Where Would I Be

I thought about recording an audiopost because I’m up way past my bedtime.

I thought about posting a picture and letting you make wacky comments about it.

I thought about mocking Sting and John Mayer, but I value my life.

I thought about sharing a humorous story from my youth…

Instead I leave you with this simple post about my love I have for all of you bloggers. I started blogging to voice my dissatisfaction with George Bush. That changed as time progressed. I used to antagonize bloggers until I realized it was unwise and not really who I was. I used to have no idea what it meant to be a blogger. I thought I had it all figured out after a year of blogging. I can now say, I was wrong.

For those on the outside looking in, non-bloggers, you really don’t know what they’re missing. Sure it’s an addicting habit, but damn is it ever rewarding. I say this because over the past few years I’ve really learned how amazing complete strangers can morph into truly wonderful friends.

It’s hard to express how overwhelmed I’ve been in the past months in regards to everyone’s well wishes baby wise. The support I’ve found here in blogopolis is tremendous. The journey which started around Halloween last year is nearing its completion. And with one completion there’s a start of an even bigger journey, parenthood. I don’t want to take being a father lightly since thankfully I was able to partake in the joys of a happy childhood. For you bloggers, all of you, I want to pass along a heartfelt thank you. The impact every single one of you has had on me is not a task I care to quantify. Do let it be known… you all have a special place in my heart. Thank you for your continuing support, advice, laughs, emails, pranks, photos, etc. I thought this post would be easy to write. Again, I was wrong!

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Doting Dude. Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to Where Would I Be

  1. Michelle says:

    How sweet 🙂 Thank YOU for being such an amazing blogger and blogger friend!

  2. furiousBall says:

    got nuthin’ but love for ya dawg
    Damn it Randy Jackson, leave my mac alone. egan, here’s my new formula I came up with
    you = cool

  3. Your future posts are going to be starting with “last night I got spit up on by a pint sized being…”
    You rock.

  4. Chris says:

    I’m with ya buddy. I had no clue what to expect in the land – it was uncharted turf for me and I had only heard about it from colleagues in education, so the perspective was totally skewed; until I chatted with my friend Jill. Jill is a librarian, and a really cool person and she gave me enough insight that made me want to take the plunge.
    Now, all this time later, I too have had the opportunity to meet (both in person and virtually) some great people who do have a real impact on me.
    Egan, you’ve had two posts in a row that are sappy, now get you ass over to the MAC and write something sarcastic, ridiculous, funny, or another FKT.
    Peace and love to ya my brother.

  5. Brother#3 says:

    Does being a part of your blog trump being my brother for the past 34 years? I just wanna know!

  6. tori says:

    I have been very surprised to make such wonderful friends through this blogging thing too. I started mine because I was bored after surgery. Who knew all the awesome people I would meet!
    I am so thankful to have “met” you and can’t wait to read about your adventures in fatherhood. You are going to be an amazing father. I already know this from the way you talk your friends and your wife. I wish you could be my dad, that is for sure! Your daughter is a lucky girl, your wife is a lucky woman, and I am a crying mess after reading your sweet post. Your rock!

  7. Mone says:

    I just told a friend of mine how much blogging means to me. I started blogging as to let of steam in a relationship gone wrong. I got so much support from totally strangers, that knocked me off my feet. I’m happy to meet and know many bloggers from around the world. Another way to widen my horizon.

  8. Nessa says:

    You are such a sweet heart. You’ll be a great dad.

  9. Amy says:

    Okay Egan, you have me once again considering a return to blogging. Gurrrrrr….there are only so many hours in a day. I still haven’t finished a single article for my work blog (though I have about 2 dozen outlines.)

  10. Amanda says:

    In a way…I guess we all have to thank the prez for getting you into blogging. Quite possibly the only good thing he’s done? Who knows.
    You really are a great guy. I can’t tell you that enough. You are truly one of a kind with a huge, huge heart and this is why you are going to make a wonderful daddy. Why you are just a wonderful person!!! And I am so happy to have stumbled upon your blog 2 years ago. And when I returned to blogging after I my “break” and found that you were still around, doin’ what you do, I had no idea how much of an impact you would be on me and how much of a wonderful friend I would consider you. And how many other friends I would make. It’s those things that I wish the non-bloggers who don’t understand could see. So they can stop looking at us like we’re crazy.
    Ok, now that I’ve officially gotten all sappy as well and have started crying when I told myself I wasn’t going to cry this morning, I must go.

  11. Brother#3 says:

    The blogopolis allows for a new version of the Patridge Family or Brady Bunch (or Munsters according to your view) to be formed…what strange families we can create…Just let me know when things slow down and we need to invite cousin Oliver!

  12. Megan says:

    Oh Egan. This was beautiful. The funny thing is, I read every post you write when it pops up on Bloglines. What’s funny is that every time I see your name highlighted (signifying you have a new post), I honestly have a subtle gasp because I wonder each and every time, “Will this be the post where he has officially become a dad?” I feel so strange sharing that with you. It makes me feel like a stalker for being so excited for your little girl to come. But it’s true. It has been an honor to have found your blog and read it over all these months. (Years? No it hasn’t been yearS plural I don’t think. Gosh, who knows.)

