You Are Where You Live

Hello friends!  How is your Friday/Saturday going?  I think it’s time I offer you another depiction.  Open this .pdf file (and rotate it 90 degrees) for a magical drawing brought to you by Pentel.  I forgot how great it is to use pencils and an eraser.  I can’t tell you the last time I erased something off a piece of paper.  I forgot how nice it is to wipe out mistakes by turning around a pencil.  VoilΓ  mes amis. 

——————–

Anna is officially two months old today.  This means it’s time for me to look back at the first two months of parenthood and offer an assessment.  I must say the first month wasn’t a whole lot of fun.  The sleepless nights, the breastfeeding, the adjustment period, etc.  There was so much going on, I bypassed many showers to get them done.  I was really happy to be home during the first four weeks of Anna’s life.  It really was a wonderful opportunity to bond with our daughter.   

The second month was tough, but not nearly as hard as month number one.  September flew by though.  I hardly remember anything about the month.  We did start to get into a pattern as I went back to work.  As hard as it was to leave home the first day, I think heading back to my cubicle was a good thing. 

While I was home during those first four weeks I lost all track of time and space.  If you’ve ever lost someone really close to you… it felt something like that.  I know that’s weird because we brought a new child into the world and we weren’t mourning the loss of someone.  Clarification, during the time I was at home the outside world didn’t even seem to exist.  I didn’t care about crap on the local news, which baseball team had clinched a playoff bid, how many had died in Baghdad today, or what Britney had done wrong that day.  It was all about Anna and mom’s needs.

Bowtee To this day, it still hasn’t fully sunken in that I have a daughter.  I rush home after work to see my wife and daughter, however it’s still weird to look in Anna’s eyes and know she’s our offspring.  Key learning, it’s about balance.  I’ve learned to not over commit ourselves with our social life.  Granted we’re doing a great job getting out and about, there are still things which aren’t as easy to do.  Finding time to workout has been a huge change for me.  If I can play soccer once a week, I consider it to be a good thing.  We will get back on track, but it’s not so easy.  Inviting my mom to visit each weekend so we can do work around the house has helped us return some of the normalcy to the household.

Let’s review shall we.  Month one, not much fun.  Month two, improvements were made as we began to incorpate elements of our pre-baby life with our new baby life.  From what I can tell it gets better each week and this is something to look forward to.  Her interactions are increasingly cute and meaningful.  Case in point, she could be fussy for 90% of the day and then flash a huge smile, thus wiping out all the negative feelings we may have had.  It’s an incredible thing. 

————–

QUIZ for yesterday’s podcast:

1. how many FKT pictures were displayed?

2. how much did Anna weigh at Tuesday’s appointment?

3. what two qualities did I say Anna will posess to compensate for her small stature?

4. which day in September is my brother’s birthday?

5. name the state where two of my brothers reside?

Prize: an iPod sock.  No purchase necessary, but it would behoove you to listen to the podcast if you want to win a wicked iPod sock.  Otherwise, disregard this portion of the post.  Ha, if you’ve read this far, then you can’t easily ignore the above questions.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Don't Quit Your Day Job, Games. Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to You Are Where You Live

  1. armalicious says:

    Hahahah! You labeled a house “Bitchy Woman”
    Ok…off to do the quiz.

  2. egan says:

    Armalicious – you better fucking believe I did. She’s this highly annoying neighbor that loved to tell us how to maintain our yard weeks after we moved in. She’s too earthy and preachy for me… that says it all.

  3. brookem says:

    i cant rotate the freakin picture. not that that should be any surprise at all, given the last post i did. ughhhhh.
    anywho, glad to hear month number two has gone well. it must feel good to get into a sort of routine with things. and incorporate aspects of pre-baby life into your days now. like soccer. and the outside world.
    she’s real cute.
    i think i got nothin on the quiz, but not because i didnt listen to it.

