Busting Up a Preconceived Notion

It’s time for me to admit a fault of mine, leaping to conclusions.  Most of you know I’m pretty bad when it comes to lyrics.  I’ve mentioned how I can hardly remember lyrics to any song, save for the chorus.  If you repeat something enough, then it just might get stuck in my head. 

This being said, there’s this song by the lead singer of the defunct band Soul Coughing.  Mr. Mike Doughty wrote a song called Busting Up a Starbucks in 2005.   I actually kind of dig the song, with one glaring exception.  I didn’t enjoy that silly part encouraging one to bust up a Starbucks.  That’s just not how I roll.  Mr. Doughty’s voice is pretty damn cool so I did my best to overlook the chorus.

Well some things just aren’t what they seem.  What I assumed was an anthem decreeing Starbucks global presence couldn’t be further from the truth.  If you read the lyrics carefully you’ll see he actually gives a shout out to Starbucks.  I read this interview online and learned he’s a loyal Starbucks customer who was outraged when he saw hooligans on tv heeving chairs through Starbucks (and other businesses)in downtown Seattle during the infamous 1999 WTO riots.   Those riots so captivated folks around the world, nine years later a movie starring Charlize Theron and Woody Harrelson will attempt to shed some light on those events.

Anyways, all this time I figured the song was some anti-establishment bitchfest about big corporations and how they stink up the planet.  Instead the song pokes fun at the fools who think vandalism is an extension of free speech.  At the very end of the song he even gives a shout out to the four Starbucks he frequents most often.  Color me quick to judge.

============

Lettera Current parenthood treat: while I’m rocking Baby Singe to sleep in her room, she loves to rub the top of her head on the underside of my chin.  She loves dad’s stubble, finally it has a purpose.  It’s great for rubbing an itchy baby scalp.  Yet alone, another reason not to bathe daily.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Current Affairs, Games, Science. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Busting Up a Preconceived Notion

  1. sprizee says:

    No comments. How is that possible???

  2. kirk says:

    Speaking of Starbucks, why is it that every Starbucks I’ve seen or been to outside the US has great outdoor seating but the US ones all have uncomfortable cheap outdoor furniture? That might be important in Rainville, but where the sun shines all the time it is somewhat important.

  3. justrun says:

    A shout out to Starbucks? I thought I was the only one that did that.

  4. JLee says:

    awwww…she is too cute!!! I love playing with fingerpaints. And by the way, anyone who busts up a Starbucks should be shot…by me! ha

  5. Scarlet Hip says:

    That’s like when Reagen wanted to use Springsteen’s Born in the U.S.A for his campaign song. He never bothered to read that it was about a Vietnam vet whose life was destroyed.
    By the way, you aren’t really supposed to paint babies.

  6. Amanda says:

    Thats such a cute photo! Painting is something I haven’t tried with Aaron yet. Its hard to get suitable paint here in Palembang 😦

  7. sari says:

    that is a great picture!!
    i’m a jumper of conclusions myself, i know of what you speak.

  8. Maggie says:

    What? You?
    Here’s something I do: read tone into things even though I have no indication it is correct. Which is why it is so much better to have important conversations at least voice to voice, if not in person.
    I’ve been thinking about going to the ONE Starbucks we have here and getting me some. Hmmm.

  9. brookem says:

    soul coughing sings that song “walk around in circles” that i loved circa 1998. or around then.
    you added in that shower comment to get a rise out of miss sicilian mama, didntcha?

  10. Golden says:

    You can still shower, just don’t shave. (I’m not a conclusion jumper, I’m a pointer outer of the obvious).
    So.. there is painting with brushes, painting with fingers, I think Farrah rolled around nekkid in paint before..People even throw paint and call it art.. however..I’ve never tried painting with a BABY!!! Must do that now, do they sell these Painting with Baby kits at Toys R Us?

  11. meno says:

    Is that A on the baby’s back for adultery?

  12. Cléa says:

    Is that her first tattoo?

