Washington Apples

As a parent one often reflects back on their own childhood.  I was thinking about my love for apples this weekend and recalled some cool childhood memories.  The apples currently available in our local markets are so damn good they took me back to my youth.

When I was in middle school I’d get home before any of my siblings.  For some reason I was never given a house key.  I suppose when you have seven kids you can’t give them all a key and I had a knack for losing them.  I would usually hang out on the porch until one of my older siblings got home.  There were days though when they would never arrive.  On those days I had a couple options available to me.

Option 1: go in the backyard, pluck an apple from the tree and enjoy.  This is something I did often.  It was a relaxing way to kill time and tempered my hunger pangs.  The golden delicious apples were just that, delicious.  Nothing beats an apple right off the tree.  I’d lounge in the backyard until someone came home.  Sitting on the front porch made me feel like a loser, chilling in the backyard was my little hideaway.

Option 2: slyly sneak around the south side of the house after ditching my books on the front porch.  I would then survey the scene and if nobody was within eye shot, I’d climb the smooth green barked vine maple tree.  I’d ramble up this tree quickly, like a monkey, and get up on the second floor roof.  Once up on the roof there was almost always one window unlocked.  Usually my parents bathroom window was open.  (sidenote: seeing a parent on the toilet  –> traumatic) It probably wasn’t the best way to enter your own house, but I loved the rush of climbing the tree. 

Tangent: Some days when I needed time to myself, I’d climb that same tree and hang out for an hour or so.  Nobody could ever find me in my little sanctuary.  This tree offered me much comfort as a child and allowed me to appreciate nature.   Sure our house was big enough for seven kids, but there were days when even Little Egan needed to be alone. 

Here’s my confession.  I’ve had a strong desire to climb trees recently.  I can’t really say why, but I think it might be my desire to touch base with nature again.  Is it wrong for a 34 year old man to climb trees?  It’s a bit dangerous, sure.   I suppose I could buy a red sports car instead and call it good.   The red sports car has never been my style, but climbing trees was a huge passion of mine until I was about 15 years old. 

"Hey Egan, what are you doing?"

"Nothing babe, I’m just climbing trees to touch base with my youth.  Wanna come?" 

"Egan, you can get apples from the grocery store.  No need to climb trees silly boy."

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Storytelling. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Washington Apples

  1. brookem says:

    oh, im first. wow, it’s been a while.
    you love trees, huh? didnt you major in… trees, or something similar (there’s probably a more technical term for it, perhaps)?
    i love apples. do you have apple picking orchards in your neck of the woods? maybe that’s more of a new england-y thing.

  2. brookem says:

    sounds like you’re into trees like i’m into water.
    and walden.

  3. BigBro says:

    Couldn’t you just roll around in some “beauty bark” in your birkenstocks and wool socks and call it even?
    Or doth thy monkey always need to be in the trees?

  4. BigBro says:

    …you and Anne Heche…

  5. BigBro says:

    Oh yeah, way to go bro! If mom’s house gets robbed this week, I am telling on you! maybe they’ll steal all that crap in there!

  6. egan says:

    Brookem – yes, I have a degree in Forest Resource Management. Am I using it? Nope, but I’m really fun to take on walks through the woods. Let’s go to Walden. We don’t do the orchard thing here, but in Eastern Washington you sure as hell can. Heaps of apples over there.
    BigBro – Anne Heche? Is she still around? Monkey likes trees.
    BigBro – me thinks the burglar that tries to enter mom’s house would be lose their mind. They’d trip over stuff at every turn.

  7. brookem says:

    anne heche is in that show men in trees, with the men with the good hair. your bro knows his shit.

  8. egan says:

    Brookem – ha, I see why he made that joke then. I figured he was calling me a recluse. My bro loves loves pop culture. Me, not as much.

  9. BigBro says:

    Brookem…thanks for 411ing my lil bro…god(oops) love ’em!

  10. Diane Mandy says:

    Depending on the car you purchase, riding around in a red convertible could be way more dangerous than climbing a tree.

  11. L says:

    No, it’s not wrong for a 34 YO man to climb a tree. Just be careful. You’re probably not as bendy and rubbery as you were back then. My 36 YO friend climbed a tree last spring because it was there and she felt like it. She came to work with a giant bruise on her arm and her knee, but she had a great story to tell with the biggest grin.

  12. Cake Lady says:

    Go ahead and climb that tree and get it out of your system. I think it would make for a good post afterwards.

  13. we climb trees all the time! (and rocks. And hills. And well, anything) Great that you are in touch with your inner young self!

  14. flounder says:

    OMG – Egan is a mommyblogger!
    Just kidding buddy. Your daughter is gorgeous and worth every second of sleep you’re missing.
    We’re expecting #2 in May!

  15. Katy says:

    I have to say I skipped the rest of the email because I was kinda confused about climbing a tree=wrong. How could it be wrong? Because of the possibility of getting hurt? Seriously dude, go climb a tree and quick. You’ll be happier.

