Episkey

I got hooked on a really cool book this weekend.  It’s this book about a geeky boy who isn’t all that appreciated by his aunt and uncle.  Somehow this boy has inherited heaps of mystical powers.  Yes, I’m talking about Harry Potter.  And yes, I know I’m late on the uptake, but I started the first book this weekend.  I’ve seen the movies, but figured I best learn what it is about these books that drives the readers bonkers.  People of all ages rally around J.K. Rowling’s masterpieces.  Even I get excited about the books and I haven’t read them.  Well done J.K.!

I thought about the hype when the first book came out in 1998.  Of course that was the year my wife and I met.  I recall going to New York City to see her dad and how he was all about an unknown kids book.  He couldn’t stop talking about someone known as Harry Potter.  We kind of shrugged it off, but her dad insisted and bought us the book.  Ignoring the hype, you could feel the momentum building with the release of the second "year" and the rest is history.  Mrs. Lessinges has read all the books to date and is making her way through the final one now.  Our copy arrived on Saturday to our doorstep and was quite exciting.  The best part is today’s my wife’s last day at work for the rest of the year so she can read Harry Potter before little Anna arrives.  What a great way to kill some time.  (I hesitate to use the word "kill" based on what she’s told me about book seven already).  Oh yeah, we watched the fifth movie last night and I dropped the box of Rasinets. 

——————-

In other news, the baby still isn’t here.  Tomorrow is two weeks away from the due date.  Yep, two weeks.  My wife’s belly seems like it’s about to burst so at any moment we could become parents.  We love to say to ourselves, "this could be our last movie, dinner, (etc.) sans enfant".  I’m not sure how many times a day we say "we’re going to be parents?" and "we’re going to be parents!".   I would guess it’s an excess of 10 times.   Along with this came a freak out.  The period before becoming a parent isn’t without anxiety by any means.  My wife and I had a tearful chat on Saturday talking about how our lives are going to change.  It’s great to know we both understand when we’ve been stretched too far and when we need to reel it back in.  It was a heartfelt fruitful discussion.

We did get some baby time at our friends on Saturday.  Their son is now six weeks old and is growing in leaps and bounds.    Soon enough we’ll have one those little things who’s 100% dependent on us also.

Weekend tallies:

– video conferences using Skype : 1

– hours slept last night: 4

– times I said "Harry Potter" with an English accent: 20+

– coats of primer applied to basement bathroom : 1

– hours spent watching le Tour de France: 4

– trips to bathroom between 10pm Sunday night and Monday morning : 6

– most recent blood pressure reading: 141/80

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Storytelling. Bookmark the permalink.

79 Responses to Episkey

  1. Chris says:

    First! yay!
    I’ve yet to read any HP…Hey, there’s nothing better than an occasional good freak out period – and let’s face it, pending parenthood is no small potatoes my friend.
    Dropping the raisinets though- you might need some meds.

  2. brookem says:

    so wild that it’s only two weeks until the big due date! sounds like you had a real nice weekend, with some quality couple time which is always nice.
    the recent bp reading- yours or mrs. lessinges? you know, for my file.
    and i guess i have not a thing to add to the hp conversation. not a one.

  3. brookem says:

    (chris is on a role with the #1 spot lately!)
    i meant to ask, what happened last night that you a- only got 4 hours of sleep, and b- had what sounds like some bathroom issues?
    i love raisinets!

  4. brookem says:

    oh, one more thing! (i guess im on a roll too!- oh, i spelled “role” differently before. opps) the bathroom sounds like it’s coming along quite well?

  5. brookem says:

    ok, i will stop now.
    who do i think i am, amanda??

  6. egan says:

    Chris – congrats on the top spot. You know it’s never too late to read the Harry Potter books. They are intended for kids so they should be a quick read for us adults. Ha, the dropping Rasinets was a bad thing. N-PO wasn’t too thrilled when I said they tumbled. I blame Snape.
    Brookem – that’s my recent blood pressure reading. I know, I got to do something about it. Plus I got photos back from my triathlon that I will NOT be post ever. Yikes, I got to get serious about getting back in shape. You hate Harry Potter!
    Brookem – ha, I wondered if anyone would ask about that. Let’s just say I’ve narrowed it down to two food possibilities.

