painted this room about 18 months ago and went with a nice neutral (sexless) color. 

This weekend my brother gets very lucky, no.. not that kind of "lucky" people.  He gets our old queen bed for free.  Why is he lucky though?  Well he’s currently sleeping on a twin size bed which I bought in college, circa 1994 or so.  You read that right a twin size bed.  Maybe a twin bed isn’t too horrible, but my brother is 6’3 and about 250 pounds.  The twin mattress is in pain, I guarantee it.  My younger brother, notice I didn’t say little, is a big dude so this will be a welcome change.  He was like a football player and stuff.  Enjoy the new bed bro!

We started working on the bedroom Wednesday night.  It was very cool to pull out some stuff we bought months ago for Anna after learning she’s a girl.  A tear or two may have been shed while we did this.  This daughter of ours will be quite the stylish girl and will not be lacking in love and support.  Nor will she be short on stuffed animals, but can you really have too many of the plush critters?  I say no.

——————

Wednesday morning before my wife’s doctor appointment, we grabbed some bagels near Seattle’s famous Pike Place Market.  We ate our bagels in the car, killing some time before the appointment.  From this vantage point we engaged in some people watching, one of my most favorite activities.  We observed a tourist setting up his camera to take a scenic photo with Puget Sound in the background.  He used the timer function on his digital camera as opposed the arm stretched away from the body technique.  It was quite entertaining to watch him re-shoot his photo several times. 

When we got bored of watching him, our eyes shifted across the street to a Canadian couple trying to figure out our high tech parking machines.  While they contemplated the machine, a driver attempted to parallel park her huge Chevy Suburban on the hilly street.  It wasn’t a pretty sight, yet the driver did eventually manage to get her behemoth vehicle in the spot.  You could tell she was a wee bit flustered, but I’m happy to report she assisted the friendly Canadian couple navigating the solar powered parking meter.   If she didn’t help them, I was about to jump out of the car and offer my uber friendly support.

I could have wasted an entire day in the car watching people.  My wife and I had such a great time observing strangers in their natural environment.  I guarantee someone was watching us watch people.  I so want to get paid to "people watch". 

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Storytelling. Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to The Scene is Clear

  1. Amy says:

    You like green don’t you? It is the color of Anna’s room, the color of the room where you took that photo of you on the ball and it is the background color of your blog.
    Oh…and the part about watching people in their element…that Canadian couple obviously weren’t in their element.

  2. Amy says:

    OMG… I was first!

  3. Amanda says:

    Getting paid to people watch would be a dream. Better than getting paid to blog. For reals, yo. And especially if I got to drink me some coffee and eat me some bagels while doing it. Totally awesome career goal.
    I love the color of Anna’s room. It’s so pretty. And what’s great is that it will go with other “girly” colors, so when she changes her mind between pink, purple, black, etc…it will always work out! I can’t wait to see the finished product. You and Mrs. L are so going to rock this parenthood thing. I’ve said it so many times, but thank you so much for sharing this with us. I am living vicariously, but also, I do enjoy your take on it. I think I said back when you first announced the arrival of your future singe that I was looking forward to a daddy’s view to the pregNancy stuff. I am so glad that you haven’t disappointed.
    Also, Happy Father’s Day on Sunday! I know you’re not officially a daddy, yet, but you should still get some props, yo.

  4. Amanda says:

    Can I write the word “so” a few more times? Shit!

  5. sprizee says:

    I’m jealous of all those windows in that room. Anna is very lucky indeed. And not just because of all that great natural light.

  6. celeste says:

    I love people watching! My office is on the main floor of a building, right on one of the main drags where I live and we have wall to ceiling windows, so I spend a lot of time people watching. Unfortunately the needle exchange is in the ‘hood, so I also watch people shoot up and stagger around in a drugged up stupor.

  7. brandy says:

    Oh, I love posts that are all over the map, so much stuff to comment on. I like the green color on the walls. I read that yellow baby rooms make babies cry, so green is a nice choice. (And yes, I’m glad I gave my stamp of approval on this) Also, people watching is one of my favourite activities. Although, some people who I watch repeatedly prefer to call this term ‘stalking’. Either way, it’s enjoyable. Lastly,I suspect Miss Anna is going to grow up to be a very lucky girl- not just because of the sweet wall colour and abundance of plush toys, but because she has a mom who takes a great photo and a dad who can breakdance. And let us never forget- those are the most important qualities for a child to witness.

