Sitting in the Corner Making Faces

The week I decided to take my first ever blogging break, I met with a couple very friendly bloggers.  It was great to meet them in person after reading their blogs for over a year now.  While we were eating our sandwiches and talking about how wonderful Seattle is, we naturally started gossiping about you… the bloggers in our lives.  Who are we?   

When I ask, who are we?  What I really want to know is where do most of you fall?  Are you an introvert or more of an extrovert?  I know we’re not all black and white.  Sure some may fall somewhere in the middle*, but I’m curious where you align yourselves.

Personally, Mr. ENFP, I think I’m an extrovert.  Much of my "energy" comes from social interactions during the day.  I love talking to strangers, love it.  If the stranger happens to speak French then I’m likely to tackle them to the ground and force them to say "ne me touch pas".  This makes me an extrovert doesn’t it?  I’m a social creature and so is my wife.  This is becoming very apparent as we watch our daughter grow.  I swear her vocabulary grows by leaps and bounds daily. 

Maybe extroverts don’t climb trees in their spare time to get away from it all.  Maybe I have no idea what I’m talking about which is exactly why I’m curious where you, bloggers, align yourselves.   Uncle Egan is curious.

**Ralph Nader types need not apply

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Egan Wants to Know. Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Sitting in the Corner Making Faces

  1. Cléa says:

    First comment… unbelievable!

  2. egan says:

    Cléa – well, good things happen to good people. Consider yourself bestowed.

  3. Cléa says:

    “Ne me touche pas!” Because I want to touch first? 😛
    I’ve done those tests before, and always came up an introvert. Not sure it’s something you can change about yourself either.

  4. egan says:

    Cléa – I can sort of picture you as an introvert. I think it’s the anonymous nature of your blog. Comprenez-vous?

  5. justrun says:

    Extrovert here, for sure.
    My friend, Tom, says that I’m so much an extrovert that I could have ten introverts with me and still, none of them would look shy. I don’t know what that means, except that I really, really like talking with people.

  6. You know where I stand.

  7. meno says:

    INFP here. Except for the I, all the other letters are really close to being the other way.
    But all introverts have to learn some extroverted behavior and vice-versa.
    It’s not written in stone.

  8. sizzle says:

    i’m insanely shy.
    yeah right!
    i’m a total extrovert.

  9. Logo™ says:

    I am a back and forth type, it’s situation specific but generally more toward extroverted than introverted.
    ENTP was the official result I believe, although on other things I’ve tested as an introvert. I’m a borderline personality, are you shocked?
    :p

  10. Cheryl says:

    I’m an introvert. According to the test and myself. But, I’m not necessarily shy.

  11. Chris says:

    After more than three and a half years of blogging and getting to meet you, I suspect you have some assessment of who I am. If that is so, please tell me, I often forget.

  12. Marriage-101 says:

    Can’t recall if I’m an ENFP or ENTP. Close enough.

  13. NS1 says:

    I’m not sold on the new identity you suggested,but I’m giving it a try. Who knows, it may grow on me.
    I’m an introvert. No question about that.

  14. Pants says:

    I’m pretty outgoing. But I do alright on my own, too.
    Weird, I think I’m an ENFP too. I’d go look at the test but I have no idea where it’s gone since the move.

  15. kurt (lake) says:

    i’m the type that has trouble taking the tests.. i say, bring back the ink blot test..
    the west coast is awesome! didn’t bring turntable, but i brought my bike!

  16. Cléa says:

    Je comprends. But is the question about the blog or the person? I was talking about the person, because
    I don’t believe blogging under a nom de plume makes you an introvert.

  17. Maggie says:

    I think I’m an introvert but in certain social situations I thrive. I love having a big group of friends but it can take me forever to build one. I tend to not speak in large groups until I’ve scoped the situation. I don’t know what any of this means but I do know that on the net I feel more extroverted and I find it fun.

  18. Every time I take that test I come up with a different answer….
    I do know this, tho…I’m introverted around strangers, and extroverted around friends. Very extroverted.
    Of course, all bets are off when it comes to blogging…hooray for anonymity!

  19. Diane Mandy says:

    I’m so ENFP! Probably more like EEEEE NFP.

  20. BigBro says:

    Egan, as a qualified MBTI instructor…(wait, as your brother) you tree climbers tend to be “I’s”….you get your energy from downtime and alone time. Last I checked, climbing trees isn’t very social unless you live next door to Darryl Hannah. So sayeth an ENTP.