  13. logo™ says:

    Awwwwa,
    who’s a sweet lil monkeyboy?
    You are! You are!
    You’re the sweetest monkeyboy in the whole wide world!
    Glad we have you, man, glad you let us share your life and I can’t wait to share the next part too.
    Mwah!

  14. Joe Maudlin says:

    No it’s you who I love! Forgive me I think I have something in my eye. Sniff.

  15. liv says:

    Oh, I lurves you too, baby!

  16. Airam says:

    Aww this post is much better than any picture of podcast you could’ve ever done!! (except for the one where you make animal noises)
    I feel like a broken record but you’re an incredible guy and this is why you have the response that you do in blogland. Your sincerity shines through in everything that you do.
    So THANK YOU for being that person. Your posts are inspirational and quirky and funny as hell which is a hard combination to find. I can’t wait to see what the future has in store for you, my friend.
    As long as you keep writing you can bet that I’ll keep reading.

  17. churlita says:

    You are getting so earnest as the baby gets closer to being born. I love it.

  18. meno says:

    I know just exactly what you mean.
    I love you too.
    Sometimes telling non bloggers that you have a blog is kind of fun, because they get that WTF? look in their eyes.

  19. Burr-ee-toe says:

    Aww… we heart you!

  20. Tall Chick says:

    Maye you should write some songs. I hear sap sells these days. ^_^ ^_^
    *runs away quickly*

  21. Tall Chick says:

    OK, now I can say what I mean from shouting distance. ^_^
    This is an incredibly sweet and heartfelt post, and boy can I ever relate. It really is cool how the Blogopolis has shrunk the world down, isn’t it?

  22. Airam says:

    I have to say that I LOVE logo’s comment!!

  23. brookem says:

    efo (you sap), what a heartfelt post. glad that i found your blog first, and you better believe that i always enjoy my visits here. you’re a wonderful person and a great friend, and soon to be terrific dad. clearly you have made a tremendous impact on other’s lives as well. you just rock.

  24. Jennifer says:

    Right back at ya, ya big softie.
    🙂

  25. brandy says:

    Oh EGAN! It could be the sparkle glue smeared near my eye, or your post, but one of them is making me a little teary. Seriously though, great post. And know that everything you said about everyone else- everyone is thinking about you. Have a great weekend!

  26. patches says:

    Aww dude, you’re gonna make me get all teary. Amanda’s comment about us thanking George W is scary thought. I just can’t wrap my little furry head around it….I’m just glad you decided to put it all on the line, even if was over something as trivial as our nation’s future ; )

  27. Amanda says:

    Patches, it was hard to write. I will not lie to you.

  28. Delton says:

    Well said. I’m just starting to get into all this, but I’m already beginning to understand the feelings you described here.
    It seems like no matter where I go, I see you in the comments section, so I thought I’d swing by your blog. Best wishes on your coming adventure. My kids are 5 1/2 & 4. I’m already thinking how fun it should be to read you over the coming weeks & months.

  29. L says:

    Right back at ya! I can’t remember how we found each other’s blogs, but I’m glad we did. You’ve been an invaluable source of support through a tough time, and I’m pleased to have come through that with a new friend.
    It was great to see you today and catch up a bit. I can’t wait to hear about Anna’s first days and your daze.

  30. *pixie* says:

    Wow. Perfect.
    I’m so excited for you to become a Dad. If I have even a clue about who you are as a person—you’ll embrace parenthood as we do and will believe it is the best thing ever.

  31. *pixie* says:

    Wow. Perfect.
    I’m so excited for you to become a Dad. If I have even a clue about who you are as a person—you’ll embrace parenthood as we do and will believe it is the best thing ever.

  32. *pixie* says:

    Whoops.
    It’s just so true that it needed to be said twice.

  33. Pants says:

    Aw! I know exactly what you’re talking about. I started blogging because it gave me an opportunity to write and had no idea how much I would appreciate the connection I came to feel with others. I think my favorite part about it is that I have met people I would never have met otherwise.
    My Milli Vanilli CD came today! I need to get your info so I can send you and Anna your copy.

  34. brookem says:

    i like that you started your last sentence with again.
    actually, that’s not really a pet-peeve usage right there. ill accept it.
    you can breathe a sigh of relief now. you know, knowing that i approve and all is uber important, im sure.

  35. All this sappiness of late and I’m starting to think who’s the one with the out-of-control hormones? You or the Mrs?
    Kidding aside, you rock!

  36. celeste says:

    Oh Egan, you had me at “where would I be”.

  37. Brrrr says:

    i don’t comment every day, but do ready your blog every day. love it. your posts are well worth the effort you put into them!

  38. Brrrr says:

    i’m not sure how i “ready” your blog every day. but I do READ your blog every day.

  39. ChickyBabe says:

    You’ve come along way in blogging and I still recall some of the things you mention and the first comment on my photoblog.
    I’m glad to be part of your blog circle, mon ami.