  8. JohnnyDC says:

    On the other hand you could call up McDonalds and let them sponsor your baby, with a nice little tat and their coporate name, ya know… This is the McDonalds Egan baby Anna Egan, brought to you by McDonalds…
    except something like Starbucks would be better, then you could tell her that you built up that company and named it after her, just before her, and then sold it off.
    muhahaha

  9. egan says:

    Amy – yes, there’s much green in the house. The basement green was there when we moved in. I’m not in love with it in the basement, but it’s not a huge priority to change it. The green in the bedroom is pretty tame and replaced dark blue. The room feels much “lighter” without the dark blue. Dare I say it feels bigger?
    Amy – whoa, congrats on number one. Nova Scotia represent! See, you’re a Canadian in your element.
    Amanda – let’s work on some sort of business plan to make this a reality for us. You game? Maybe we can blog about daily happenings? I think I kind of do that already. Now, you’re so trying to win me over? If so, it’s totally working. Thanks for saying such great things. Last night I learned how to do chest compressions on an infant. Man, I hope I never have to do that. I’m like so scared to use it.
    Amanda – I threw a few “so”s back at you in my comment. I’m so sure you caught that I was like doing that and shit.
    Sprizee – ha, natural light is what all children need. They’re kind of like plants: water and light is all they need.
    Celeste – ouch, the shooting up isn’t something I’d be able to watch. The secrecy of their behaviors though, quite interesting.
    Brandy – I was kind of all over the map here. If green walls were reported to make babies cry, would you share that information with me? Just asking. I’m a bit of a stalker at times too, but let’s not mention it again. Breakdancing and an ability to strike a great pose are two very important parenthood skills. You’re dead on about this.
    Johnny DC – I really like your way of thinking. Babies like tattoos right? Hey, how are you man?

  10. Pants says:

    Hello! Anna’s room will be so lovely. I can’t wait to see the finished pictures!
    Is Johnny DC single?

  11. egan says:

    Pants – yes, Johnny DC is single from what I recall. Be careful what you wish for though.

  12. Pants says:

    I could be putting myself out on a limb here, but I’m guessing he’s from DC. Which would be excellent, since we’re on opposite coasts. Very convenient.
    I just can’t resist a guy who promotes tattoos for babies. Talk about stealing my heart!

  13. egan says:

    Pants – JohnnyDC is a ladies man. He’s smooth like silk and funny like Kosmo Kramer. He told me once that he gives really wonderful back massages. I could be making some of this up though.

  14. Pants says:

    I’m beginning to wonder if Johnny DC is really your alter ego.

  15. egan says:

    Pants – ha, funny you should mention that… it has been suggested before. Am I JohnnyDC?

  16. justrun says:

    Oh my, nursery cuteness! It’s all just so overwhelmingly cute… heck, I cry in Pottery Barn Kids so I’m not surprised when you do in your very own nursery!
    People watching would be the best job ever. I am already a professional.

  17. egan says:

    Justrun – those kids stores really suck me in for some reason. I think it’s the smell and the cheery faces on the staff. So you’re a good people watcher eh? What do you look for? What are your techniques?

  18. Amanda says:

    How many business plans do we have so far? I think this one may be the best yet.
    Isn’t baby CPR scary? It made me all nervous when I had to take it. I hope you never have to use it, either. Hopefully it will just be one of those pieces of knowledge that you can keep in your back pocket, but never gets used.

  19. Amanda says:

    Look at you – interviewing potential people watching employees!

  20. egan says:

    Amanda – infant cpr is something I really really hope to never use. Yes, just file it away. Even watching the fake training videos was a bit much, or “full on” as the Brits like to say.
    Amanda – I got to scope out potential employees.

  21. meno says:

    My oldest brother (6’6″) enjoys introducing my middle brother (6’8″) as his “little” brother.

  22. Lynn says:

    Turning the room into a nursery makes it all seem so much more real, although if we asked Mrs. L. she would probably say that Anna using her bladder like a trampoline makes it very real for her. I love that color green.

  23. egan says:

    Meno – crikey, you is some tall peeps, yo!
    Lynn – ha, spoken like a true mom. You totally nailed the bladder trampoline thing. I’m glad the color is to your liking.

  24. tori says:

    People watching is one of my favorite hobbies. Will you hire me when you start that business?
    I love the color of the room. Decorating a baby room is very emotional. Even more emotional for me was moving out of the house that we brought all 3 of our kids home from the hospital to (we hadn’t planned the 4th yet, so I was positive I was leaving the only house my babies had ever slept at for the first time out of the hospital).
    As everyone else is saying, your baby is very lucky. She has a beautful mom (who I wish I knew more about), an adorable, sweet, kind, thoughtful dad, and her parents are just so filled with love for her. If that wasn’t enough, look at all the blogger friends rooting for her too. What a lucky girl!