  7. egan says:

    Brookem – man, you are on a roll. Facebook is acting up. The bathroom should be completely painted by the end of the week. I will post pictures when I’m done with my mess.
    Brookem – Amanda is lost. I think she became a wizard over the weekend. She loves Harry Potter more than she loves us I think. I will have to check in with her and see if someone’s cast a spell on her.

  8. brookem says:

    oh im sorry to hear about the two food possibilites that caused a bit of an issue. hope you are better now. i dont hate hp, it’s just not my thing. amanda might very well be a wizard.
    dont be so hard on yourself with the triathlon pics.

  9. egan says:

    Brookem – you’re too kind. I’m sure I can lose the weight pretty fast, I’m simply not terribly motivated to do much now. I think it’s because I’m busy getting stuff done on the house.
    I bet Harry Potter casted a spell on Amanda which doesn’t allow her to finish the book.

  10. Airam says:

    Don’t lie Egan … we all know that the Wii is taking up any spare moment you have!!!
    So HP gives you the runs huh? Or is it the raisins that give you the runs??
    I’ll wait for you to finish book 1 and then we can start book 2 together and gossip excitedly about the wonder that is Harry Potter!! I haven’t seen any movies past the first so dont’ give me any spoilers!
    AND I want to see those pictures!!! I’m sure you look fan-fucking-tastically sizzling.

  11. justrun says:

    I can only imagine the swinging pendulum that is pre-parenthood. Recently, when talking it over with a pregnant friend, she said “you feel like you’re going to explode but you don’t know if it’s more from joy or fear.”
    Oh, and I’m so glad I’m not the only one that says Harry Potter with an accent!

  12. Chris says:

    He couldn’t have gotten the runs from the raisins, they ended up on the floor – ubnless, no, you didn’t eat them off the floor did you? Was the 5 second rule in effect?

  13. egan says:

    Airam – I was just about to play the Wii last night when my stomach started rumbling. I think it was either the movie theater popcorn or some fresh mozarella cheese. Hard to say which one, but both of us got it. I’m on the BRAT diet today and it’s made a difference.
    I’m not showing the pictures no matter what. They are bab and will be used to motivate my ass back into shape. I will let you know when I finish book one. It should be a fast read.
    Justrun – your friend nailed it with her summation. And now things could change at any freaking moment. Do you have a good British accent?
    Chris – is it bad to eat stuff of the movie theatre floor?

  14. Airam says:

    Well if the pictures are just “bab” and not bad then that’s ok!
    What is this BRAT diet you speak of?

  15. egan says:

    Airam – oops, “bab” is a good typo so I’m leaving it.
    BRAT = bananas, rice, applesauce, and toast. This is the supposed cure for the runs. I’m pretty sure the R is rice. I know for a fact it’s not Rasinets.

  16. furiousBall says:

    Bananas Raisinets Applesauce and Tacos right?

  17. tori says:

    I remember before my first baby was born when I was in the hospital, and the doctor said they were going to do the c-section right away (complications..long story). I vividly remember the doctor saying “you’ll be a mom here before you know it” and I teared up. Obviously I knew it was going to happen, but when the moment actually came, it was the most emotion filled moment ever. I can’t even describe it with words, it just felt so….much.
    I am so happy you will get to experience that moment soon too. It really is the best thing ever!
    I have read up to book 4, but don’t remember much of it. My twin 7 year olds and I have begun reading book one together and it is so much fun to experience it with them.

  18. churlita says:

    Two Weeks? That’s nothing. Isn’t it weird to see other babies and try to get a handle on what it will be like when the baby you’re holding is yours.

