Holiday Time Warp

It’s already been a week since I last posted. Man, time is moving fast this holiday season. My wife’s dad and his wife have already left town. They arrived in Seattle last Thursday. The following day we took the plunge and bought a brand new Toyota Prius. Next thing I knew it was Christmas morning and I had some last minute wrapping to complete.

Being the stickler I am, I don’t want to give too much away though since I can stretch out the blog posts. What’s important with this entry is what happened today. On Wednesday December 26th, I did something I’ve never done before in my life. I know you’re all now very curious what Monkey Boy could have done for the first time. You might be wondering if I went skiing naked, smiled at a HUMMER, kissed a boy, or played a game of chess. If you guessed any of those, you’d be dead wrong.

Here’s a hint for those who enjoy visual aids:

2139839839_61ed1c11c7_2 Yep, I got a pedicure. Or as some like to say, I got me a “pedi”. My wife bought it for her stepmom, but we screwed up on their departure date and none of my wife’s friends were available for a little spa time. Not one to shy away from an opportunity to try something new, my wife offered the spot to me.

I thought about it long and hard… and took the plunge. I have to be honest and mulled over how it would be tremendous blogging material. “Honey, this will be great for the blog” I exclaimed to my wife. She nodded in agreement. Looking back on the experience, it wasn’t such a shocker for a guy to get a pedicure. I’m guessing you don’t see many men getting pedicures, but maybe it should happen. The pampering of the feet is worthwhile for all. I say pedicures for women and men! The wax dip part was a wicked sensation. I also got the chance to show off my pop culture infinite wisdom. The woman who did my feet attended the rival high school of mine. I made her feel very unimportant when I reminded her the American Idol runner-up attended my high school and not hers. In the end she won my heart… one cuticle at a time.

The holidays were a hoot, yet we’re bummed the in-laws are gone. We had a great time showing off Anna for the first time in person. We think grandpa will convince his wife to move to the West Coast to be closer to his granddaughter within a couple years. Only time will tell. Granddad is great… and… and … he’s an equal opportunity spoiler. I hope you all had a pleasant Christmas and I look forward to putting my blog reading cap on again. [end disjointed entry]

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Current Affairs, Doting Dude, Flirting with Homosexuality, Games. Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Holiday Time Warp

  1. Amanda says:

    I have been trying to get my husband to go for a pedicure but he just won’t! I’ll have to point him here.

  2. brookem says:

    I haven’t read this entire post yet, but I had to comment on the photo. I love it. Are your jeans pegged?

  3. brookem says:

    I just saw the word pedi.

  4. Chris says:

    Dude, you are the man. My feet are way too ticklish to entrust them in the hands of another for that long thought I must admit, I have always been intrigued at the wax dip idea.
    I am glad that Anna had some quality grampy spoiling time.
    Is that a Mikes Hard Lemonade on the floor near your left foot?

  5. armie says:

    Hee hee…you said HUMMER.
    Pedicures rule. But be warned…you’ll get addicted! My BIL gets them all the time since his wife & her sister talked him into it. I’m glad you branched out and tried something new.
    Also, glad you had a good time with the in-laws. And it sounds like not just Anna got spoiled – score!
    Hope Santa treated you well!!

  6. brookem says:

    I’m back now and ready to comment appropriately. I think it’s neato that you got yourself a pedi. Did you get a color? A “wax dip?” I have never had such a thing. Go you.
    Glad to hear you had a nice holiday with the fam!

  7. Airam says:

    Now are those designer plastic booties that you have on? You look so content sitting there with your rolled up jeans, holding a coffee with both hands. Me thinks it’s time I treated myself to a mani/pedi/cutty (of hair).
    Yay for your holidays going good!

  8. armie says:

    OMG…new Anna pics! Too adorable!

  9. meno says:

    Another man gives in, only 11 million left to go. Good for you.
    We are driving a rental prius on vacation. It took the Mister a few minutes to figure out how to start it at first. 🙂

  10. Christina says:

    I have been trying to get Andrew to get a pedicure for years and he won’t budge. I’m glad you went and that you enjoyed it! personally, I love it, and I used to get one every two weeks before Chase was born. I miss that!! (I also miss sleeping and weekends in Atlantic City)

  11. tori says:

    I love the results of a pedicure but am not crazy about the process. I have a hard time sitting still, especially when there is so much I would rather do than sit there. I wish I could talk my husband into going with me! He can’t stand anyone touching his feet though, so it sort of rules that out.
    Glad your Christmas was great!