  40. Airam says:

    All together now!
    “For he’s a jolly good feeelllow! For he’s a jolly good feeelllooow! For he’s a jolly good feeeelllllowwwww … which nobody can something something!!”

  41. Eunice says:

    I never thought I would make the handful of friends I’ve never met in the blogosphere, but like you, I am amazed at the friendships formed here.
    You, Mr. Singe, are going to be a terrific father. I don’t doubt that for one second. I can’t wait until Anna is here!

  42. Chris says:

    We are gonna have to start an over/under for when Egan will offer back a reply.
    On a plus note, I stopped in at Starbuck’s today to grab my first (very late but better late than never) decaf mocha frappuccino. I am constantly puzzled why they ask if you want whipped cream – who in their right mind doesn’t?

  43. mez says:

    Awwww – you are very sweet and thank you for being YOU!
    Ps: Hey, there’s nothing wrong with being political. I love the Bush bashing personally – it’s valid. As for making fun of sting and John Mayer – PLEASE DO! They are prize dickheads! (was that too inflamatory?)

  44. MonkeyDragon says:

    LOL! I had to admit to being a blogger in a meeting today . . .
    serious demographic profiling of course

  45. Tall Chick says:

    Someone took my book.

  46. egan says:

    EVERYONE – thanks for all the praise with your comments. I’m really busy reading Harry Potter so I must refrain from commenting back to each of you individually, but know that you’re all loved. Yes, loved. That’s how I roll. Have a great weekend doing whatever it is you do!

  47. sprizee says:

    I so feel you on this one. The internet is full on wonderful, caring strangers.

  48. You’re so not reading Harry Potter!!!

  49. Chris says:

    Airam – that was clever!

  50. Tall Chick says:

    OK I saw the photographic evidence. (nice haircut! 🙂 ) I’m not a vilent person, but if you’re starting with #7 I’m going to have to kick your ass.
    Did you start LOTR with The Return of the King?
    Oh that’s right. You don’t read fiction. You read magazines backwards, don’t you?

  51. Tall Chick says:

    Not only am I not a vilent person, I’m not a violent person either.
    Additionally, I sould just like to say
    Sky Chair.

  52. Tall Chick says:

    aaaaaaahhhhhh
    why do I make a tpo in vry sngle post? 😛 😉

  53. Tall Chick says:

    Hee hee! Airam totally pwned your ass. ^_^

  54. Tall Chick says:

    (eleventyoneone11!111)

  55. PINK says:

    you know what egan? some of us live life vicariously through our blog pals. you and captain corky being dads…well…I have no babies and sometimes I wish I had…so I’m looking forward to photos and blogs of baby poo and puke and all the joys of parenthood.
    xx
    pinks

  56. Maggie says:

    I haven’t been hanging around here long enough to really deserve this but I’d like to tell you that every time I come here, you elicit a wide grin on my face.

  57. Hannelieq says:

    What a lovely post Egan! I totally agree with you, the support and things we learn from other blogger are the things that keeps bringing me back!
    Uhm … no Hannelie’s or Zingela in your blogroll then? Just wondering .. no offence taken!

  58. justrun says:

    I’m so late chiming in… but I feel the love.

  59. CS says:

    I’m with you about the incredible support and community of the blogworld. It’s been a great thing for me as I worked my way through a divorce. I hate GWB, too, and still do an occassional rant, but the other stuff has much more meaning for me.

  60. CS says:

    I’m with you about the incredible support and community of the blogworld. It’s been a great thing for me as I worked my way through a divorce. I hate GWB, too, and still do an occassional rant, but the other stuff has much more meaning for me.

  61. CS says:

    I hate it when that happends, and there’s no delete option on typepad.

  62. Cake Lady says:

    I am always late but 🙂 🙂 🙂

  63. egan says:

    Sprizee – I couldn’t have worded it better myself. To a “muggle”, that sounds quite odd, but to bloggers it’s perfectly normal.
    Airam – I am too reading Harry Potter. Just you wait until I impart some wicked HP humor.
    Chris – Airam is quite the clever one, trust me on that.
    Tall Chick – LOTR is dead to me. I don’t want to read those books. I just happen to prefer non-fiction a bit more than sci-fi stuff. Don’t hate me. Airam does p-own me. I think I used that incorrectly, but who cares.
    Pink – I’m glad to hear you’re living vicariously through my life. You should consider growing your hair out and not sleeping much very soon. I will be more than happy to share my life as I have in the past. Good times are ahead.
    Maggie – ha, you don’t have to come around often. That’s a very nice compliment so thank you very much for saying so. Come back around now you hear. Tu parles français n’est-ce pas?
    Hannelie – did you say something about my blogroll? Are you calling me fat?
    Justrun – feeling the love is a good thing. Just no touching my love handles.
    CS – oh my, the support bloggers can provide through a divorce is huge. Not that I’ve been there and I hope to avoid that, but I’m know how great bloggers can be with that stuff. So many people can relate on all these different levels.
    CS – I love multiple comments. I’m not erasing it this time around.
    Cake Lady – you’re always late but what??? But you’re always smiling? Let’s go with that. You’re a very good person.

Leave a Reply

