Pretty Vegas…

…. she gets up to go to the bathroom.  "hey Egan, you’ll never believe this".  Egan scampers over to bathroom to hear an excited Mrs. Lessinges. 

Do you want to see something?

Do I have an option?  (keep in mind I had to remove a mouse trap about two hours before)

Well, it’s up to you.

Fine, let’s see it!

Since I blogged about the "bloody show" (or BS for those uncomfortable with typing it) last week, I was rather intrigued.  And then time began to morph into some sci-fi like atmosphere.  N-PO exits the bathroom and we both look at each other with devilish grins.  This is the moment.  Things are beginning to happen.  We added a few Clif bars to our hospital bag and sat back and realized it’s go time.  A few phone calls were made and we grinned at each other from our comfy living room chairs, more out of anxiety than anything.

I jump in the car at 11:30pm and gassed the sucker up since traffic could be hellish in Seattle this weekend.  We sat around and chatted about the signs just witnessed.  Mrs. Lessinges did some reading in her pregnancy books and then got ready for bed.  Anna was really active inside her belly and according to my wife, the feeling was much different than normal. 

I tossed and turned the entire night.  One minute I’m thinking about the baby and the next minute I’m having nightmares about copious amounts of blog comments.  See how freaking dedicated I am?  It continued that way all night long.  The chilly air from our window fan tickled the hairs on my forearms, never allowing me to reach deep sleep.  I get the feeling it’s not the fan’s fault though because visions of a baby were also dancing in my head.

This morning I wake up to N-PO’s snoring.  After my shower I asked her how she was feeling.  I love her description here, "it feels like she’s burrowing in my pelvis".  I have funny pictures in my head as to what this involves.  I defrost my bagel, get dressed, kiss my wife goodbye, and go to work.  Damn, the nerves were a shaking.  She assures me she will be fine and won’t get into any traffic jams today.

On the way to work I’m a tad emotional, crying as I listen to the Anna playlist on my iPod.  Two songs really get me: Father and Daughter by Paul Simon and Three is a Magic Number by Blind Melon.  I know the Blind Melon song is a cover of a Schoolhouse Rock jingle, but it works.  Both songs have me in tears halfway through my drive as I envision the life changes ahead of us. 

So there you have it…. now it’s a waiting game.  A parenting crash course of patience is now underway.  I had flashbacks after gassing up the car last night to Vegas.  When you’re in Vegas you lose track of time.  That’s precisely how I felt while recording some audio into my cell phone on the short ride back from the gas station.  Reality is here!  Wish us luck!  Hell, I don’t need to type that.. I know  you’re all very supportive.  I will do my best to keep you posted on things.  Have a nice weekend!

….tick tock, tick tock, tick tock

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Facial Tissue, Storytelling. Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Pretty Vegas…

  1. Electric Company? No my friend…ABC Schoolhouse Rocks for 3 is a Magic Number!
    U got Anna NG as a song? or the Name Game..Anna banana….?
    I do believe Mr. Petty once said, “it’s the waiting that’s the hardest part”… πŸ™‚

  2. egan says:

    Brother #3 – I stand corrected sir on the show. I updated that bad boy for you. The Tom Petty song has been stuck in my head all day too. Yikes, focus Egan, focus! You’re going to have another niece. Woohoo.

  3. tori says:

    Your wife is so awesome to describe it that way. She should write some what to expect when you are expecting type books. I bet they would be awesome!
    I suppose she is busy for now, so she can hold off on writing them, but the thing is you forget these little details until someone you care about reminds you of them. I love that I get to live through you two right now. I have been thinking of you all day! I can’t wait. I may be almost as nervous/excited/jittery as you are. Your mood seems to be contagious!

  4. *pixie* says:

    Good Luck! I’ll be thinking of all 3 of you!

  5. egan says:

    Tori – picture a baby doing some wicked ass breakdance moves.. then you have Anna inside the womb. You know the sweet headstands they did in the mid 80s. My wife is a very talented writer, too bad she doesn’t blog.
    Man, I’m all nerves. Maybe the triple shot was a bad idea?

  6. brandy says:

    “burrowing in my pelvis”. I’m going to remember that one I think. Oh Egan. I’ll be thinking of you guys a lot today. Bloody hell, this is getting exciting.

  7. Nessa says:

    Gonna be an exciting weekend.

