Seattle 101

I-90’s Last Stand

Last Sunday was absolutely beautiful in Seattle. We went for a walk on the chilly clear day with our friend and their daughter. We bundled our little one and loaded her in the stroller for some sightseeing.

This photo looks out over Lake Washington, looking east. The large town across the water is Bellevue, where I was born, and the mountain range with snow capped peaks is the Cascades. On the right side of the picture is the first floating bridge to be constructed. That’s the I-90 floating bridge. You can hop on that highway and drive all the way to Boston if you were so inspired. Having done the drive from Chicago to Seattle once, I’m not sure you really want the whole Boston to Seattle drive.

This weekend hasn’t been nearly as nice, but it is Seattle in January. Did I tell you January is the wettest month in Seattle? Don’t come here if you like dry weather, this time of year can be really dreary.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Seattle 101

  1. Golden says:

    What?? I’m first? I’m NEVER first on your blog.. wow.. I need to go buy a lottery ticket or something.. my luck ..she is a changin.
    I was just going to mention, that I took I 90 today to Snoqualmie Pass and played in the snow with my family. It was crazy snowing the whole time, that’s a good way to break up the monotony that is January in Seattle. Better a lot of white than a lot of gray…

  2. Bemused says:

    It looks so peaceful, so inspiring to just sit there and meditate.

  3. Gwen says:

    My husband loves rainy gray days. He thinks he could live happily, therefore, in Seattle. That picture sure is purty.

  4. mez says:

    looks beautiful. Seattle has always been one of the cities in the US I want to visit.
    We don’t get nearly enough rain here. I say this though it’s been wet for the last two days here as well – but it’s rare.

  5. Deutlich says:

    That picture is gorgeous.

  6. Lynn says:

    What a beautiful picture. I remember how wonderful it was to put my kids in the stroller and go for walks with them…it was also nice to be able to put all of my ‘stuff’ in the basket on the bottom:~)

  7. kirk says:

    You’ve managed to capture the coldness there. I believe I am on record about my disdain for cold and wet.

  8. Airam says:

    Question. What is the wettest month in Seattle?

  9. egan says:

    Airam – the wettest month is Seattle is historically January. Did you read this post at all?
    Kirk – cold and wet are tough to manage. I’m a die hard local guy, but the 38 degree and rainy days do get to you after a while.
    Lynn – ha, funny what you say about putting all your stuff in the stroller. That’s a lot of work.
    Deutlich – thanks, it was a magnificent day, making it all the easier to photograph.
    Mez – I have no idea what the weather is like in Melbourne since I’ve never been anywhere near there. Dry weather and I don’t get along so well.
    Gwen – my wife being from Chicago, says she doesn’t miss those Chicago winters and those Chicago summers. Turns out Seattle is a good fit. I think your hubby and I would get along.
    Bemused – many do meditate. There are lots of parks in the general vicinity where I took this. While not all are meditating in those parks, i think most can appreciate the sweet view as they look out over the lake.
    Golden – wow, you are first. Congrats to you! I want to take Anna up to play in the snow, but we think she’s still a tad too young to get it. Next winter for sure.

  10. Aaron says:

    I’ll be back in Seattle in March. Once my home away from home. Now it’s just a couple weeks out of the year. :/

  11. SSC says:

    I heard that Seattle rains a lot. My friend moved to Washington about 3 years ago and never made the trip to Seattle. I was so shocked as I would have made the four hour trip to see Pike’s market.

  12. SSC says:

    didn’t mean to post twice, I am new to this blogging and comments thing, Sorry

  13. SSC says:

    didn’t mean to post twice, I am new to this blogging and comments thing, Sorry

  14. SSC says:

    I heard that Seattle rains a lot. My friend moved to Washington about 3 years ago and never made the trip to Seattle. I was so shocked as I would have made the four hour trip to see Pike’s market.

Leave a Reply