  19. egan says:

    Furiousball – the thought of tacos right now is not making my bowels happy.
    Tori – I can only imagine the joy that will occur when Anna is born. I guess for me it’s like how I imagined the finish of the Ironman. Oddly with that I did all my crying in the last two miles of the run and was dry eyed by the time I crossed the finish line. No matter what, a good bawling will happen. I’m most certain emotions will be running over thy cupeth.
    Churlita – it’s very weird to handle the babies. I held our friends quite a bit, but still have to hand him over when he was hungry.

  20. Chris says:

    Bologna, Raisinets, Appletini’s Tofu

  21. egan says:

    Chris – ugh, you’re going to make me lose my junk again. Think good thoughts Egan, think applesauce.

  22. Lindsay says:

    I have been checking ever so faithfully to see if the baby has come! I can now be much more thorough because I have a month off of school! Whoot. Take care you crazy Singes.

  23. Chris says:

    Last one (maybe):
    Bamboo Shoots
    Rhubarb
    Apricots
    Tartar Sauce
    There, it’s out of my system. I’ve ben laughing so uncontrollably since reading the first BRAT comments that I had to leave my desk because I was interrupting people who are actually working.

  24. brookem says:

    im loving how out of control chris is today. just sayin.

  25. Leezer says:

    Egan:
    Don’t you know first-borns never arrive on the due date? I’d tell Mrs. Les Singes to hunker down for another four weeks or so. Good times!
    I had the same thing on my mind this weekend about the Harry Potter books. I am going to read them all! How long should it take?

  26. Chris says:

    Brookem
    Rachel
    Airam
    The Grunt
    I am so bad! And I can’t stop giggling.

  27. brandy says:

    Sweet post Egan. I look over at your countdown and catch myself thinking ‘holy hell! only two more weeks!’, so I can’t imagine what it’s like for you and the Missus. As for HP, it fills my heart with glee to know that you are hopping on the Hogwarts bandwagon! As for Amanda, I’m starting to get worried. Hopefully the ending of HP hasn’t hit her so hard she’s taken a vow of comment silence. I miss her.

  28. egan says:

    Lindsay – the baby is getting closer, but nothing just yet. Today is my wife’s last day at work.
    Chris – the BRAT diet has been ruined today. This recent suggestion of yours is only going to make someone squirt more often than normal. Yes, I said squirt.
    Brookem – I think Chris probably got less sleep than I did or he really was excited about Harry Potter.
    Leezer – surely you gest. My wife has many first time mom co-workers that happened to go early. I think the bit about going late as a first time mom is an old wives tale. Seriously, most that I know of today are early. I do think my wife will be pretty close to her due date though, if not on it. Waiting sucks no matter what and that’s all we got left to do.
    It shouldn’t take too long to read them since they are technically kids books.
    Boston Chris – what’s going on there today? You’re a commenting mofo. Are you taking over for Amanda?
    Brandy – I know, two weeks is no time at all. Wowsers! Amanda is gone. I get the feel she met a Weasley and rode off into the sunset. I must think of a spell to get her out of it. Hogwarts, here we come!

  29. brandy says:

    I could see her liking the Weasley’s- they are a fun bunch. Especially the twins- Fred and George. She knows so much about the Potter world, perhaps she’s giving them a few lessons.

  30. egan says:

    Brandy – that’s a good point. Did you catch the title of this post? It’s a spell that muggles will never understand. I’m really curious if Ron’s sister starts to dig Harry. I need to read more to find out.
    Damn those charms!

  31. I am right there with you. I’ve seen all the HP movies. It wasn’t until this weekend that I brokedown and ordered the set of books 1-6 from amazon. I figure that by the time I’m done with these, book 7 will be in paperback. Now is that planning, or what?

  32. brandy says:

    I DID catch the title of the post, and have to say that I’m really impressed at all the HP knowledge you already have. And I looked at the charms page and just shook my head. It’s insane that all that information came from one persons brain. Anyway, glad to see that you are reveling in the Potter world. You seem to soak it up like a sponge! How is the Missus liking the last book? I’m so excited that you are reading these books. Anna is going to be so lucky to have two parents versed in the world of Harry. (And yes, fingers are still crossed that Harry is her first word. Although, it would be pretty insane if Episkey was too. Or aparecium. And yes, I had to look that up, I don’t know it off the top of my head.)