  21. tori says:

    I am about 90% that I am also an ENFP also, which may be why I like you so much and seem to agree with you on so much.
    I believe you can be an extrovert and also still need to get away alone sometimes too to process all the stuff you experience. I always SAY I am shy, but then I go talk to strangers and make new best friends in elevators so my good friend told me to stop saying I was shy because I’m not. Perhaps I get stressed out about meeting certain people that I have expectations for but strangers I am fine with? Who knows.
    I guess an introvert wouldn’t see a stork baby sign in someones yard and then go ring the doorbell to meet them because they had a baby just days after I did, so I guess I really am really an extrovert. Either way, I started my blog because I was stuck at home after having surgery and was bored out of my skull. I kept it because of all the great people I have “met” and hope to meet some of them in real life someday too!
    My parents are both introverts, and so is my brother. I am nothing like any of them but they are all the same in almost everything. This is why I swear I was adopted or switched at birth, which my mom says would be impossible since I was the only white baby at the hospital I was born at.
    This is a very long comment. Sorry.

  22. Everytime I take that Briggs test – everytime – I come up with INFP. Even if I try to “trick” it…it knows.
    Most people are surprised when they find out I’m shy & introverted. Because when I’m around people I’m most comfortable with (family & close friends) I really thrive on the interaction and am quite the opposite of what one might consider introverted.
    But it takes me a long time to get to that level of comfort with people. If it’s a strange and new situation, I’m very much the quiet observer and won’t say much. Also, there are times when I’m in these new situations where I can’t necessarily observe and have to actually interact. I can and will throw on my extrovert hat if needed, but I’ll be extremely tired afterwards.
    What’s also interesting is that I go in spurts of wanting to be around people. There will be months when I’m always around family & friends – when I need to be around them in social situations. But then there are months following where I don’t want to leave my house if I don’t absolutely have to. Like I need to recharge my batteries or something. That is a big Libra trait. I know you’re not into the astrology stuff, but along with the MB tests, I think they are sometimes pretty accurate.
    Good post.

  23. Lynda says:

    It is funny, because people tend to think I am an extrovert. That is only if I know them.
    If I am at a party, or in a strange environment, I tend to be introverted, take everything all in, and not say much. I also feel incredibly shy.
    Is there a middle ground?

  24. Yup…I took it again and I’m still an INFP. Pretty damn accurate. Scarily accurate.

  25. Sicilian I’m an INFP as well. For sure.

  26. Although I probably should actually take the test instead of just nod vigorously to what I read.

  27. JLee says:

    I took a test on that one time and I fell almost smack in the middle, although I think I lean toward introvert (which surprises some people who know me..I think I appear to be more extroverted on the surface) Does that make sense?

  28. egan says:

    Justrun – you must be the life of the party. Are you a talker while you run too? That’s one time where I can’t talk and don’t enjoy it.
    Essentially Me – really? I don’t think I do know. Take the test or else!
    Meno – you’re so right about that. I’m an “E”, but I definitely have “I” characteristics such as tree climbing.
    Sizzle – I was going to call your bluff, but thankfully I didn’t have to. How’s the move going?
    Logo – nope, not shocked at all. It’s important to remain open minded and that’s why I think you go back and forth on many of those traits. A good thing.
    Cheryl – yeah, being shy doesn’t necessarily mean you’re an introvert. I’m no Myers Briggs expert like my brother claims to be.
    Chris – you’re an extrovert. That’s for damn certain.
    Marriage 101 – since you’re commenting on my blog, does this mean you didn’t go on vacation or are you back already? Extrovert you are. Noted.
    NS1 – I love the new nickname because it makes you sound like a hip hop DJ or something. Yeah, I thought you might consider yourself to be an introvert.
    Pants – no need to find the test. Let’s just say you’re an ENFP since it means you’d have the same traits as me. This will explain our love for 90210 and Milli Vanilli.
    Kurt – is Vancouver getting pumped about the Olympics? What kind of bike(s) do you own?
    Cléa – the question is about you, not the blog. Really? I think blogging anonymously does tell a bit about your character. Mind you, this isn’t a criticism, just an observation.
    Maggie – I have similar feelings in large groups, but once I’ve got it all scoped out, look out. So true about the net. It’s great how the net can allow us to be ourselves or someone completely different. Fun stuff.
    Mona – you sound a bit like me, well sort of. Around stangers, I get rather chatty. Screw it, I’m chatty all the time.
    Diane Mandy – so this explains why we have similar tastes. MINI Cooper, Macs, and Egyptian men. Kidding about the last one there. ENFPs rock the house!
    BigBro – just because I gain strength from tree climbing, that doesn’t mean I’m an “I”. I honestly don’t gain my energy from downtime. I feel more recharged when in social situations. What’s this ENTP shit? I’m not a “thinker”. What kind of brother are you?
    Tori – I like how thorough you are with your comment. I think it’s great what you say about your parents and your family. I think I was an introvert as a child because I was a bit overshadowed in my large family. In college though I changed dramatically. I came out of my shell and thrived in social settings. Ask my friends and they will vouch for me. Blogging equals cool virtual friends.
    Sicilian Mama – your thought process is fun. I love how you throw it all out there in your comment. That alone tells so much about you. I can see you as an “I”, but also see you as an “E”. You seem like you’d adapt well in social situations, whether in your favor or not.
    Lynda – there is middle ground, but I think we tend to lean one way or the other. Sounds like you’re more of an introvert, but that doesn’t mean you can display extrovert traits. Thanks for playing.
    Sicilian Mama – INFP it is. Did you try to trick the system again?
    Essentially Me – I love how you’re agreeing without fully understanding what an INFP means. You’re awesome yo!
    JLee – I would have thought of you as more of an extrovert, but not sure how I arrived at that assumption. Maybe it’s your former HNT stuff, but that wouldn’t necessarily categorize you as an extrovert. I’m confused.