  8. Airam says:

    Damn you EGan for getting me all misty eyed.
    Ahhh crap shoot. Now I have a lump in my throat.

  9. egan says:

    Brandy – it was a classic description. This is why I wish my wife would write more often as she’s got a true talent in that department. I know I’ve said this before, but I’m going to say it again… she’s freaking published author. I guess we should focus on Anna’s arrival first.
    Nessa – ha, I really hope it happens this weekend. If this goes on for another week, I’m doomed.
    Airam – facial tissue? It’s not a lump you need to have examined is it? Thanks for the kind words.

  10. QofS says:

    tonnnnnnnnnnniiiiiiight is the night.
    I just know it

  11. Airam says:

    Your wife is a published author??? I think I remember you mentioning this …
    Bitch hook us up with what she wrote!
    And no the lump is all good now as it’s decreased in size.

  12. egan says:

    Q of S – hmmm, you could be right. I’m still sticking with the due date, next Tuesday. So far N-PO is doing fine. No contractions to speak of, but nature seems to be taking its course.

  13. Amanda says:

    “Do you want to see something?”
    Growing up with three brothers, these 6 words coming out of the bathroom vicinity give me the chills. Maybe moreso than the BS.
    Holy shit, Egan!! I’m with Airam and am sitting here crying a bit. I don’t know why. I’m just so fucking happy for you and Mrs. L! I like your Vegas analogy…very true. You can lose track of time so fast.
    Anna, let’s go! We’re all anxious!

  14. Amanda says:

    Hey. You’re not gonna pull a stunt like my little bro and change the spelling of Anna’s name are you? Like to Ana or Annah or some shit?

  15. Chris says:

    I think its so interesting how we are all so involved in this from all over the place.
    This baby is even more popular than Suri Cruise only differences is that there probably won’t be a one million dollar offer on the first photograph and you and N-Po aren’t completely insane.

  16. egan says:

    Amanda – aw, it wasn’t my intent to get you to cry. Perhaps I need to add “facial tissue” to this category. Ha, I know what you mean by the bathroom thing. Boys can be very cruel, this much I know.
    Amanda – I will not pull any stunt of the sort. Maybe she will come out a boy? Who the hell knows at this point. If she does, then she will be named Oliver.
    Chris – exactly, minus the “photogs”. I want to let you know the thought has crossed my mind more than a few times about selling pictures of her. Hell, I got to finance my blogging life somehow right? Hospitals aren’t free. $800 strollers are rarely on sale. I mean Anna’s gonna have needs.

  17. Airam says:

    Amanda can I just say that I love you when you swear?!?! I don’t know why it always makes me laugh!
    “I’m just so fucking happy for you and Mrs. L!”
    I l-o-v-e it!

  18. Airam says:

    Egan what the fuck?? This is the second time this post that we left a comment at the EXACT SAME TIME!
    Freaky deaky yo.

  19. egan says:

    Airam – see, this how you got yourself an R rating. I suggest you put some cartoons on your blog. Amanda has quite the tongue, yikes that sounds like I have an intimate knowledge of her.
    Airam – freaky deaky is right. Look over your shoulder. See, I’m not there.

  20. tori says:

    Are you serious about naming the baby Oliver if it is a boy?

  21. brandy says:

    Okay I’m starting to understand why your personality shifted into hyper overdrive lately. Suddenly I’m so nervous and excited that I just want to swear a lot and call people suckers. Which, I just did on my blog, but that’s beside the point. I’m just saying, that I understand where this was coming from. And if I’m going this crazy and it’s not even my child, I can’t imagine how you are feeling. Oliver for a boy? I dig that. I dig it like an archeologist.

  22. liv says:

    Nice weekend, my ass. Give up the goods! Keep me posted! and lots of good wishes and prayers!

  23. Christina says:

    Wow, Egan, your post moved me so much I actually got off my lazy ass (over at Google Reader) and came over to wish you both good luck and say that I’m thinking about you guys and of course, Baby Anna! I’m truly so excited for you and I can’t wait to hear about what happens next!! πŸ™‚

  24. egan says:

    Tori – Oliver is definitely a name we considered. Tinky Winky is also in the running.
    Brandy – now that’s what I like to hear. I’ve been listening to music all day to keep me on the mellow side of the spectrum. It’s working so far. So you told someone off on your blog? I love it. I should wander over and check it out.
    Liv – ha, I really do hope everyone has a nice weekend. It isn’t all about me, my wife, and Anna. I do know where you’re coming from though.
    Christina – thanks for stopping by. Just a matter of time until you wander down this same path. I’m glad to share all that happens with you and others. It will be very interesting to read how things work out for you after we get through it. Thank you for the nice words.