  4. armalicious says:

    1. 3
    2. 8 lb 11 oz. Though I don’t think you said this in the podcast. You said she’s 23 inches. Was this a trick question?
    3. cuteness & intellect
    4. 9/11
    5. Georgia
    Told you I was ready. I only had to go back & listen to find the answer for #3.

  5. brookem says:

    quiz:
    1- 4 fkds.
    2- 8lbs 11oz
    3- 1, her milkshake will bring all the boys to the yard, and 2, she’ll love shoes as much as me.
    4- brothers? i know when your mothers is… brothers… sept 16.
    5- um, oregon.

  6. armalicious says:

    Hahaha! Brookem! No you didn’t!

  7. egan says:

    Brookem – you’re kidding right? There’s an icon above the image, in the uppper left corner to rotate it. Just look below the globe yo. You heard all nine minutes and didn’t skim? I’m so proud of you. Do you owe me an email?
    Armalicious – crikey, you’re good. I can’t reveal how well you did yet because I don’t want to discourage others. Impressive, most impressive.

  8. egan says:

    Brookem – what’s that answer to number three all about? Damn you. That’s good stuff there.
    Armalcious – yeah she did, she went there. Classy gal that Brookem is.

  9. armalicious says:

    Woot! (I have to quit saying Woot! after everything…holy hell) Now that I have finished my quiz, I have to go back & study that pdf. The version of adobe that I have at work won’t let me rotate it either. So I”m going to have to either print it or turn my head. Or turn my monitor since I have one of those fancy schmancy flat screen monitors.
    Brookem is a gem.

  10. brookem says:

    oh yes, yes i did go there. i dont skim, never. i have no freakin globe. i just hurt my neck looking at this picture.

  11. egan says:

    Armalicious – for some reason I can see you rotating your computer monitor sideways. That would be very cool. I have a funny mental image in my head.

  12. egan says:

    Brookem – I know you never skim. I feel bad to accuse you of that. Note to self: never talk about how to adjust dates on a manual watch with a woman.

  13. brookem says:

    yeah, it’s either all the way out or all the way in. there is no halfway.

  14. armalicious says:

    Holy crap. You do live on breeder’s row. I’m sitting here looking at a print out (I couldn’t figure out how to rotate this fucking monitor. It can do it…I’ve seen our underwriters with the monitors going the long way before…bastards) and the “might have kids” is making me cackle. The lady in the cube next to me had to ask if I was OK. Because I was kind of hyperventalataling (and I think I added some extra a’s in that word). And how you had to let us know that the drawing wasn’t to scale. You, dude, are crazy and I’m totally diggin’ it.
    And then Brookem added to my maniacal laughter with her “i have no freakin globe. i just hurt my neck looking at this picture.” HAHAHA

  15. Golden says:

    Seriously dude, your blog rocks.
    I never thought of it that way, the whole losing time and space thing, but that was right on. And as for not quite comprehending you have offspring…well.. as I’ve stated, my son is 13 and I still don’t really grasp that he’s my son and that I have a kid. It’s hard to explain, but the time and space thing seems to explain it. At least for me anyway. Have you figured out who I am yet?

  16. brookem says:

    i need salt.

  17. egan says:

    Brookem – just starting turning the dial with it all the way out.
    Armalicious – I like that the woman next to you asked about this. Cackling is always welcome. It’s not worth breaking your neck over.
    Golden – hmmm, you’ve got me very interested. I know where you work though. I’m glad you liked the post. While I was driving around doing errands in the first month, I felt similar emotions to when my brother passed away. As if I was in some sort of bubble.
    Brookem – I’m not touching the salt thing.

  18. Golden says:

    You know where I work?

  19. egan says:

    Golden – uh huh, but that only adds to your intrigue. I have a hunch who you could be. Check your email.

  20. Think Jacob says:

    Wait until she’s two, and she can walk up to you and say, “Guess what, Daddy? I love you!” Then, give you a big kiss. I used to do the same thing, rush home to see the family. Now we can play together, not just look at each other. It just gets better and better. That is, until she starts dating, at which point, I will be introduced to the wonderful world of gun ownership. I expect those years to be somewhat hellish.

