It Took Ten Years

Good riddance SallieMae!

Ten damn years later my five plus years in a public college are paid for, thanks to the MINI Cooper and other stuff.  Oh my this is a glorious day.  Yesterday my wife added to the good news by getting an early Christmas present, a promotion and a pay raise.  Things are working out rather nicely this week.  Holy shit does it ever feel awesome to kick the student loans to the curb.  Now we can start grad school, dare I say it?   

I’m so lucky I met my wife who kept me on the straight and narrow.  When we first started dating I was defaulting on my loans and thought it wasn’t really imporant to pay them with any regularity.  Damn it feels good to be student loan free.  I feel like a prisoner fresh out of jail.  There will be some celebrating tonight, Shawshank Redemption anyone?

My SallieMae confirmation number is 4086090 in case you don’t believe me. 

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Current Affairs. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to It Took Ten Years

  1. sizzle says:

    that’s fantastic!
    congrats on all fronts. 🙂

  2. brookem says:

    Woot! I can imagine that’s a sweet feeling. I’ll be paying off grad school for, forever. Oh well.

  3. leslie says:

    cher monkey boy, je suis fier a voir que tu es deja adulte. Au revoir a tout les jours de frapper autres personnes avec bas mouilles! Joyeux Noel a tout Lessinges! xoxo leslie

  4. brookem says:

    thanks for the confirmation number.
    you check out.

  5. armie says:

    That’s awesome! On all things! Congrats to your paying off the loans (and how funny are you with posting your confirm #? Love it) and congrats to Mrs. L on her promo & raise! Woot! indeed!

  6. brandy says:

    Wow, that IS impressive. I suspect I will be done paying my student loans right around the time we start living on Mars.
    As for Mrs. L, that IS fantastic. Good news like that always seems extra great when it happens during the holidays. Well done!

  7. egan says:

    Sizzle – yeah, thanks. It’s a huge relief. One less monthly payment.
    Brookem – you went to grad school? Shh, I know you went to grad school. I was simply playing stupid as usual.
    Leslie – which online translator did you use? I love the “bas mouilles” part. Merci mon amie! Wait, is this Leslie in Nova Scotia? Ah, great to hear from you. Happy holidays!
    Brookem – you better believe I check out. Confirmation numbers are hella important.
    Armie – without the confirmation number, nobody would believe me. My integrity would be in question and I don’t want that. Trust me I say, trust me.
    Brandy – getting good news like this during the holidays is marvelous. Clark Griswold would be proud. You think there will be bloggers on Mars some day?

  8. meno says:

    That is a good feeling, the day that loan gets paid off.
    And congratulations to the Missus.

  9. Diane Mandy says:

    Yey!!!!!! I know what a great feeling paying off a loan can be. I am happy for you! And a big congrat to your wife as well!

  10. Kerry says:

    AWESOME!!! Congrats!
    I wish Richard was close to getting his paid off!

  11. L says:

    Congratulations! If you ever miss the routine of making that monthly payment, feel free to make mine.

  12. Silly boy…I think SallieMae’s payemnts should just be deposited into “Anna may wanna go to college” account. After you get my present, of course!

  13. egan says:

    Meno – it’s a wicked good feeling. I will pass along the congrats or my wife will read your sentiments later tonight.
    Diane Mandy – hey, you get the MINI tomorrow right? I bet you can’t wait to drive it around town. I really loved ours.
    Kerry – the good thing about student loans is they’re pretty easy to defer and aren’t too unruly. Oh, I had to read your comment twice.
    L – well, with that paid off, we will likely take on new payments when we purchase a new car. Bring on the Prius yo!

  14. egan says:

    Older Bro – are you sending us a huge check to cover Anna’s future tuition? The Grandfather sent us four boxes of gifts. Are you ready to ante up?

  15. Airam says:

    Woot for paying off your loan!! I paid off my undergrad loan a couple years ago and it was an awesome feeling!! Working and going to grad school meant I cut a cheque to the university everytime tuition was due so I wouldn’t have another set of loans to pay. I made my final cheque this past September so no more paying for school for me!!
    That is a wonderful gift! Think of all the stuff you can buy with the money that would’ve went towards your loan!
    You rock!

