The End of an Era?

Minime_2  … but dad, I really love this car.   It’s so tiny, but very cozy.  I can see all the trees passing by and the sports suspension feels so great.  I also dig the sound system.  I know you and mom bought this car before I was even a thought in your heads. 

Don’t do it!!

I’m begging you dad, don’t let the MINI Cooper go.  I’ve only had 4-5 trips in the sporty car and I’m already sold.  What do I have to do to force you to keep this car?  I’m totally capable of looking very cute.  I could take an extra nap during the day if that’s what you want.  Perhaps I could comment on your blog more.  You name it dad and I will do it.  I remember you and mom stating the MINI would be in your possession until you grew old.  I distinctly remember you saying something about me driving it when I turn 16.  How did this change? 

Yes, it’s true.  We’ve decided to do the unthinkable.  We’re showing our MINI off tonight and it’s quite possible this time tomorrow we could be sans our first enfant Bruiser.  We waited patiently for seven months before the MINI Cooper felt our bums on its leather seats.  28,300 miles later it’s time to move on.  There are very fond memories of our little car.  Parting with our MINI isn’t an easy thing for us as he’s a damn fun car to drive.  Tonight’s prospect will be giving the car to his 16 year old daughter.  Considering the fact this is something I wanted to do for Anna, maybe this is the perfect fit.   No, we are not trading in our MINI for a minivan.  We’re thinking Prius maximus.  It’s been a great ride MINI, Motor On!

UPDATE: the MINI and our family part ways today (Monday).  It’s a sad day for me.  I spent last night rifling through the MINI paperwork and got a bit teary.  This is all part of the process of parenting and adjusting to life’s little twists and turns.  I trust the car will be in good hands, but damn did we ever love our little Bruiser.  In the three plus years of owning the car, nobody else has driven it until last Friday night.  Me so sad.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Current Affairs. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to The End of an Era?

  1. meno says:

    NNNOOOOOOOOOOOoooooooooooo.
    Okay i get it, we got rid of the bug and got a Honda when i birthed a baby.
    Someday you will get a mini back.

  2. furiousBall says:

    yeah the lil’ cars can be tough with a short person in tow. well, happy car hunting

  3. Maddy says:

    Oh go on, buy a minivan – submit, submit!
    Cheers

  4. brookem says:

    Welp, see ya later.
    (I know you’re not good with movie quotes- but I dare you to name it.)
    I know you’ve had some great memories with the MINI. Sounds appropriate that someone will be giving this to their 16 year old daughter. Good luck with the Prius. Go Toyota!

  5. Chris says:

    If you’re thinkink Prius, you’re thinking Hybrid – a terrific thought. You may want to at least look into the Honda Civic Hybrid as well as there may be a greater federal tax benefit – I haven’t done a side by side comparision and know not of features that may be important but in terms of tax benefits, I think the Honda may be a slight advantage at this point.

  6. *pixie* says:

    That is such a cute picture!

  7. mez says:

    I love that you’re thinking of getting a hybrid and not a minivan <3<3

  8. I think the PERFECT family car for the 3 of you is a sporty Gremlin Deluxe XLT with an eight-track tape player and cb (and spinners)! Anna would be the hit of her school pulling up to high school each morning in that sick puppy!

  9. Emma says:

    😦 bye, bye mini – I love those cars! *sigh* I suppose it’s for the best. Anna looks incredibly ADORABLE as always πŸ™‚

  10. Frowny Face says:

    If I did emoticons, one would go here. It’s probably for the best that you sell it, but I can see how it would be hard. At least you’re not getting a mini-van. I’m gonna hold you to that if you & Mrs. L ever decide to make Anna a sibling.
    Go Priuses! I’ve seen a ton of them around lately. They are funny looking cars, but I really like what they do!

  11. Frowny Face says:

    pssst…I love Anna’s hat in that picture. Store bought or homemade?

  12. churlita says:

    It sounds like it’s time. I can’t wait to see pics of the new vehicle.

  13. Eunice says:

    It’s the end of an era…

  14. Tall Chick says:

    Something about the words “Prius Maximus” sounds dirty. I bet I know why you’re really getting it.

  15. Katy says:

    Have no illusions, you’ll never have another mini! You’ve joined the ranks of the minivans … I mean, good luck with the new car!

  16. Pants says:

    Aw, this must be very sad for you…though not as sad and lugging an infant seat in and out of the cramped backseat?

  17. Amanda says:

    I always always ALWAYS wanted a MINI. Anna is still mini….maybe you can enjoy both the minis a while longer.

  18. JLee says:

    I just got a new car and I was a little sentimental letting my last one go. sniff
    haha

  19. Airam says:

    She’s so cute. I know what it’s like getting rid of a car that you love. Your new Prius will help immensely!

  20. Kerry says:

    How sad!
    She needs that car…

  21. Bemused says:

    What a cute photo! Make sure you tell the buyer the baby is NOT an optional extra! πŸ˜›

  22. tori says:

    I think it sounds like a perfect fit if they are giving it to their daughter. It is so sad to have to give up cars you love for kids though. When I had my first baby, I had a tiny adorable little car that was a huge pain in the butt to get the carseat in and out of. I didn’t get a minivan right away, but now I have one. With 4 kids in carseats, it was necessary at the time.

  23. Diane Mandy says:

    Oddly enough, Max and I just opted for a convertible Mini here in Germany. We sign the contract Thursday.
    Still–you are doing the right thing, I’m sure. And you’ll love the Prius just as much if not more because of it’s enviromentally friendly way!

  24. patches says:

    Do I hear Taps playing in the background?

  25. Cherry! says:

    Hey there!!
    Just stopped by to see pics of the new addition! (a little belated…sorry!). She’s divine! Congratulations!

  26. Chris Durano says:

    Sad day. I loved that car. Good for you for getting a hybrid. I’ve been saving for a Mustang when I turn 40 but I’m pretty confident I’ll be getting a hybrid too….maybe Ford will make a Mustang Hybrid?

  27. Judi says:

    Awww, I’m nostalgic and sad. My bum never got a ride in that car, but I feel as though I know it rather intimately.
    I’m coming up on the final payments of The Grand Tomato–my ’03 Civic–and there are lots of great deals out there right now on new ones. While the hybrid is a bit out of my price range (and I’ve heard they aren’t the greatest on mileage anyway) I’m quite happy with my (still) 30 city/40 highway.
    I think I’m going to keep her for a few more years as she’s only decpreciated a couple thousand per year and it will be nice to not have payments for a while (the whopping $200/month can go to other bills.)
    I miss speaking with you on a regular basis, and hope you had a very happy holiday, Mazel Tov on the Prius and enjoy your first New Year with Anna. She’s one lucky kid!

Leave a Reply