  25. egan says:

    Tori – excuse me, I got to grab a facial tissue. Seriously, what a nice thing to say. I kind of wish I could share more about my wife, but she likes to keep a low profile on this very blog. Trust me, she’s one heck of a woman. She’s one of the most supportive and motivational people I know. (now I am crying). Damn lucky I met her. Maybe you don’t know her, but I get the sense you might know someone like her.
    Now, about the people watching? What are your street creds? Are you good at striking up innocuous conversations with complete strangers?

  26. I heart people watching! Love, love, love. There is no greater pass time! Especially when traveling …
    I also love that some tears were shed in the preparation of Anna’s room. That just says volumes about you two and is another example of why you are already such fabulous parents. I’ve only been a faithful reader for a short time, but I just can’t wait to read about your experiences through this journey! I’m so friggin excited for you – as if you were family or something. I’m just wierd that way …

  27. desiree says:

    oh man, you made me miss Pikes Place!

  28. naynayfazz says:

    I think it is funny when people get excited that they are first to comment on blogs. Anyway, that room looks nice. I love the green color… um… Wayne’s coating. Is that what it is called? Whatever it is, me likey.

  29. Airam says:

    Oh I love to people watch too although I dont’ know who doesn’t really. Have you ever heard of someone who hated looking at people? Maybe certain people yes but not ALLLL people. And if you were to get paid how much do you think you’d charge for an hour of people watching? That’d be interesting to know.
    I’ve seen those pics before and love the baby room and all her pretty pink toys. She’ll be the cutest baby in Seattle!!!

  30. patches says:

    Paid for people watching, eh? You could be a security guard, a traffic cop, a bouncer, a tour guide, toll booth operator, a flight attendant, bartender, cat…no wait scratch that last job, the pay really sucks
    The zebra is too cool! You might want to swap the book, “Prep” out of Baby Anna’s reading collection, it’s a wee bit advanced and we want to preserve her innocence as long as possible.

  31. L says:

    I love to people watch! Juane Valdez Cafe in Macy’s, on the corner of 4th and Pine, is an EXCELLENT place to watch people. It’s like the reverse effect of a fishbowl.

  32. carrie says:

    Those are some good times. Isn’t it nice to sit back and observe once in a while?
    Glad the Dr.’s appt. went well.

  33. egan says:

    Chaos Control – that’s a nice thing to say about me and my wife. I know you haven’t been reading for long, but that doesn’t matter. I appreciate what you had to say. Trust me, it’s not weird at all so thanks for sharing. I’ve got you on the list of potential hires.
    Desiree – ha, I’m trying my best to bite my tongue. Okay, I will be polite, Pike Place Market. No “s” on Pike. It very fun to be there though as a local and see stuff go down.
    Naynayfazz – you don’t like the “first” comment? You’re going to regret telling me that since I try to claim the top spot often. Consider yourself warned. The green is relaxing and it’s kind of like wanescoating. Wanescoating comes in sheets though and this is boards. It’s all so darn confusing.
    Airam – the cutest baby in Seattle eh? I know a few pretty cute babies so this could be a tough competition, pink toys or not. You’re right once again Airam, I doubt there are many who don’t like to people watch. As bloggers aren’t we all virtual people watchers? I’m not sure what rate I would pay to people watch. Let me do some research.
    Patches – your eyes are remarkable. I can’t believe you picked that book out from the provided picture. We should start Anna on easier books. Thanks. Being a cat could be fun for people watching.
    L – I know that spot well, but Macy’s? (clears throat)
    Carrie – it was a routine doctor’s visit and went smooth. We’ll be back in two weeks to check in again. It’s nice to take a load off and watch other people interact.

  34. There’s nothing better, nor more entertaining than people watching!

  35. furiousBall says:

    Airport is the best for people watching. Well, that or the beach. The airport is great because you can see every emotion there. Stressed out travelers trying to catch a flight, crying lovers saying goodbye, happy lovers saying hello, ninja fights, confused people staring at arrival monitors looking for connections, peaceful hippies watching ninja fights.

  36. nessa says:

    People watching is so much fun. Can’t wait for the baby room pics when you are done.

  37. jungle jane says:

    Huh? you wanna get paid to watch people? Is that instead of getting paid to blog?

  38. Laurie says:

    You are so the guy I should have married.
    Oh well LOL
    Best wishes to you and your wife on your impending blessing 🙂

  39. Kale Rae says:

    People watching is a underrated hobby. I love going to some tourist spot in the city wih a good book and hunker down with some good people watching!