  21. armalicious says:

    Hmmm…I realize that I have completely neglected to comment on the middle portion of this post. You know I don’t skim-read blogs (unless they really suck, but yours doesn’t fall into the category since I keep coming back), so I did read it. I just was so preoccupied with your awesome drawring (I added the r on purpose) and trying to win that damn sock that I completely spaced it. Anyway, I’m so happy for you & Npo that now month 2 is complete things are starting to get better. But you know this already. And I’m glad that a sweet smile from that gorgeous little girl helps you forget (momentarily) about any previous fussiness. I think you guys have it figured out. From my inexperienced perspective, anyway.

  22. meno says:

    I think the ipod sock thing is a cruel hoax. I never got mine for guessing Zelda.
    It does keep getting better. After a while it won’t feel so odd, it will feel only right. But it took me a while to get to that point.

  23. egan says:

    Think Jacob – hello sir and welcome to my blog. I’ve thought about that a lot. When she can walk, talk, and hug the goodbyes will be that much more difficult. Ha, the dating thing is a long ways off right? Time does move at a quick clip though.
    Armalicious – thanks for the kind words on our parenting skills. We’re starting to work it out. I think we do a great job sharing responsibilities. Becoming a new parent is an interesting experience because it’s something brand new for both people. Then you factor in your own family upbringing and things become more complex.
    Meno – in order to receive the gift iPod sock, you must provide me your address. I’m not into hoaxes, no way. It’s nice to know things do get better. Thanks.

  24. Amy says:

    I love your drawing. My favorite part was “nothing on this page is to scale”. Closely followed by “spot where our address is painted on her curb”.
    Great job! Most entertaining thing I read all day.

  25. egan says:

    Amy – why thank you. I kind of felt there needed to be a picture showing how many kids are on one side of the street vs. the other side. I’m glad you were amused by this. It’s weird to see my handwriting on my blog.

  26. Tim says:

    Every week does get better. Granted, there are always bad days, but just wait until she’s up and walking and she runs to greet you at the door when you get home from work. Best feeling ever.

  27. cindra says:

    Yer a silly goose. I can’t keep track of details of my own kids, so I doubt I’ll do better with yours…happy parenting! She is a doll.

  28. Good for Me says:

    hey friend — got your note. thanks. and i love the colors and texture of the card. i know, i’m weird.
    two things:
    1. in your 10/1 post, why didnt you turn back and get the jeans when you were just three minutes out?
    2. check out comments from the same post. i think you are being riddled with spam comments.

  29. egan says:

    Tim – yeah, you said that in a comment shortly after Anna was born and it sticks with me today. It’s hard to leave home now, but when she can hug and kiss me… oh no. I can only imagine how nice it must feel to get that Welcome Home Dad hug.
    Cindra – keeping track of a family can be hard. Shall I draw you a diagram?
    Good for Me – well, I didn’t think the hole in the pants was that bad until I started walking. Thank you so much for the heads up on that ugly spam comment. That’s the first one I’ve ever had on this blog.

  30. brookem says:

    just so you know, i was just able to open the picture again now that im home and… wait for it…
    ROTATE it! woot!

  31. Kerry says:

    Before you know it, she’ll be asking daddy Egan to take her car shopping and you’ll be worried about her driving and hopping in the backseat πŸ˜‰ Enjoy it while she’s small. She’s a cutie!!!

  32. You had me at “you are where you live”!! Oh and I am 4 1/2 years(BG) and 28 months(BB)in. What-A-Trip!

  33. ChickyBabe says:

    I want to know something… does Anna wear any iPod socks?! πŸ˜›

  34. mez says:

    Crikey, what are they putting in the water over your side of the road?
    You both sound like wonderful parents – I don’t think life will ever go back to normalcy – but then what do I know? But in any case, I’m certain you wouldn’t swap it for the world.