  25. brookem says:

    best of luck to you and your wife over the next few days. i hope that everything goes very smoothly; know that you’re all in my thoughts.
    ps- i’m really happy chris mentioned suri. someone had to do it.

  26. tori says:

    Oliver is a name we considered and would have been my first baby’s name if she had been a boy. Do you remember her actual name? We seem to be in sync with our naming skills.

  27. Delton says:

    Can I just say that all this excitement is making it quite hard to get any work done! Hell, I’m bouncing around the office and I’m just barely getting to know you guys! Group hug!

  28. Delton says:

    Tori – What are you doing over here? Don’t you have like 15 more dishes to make for our “Welcome Anna/Corn Hole Party”?

  29. Delton says:

    Tori – What are you doing over here? Don’t you have like 15 more dishes to make for our “Welcome Anna/Corn Hole Party”?

  30. Delton says:

    Bahh! It told me it didn’t go through! I hate double posted comments.

  31. naynayfazz says:

    I am so thankful this blog entry did not contain a photo of the BS. This must be baby week because I have one friend who had her baby last weekend, one about to go any day now and then I read this. Congrats Egan…. can’t wait to hear that Mrs. L gave birth.

  32. Tall Chick says:

    Oliver is one of Fishy’s middle names. ^_^ (maybe I already told you that)
    You should go read Trundling Grunt’s post before you lock any names into stone. πŸ™‚

  33. Tall Chick says:

    Don’t forget, if you like unique, extra middle names are FREE! πŸ™‚

  34. Tall Chick says:

    oh, TG’s post.
    Dude, what does it mean that Anna is missing from the belly in the right sidebar?

  35. patches says:

    Boy, the natives sure are desperate for information! And here I am standing in line with them…Please tell Mrs. L, I really appreciate her postponing Anna’s arrival last weekend while I was unable to check her progress on the laptop. It was very considerate, after all it is all about me.

  36. patches says:

    Oh who am I kidding? I can’t type crap like that and keep my whiskers straight. I appreciate your keeping us all posted, and I’ll understand if you are too busy in the delivery room to record a podcast for the rest of us : )

  37. meno says:

    Don’t any of you people have jobs?
    Oh yeah, neither do i.
    I’ll be thinking of you and the wife and baby, Egan. I’ll also be drinking for you all to have an easy time.

  38. egan says:

    Brookem – best of luck to you and your pals over this weekend. I hope everything goes smoothly on the dance floor. Know that your moves are in my thoughts. Suri is damn cute, I’ll give her that.
    Tori – I’m drawing a blank on her first name. Hell, I’m drawing a blank on many things right now so please don’t take it personally. Oliver is a cute name.
    Delton – wow, now that’s pretty cool for you to say. I’ve only commented on your blog once and I’ve got you in a tizzy as well. I like it. Hugs are always welcome. (hug) Right back at you!
    Delton – that Tori woman is a crazy busy person. Not only that, she’s quite thoughtful too.
    Delton – ha, I’m glad you said it again…
    Delton – I really do like duplicate comments. They inflate my ego. No worries mate.
    Naynayfazz – it’s like Shark Week, but not. The BS is nothing like what I thought it would be.
    Tall Chick – Oliver is cute, and is a decent backup plan. I might read that post, if I get a chance.
    Tall Chick – we have a unique extra middle name that may get thrown in there for good measure.
    Tall Chick – I love your linky love.
    Patches – you crack me up. We purposely didn’t want stuff to happen during the big BlogHer weekend. Now we can proceed as normal. See how nice we are.
    Patches – a delivery room podcast. I’ve been told I got to keep the puns and silliness to a minimum while in the hospital. I do understand why too.
    Meno – see you on Lake Washington this weekend then? Sweet! Way to rub it in our faces yo.

  39. Tall Chick says:

    You love my links? I never sausage blatant lying. ^_^
    OK, I have to really do something now. My gosh the whole day is silipping away. πŸ˜›

  40. Tall Chick says:

    PS it’s your move again in the Scrabbles.