  29. Ok I wanted to take the test … I really did! And I actually got past 3 parts but then this payment page came up and I was all like, “what the fuck, yo!” I don’t want to pay to have someone tell me what my personality is. I’ll just nod vigorously to someone else’s test and put myself in that category!

  30. brookem says:

    Extrovert here. I’d say, an introspective extrovert. That stuff we were talking about the other day about needing some solo, down time? I CRAVE that business sometimes. So sure, while some could argue that that is a bit “introverted,” I say, not so much. I just like my solo time equally as much as time spent with others. I believe my alone time makes me a more enthusiastic extrovert. If that makes any sense.

  31. egan says:

    Essentially Me – yeah, don’t pay for it. I’m pretty sure there’s a way to test for it online for free, but don’t sweat it. So, do you see yourself as an introvert or extrovert and why. Thanks.

  32. Dude we are discussing this further as I type this. Word.

  33. Essentially me – Here. this one is free. It says that it’s for programmers, but it tells you the same thing. Then at the end, you can view the detail of what they diagnose you with!

  34. Oh, and more importantly…it doesn’t take that long to take. There are only about 69 (tee hee) questions with only 2 choices each, so it goes pretty fast.

  35. egan says:

    Essentially Me – I thought we just met.
    Sicilian Mama – look at you being all helpful to the “new” blogger. I like how you go out of your way to help strangers. Introverts don’t do that. Kidding. 69 questions? Why that number? Sick bastards.

  36. 69 is a great number. And you’re right we did just meet but we hit off wickedly. And I think Sicilian Mama is a sweetheart for helping out a newbie like me.
    🙂

  37. Ok I took Sicilian’s test and I’m an ENFP.
    ENFP – Actors, journalists, writers, musicians, painters, consultants, psychologists, psychiatrists, entrepeneurs, teachers, counselers, politicans, diplomats, television reporters, marketers, scientists, sales representatives, artists, clergy, public relations, social scientists, social workers.. Very creative and fun-loving, they excel at careers which allow them to express their ideas and spontaneity.
    Did you see teachers in there? 🙂

  38. egan says:

    Essentially Me – did you see the word bloggers in there? Nope, nobody in the non-cyber world knows what the fuck a blogger is. They really listed all those professions as ENFPs? Huh, I don’t know how you can lump together people based on their professions. Damn those generalizers! Je ne peux pas toucher ta commentaire sur les chiffres soixante-neuf.

  39. Vous pouvez toucher tous me commentaires, monsieur Egan.

  40. egan says:

    Essentially Me – naughty! So we have it, you’re an Extrovert. I love to be able to categorize people and now I can stick you in the Extrovert corner. Now, go chat amongst the Es.

  41. egan says:

    Essentially Me – you did a fine job with your French. Technically it should be “toutes mes commentaires” since you used the plural form of a feminine noun. Capiche?

  42. Cake Lady says:

    That was deep! I think I best fit into ENFJ. I believe my zodiac sign tells it best.
    AQUARIUS – The Sweetheart (Jan 20 – Feb 18)
    Optimistic and honest. Sweet personality. Very independent.
    Inventive and intelligent. Friendly and loyal. Can seem unemotional.
    Can be a bit rebellious. Very stubborn, but original and unique.
    Attractive on the inside and out. Eccentric personality

  43. egan says:

    Cake Lady – crikey, you mixed in astrology with Myers Brigss. Now I’m in trouble. I like your rebellious nature, it suits you well and makes for entertaining blog posts.
    Essentially Me – I just noticed something in the link you included for ENFPs. Barack Obama is also an ENFP, how cool are we now? He’s this guy who happens to be running for President in the good old United States of America. You should consider yourself the shit.