  33. patches says:

    When you said BRAT, I was totally thinking bratwurst with lots of mustard and fresh buns from the bakery. I thought, holy crap, the man has a cast iron stomach, I’m gonna have to get me one of those…If I were a betting cat, I would say the movie popcorn is the culprit. Mozzarella usually just stops you up, for like days. Sorry TMI.
    But on a more thoughtful note, you can catch up on your reading while your stomach is in revolt… You didn’t try George and Fred’s new product line did you? ‘Cause that totally trumps the popcorn.

  34. Pants says:

    Jiminey Crickets…four hours of sleep and six trips to the bathroom? Sounds like someone had a case of the Big D. My condolences.

  35. justrun says:

    I think I have an excellent British accent. My Brit friends do not agree. Hell, my American friends don’t even agree.

  36. qt says:

    When you said BRAT diet, I thought you meant bratwurst. That is what I get for thinking.
    Two weeks – whoa.

  37. Amy says:

    Holy crap! Baby has got your systolic pressure up that much? Gee whiz…my systolic pressure was ONLY 137 right before the surgeon came at me with the knife (while I was awake)last week. RELAX!

  38. Chris says:

    I think I finally have things under control! I got all slap happy this afternoon.
    Airam’s flashing again.

  39. jungle jane says:

    Post Odeo, Egan. Just say “Harry Potter” 40 times in an English accent. I’ll turn it into my doorbell chime.

  40. egan says:

    Undercover Celeb – so you want to experience the magic too? Okay, I can’t wait to hear what you think. We have 4 of the seven books. I think we’re only missing 2,3, and 4.
    Brandy – I go to great lengths to impress you with my love for Harry Potter. I want to feel like a part of the in crowd. I was never much of a reader, but I’ve turned that around as I got older and not surprisingly… wiser. The Missus is enjoying the book so far. She’s got much more reading to do, but she seems enthusiastic. Anna is going to be lucky on so many levels, this will be just another good thing for her.
    Patches – hey driving cat, you’re back. I think it might be the popcorn too. Mass quantities of popcorn on an empty stomach before Harry Potter, it must have something to do with it. I’m definitely not stopped up. Quite the opposite, butt all seems to be better today. I tested my bowels with an italian grinder today. All is well. Should I know George & Fred?
    Pants – yes, you’re rather astute. My bum is much better today, thanks for asking. Wait, you didn’t ask. Oh well, I shared.
    Justrun – that’s classic. Altogether now “Hair-Ree Pot-tuh”. Pay close attention to the tongue for the accent.
    QT – I know, I should have used the abbreviation. Brats aren’t really good for dieting purposes and can really do a number to one’s digestive system.
    Airam – you have nothing to add more than “boobies”? Come on, let’s chat about Mr. Potter or my bathroom visits.
    Amy – I need to relax. Tonight I’m going to ride the bike and work on lowering the old blood pressure. I don’t need anyone to run at me with a knife. So not my style.

  41. brandy says:

    Oh Egan, you impress me already. With your quick wit and easy charm. Wow. It’s like I’m sucking up to you and I don’t know what for. Perhaps I feel bad that you’ve been ill? Or maybe flattery is what you get when you cross over to the cool side and join the Harry Potter revolution?

  42. Airam says:

    You want to talk bathroom??
    Alright then …
    So Egan how many times would you say you squirted today? Now would you compare it to peeing? And I think everyone would love to know the colour of the squirts.
    We’ll chat about Mr. Potter once you’ve finished book 1.

  43. I’ve yet to read any of the books, nor see any of the movies, yet I too got excited about the latest release! I think part of it is that I just love J.K.’s life story …
    I’m looking forward to reading your take on just how much your life has changed once Anna arrives. Because right now, you have no idea!!!!

