Just Another Hypnotic Monday

I came here to type an update on my exciting weekend, but I got nothing.  Nothing to share, nothing to expose, nothing of any value.  Please resume your normal procrastination elsewhere.

Ha, so not true.  I did a triathlon this weekend, some yardwork, made a big shopping trip to Costco, and worked some on the nursery.  It was a very exciting action packed weekend.  I’m running a bit behind on sleep still though so you’ll have to excuse me. 

Wii!  I got a Wii last week as a gift from some very special people.  You know exactly who you are my little pretties.  My wife and I have been practicing up on the new system.  The Wii is quite the toy I tell you.  I can even surf the net using my new Wii.  How exciting is that?  My arm got a little sore from all the virtual tennis I was playing in the basement of our house.  What’s not virtual?  My taunting of Mrs. Lessinges.  Oops.

Oh yeah, my wife is expecting our first child in less than three weeks.  If you’ve forgotten she’s pregnant, here’s your reminder.  Currently she’s sporting a cool wrist brace on her right hand.  The best part about the brace, by wearing it… she’s raised her bowling average about 13 pins a day. 

Do you ever have so much on your plate you don’t even know where to begin?  I think one could say that very thing about this post of mine.  If you have any questions whatsoever, don’t hesitate to ask me.  Otherwise you can resume your normal activities. 

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Current Affairs, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Just Another Hypnotic Monday

  1. patches says:

    Tell Mrs. Lessinges I appreciate the bowling tip, I need all the help I can get.

  2. patches says:

    Duds, I am so glad I didn’t have to write my own post…that happened the last time I got first.

  3. meno says:

    How did the tri go?
    Have fun with your new toy.

  4. Amanda says:

    Are you sure your arm was sore from the virtual tennis?

  5. tori says:

    How was the tri? Details please! What distance, how did you feel about it, etc.

  6. CJ says:

    I saw a lot of people out and about doing to tri… I was wrapped up with Amerivespa this weekend… Great weekend in our city I must say.
    Congrats on the wii!
    I’m not much of a video game guy but I’ve owned a wii for about 3 months now and I love it… primarily getting together with some friends and playing wii tennis… I suck at the real sport but on the wii, I rock the house.

  7. Airam says:

    I’m so glad you’re enjoying your Wii! It’s a lot of fun eh???
    I had no idea you could surf the net on the Wii. That’s something I’ll have to try out on my own gaming system.
    I totally know what you mean about having a million things on the go. These next couple of weeks I bet you and the Mrs. will be feeling on edge a little due to what’s in store ahead!!
    You’re wife is pregnant?? When did that happen!!!

  8. patches says:

    I went and poured over your stats, ’cause I’m a nerd that way, and I have to say that rocks. I would have been ecstatic to finish period. But, you finished in the top forty-one percent! That is sweet. I would have passed out after the first event. Not to mention you have had so much on your plate with the baby on the way. Most sane people wouldn’t say, “Hmmm, maybe I’ll do a triathlon in between painting the nursery and lamaze class.

  9. tori says:

    I just checked out your results. Got it. If I read the actual post carefull, you usually answer my questions before I ask. I will keep that in mind for the future. Disregard my previous comment! I am really tired…does that excuse me?
    How’s the wii? I am pretty good at bowling and baseball, but not so good at tennis. I almost never get a chance to play because right now my kids are home for the summer. When they go back to school though, then I will play the entire day if I want to.

  10. Cake Lady says:

    Congrats on the triathlon! You’ve been busier than a dog with 2 peckers!

  11. egan says:

    Patches – yep, you got the top spot friend. Well done! I love the question mark.
    Patches – my mom is a wicked good bowler if you need tips too. She’s got like a 180 average or some crap.
    Patches – come back here as often as you like. I know I don’t have to tell you this, so carry on as usual.
    Meno – thanks for asking about the triathlon. It wasn’t a great effort, but I did it. No training and I did alright so yeah… I’m not too upset. The Wii rocks!
    Amanda – I’m afraid you’re implying something very sinister here. Yes, the Wii. Right vs. left!
    Tori – ha, I’m in the process of posting all the details on the triathlon. Click the link in the second paragraph of this post for more details. I did a sprint distance triathlon and did alright. When is yours?
    CJ – hello and welcome to my blog sir. I see you live in our awesome city. I heard about the Vespa rally and spied a few of them around town. We shut down the I-90 express lanes on Sunday morning with our triathlon. We rock the house yo! Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
    Airam – yes, it’s loads of fun. I really look forward to playing it each night, but I have to pace myself as to not disrupt my blogging output. One of these days I’m going to create an entire post on my Wii and you will be totally jealous. Can you believe it, my wife is preggers! Woot woot.
    Patches – thanks yo, to be honest I’m not pleased at all with my outcome, but then again I didn’t train for shit. The triathlon has three sports and I trained for one of the three… not wise. But all things considered, the top 41 percent isn’t too shabby. Thanks for checking it out.
    Tori – it’s all good yo. I’m glad you found the link. There’s a bunch of triathlon stuff in there for reals. You can read about my boring triathlon life if you’re so inclined. The Wii is the shit, just don’t let the kids here you say that.
    Cake Lady – where did you get that expression? That’s pretty funny. I’m a wii bit busy these days. Any day now my wife’s bag of waters could break. Did you know you can pluralize water?

  12. Airam says:

    Egan!!
    Wii to Wii!!! Look into it yo!

  13. justrun says:

    Dude, I am so beyond impressed by any tri effort whatsoever.
    And with all you have going on, to just throw a race in there (not to mention a trip to COSTCO- are you out of your mind?!) is pretty bold.
    Here’s to being bold! Just don’t make people start calling you “Big Daddy.” That’s so 2006.

  14. justrun says:

    Oh, I just thought of this… you could make people start calling you “Wii Daddy.” That would be pretty sweet.

  15. Tall Chick says:

    If I could do a triathlon, period, I’d be impressed with myself.
    Sucky about the brace. Carpal Tunnel I assume?

  16. Jennifer says:

    This post has the flavor of a dad to be, pacing in wait. As it should.
    I kill me.

  17. Kale Rae says:

    Three weeks! That’s soo close! I can’t imagine how excited you must be!
    Triathlon – you put all us (okay maybe not us, more like me) couch potoatoes to shame!

  18. Chris says:

    It must be my time of themonth because I was gonna get all witty and maybe even sarcastic but your post got me all sappy with sweetness.
    Hoe the triathlon went well and that your not too sore. Enjoy the Wii brother.

  19. Congrats on both the triathlon and the Wii! Maybe you can post of photo of it considering I’m so out of touch that I’ve never even seen what one looks like? I guess I could google it and see … I’m just too lazy.
    Now excuse me while I go back and veg out on my sofa …

  20. furiousBall says:

    I like reading your blog because then I don’t feel like I’m working too hard or doing too much. You weirdo.

  21. brookem says:

    it’s crunch time, yo. you’ll be busy these next few weeks for sure. enjoy this time as much as possible, and do something good for yourself and mrs. l. keep playing that wii! woot!
    congrats to you on the tri. you rock, mentor.

  22. The Grunt says:

    I’m wondering what other virtual things are possible with the Wii.

  23. ChickyBabe says:

    “Do you ever have so much on your plate you don’t even know where to begin?”
    That was my thought this morning at work.

  24. Congrats on the triathalon..good work! I am excited for you to have your baby (or you an dyour wife rather..) as I have been an avid reader so congrats there too! Wiiiii!

  25. Amanda says:

    Sinister? Moi?
    *insert maniacal laughter here*

  26. egan says:

    Airam – I will look into the Wii to Wii. I know it’s possible, but I’m not sure which games work. I don’t think the Godfather is one of them.
    Justrun – ha, I love how you threw in the Costco thing. Yes, that compounds the levels of difficulty. Thanks for your support. I’m going to sign myself up for another triathlon which takes place in two months.
    Justrun – Wii Daddy eh? I’m afraid people will assume I have a small pecker.
    Tall Chick – I would bet you could do a triathlon, I mean that. Carpal tunnel or pregNancy, you take a guess yo.
    Jennifer – ha, very funny. I guess I’m pretty fortunate I’m not the one carrying the child at this point. 37 weeks!
    Kale Rae – three weeks is damn close. Really, it could happen at any time. That’s the freaky part. We’re driving our Subaru everyday in the event we have to rush to the hospital. Thanks for the triathlon support.
    Chaos Control – the Wii looks like an upright DVD case that’s white and glows. It’s pretty damn cool I must admit. Is the vacation over yet?
    Furiousball – hey, don’t you blame me for the guilt trip yo! I will so kick your ass in shape if you want. Now, resume watching those beloved Phillies.
    Brookem – great point about doing something for myself. I worked on my tennis returns using the Wii. My ranking is climbing up the Wii charts. Rumor has it these things are going to be scarce this holiday season. I lucked out big time.
    The Grunt – SEX!
    ChickyBabe – I feel your pain woman, I really do. My busy is a bit different, but yeah. When I don’t have time to read your blog, something is definitely wrong. You know I love you though.
    Princess Extraordinaire – hey, thanks for taking time to stop by. I’ve been really bad about “returning the [blog] favor” as of late. Triathlons are me. That sounds weird, but I’m sticking with it.
    Amanda – I know, I had you pegged from the first time I read your comments on someone else’s blog. Now, settle down.

  27. Tall Chick says:

    Is it Carpal Tunnel from the pregNancy though? I hear that’s not uncommon. No fun.
    I don’t know. Maybe I could do one if someone was chasing me. But I doubt it. Probably I would just stop and kick them in the head. ^_^

  28. Tall Chick says:

    I hope you’ve started the Harry Potters. You only have 3 more days to get through them.

  29. egan says:

    Tall Chick – yes, it’s pregnancy induced carpal tunnel. I guarantee you could do one. You can swim right? You can ride a bike right? And I know you can run. We’re not talking breaking any records, but you can do one for sure.
    Tall Chick – I haven’t started them yet. Can I watch the movies instead?

  30. Tall Chick says:

    Ow. Poor N-po. 😦
    How do you know I can run? Maybe I can’t. Maybe I have like a half hitch every third step with a reverse pronating slide to the side.
    No you can’t. They’re a completely different animal. Amanda and I will tie you up (down?) and read them to you. That’s right. “Put him in the comfy chair! Prepare the soft cushions!”
    “Did you make sure to get all the stuffing in one corner?”

  31. egan says:

    Tall Chick – I get the feeling you could run, if you had to. There’s absolutely nothing that says you must run in a triathlon. You can crawl if you want to. There are some athletes who walk the entire marathon in the Ironman. So you can do one even if you can’t run.
    Ha, I was wondering where you were going with your tying me down bit. Are you sure you’re forcing me to read a book? It sounds more like an improvised sexual situation, but I could be wrong.

  32. Tall Chick says:

    How long must that take? Holy crap. Seriously. How long? To walk it?
    Well, there would be book reading, but since we’d have you at our mercy anyway. . . }:-)

  33. egan says:

    Tall Chick – “they” say the average human walks 3-5 mph so you can do the math there. Personally I wouldn’t have the patience to walk 26.2 miles. I’d have to run it.
    I would be at your mercy eh? This little Harry Potter scenario gets more interesting by the day.

  34. Amanda says:

    WHOA! You can walk in a triathlon?!?!? What is the other option for the bike portion? Can you walk while you push your bike? Does that count?
    Tall Chick and I are serious about Harry Potter, yo. Don’t make us regulate.

  35. Tall Chick says:

    HAR! Amanda!!! Girl, we are doing a triathlon! We’ll push our bikes (then it won’t matter that mine is busted, LOL!) and walk the 26.2 miles and um, what about the swim. Can we wade it?
    We’ll push Egan on a floaty and pull him in a wagon while we go so we can read to him. Multitasking at its best!
    Egan, we are totally serious. So watch it.
    And though you would be at our mercy, we might not show a lot.

  36. Tall Chick says:

    Actually, Egan can do the whole triathlon and then lap us, and we’ll just drag him through Round 2 while reading.

  37. Maggie says:

    Color me impressed. I can’t even imagine finishing a marathon, let alone two more legs of a race.

  38. furiousBall says:

    oh no, no I meant I feel like a kindred spirit in that we both do alot of stuff all the time.