  41. egan says:

    Tall Chick – you know the very reason I read your blog is because you have more links per post than anyone in the history of blogging. Let’s not sugar coat things alright.
    Tall Chick – actually it’s your move. ALE was my last word. What’s on my mind?

  42. Amanda says:

    Ok, Efo. Last comment before I get off the computer for the day (but I will probably sneak on to check for updates sporadically through the night and weekend). I hope your day is going well and that you aren’t freaking out too much (too being the operative word). You and your (growing) family are in my thoughts and I hope nothing but the best for you all!
    And (for the millionth time, I swear) thank you so so so so so so much for sharing this part of your life with us. This has been quite the journey for you and Mrs. L and I am very thankful that I was able to tag along, so to speak. You are truly one of a kind!
    And, who knows! It could be that the next time I comment on here, you’ll finally be a daddy!! Eeek!

  43. leiselb says:

    So tender! And yet I’m almost nervous for you….

  44. justrun says:

    This is so great!
    Thanks again for sharing… I feel like we’re all on the edge of our seats with you. Except, you know, not nearly as profound!

  45. Good for Me says:

    you’re so cute – the anna playlist. love that. woooo-hooo! the train’s a comin’!

  46. Lynn says:

    I take Ten and Twelve minature golfing this morning, and now I feel like I’ve missed out on so much. And evidently I have, 46 comments later, I guess I just better stay glued to this computer so that I don’t anything. The News stations would call this “Anna Watch”…and I am certainly going to ‘stay tuned’.

  47. egan says:

    Amanda – you’re a damn fine friend. I’m not sure I need to say anything else. Thank you.
    LeiselB – I went to the doctor today for a standard procedure. I figured my blood pressure would be a bit elavated with everything going on, it was 110/80. Yeah me. I’m glad you’re excited as well. Should be a fun ride.
    Justrun – maybe we can make this blog into and after school special? Thanks for the compliments.
    Good for Me – truth be told, the Anna playlist only contains two songs. I need to get a few more on there.
    Lynn – “Anna Watch 2007” I really like it. I might have to use that for the title of my next update post. Now we just need a cheesy weatherperson to pass along the updates. Hey, I can be that person.

  48. QofS says:

    taps foot. waits for update. calling a water break in 3..2..

  49. Tall Chick says:

    I beg your pardon, but it is your move, Sir.
    Really? More links than anyone in the history of blogging? Cool! No wonder my Google rating isn’t too shabby. ^_^
    What’s the latest on hurricaine Anna? Landfall is imminent!

  50. Tall Chick says:

    When you’ve made it through labour (OK when you’ve sweated out watching N-Po make it through) do you prefer the cooler we dump on you to be full of Gatorade or Amniotic fluid? Both should replace electrolytes reasonably well, I’m thinking. . .

  51. Tall Chick says:

    OMG I just remembered how drenched with sweat MuNKi was after one of the kids was born. ^_^ And exhausted. At least I got the adrenaline rush. I was wide awake. He sacked out on the couch. ^_^

  52. Tall Chick says:

    I lied.
    Hey, if N-Po is going to do a belly cast, now would be the time. ^_^

  53. Tall Chick says:

    Um, Dude, your womb is empty and the counter is actually going UP.

  54. The Grunt says:

    Man, this train might just come right on time. I was two weeks early when I was born. I am excited!

  55. egan says:

    QofS – you could be on to something. Something is happening there and I know it doesn’t gush like in the movies. Good stuff indeed. You could be on to something with your August 4th prediction.
    Tall Chick – is it possible you’re more excited about things than I am? I love the comments here. You’re all over the map. I have to see the doula gift link.
    Tall Chick – the latest on Hurricane Anna is calm for now. Could this be the calm before the storm? Contractions are becoming more frequent.
    Tall Chick – sweaty indeed, that’s what it’s all about. Oh, tomorrow we’re going to buy some products that I used in the Ironman to stay energized. Talk about cool coincidences.
    Tall Chick – being swollen is no fun, or so I hear. What’s this about the counter going up? We’re not past the due date yet?
    The Grunt – the train could arrive just in time. I’m still sticking to my due date baby, Tuesday. More than anything because I’m so sick of hearing “nobody’s ever born on their due date”. We’ll see. How you doin’?

  56. Michelle says:

    How nerve-wracking!

Leave a Reply