  16. Katy says:

    … I just skipped to the end of the post. Just because you might be able to get apples from the store doesn’t mean that’s the only reason to climb.

  17. Katy says:

    Also, plenty of people have taken their kids climbing too – it can be really safe and extraordinarily educational. http://www.pacifictreeclimbing.com/climbing.html

  18. egan says:

    BigBro – Brookem knows her tv stuff. Don’t ask her about Harry Potter though, that’s her weak subject.
    Diane Mandy – that’s true, but maybe I want to climb a big huge coastal redwood tree. Now that would be dangerous. What if I wanted to climb that tree drunk?
    L – I’m glad to see you comment during this time of day, but we’ll say that for another day. I bet she did have quite a story to tell. I love the word bendy. I picture someone looking like Gumby climbing a tree.
    Cake Lady – yeah, me thinks I need to find a good tree in the neighborhood for climbing. I will keep you posted.
    Steppingoverthejunk – this is wicked good news you climb stuff with the kids. I think it’s great on so many levels to climb things. Young Inner Egan needs to play.
    Flounder – mommyblogger? Don’t make me kick your ass. Look who’s blogging about their son having croup? All kidding aside, I hope he’s turned the corner. Croup is shitty. Congrats on #2.
    Katy – yes, climbing a tree at 34 isn’t the same as climbing one at 14. I’m not as “bendy” and not nearly as light. I bet I weigh about 60-70 more than I did when I climbed trees in middle school.
    Katy – huh? I’m confused. I wasn’t saying that since I can buy apples from the store I am therefore not going to climb. Capiche?
    Katy – you seem to be pro-tree climbing. I love that you know so much about the topic. Do you study trees for a living or some shit? I bet you do.

  19. egan says:

    Katy – P.S. I clicked on that link you included in your comment. I see you in one of those pictures. Cool. Hey, that’s wimpy tree climbing. Why the harnesses? When I climb there will be no helmet, no ropes, no spotters, and noboby else. Just me and my thoughts. I gots to climb.

  20. patches says:

    Climb away…After you verify your life insurance is in order. I’m sure good at, but with Baby Anna in da house, you have to be responsible.

  21. egan says:

    Patches – damn right. That’s my biggest concern, my wife and baby. I’m careful with this sort of stuff. I climb trees better than the felines.

  22. Tim says:

    I think the kids bring out the kids in us. We rented a moonbounce this weekend for a party and I’ve spent the past three days jumping around and doing flips. Flirting with disaster with every hop.

  23. liv says:

    It’s the same way I felt like sitting in the sand and digging my toes in all weekend. Play a little. Don’t lose that moment.

  24. Airam says:

    Golden Delicious are my favouritest type of apple. I’m weird with apples though. I can’t eat them by just taking a bite out of it. The skin for some reason gives me goose bumps all over when I chew on it. I have to peel the skin off. And for some apples (the red ones) even if I peel the skin off it doesn’t matter; I still get the goose bumps when I eat them. Weird huh? I never said I was normal!
    Figures that a monkey like you would get a degree in Forestry! I think you should climb trees. Once a day you should do something that makes you feel like a kid again. As far as I’m concerned that’s probably the best time in ones life.

  25. brandy says:

    Go climb some trees. I’m currently almost reaching a ridiculous level of happiness by spending time outside getting dirt under my nails and mud on my face. As for apples I’ve never had one right off the tree. I think I’m really missing out.

  26. mez says:

    I used to want to live in trees. I’d look for the ones with the big holes in them because I just knew if you wished in the right way you’d get taken to mystical lands far away just by stepping inside – or that there would secretly be a big house neslted in there.
    I still sort of do that…I just don’t tell people that I’m doing it! The key is still acting like you’re an adult even if you think like a kid. People are easily fooled 😉

  27. JQ says:

    I can totally relate to your story. My family and I used to travel to an apple orchard every fall to pick straight from the trees. So many fond memories of climbing to the highest point I could and eating apples. Recently we did this again. My brother, sister, and I, our families and our children. It was great!

  28. Lynda says:

    Heh. I think there is nothing wrong with climbing trees. Just be careful.

  29. Chris says:

    I love (just about) any (happy) childhood story that involves picking fruit.
    Who was it that had to ugly up this beautiful post with a mention of the horrific Birkenstock?

  30. churlita says:

    I still climb trees. The great thing about being a parent, is that you can climb trees with your kids and use them as your excuse.

  31. GuTTer MuNKi says:

    Only pussies don’t climb trees. Just remember that you have to re-calibrate your “that twig will hold me” decider.

  32. Amy says:

    I tried to comment here yesterday but TypePad wouldn’t let me for some reason. So here is attempt #2.
    Yes, you’re right…the apples are darn good this time of year. My daily consumption has gone from one to three.
    As for climbing trees, if you want to…I say go for it! If you want to buy a red sports car…I say go for it, just make sure that it is “Candy Apple Red”.