  40. Good for Me says:

    that’s a yummy color green. the babe will be welcomed by its warmth.
    people watching is such a great thing. when i was young, me and my brother and sisters would watch people and then try and think up a name that fit them — just by watching. then we’d talk as if we were them. i guess you have to try it to get the full humor of it, but it was one of those drink spewing from lips while laughing so hard your stomach hurts kinda things.

  41. egan says:

    Brooke Alexandra – yes, I will send you an application for the open people watching position. Stay tuned.
    Furiousball – ninja fights? Did the ninja fights happen to involve you at Reagan International? I vaguely recall a story in the news involving ninjas.
    Nessa – we made some great progress on the baby room today. The crib has been assembled and the room arranged. We have some other stuff to hang and some finishing touches. Otherwise it’s getting there. I’m going to upload some pictures now.
    Jungle Jane – nope, getting paid to people watch doesn’t replace getting paid to blog. It replaces getting paid to have sex with strangers. Got it?
    Laurie – hmmm, the guy you should have married. Care to expand on that? I will take it as a compliment. Thank you so much for the well wishes.
    Kale Rae – some touristy spot like the Vieux Port or maybe Mont Royal? It seems like you have a great plan to reserve nature.

  42. egan says:

    Good for Me – I often wonder what relationships strangers have (siblings, lovers, coworkers, etc.) amongst themselves so I make up conversations in my head, but don’t tend to verbalize them like you did with your siblings. Very cool. I’m glad you like the green. It’s a soothing color.

  43. Crashdummie says:

    “nice neutral (sexless) color.”
    errrr, ok… if you say so.
    Gosh, so exhiting, you’re gonna be a Dad! Getting all giddy for ya!

  44. Good for Me says:

    glad you think it’s cool. i tried explaining it to my kids recently…they didn’t get it at all, and thought i was weird. maybe you have to get to teenager to appreciate it.

  45. mez says:

    It must be so fun to decorate a room in anticipation of someone so special! I can’t even imagine how much your brain neurons must be dancing inside your head at all this.
    I adore people watching. I wish I could do it without being caught out though.

  46. brookem says:

    I just love the room. Green is a good color; I approve. How exciting it all must be to be getting closer and closer to the big day. It just must be seeming that much more real as each day passes. I’m so happy for you and your wife. Happy Father’s Day!
    Oh and of course I’m down with the people watching thing. I say that in the literal sense as well. Once, I do believe I took quite the digger as I was walking while people watching (not the best combo). I think it was something about older couple, in motorcyle garb, both long hair and unfortunate double denim issues. This took place in Myrtle Beach, and there may or may not have been alcohol involved.

  47. naynayfazz says:

    Man, I really screwed up the spelling of wanescoating or however you spelled it. At least I had the idea right. And I have been first on your blog before but never thought it was a big deal. Maybe I am still too new to this blog world? I don’t realize how cool it really is?

  48. egan says:

    Crashdummie – you don’t think it’s a sexless color? Maybe that’s because we’ve added pink stuff in there once we found out we’re having a girl. You’re excited for me? Wicked.
    Good for Me – how do I go about getting a teenager? Do I have to apply for something? Can they be purchased? How much are they? So many questions.
    Mez – my brain is all over the place to be honest. The motivation comes and goes. It’s really weird how the mind functions in an advance of such a large life changing event. You get busted people watching? I love it. I have too on occasion and it kind of sucks.
    Brookem – it’s ridiculous how real it seems. Life changes every day and the deadline for getting things done is that much closer. It’s like buying Christmas presents in a drugstore on Christmas Eve at noon. You took a “digger” as in you feel on your face? I love so much that you admitted this. I have come close to walking into walls after stealing an extra glance or two. Damn pretty women!
    Naynayfazz – it isn’t a big deal to comment first. It’s an inside joke. Here’s precisely when being a smart ass gets lost in translation so I won’t even bother to explain the logic behind it all. Ask ChickyBabe if you want an explanation.

  49. ChickyBabe says:

    Sexless colour? I take it she won’t be having sex in there? 😛
    I love people watching, especially when I can take notes and write about the later!

  50. egan says:

    ChickyBabe – I can totally see you taking notes. This weekend I watched a woman eavesdrop on the conversation between new parents. It was really cool to watch this woman giggle and ponder their conversation. I could see her wanting to take notes, but stopping short of doing so. Yes, she won’t be having sex in that room and I refuse to give a timeframe. Damn, am I going to be protective?

  51. ChickyBabe says:

    So you picked the colour of the paint to match your blog? 😛

  52. egan says:

    ChickyBabe – yes, I have a sexless blog. You’re too wise.

Leave a Reply

