Merci Beaucoup Kraft Canada

Brownies2_2One Bowl Caramel Pecan Brownies

Prep: 20 minutes

Ready in: 55 minutes

Serves: 24 brownies

Directions:

  1. PREHEAT oven to 350°F. Microwave 4 squares Baker’s Unsweetened Chocolate and 3/4 cup butter in large microwaveable bowl on HIGH for 2 minutes, or until butter is melted. Stir until chocolate is completely melted
  2. STIR in 2 cups sugar until well blended. Add 3 eggs and 1 tsp. vanilla; mix well. Stir in 1 cup flour. Stir in 1 cup chopped pecans, if desired. Spread into greased 9-inch square baking pan.
  3. BAKE for 45 to 50 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in centre comes out with fudgy crumbs. During last 5 minutes of baking, top with a handful each unwrapped chopped Kraft Caramels and pecan pieces. Cool completely before cutting to serve.

Go here yo, for the full fledged website and so I won’t get sued by some big wig north of the border.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Science. Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Merci Beaucoup Kraft Canada

  1. Amy says:

    Serves 24! Who are you trying to kid?

  2. egan says:

    Amy – true that, it’s like eating a pizza by yourself or something.

  3. celeste says:

    my mouth is literally watering just looking at that picture.

  4. egan says:

    Celeste – mine too, I think I’m going to steal some ice cream out of the work freezer. Double vanilla anyone?

  5. brandy says:

    What the hell.

  6. brandy says:

    Egan, I want to leave you a better comment, but I need to go lay down for a moment and collect my thoughts. It appears the stretching didn’t help.

  7. Amanda says:

    Ok. I just ran to my kitchen (no, really…I ran….not unlike The Flock of Seagulls). And I actually have all the ingredients to make this. WITHOUT going to the store. You have no idea how excited I am. I mean, I am probably more excited about this than I have been in a really long time (like a week or so…).

  8. Amanda says:

    Brandy…I think you just made me pee my pants a little bit with your comment.

  9. Amanda says:

    One more thing**. When I first read the title of your post (before seeing the brownies), I kind of freaked out. You know that story I wrote about the Saskatchewan boy I kissed in Greece? Yeah, his dad worked for Kraft Canada. The envelopes that the letters I received from him had the Kraft info in the return address. True story
    **until I think of something else to comment about, that is.

  10. brandy says:

    Okay I’ve bounced back from not being #1 commenter today. Hats off Amy, you are a good woman with a quick commenting hand. As for the actualy CONTENT, I’m so glad you posted a recipe Egan. I do love it when bloggers share food ideas. You are smart beyond your years. And I love Kraft. They have the greatest cooking magazine ever. Amanda, my goal is to get people to pee their pants completely. Until that’s accomplished, my work is not done.

  11. tori says:

    I am currently baking something off of my trusty cookie madness website, so I will not be trying this recipe right now, but it looks really good. My kids always get so hungry when they are sleeping (because I bake at night and they smell it). I wonder if I am scarring them for life, or setting up some unrealistic expectations. Will my sons expect their wives to bake them yummy stuff while they sleep? Who knows.

  12. tori says:

    Don’t you have a class tonight? I hope it goes well! My husband used to swaddle our kids so well they looked like tiny burritos and it always calmed them down perfectly (not the looking like burritos part, the being swaddled well part).

  13. meno says:

    I can see them. I think i can smell them, but i can’t get to them.
    You suck!

  14. Lynn says:

    I just gained 5 pounds looking at the picture…thanks a lot;~(

  15. liv says:

    mmmm….delicious! I shall have to dig up my powerful brownie recipe from dueling US conglomerates: Pillsbury and Kraft. You will love.
    and seriously, next time, before you publish your post, be sure to shoot brandy a quick email so she can be first. k?

  16. Airam says:

    Yum … I want brownies now.

  17. KJ says:

    Man, do those ever look good!
    I moved my blog..come visit!
    Kayla

  18. brookem says:

    those look delish.
    i pee my pants once quarterly. roughly.
    did i just admit that?

  19. Airam says:

    These should be your special treat you bake with your daughter.

  20. jungle jane says:

    I followed your recipe down to the very last detail (except i don’t have vanilla so i used garlic instead) but my cookies taste horrible.
    That’s the last time I follow one of your recipes, Egan…

  21. justrun says:

    I am not amongst the majority here as I do not, in any way, shape or form, like chocolate. However, if I did, I would say that’s a great recipe. Serves 24 means you can eat one brownie every hour all day long. Or all at once, which ever.