  44. circe says:

    Mostly an introvert until I get comfortable with a person. Unless you give me a glass of wine, then I will get chatty to strangers. 🙂

  45. Gwen says:

    I’m an introvert, but I’m not exactly shy and quiet. This usually means people who don’t know me think I’m a cold bitch. How’s that for cool?

  46. churlita says:

    In General, I’m aggressively friendly. I’m also a person who needs some solitude. Running for an hour a day really helps me to get away by myself so that I can happily meet new people.

  47. tori says:

    Since Sicilian Mama gave the link, I retook the test to be sure and although I didn’t know what one of the questions answers meant, I still scored as an ENFP like I thought I remembered I was. Although I wonder if my obsessing over if I was right or not about what I was maybe makes it not as true? Whatever. I have now officially put too much thought into this!

  48. I think the “new” blogger needs to learn about opening up comments to readers.
    Just saying.
    MWAH!

  49. Cléa says:

    Actually, c’est un commentaire, masculin, one of the exceptions. Now I’ve got you toppled forcing you to say “ne me touche pas!”
    The reason I asked, is that on a blog, people can (if they choose) pretend to be anything. But since we’re talking about the person, definitely an introvert, with too much thinking and analysis.
    I took Sicilian’s test and came up INTJ, which is what (I think) I had before. Why does Egan want to know?

  50. egan says:

    Circe – now, you can be throwing alcohol into the equation. That makes things really murky.
    Gwen – so you’re saying you’re not a bitch? Ha, I like that. I will take your word on this. I’ve been reading your blog for some time and I totally get a bitchy vibe from you. Yeah, like totally bitchy.
    Iris – I’m thinking most bloggers do happen to be introverts as my blogger buddy suggested. I guess I stand corrected once again. What’s this stuff about your French connections?
    Churlita – you sound like me. Running and swimming are nice ways to clear our minds. I think it’s cool you consider yourself to be “aggressively friendly”. I got a really funny picture in my head.
    Tori – now you know and that is half the battle. Yes, rest assured you’re in the cool clique since you’re an ENFP.
    Sicilian Mama – I couldn’t agree more with your comment directed at the “new blogger”.
    Cléa – ugh, tu as raison encore. I used the old “if it ends with an E, it must be feminine” approach and that backfired on me. Good thing you called me out on it. I’m a bit rusty on my French these days. I know, people can really be whatever they want on their blog. It’s easier to be “outgoing” on a blog, whatever the hell that means.
    Egan only wanted to know since I consider myself to be an extrovert while the two other bloggers were in the introvert camp. It’s all about fitting in. I wanted to know how others perceive themselves. Thanks for asking mon ami(e).

  51. ms chica says:

    INTJ, but you knew that already.

  52. I so consider myself the shit!
    And thanks for the compliment … considerig I haven’t taken a formal french class since I was 18, I think I did pretty well too.
    🙂

  53. brookem says:

    Look at how you just skipped over responding to my thoughtful comment!
    You skimmed?

  54. mez says:

    On the personality tests I’ve actually come out introvert but on a different day, extrovert. I must be on the cusp or something. I’d say I’m mostly an introvert and if there are a lot of extroverted people around me I tend to withdraw more.

  55. egan says:

    Ms. Chica – you and I really are quite different on this. I knew there had to be a reason I’m not nearly as creative as yourself. This proves it.
    Essentially Me – you rocked the French thing really well. I’m so glad BeMused kept me honest. “commentaire” is one of those deceiving words with its gender.
    Brookem – ha, I only missed it because you published your comment at the exact same time I hit the Post button on my computer. Shame on me for not refreshing my computer prior to hitting the Post button.
    Mez – I get a bit more of an introvert vibe from you, but I can picture an extrovert side of you. I bet around friends, you’re a hoot.
    BROOKEM – yes, your claims of enthusiastic extrovert make sense. I think you enjoy your walks through Walden Woods as much as your time spent with friends at a bar. Both are good things and both serve as a way for you to recharge. There’s no way in hell I would categorize a person who will stop their Toyota Corolla in front of a fire station and chat with a guy named Brian as an introvert though.

  56. Lynda says:

    I think of myself as more of an introvert. I really have to be in a comfort zone to display extroverteness.

Leave a Reply