  12. sizzle says:

    pedicures are awesome!

  13. egan says:

    Amanda – I think the only hard part for a guy would be the chit chat aspect and deciding which color to paint his toes. Foot massages are damn good though.
    Brookem – the jeans aren’t pegged, I rolled them up for optimal pedicurage.
    Brookem – you like that word don’t you? Your mind is always in the gutter.
    Chris – my feet tend to be ticklish too, but it if you can relax (yoga breath) you’ll be just fine. That’s a bottle of water silly man.
    Armie – Santa treated us very well. Can you say iPod Touch? Yeah. I figured you’d notice the new photos before anyone else did. I can totally see how “pedis” could become addicting. Yum.
    Brookem – I didn’t have my toenails painted. I did browse the color names and was rather amused. With the wax dip you put your foot into some solution that coats your foot in wax. It was wicked cool.
    Airam – I was very content. Before my pedi started I almost nodded off a few times, thus the reason I have a cup of tea in my hands. I was reading a Condé Nast insert about Australia… I want to go there so bad now.
    Meno – you think I can convince other men to get pedis? Maybe that can be my platform when I run for president:
    “Get a pedi each month and drive a Prius. Now vote for me bitches!”
    Christina – oh boy, the sleeping. I was so wiped out this morning. It’s crazy how our bodies adapt to get stuff done when we’re running on empty. Andrew will love it. If it was done one on one without anyone else present, it would be easier for dudes.
    Tori – you really are an antsy creature aren’t you? Feet are meant to be ticklish aren’t they? Oh, thanks for sending me the greeting. I love the photo at Disney World.
    Sizzle – I can’t argue with you.

  14. armie says:

    SHUT. UP.
    You got the iPod Touch??? Do you love it? Seriously….I am so totally jealous right now. I want to touch your touch!

  15. armie says:

    Sorry, I guess to me that is waaaay more exciting than a new car (which I didn’t even comment on…congrats on the new wheels!)

  16. egan says:

    Armie – yes, I got an iPod Touch and so did Mrs. Lessinges. You know who also got one, Brookem. I think I will have to show her how it works. I just left a comment on her blog using the iPod Touch. It’s a pretty sweet gadget. You want to touch my Touch? Naughty!

  17. egan says:

    Armie – the iPod Touch is very cool and so is the Prius. We can save the Prius story for another day. There’s nothing cooler than a hybrid iPod yo!

  18. armie says:

    Brookem, too? Man…my jealousy knows no bounds right now.
    Le sigh. Me and my 2006 nano are going to go sit in a corner now.

  19. egan says:

    Armie – ha, can you blog with that Nano? I think not. I would suspect you need to upgrade, yes I said “need”. In August I will have had my cell phone for two years… you know what that could mean right? Shhhh… keep it on the DL.

  20. armie says:

    If I use my imagination, I can blog with my Nano. What? It’s possible. I do need an upgrade. Stat. Santa was off his game this year for me. So, are you telling me that you may be switching to AT&T? Ha.

  21. egan says:

    Armie – well, we’ll see how things go with this new Touch before going there in my head. I have to say it would be great to have all devices in one cool gadget.

  22. brookem says:

    Oof, this iTouching has got me reaching for the booze. That’s all I’m saying.

  23. egan says:

    Brookem – you can simply load your iPod Touch with music and nothing else. It’s all what you make it. I’m using it for many things, but you of course don’t to use yours to blog or set reminders. Music is its specialty.

  24. brookem says:

    Oh, yeah, aren’t those color names fabo? Like, Belize it or Not, and Pink Before you Leap, and SoHo Nice to Meet You. I’m only a spec obsessed.

  25. armie says:

    Brookem! iTouching!?!! I love it. And I love that YOU, of all people, have this awesome little techno-gadget!