  44. Tall Chick says:

    I was under the impression that you just went to the bathroom a lot normally. ^_^
    Firstborns are usually late, no matter how hard you try to convince yourself that they could come any day. But who knows?
    I thought it was
    Burritos
    Ratatouille
    Absynthe
    Tapas
    No wonder it never works for me. πŸ˜‰
    Are you using magnetic paint?
    I’ll be doing that as soon as our garage sale is over. πŸ™‚

  45. meno says:

    i am a parent, i know what the BRAT diet is. Yeah!
    I remember bringing our daughter home from the hospital and then sitting with her and thinking “Now what?” I had no idea what to do.

  46. Tall Chick says:

    Do you have bratsin WA? Not that I think that would really help, either.

  47. Michelle says:

    I still need to get my hands on the last book! My little sister got into Harry Potter back when I was in 9th grade. She had trouble understanding it (she was eight) and so I read it with her. Needless to say we got hooked. She called me at the crack of dawn this morning (she’s now seventeen) yelling into my voicemail, “Michelle! You’re going to LOVE it! And you’re going to cry! Hurry up and get the friggin book so we can talk about it!” Isn’t that some Harry Potter love?

  48. liv says:

    ackk….Harry Potter. I think I might be the only disinterested blogger.
    Watch Mrs. Lessinges BP… tell her to put her feet up and make you peel grapes for her. πŸ™‚

  49. Pants says:

    I’m glad you are feeling better because I wasn’t able to call and sing you the Pepto BismolΒ© song…heartburn, indigestion, upset stomach, diarrahea, ooo, Pepto BismolΒ©!

  50. CS says:

    My first born arrived four days early. I’m just saying.
    And, just finihsed the last Harry Potter (sniff) – man, I love those books.

  51. patches says:

    Oh man, those are the Weasley twins who create all those noxious treats that get you excluded from class with ailments like small pox and diarrhea. I thought you saw the last movie…

  52. Tall Chick says:

    Skiving Snack Boxes!! πŸ™‚
    Noseblled Nougat anyone? Puking Pastille?
    Ton-Tongue Toffee?
    Does anyone know where I can get a good house elf?

  53. celeste says:

    hahah! I love to say “Harry Potter” with an english accent too! On that note, I’m off to dig deeper into book 7!

  54. Lynn says:

    I finally finished book 7 (sniff, sniff). Glad to hear that you are embarking on the HP journey. Sorry to hear of the necessity for you to avail yourself of the BRAT diet. Since you’re already familiar with it, it is one less thing that you will need to learn as a parent (good for you). Having just seen the 5th HP movie this weekend, and having eaten movie theater popcorn, I am soo hoping that it wasn’t the popcorn that caused your stomach upset. Unless you put that ‘fake’ butter on it, in which case I would definitely say, that the fake butter was the culprit (that stuff is just nasty). What’s in it anyway?

  55. The Grunt says:

    I need to start reading the Harry Potter series. I tend to do things backwards anyways.
    Wooo-hooo! Only two weeks until the unvailing. Well, anytime from here on really.

  56. ChickyBabe says:

    Are you obsessively counting everything Egan? Maybe you should count sheep…

  57. mez says:

    you have resisted Harry for so long! wow. The first 4 books are kids books – but #5 is a bit different I think. Some of the concepts and details so intricate that I don’t know how kids even get through the thing!

  58. Amanda says:

    I’m so proud that you are finally giving into the power that is Harry Potter (this is being said with an English accent…my count for that one is actually closer to the hundreds). You were afraid of what TC and I were going to do. Weren’t you? That’s right.
    It’s 6:00 a.m. – I have 100 pages to go to the end. To the very end. I started reading it yesterday morning due to a series of unfortunate events that occurred over the weekend. I took yesterday off and read until 1 a.m. (taking a couple of different breaks at certain points because it was just too much to continue without a break….those who have read it probably know what I’m talking about).

  59. Amanda says:

    Damn it…I forgot what I was gonna say about the baby. I’m glad she’s not here yet! I would have hated for her to make an entrance while I was keeping myself away.

  60. Amanda says:

    p.s. – lovin’ the post title. Bravo!