  16. justrun says:

    Well yeehaw! That has to feel good.

  17. jeci says:

    DUDE! Way to go! I’ve been there and it feels sooo good. I celebrated by buying myself a present that was equal in worth to my monthly student loan payments (it was a pearl ring–squee!). Of course, I eventually returned to school, just as you intimated, and I’m back to square one and yearning to live that high again. Anyway! Congratulations to both you and Mrs Lessinges!!!

  18. Chris says:

    I really want to call that Sallie Bitch the C*#$ word, but I’ll leave it at Bitch.
    Congratulations to you and N-Po on two terrific accomplishments.

  19. JQ says:

    Congratulations! I still have a long way to go…

  20. Bemused says:

    Fabulous! How are you celebrating?

  21. brandy says:

    Absolutely. At first I thought Venus, but Mars sounds like it would be more fun. I think the government will start shipping the ‘unruly’ bloggers there when they start writing out government secrets.
    I may have said too much.

  22. Lynda says:

    Congratulations! I never went the student loan route, since I never could figure out what I wanted to be when I grow up.
    But man, that hurt the credit cards a few years.

  23. Lynda says:

    What? I am comment spam??

  24. egan says:

    Airam – yeah, we’ve already spent the money in our heads. I’m glad you’re school loan free as well. It’s a damn good feeling. I’m going to buy lots and lots of Wiis.
    Justrun – it feels wicked good.
    Jeci – great to hear from you again. I am a huge believer in treating yourself well. Buying yourself some jewelry is a prime example of how to do it right. Well done.
    Chris – thank you sir. Sallie Mae has been great to me. She covered my ass when I couldn’t so I have nothing bad to say about her.
    JQ – I bet you do, but you’re much younger than I am. You’ll get it hammered away.
    Bemused – I celebrated by blogging and blowing my nose every two minutes. Good times yo!
    Brandy – when are you going to learn, nobody reads blogs except bloggers. The government doesn’t care about us bloggers. We’re just a bunch of bored geeks. Okay, maybe I’ve said too much… about myself.
    Lynda – tell me about it. Typepad created new spam filters and it’s been a bit of a pain in the ass. Don’t worry, I bitched them out. You’re not spam. Do you like Spam™ though?

  25. egan says:

    Lynda – I financed one quarter of college using a credit card. I think it took me three years to pay off that one quarter. It was my last quarter though and I was damn desperate. Oh, I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up other than a dad.

  26. leslie says:

    oui! c’est moi! je parle et ecrire francais comme une maudite quebecoise maintenant…

  27. Cake Lady says:

    Congrats – Another one bites the dust!

  28. Lindz says:

    OMG congrats, I am ten million kinds of envious right now. I’m not even done with my masters and I can already feel the pain ahead of paying back the DAMN STUDENT LOANS. Everytime I watch a game show I think about how I could pay off my loans if I won…

  29. Chris Durano says:

    Nice job amigo! Next up … mortgage!

  30. Cheryl says:

    So jealous. I’m just starting up again 😦

  31. Feels good, don’t it? Please, re-emphasize how good it feels because I, on the other hand, have just begun paying mine off. Here’s to making my first loan payment!
    Rargh.

  32. Kristin says:

    Sallie Mae”…she sounds so damn friendly, but we know she could kick our ass…

  33. scarlet hip says:

    This is too weird. I just paid off my ten year debt to Sallie Mae as well. And you know I’m already in grad school, so I insist you join me in my torture.
    Merry Chrismukkah!

  34. Hal says:

    I paid my car off a few months ago, and let me tell you, I thought I would never see the day. Various cash flow problems – ultimately attribuable to poor decisions on my part – had me on Reposession Avenue on a number of occasions, but I always managed to stave that off at the 11th hour.
    It’s exhilerating, since it amounts to a massive pay raise (at least in my case), and being what seems like one of the few Americans who are actually getting ahead of the man.
    Congrats!

Leave a Reply