  22. Good for Me says:

    oh my – yumerama! chocolate is my darkest weekness. i will have to make these.

  23. ruby says:

    *drool*
    Must….go…find….brownie…

  24. Laurie says:

    Great, now I want a brownie for breakfast. Damn Canadians.

  25. patches says:

    I wish had checked your site before I made brownies Tuesday. I am always late to the party..probably cause I’m too busy makin’ brownies. Oh they aren’t special brownies or nuthin’

  26. Cherry Ride says:

    So this recipe is from the diabetic cookbook, then?

  27. Those brownies look gorgeous!!! Mail some over? 😉

  28. Candace says:

    That looks tasty! Whenever I see/hear about Kraft caramels, my first thoughts are about what FIL said when he was working in the plant (he’s a machinist and helps with problems on various Kraft, Oscar Mayer, GFoods, etc. lines) If there’s a problem with the caramels for some reason, they just dump them, wrappers and all, back into the vat. I guess the heat is supposed to vaporize the wrappers, but eeeew. O-o They still tase good, though.

  29. Amanda says:

    Tall Chick just ruined all future caramel apple enjoyment for me.

  30. Amanda says:

    I mean…I know that stuff happens. In my heart I know. But confirmation just ruins it. Ya know?

  31. naynayfazz says:

    There goes my diet! They look GOOOOOOD. 🙂

  32. naynayfazz says:

    There goes my diet! They look GOOOOOOD. 🙂

  33. naynayfazz says:

    There goes my diet! They look GOOOOOOD. 🙂

  34. naynayfazz says:

    You’ve got to be kidding me!! Three times it posted?! Shame on you Typepad! Egan, um, can you delete two of them so I don’t look like an overzealous brownie eater? 😉

  35. brandy says:

    naynayfazz, I think the three comments look great, and really get home the point we are all trying to make that those brownies look fantastic!!! And Egan, what is this, the 36th comment? My oh my, you are popular for a recipe. Mwhahahahahaha. I suspect I will be the champion of the universe sometime today. Hopefully you are working on my crown.

  36. Amanda says:

    So, I didn’t make these last night. Because I apparently misread the recipe and thought the “3/4 cup of butter” was “1/4 cup of butter”. I don’t have 3/4 cup of butter right now. Bastards. And then Candace’s comment about the caramels just really pretty much ruined it. I may just make these without the caramel topping. I bet fudge instead of caramel would be better anyway. Shit, I need some chocolate, yo.

  37. Lynda says:

    I tried to taste them, but they tasted dusty. And now my monitor is wet.

  38. Oh my gosh. Out with the Dove Bars, in with the new recipe!

  39. tori says:

    Amanda…I am working on fixing a recipe I made last night. It turned out fine, but not to my liking. I am going to change a bunch of stuff and try again. You never can have too many desserts in your house, right?
    That caramel thing was kind of gross.

  40. Nessa says:

    They look yummy. Can you mail me some?

  41. carrie says:

    Mmmmmmm, I know what I’ll be making the next time I have a chocolate and caramel craving.
    Please tell me you made those for your pregnant wife, and she loved them!

  42. sizzle says:

    um hello deliciousness! eat one for me, will ya?

  43. Diane Mandy says:

    Those of us dieting, hate you right now. I’m off to go eat a carrot sticks and rice cake.

  44. Karla says:

    mmmm!!! Canadian Brownies! 🙂

  45. brandy says:

    I’m making these today. I’ve decided that a rainy Thursday on the longest day of the year is the best day to make brownies. Besides, they are gluten free, AND they call for two cups of sugar. And any recipe that needs that much sugar is sure to warm my heart. And give me cavities- but mostly warm my heart.

  46. egan says:

    EVERYONE – I apologize if any of you felt like guinea pigs. I thought a picture of brownies would be to your liking though. If you’re angry with me, please send a nasty email to “seattlesuitor@gmail.com”. Thank you!

  47. egan says:

    Brandy – how did these brownies turn out? Did they warm your heart like watching Field of Dreams on a Friday night?

  48. Candace says:

    You specified unwrapped caramels, but I’m not really sure it matters. . .
    ^_^
    Sorry to gross everyone out. Just pretend it only happened once. ^_^

Leave a Reply