  61. Airam says:

    Amanda!! Egan you lucky bastard getting a comment from her!
    Manda I hope that you’re well and enjoying the book! I hope what happened during the weekend wasn’t too serious … all us bitches miss you!!!!
    Egan – One word. Versus.

  62. Tall Chick says:

    Amanda!!!!
    Oh no! A Series of Unfortunate Events. Did you read those? Talk about a serious letdown for a final book in the series. πŸ˜› I’m so glad HP 7 wasn’t like that!
    I’m looking forward to seeing you back on the blog circuit. πŸ™‚
    Oh, Hi Egan. ^_^
    Was it really those threats Manda and I were making? Because I kinda got the feeling you might have enjoyed some of those things. . . ^_^

  63. brandy says:

    I forgot to mention I watched this special on the Tour de France and it really gave me a whole new outlook on the competition. They focused mainly on… oh hell, I don’t remember what it’s called but it’s apparently the toughest leg of the race with a huge inclimb and constant switchbacks. I’m not to lame to admit it, that I got insanely exhausted just watching. Although seeing all the food they had to eat to keep their calorie count high was very pleasing.

  64. brandy says:

    I also think that if you ever consider doing the tour de france, (because why wouldn’t you? it would be a great adventure!) we should look into getting you JK to sponsor you. You could have a sweet tag line like – “I’m a muggle but faster than Merlin” or something. Ahh, that ones lame. Rest assured I will be back with more.

  65. Chris says:

    My ass and surrounding areas huts just thinking of riding a bike that much.

  66. kayla says:

    Hi Egan!
    Your life seems so joyful that it’s hard for me to read sometimes 😦
    I’m very happy for you, and often wish I were at the same place as you and your wife
    Maybe one day…

  67. egan says:

    Jungle Jane – oh the good old days of Odeo. I shall record something for you very soon. Stay tuned.
    Brandy – I like that you can admit this stuff. Continue sucking up to me all you want. I kind of like it. The Harry Potter world is very fun and I’m happy to learn more about it.
    Airam – ha, you don’t want to know do you? Let’s just say the squirts won.
    Chaos Control – I have a hunch things will change big time. My wife is home on her first day “off” before baby arrives. JK’s story is pretty amazing.
    Tall Chick – I’m not currently using magnetic paint in the bathroom. I do love the idea of it though. Um, firstborns aren’t always late though. I’m just saying.
    Meno – ha, “now what”. I’m sure that’s how we’ll feel too. Especially when there’s not a lot of interacting going on. And you know the BRAT diet isn’t about bratwursts.
    Tall Chick – you better believe we have brats in Seattle. Many Midwest Immigrants here, many.
    Michelle – well what are you waiting for? Get a reading yo!
    Liv – that was actually my blood pressure and not hers. What do you have against Harry Potter?
    Pants – it’s never too late to sing me a Pepto song on my voicemail.
    CS – JK sure is a talent with the plume or keyboard. See, babies do come early. I knew it.
    Patches – I saw the most recent flick, year 5. I’m loving the Weasleys even more.
    Tall Chick – are you quoting movies that I haven’t seen again? You like cute little elves don’t you?

  68. I’m so excited for you and your wife to become parent…T minus two weeks!

  69. egan says:

    Celeste – have you finished the book yet? I would guess I said Harry Potter with an accent about 20 times last night alone.
    Lynn – we never ever put the fake butter on it. I think the cleanliness of the theatre staff may be in question. It was worth it to see Harry kick some Dementor ass though.
    The Grunt – yeah, pretty much anytime from here I could become a parent. Exciting and nerveracking at the same time. We can read the books together and swap thoughts. You game?
    ChickyBabe – I don’t know about obsessively, but I do think about things in numbers quite often. I’ve always been that way. I have like hundreds of phone numbers stuck in my head. Want to give me yours?
    Mez – yeah, book #1 seems pretty easy to follow right now. As I watched the fifth movie, I wondered how the hell things were explained in the book. Thus why I’m reading the books from the beginning. I’m not sure why I resisted for so long either. Maybe it was all those triathlon books clouding my judgement. Vive les Tim Tams!
    Amanda – you’re my hero. You’re a feverish reader. Perhaps you can teach me how to reach with such a voracious appetite? I’m all ears.
    Amanda – she’s not likely to arrive until another week or so. I’m guessing this weekend will be our last one sans enfant. Just a hunch of mine.
    Amanda – I figured the hardcore Potter fans would catch that one.
    Airam – she was a bit busy this weekend. She seems to be okay based on my conversation with her. Best part, she finished reading the final book. Versus is the network covering the Tour de France. Woot woot!
    Tall Chick – your threats only sped up the process. I did enjoy them quite a bit. Ha, I got the Lemony Snicket (sp?) reference on that one. Well done Amanda. I want to play on the trampoline.
    Brandy – I think the stage you’re talking about is the Alpe d’Huez. It’s a legendary climb up the French Alps with heaps of switchbacks. There’s a so much more strategy to the Tour de France than one would really think.
    Brandy – that’s a great tagline. You know there’s a bike company called Merlin so this makes your tagline even better. You’re so smart Brandy. I knew there’s a reason I liked you. I’m going to shave my head and do nothing but ride bikes for the next year. I think I should be in top notch Tour de France form.
    Chris – your ass may hurt, but that’s why they invented bike shorts and all the different butt creams on the market. I use a product called Assos, talk about a great name. It has a minty fresh smell too.
    Kayla – oh, really? Just wait about three weeks and make sure I feel the same way. It’s going to be a combination of happiness, exhaustion, and “what have we signed up for”. Thanks for the compliment Kayla! I mean that.
    Princess Extraordinaire – thank you very much. We’re rather excited too. It’s good that I know I’m the father of this child or else I might not be as excited. Bring on the curls!

  70. Chris says:

    Nothing like a minty ass to make it all worth while.

  71. kris says:

    Checking in to see if the little one had arrived yet. I see Harry Potter came first. πŸ™‚

  72. Cake Lady says:

    I have loved all of the Harry Potter books. I saw the movies too and was most impressed. They are one of the few movies that I have seen that I felt was true to the book. The characters in the movie were exactly how I pictured them from the book. Thank you for not telling who dies in the last one. And once again – Yahoo the baby will be here any day. Lot’s of love from The Cake Lady!

  73. Airam says:

    Everytime I read this title I want to say “Episcopalian”.

  74. egan says:

    Chris – mint = fresh
    Kris – yes, Harry Potter did come first. Little Anna is just around the corner waiting to make her grand appearance. How are you?
    Cake Lady – I haven’t read any of the books yet so it would make it very hard for me to spoil any of the books for you. I’m making my way through book number one now. JK does a great job at painting such an imaginative picture for her readers. I see how these books are so popular now. Baby is on her way alright. She’s taking up much space in her mom’s belly.
    Airam – you love the Episcopals don’t you? Admit it.

  75. Tall Chick says:

    Not real big on The Happiest Elf. ^_^ Loved the Lemony Snickets excaept for the last one, which, now that I’m really willing to give it an accurate review, kinda sucked ass.
    Yeah, dream on. I kept thinking I’d go early too. I’m just saying. πŸ˜›
    You realise that she’s not going to get your curls since she’s a wee lassie. Now if she were a boy, that would be a different story. The boys get the long, dark lashes, the curly hair. . .

  76. egan says:

    Tall Chick – I get the feeling you don’t like these books for some reason. If they suck ass then I won’t bother reading them.
    Fine, she’s not going to go early. I will keep this in mind. August 7th is the due date. Are we placing bets on this? Damn, I’m too competitive with you. It’s a big family thing.
    What’s this nonsense about curls? I’m not sure I believe it. I have never heard it being a gender thing.

  77. ChickyBabe says:

    Sure. 0123 456 789 country code 61.

  78. Cazzie says:

    Love the stat counter at the end..and I love it that you met up with a fellow blogger, always fun fun fun.

Leave a Reply