  39. Amanda says:

    For some reason the words “Egan” and “Floaty” in the same sentence make me giggle. I don’t know why.
    I like your triathlon plan, though. Seriously. I think we can do it. But yeah…we only have 3 days! And I’m busy making nerd-shirts! We need to come up with plan B, stat!

  40. egan says:

    Amanda – there’s absolutely no stipulation that says you can’t walk a triathlon if you want. You can even walk your bike if you want. However, some triathlons do have time cutoffs though and clearly walking a bike isn’t nearly as efficient as riding one. I’m on the lookout for Harry Potter stuff.
    Tall Chick – I have no doubt you could do a triathlon. It’s all about mental capacity. Mental toughness, I think you got that. You can wade the swim, if you have really long legs. You can’t use flotation devices though so waterwings and kick boards are out of the question.
    Tall Chick – you said “round 2” and my head started spinning.
    Maggie – to be honest, two years ago I never thought I could finish a marathon either. It’s amazing what the mind can accomplish. Thanks for your kind words.
    Furiousball – ah, okay buddy. I feel you now. I’m going to buy you an iPhone.
    Amanda – floaty is so much fun to say. Are you really making t-shirts right now? What about the pink shirt, is that happening?

  41. Tall Chick says:

    One outta 2 ain’t bad.
    Amanda, is Egan wearing the pink shirt? I would ask Egan, but he’s busy feeling Furiousball.

  42. Tall Chick says:

    Wah hoo!! I got 42
    And 43

  43. Amanda says:

    Hells yeah I’m making t-shirts! Not right this second, but in the next 2 days, yo! And you know the pink shirt is happening.
    TC, I’m going to have my friend wear it around Nebraska…see what kind of response it gets.

  44. CS says:

    So much on your plate you don’t even know where to start? Yup, that’s been my life for the past few months.
    3 weeks – woo hoo!

  45. Airam says:

    So you mean I can’t bust a cap in yo ass via the Wii?? That sucks.

  46. Oh my Wiigan!!!
    21 days left! I remember when that number was 3 digits long ….

  47. your tri site is a great resource mind if i link you as i write about my upcoming mini tri ?

  48. Brother#3 says:

    Hey Eg,
    Did you confirm the ultrasound?
    Just wondering if we all may be surprised with a nephew, not neice…:-) Just somethng to think about, since you have nothing on your plate.
    Cheers from Hogwarts

  49. Tall Chick says:

    At least your brother is well read.
    I’m getting out the ropes.

  50. Nessa says:

    You have totally exhausted me. I must go rest.

  51. Amanda says:

    Tall Chick, I’ll get the masks.
    Ooops…I meant books. Books. I’ll get the books.

  52. egan says:

    Tall Chick – of course you would notice me “feeling” Furiousball. I know how your mind works.
    Tall Chick – is there a significance to 42 and 43 that I don’t know about?
    Amanda – I’m still skeptical about this whole pink t-shirt thing. I need proof, that’s what I’m saying.
    CS – three weeks is crazy. My wife is down to her final FOUR days of work. Damn.
    Airam – if there was a game other than Pokemon we could play, then I’d be all over it. I’m turning into quite the Wii tennis pro. That’s my favorite game so far.
    Master Procrastinator – um yes, when we get in the teens… it’s freak out time. Who am I kidding, it’s already freak out time.
    Seattle Mamacita – please feel free to link away. I’m excited to hear about your first triathlon. If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask me on any of my blogs or via email. Good luck!
    Brother #3 – silly boy, we haven’t confirmed the ultrasound since week 21 or so. You sound like mom. I think it’s time you accept the fact a girl will be added to the family. If, by some bizarre twist of fate, it happens to be a boy, we’ll name him Augustus.
    Tall Chick – yeah yeah yeah
    Nessa – wanna play some Wii with me? Huh, that sound kind of naughty.
    Amanda – you can’t force to read. I only read blogs yo!

  53. logo™ says:

    wow
    The comments are as interesting as the post.

  54. Amanda says:

    I’ll send you your proof.

  55. egan says:

    Logo – damn the comments. I should really spend more time doing other stuff than responding to comments such as world hunger.
    Amanda – yes, waiting on the proof. HLogs in the shirt on the street will suffice.

Leave a Reply