  26. iBrookem says:

    I don’t want anybody else… when I think about you…

  27. brookem says:

    I’m back. Because I don’t want my last comment on here to look so kinky when it’s really just about an iopd. People who haven’t been following will be all sorts of funked out about it.
    Would you know that I didn’t even know the thing was called an iPod Touch? Hm.

  28. egan says:

    Brookem – when you learn all the cool things you can do with your new iPod, you’ll be a happy camper. You can check bars online if you want.
    Brookem – the color names are really great. I want that job. Bored Blogger Brown would be my choice.
    Armie – it’s not going to be a pretty thing to help her Brookem figure out her iTouch™, but I put a call out to a guy named Gabriel. He’s good with this shit.
    Brookem – I should know that lyric right. Oh, my trusty iPod Touch figured it out. Divinyls. Oooo, ooo, I don’t want anybody else…
    Brookem – look at you trying to cover your perverted tracks.

  29. l says:

    Congrats on the new Prius! 2.0 got a pedi this summer. He made funny faces while they pushed back his cuticles and exfoliated his heels.

  30. Airam says:

    My brother got the iPhone in Seattle (since they’re not available in Canada for some god forsaken reason). He thinks he’s cool now because he’s like the only person in Canada who has one. I told him that if they don’t sell them here by the time my cell phone plan is up that he needs to get me one when he next goes to Seattle.
    Word.

  31. Carrie says:

    WOW! You manned up and got a pedi? Nice… Angelica and I had to DRAG Joe to get a mani. The Mrs. sure is lucky to have such a gung-ho man!

  32. Welcome to the age of pampering…pedi’s are awesome!
    Hope you had a great holdiay- Albany was a good time; your nephews are cute!

  33. egan says:

    L – I was expecting a tiny bit of mild pain, but none happened. It was a very pleasant first pedi. I think 2.0 will enjoy another pedi if you’re offering. The Prius rocks the house yo!
    Airam – which phone company in Canada is he using as his provider? I think it would be challenging to get service for a product not readily available. I want the iPhone, but am not there yet. When are you coming to Seattle? Your bro is cool and all, but I want to meet Airam.
    Carrie – it wasn’t even that big of a deal. Salons do see guys getting pedicures, not often… but it happens. Taking care of the feet is an important thing to do.
    The Older Bro – I saw some pictures sent our way via the internet. You looked to be having a good time. We hung with the family on Christmas Eve.

  34. Airam says:

    He’s hooking his up with Rogers. I will soon be visiting Seattle don’t you worry! I can’t wait to see that pointy needle thingy. That’s what she said

  35. JLee says:

    “flirting with homosexuality” hahah
    pedis are great…very addictive!

  36. egan says:

    Airam – you’re teasing me right about the Seattle thing? You’ve never even left area code 905. Rogers is so much better than the others.
    JLee – I totally get how they can become addictive. Sort of like haircuts, you get so comfy you almost fall asleep… or at least I did.

  37. Candace says:

    Isn’t it weir how blogging affects one’s life. I was sitting on a toilet at a bookstore restroom today and it was making weird noises. I thought about how crappy (:-) )it would be if it broke and fell over or something (hey, it happened to my uncle once) but that was immediately followed by the thought of what great blog fodder that could be.
    I thought this might be TMI, but then I realised, “hey, it’s Egan’s blog!” ^_^

  38. egan says:

    Candace – ha, now that’s a great thought process and clearly not in the TMI category. I’m guessing most bloggers think how great a story can be and then rush to their computers to share. We are freaky creatures; bloggers unite!
    You go to bookstores? I had no idea. You poop too?

  39. Lynn says:

    I am so jealous. Now I want a pedicure! How does the Prius compare to the Mini? or is there no comparison. I won’t even touch on the itouch…since idon’t. sigh. You are one lucky guy!

  40. qt says:

    Oh lucky you with the new car AND the pedi! And that is all before we factor in the “Touch”. 2007 was a banner year for you, non?

  41. Airam says:

    I have left area code 905!! So mean.