  35. JQ says:

    Your daughter is darling!
    I struggled the first few weeks with trying to calibrate our lives. Who am I kidding, I am still getting used to being a Dad six and a half months later. Everyday gets easier to incorporate what is really important back into your life. “Kids will make you honest”, that’s what G-man has taught me. That and if you want to get anything done either do it real early, real late, or real fast while they’re napping.

  36. Tall Chick says:

    I rotated my head and my neck kinda hurts, too. But that’s from something else.
    Be nice to those Grannies when they cross the street in front of your car. ^_^
    I still smell like chlorine.
    Now for the quiz:
    1: how many Full Kontakt Tribble-hunting photots were displayed? None
    2: How much did Anna weight at Tuesday’s appointment? You Met Anna Kournikova on Tuesday and didn’t blog pics? I don’t know how tall she is, so I can’t guess her weight, but I’m sure that after Tuesday you have a pretty good idea.
    3: what two qualities did I say Anna possessed to compensate for her small stature? Clearly this would have been the whole tennis thing. Oh, duh, I bet you meant flexibility. Still can’t believe you didn’t blog pics.
    4: which day in September is my brothers’ birthday? This is a trick question. Only one of your brothers was born in September.
    5. name the state where two of my brothers reside? Denial. Duh.

  37. Cake-Lady says:

    I clearly do not know but enjoyed the blog.
    1- 1 FKT.
    2- Anna weighed as much as a 2 cans of Glidden paint.
    3- She smiles and you forget everything and she poops alot.
    4- September 32nd
    5- The stare of chaos.

  38. The Grunt says:

    I’m glad things are improving. I have no clue what taking care of a newborn is like.

  39. Tall Chick says:

    That’s weird, Cake Lady. I had started to ansewr September 32nd. GMTA. πŸ™‚

  40. L says:

    Thanks again for your refreshing candor about the changes that having a child brings to your life. I wish more people were honest about it so that new parents wouldn’t feel so much pressure to gush about their new lives and could feel like it’s alright to ask for help with their new lives.

  41. I remember those days when a shower was a luxury! Parenthood is full of surprises. I can now say with all sincerity that I have, at one time or another, been covered with every body fluid imaginable. Just wait, mon ami. Just wait.

  42. Happy Birthday Anna! She is a beautiful baby and you are one proud and very awesome father..

  43. sandra says:

    Aww, two months already?! That seems insane, even to me (and she’s…well, clearly…not my daughter). Time FLIES.

  44. cindra says:

    Oh, sure. A diagram would be good. πŸ˜‰

  45. L says:

    How many times can I say “their new lives”?

  46. justrun says:

    I am the latest chimer inner ever, but I did want to say how nice it is to read someone willing to be candid about parenthood, and new parenthood specifically. That, I guess, is balance too.

  47. Cheryl says:

    Wow! It’s been two months already? Congrats…

  48. Pants says:

    Adorable photo, as always!
    I love the neighbor map. Although I hope I’m not where I live because I certainly don’t strive to be some weird ass, conservative, Utah suburb.
    I just threw up in my mouth a little.

  49. Mone says:

    Well now THAT picture looks like you are living in a good neighborhood, thats something to be happy about. And you are lucky there is just one bitchy woman around πŸ˜‰

  50. Lynda says:

    I wonder who that blogger is. πŸ˜‰

  51. Diane Mandy says:

    I appreciate your update on life as a new parent. It sounds wonderful!

  52. armalicious says:

    What is going on here? Anything?
    So did I win the contest? If I did, you don’t have to send me this mythical iPod sock. Just singing my praises will be a sufficient enough prize.
    Do you realize that you used the word ‘behoove’ in your post?

  53. armalicious says:

    Working out does amazing things to ones demeanor.

  54. Maddy says:

    You’re spot on – it gets better every week – I think that little devil Mother Nature has something to do with it.
    Cheers

Leave a Reply