  33. Tall Chick says:

    You don’t climb trees?

  34. Nessa says:

    If you say you are up there looking for limbs to trim, that’s a grown up manly thing to do.

  35. L says:

    Dude. I’m still lurking ’round everyone’s blogs. I just never think of anything to say anymore. Hence my own sparse posts.

  36. Lynn says:

    No problem climbing trees…unless you’re a ‘peeping Tom’ which you couldn’t possible be, because your name is Egan!

  37. Airam says:

    Arm? Where are you?

  38. sprizee says:

    You’re all cover on the life insurance front, right? Okay, good. Go for it.

  39. celeste says:

    great story! I loved having fruit trees in the backyard when I was growing up. Cherries were my favorite. We don’t get that so much with all these new subdivisions in this generation of ours.
    yikes. I feel old!

  40. Maggie says:

    What’s the problem? You are after all, a monkey.

  41. Think Jacob says:

    Jeez, 40 people beat me here? I used to love climbing trees, too. I have also recently had the urge. However, I don’t think you would find those high branches nearly as camoflaging as they were when you were smaller. I also assume that the climb would be more difficult. I’m going to give it a try. I’ll report back on how many broken bones, splinters, and scrapes I come back with.

  42. justrun says:

    Apples and trees and apple trees bring me back to my childhood, too. I can still remember the apple tree blooming in the spring time- that was the best time to climb it and hide. 🙂 I don’t think wanting that again is silly at all.

  43. furiousball says:

    I love apples. Climbing trees is one of the best things ever. I need to climb one again before I get too old to do so. Good reminder, great post too.

  44. Kerry says:

    I never did climb trees. I did climb the backstop at the baseball field and ripped my pants open! lol

  45. brandy says:

    Hey, remember when I was really wanting to be first in comments and then I never was so I sort of game up on the dream and turned to hard drugs? (And by “hard drugs” I mean watching a copious amount of daytime television)I think I want to try for first again. Yeah, that’s right. I want to try for first. So blog again soon. I’m doing my stretches right now.

  46. egan says:

    Tim – I hear you on the moonbounce. I bet that was really fun. I gave a trampoline a try this summer and now understand why they have those nets with them.
    Liv – yeah, playing a little is the way it should be. It’s hard to find nice cozy sand in Seattle to bury our feet, but I know what you mean. I will climb the tree.
    Airam – this might be the weirdest way to eat an apple ever. Do you do this with other fruits? Like bananas, do you peel them too? You’re so wacky.
    Brandy – so glad to hear you’re appreciating nature well. Dirt under the nails isn’t so hot as some nice Franco Sartos, but the memories are much better. Yeah, try one off the tree and don’t peel it like Airam does.
    Mez – did you happen to read those Berenstein Bears books? I read those as a kid and fell in love with idea of living in trees. Of course as a tree lover we know it’s not healthy for the tree to have humans live inside them. There are some cool ones in Northern California. I like the acting like a kid as an adult mentality. Feeling young at heart is so important.
    JQ – this family gathering of yours is something I wish my family did more often. Sounds like a really good time.
    Lynda – look up careful in the dictionary and you will see my lovely mug shot.
    Chris – what are you talking about sir?
    Churlita – I love that you still climb trees. Which kind do you prefer? I’d love to see a picture.
    Gutter MuNKi – yeah, that is a good point about the twig calibrations. I’m not the small boy I used to be. Um, don’t take that the wrong way.
    Amy – I’m not sure why TypePad would be mean to you. I didn’t ban you or anything. One apple to three, well done. You eat really well don’t you? I like it.
    Tall Chick – who told you that? Yes, I do climb trees, but not as often as I like. Mainly I scale chain link fences.
    Nessa – hell, might as well decorate the trees with Christmas lights too.
    L – I have my eyes on you.
    Lynn – moi? I’m so far above those eavesdropping types. I would never snoop whle climbing a tree.
    Airam – I think she had some life insurance policies to collate.
    Sprizee – yep, all the money will go my pet frog.
    Celeste – the great thing about fruit trees is you don’t need to much space. The pain though is the fruit rots, rodents love that stuff. You’re not old.
    Maggie – oui, tu as raison. Je suis un singe.
    Think Jacob – if you do break some bones, please don’t blame some blogger for encouraging you to do so. 40 comments on a post of mine? Huh, something is out of whack. Damn this blog.
    Justrun – now there one tree I never climbed, okay maybe two — spruce the other, apple trees aren’t so great for scaling. The flowers on apple trees are damn pretty.
    Furiousball – find a good cedar tree, they love to be climbed with their low hanging branches.
    Kerry – ha, I’ve climbed my fair share of baseball backstops too. Are you a monkey?
    Brandy – hmm, you’re silly. I’m going to work on a new post now, but I get the feeling you’re asleep as I type this. Maybe we can make first happen on Friday.

Leave a Reply