  42. egan says:

    Lynn – the Prius is damn good. It obviously doesn’t corner like the MINI, but it makes up for it in other areas such as gas mileage and space. The iPod Touch rocks the house. Do you just not do iPod?
    QT – 2007 was truly a banner year, you’re right. I will blog about it very soon since the year is nearing its completion.
    Airam – I know it was a low blow. You also know I kid because I know you’ve been to Italy and Niagara Falls.

  43. justrun says:

    Dang, go you. Aren’t pedicures so much more awesome than you’d ever imagined? 🙂 And it sounds like there were all kinds of firsts. Glad you all had a happy holiday and Happy New Year to you!

  44. Cheryl says:

    Good for you. Too many guys are missing out on the pleasure that is a pedicure. And I couldn’t believe how quickly the holidays came and are now going. Guess that is part of getting older…

  45. Bemused says:

    Nothing wrong with being metrosexual! Last time I had a pedi, just before Xmas, a couple came in together. How they fussed over him! Hope it was an experience you’d care to repeat.

  46. Lynn says:

    My daughter Elle has an ipod…I was the one who taught her how to download songs onto it. My DH has an ipod…Elle downloads his songs for him. Even though I get an ‘educators discount’ on all apple products that I purchase, I just haven’t found the time to buy an ipod, or itouch for myself. What is the difference between the ipod and the itouch?

  47. You go Egan! I am so proud of you for taking the plunge and getting a pedi – they are relaxing and good for the sole..(okay not too funny) ….whenever I go (which is abotu every 3 weeks) in I see a amn in there about 25 percent of the time – and a man works in my nail salon so how’s that? At least you didn’t have him work on your feet..that would have been a little weird huh? I am elated that you had so mcuh fun with the in laws and that they loved being around their gorgeous granddaughter..whats not to love??

  48. Pink says:

    ooooooh!
    Twinkle Toes!
    xx
    pinks

  49. Airam says:

    And Vancouver and New York and Whistler and Ottawa and North Bay … shall I go on?

  50. kristin says:

    Those chairs look heavenly… as I am sure, do your feet.

  51. jalopy says:

    Way to go Egan, aren’t they fun and they make your little toesies feel all nice as well. Way to be a good sport for your wife.

  52. Jennifer says:

    Pedicures are nothing short of magnificent. I try to get at least one a month, although if there is stress involved, it can happen more often than that. I pity the fool who won’t try it.
    Good for you!

  53. egan says:

    Justrun – firsts are a good thing. Now bring on the new year and let’s hope it goes well. Happy holidays to you too!
    Cheryl – it’s a damn shame guys feel bad about getting pedicures. I know there’s absolutely nothing wrong with it, but for some reason guys who get them are either gay or wimps. I can’t believe it’s New Year’s Eve and I’m working. Ugh.
    Bemused – nobody fussed over my feet, must be my ugly soccer toes. Well there was only one person working that day so I had no options.
    Lynn – there’s no difference. It’s just a name thing. The iPod Touch is pretty much the same as the classic iPod except the menu is driven by the touch screen and not the click wheel. Educators are good people.
    Princess Extraordinaire – Anna is a joy, that’s for sure. I think she really misses her grandparents too. She wants to be held all the time now, not that that’s a bad thing. Nice pedicure pun, I had to do a double take.
    Pink – are your feet ticklish?
    Airam – no need to go on, I know you’re a seasoned traveler. Just not too seasoned in Canada eh?
    Kristin – my toenails have some shine to them. Yeah.

  54. egan says:

    Jalopy – I had to take one for the team and get a pedicure. Let’s hope the next time it’s a spa appointment.
    Jennifer – once a month sounds like a good routine. Anyone who doesn’t try pedicures is missing out. I need a punch card.

  55. Tall Chick says:

    HAPPY FREAKIN’ NEW YEAR, Monkey Boy! I see you are posting just as frequently as I am. ^_^
    Now I’m home again I suppose I may post a little more. . .

  56. egan says:

    Tall Chick – stuff just happens to taking me away from the computer these days. I’m sure you understand with all those kids and the holidays. Be good in 2008.

  57. Aaron says:

    I’m not sure what was more entertaining, the subject of the blog or the never-ending comments. Thanks for this fun, metro-sexual look into the life of monkey boy. 😉

Leave a Reply