  13. egan says:

    Sprizee – I’m not the blogger I used to be. I’m half the blogger I used to be… (sorry, I was trying to sing Stone Temple Pilots and it just wasn’t working)
    Kirk – great observation, but I haven’t a clue. I trust your eyes not to lie. All I can say is that US stores are operated by different managers so maybe there aren’t as many funds going to outdoor furniture in the US. It could be a theft thing too. Those chairs “disappear” often.
    Justrun – I have a very good reason to give them a shout out since they treat my wife quite well. I’m sure you already knew this though.
    JLee – your hostility is charming. I need to spend more time working with fingerpaints.
    Scarlet Hip – please tell me you’re not comparing me to Reagan. Just kidding, I know what you’re saying. But, but, but.. babies like to be painted. They love it.
    Amanda – I chatted with the teachers in her daycare. They also suggest playing with oatmeal or using Jello.
    Sari – it’s the side of me that likes to lump people into categories. I’m working on suppressing that side of me as much as possible.
    Maggie – very interesting insight to your personality. I wonder if this tone thing you speak of is due to where you live and the fact you don’t speak the dominant language. You can learn a lot based on body language and tone. One? Vive le Starbucks libre!
    Brookem – hmmm, moi? Would I do something like that? I guess you could be right. Oh, we’re watching Oprah interview the cast of SATC. Woot woot.
    Golden – so funny you mention that because I thought about that very thing after the babies finished “painting”. Inner Egan: “grab those paintings and auction them on the net as Baby Singe originals”. Then someone pinched me.
    Meno – umm, nope. It’s for Awesome!
    Cléa – mais oui and now she’s scarred for life. Next week it will be a nipple piercing.

  14. Gwen says:

    Nipple piercing–maybe some for Papa, too. Imagine the fun she could have playing with those.
    I used to think that Berlin song “Riding on the Metro” had the singer swimming through a pile of cheese (instead of the correct apologies). A pile of cheese? How could one swim through that, I wondered. Briefly. Then I stopped thinking about it. Because the song isn’t even that great.
    Starbucks. Woot.

  15. tori says:

    They are building a Starbucks within walking distance from my house. Well, walking distance for me, I’m not sure anyone else would consider 4 miles within walking distance, but definitely easy bike ride distance. I’m going to have to conquer my fear of ordering there. I’m sure I told you about this before.
    I love painting with the kids! How fun! Did you at least bathe her after the painting or does your no bathing policy apply to her as well? (I am just poking fun…I don’t care how often you bathe as long as you don’t force me to skip showers!)

  16. Tall Chick says:

    The Emerald Letter: the Tale of an Artistic Baby in the Emerald City.
    She’s so damn cute it burns my eyes to look at pictures of her. When did you teach her how to sit up? It’ll be marathons next, won’t it?

  17. Tall Chick says:

    Mmmmmm. Starbucks.
    And cute babies.
    I need a fix.

  18. Kerry says:

    Lovely Anna! Did she enjoy getting all messy!?

  19. Nilsa S. says:

    I hate Starbucks. Our economy sucks and they still charge people $4+ for coffee. Thank goodness I don’t drink the stuff.

  20. Sicilian Mama says:

    You’re almost a birthday boy!
    And Nilsa – what’s worse? The fact that Starbucks charges $4+ for a cup of joe or the fact that people actually pay $4+ for a cup? As long as people continue paying for it, Starbucks will continue to charge it. And can you blame them? In the end, they are still a business that has to make ends meet.

  21. egan says:

    Gwen – the picture of her pulling nipple rings isn’t good. I watch her tug on other people’s necklaces so yeah… not good. I love this Berlin confession. Swimming through a pile of cheese would require some strength.
    Tori – that’s a good walking distance. See, you’re not one of those people who fights for the closest parking spot are you? I’m guessing you’re not, but I could be wrong. We bathe Anna at least four times a week and yesterday she got to baths. Lucky girl.
    Tall Chick – she’s on her way to swimming soon. I think a pole for pole vaulting will make a great present for her first birthday.
    Tall Chick – meet you at Eganbucks?
    Kerry – yep, it was pretty cute. She was a bit timid about it, but did have fun. She mainly moved her feet in the lumps of paint.
    Nilsa – oh boy, where to start with your comment. So you’re thinking Starbucks should lower the price of coffee because the economy sucks? Hmm, I’m not sure how that works. Their coffee doesn’t cost four bucks, many of their beverages do depending on the size you buy. I implore you to go to Caribou Coffee and compare though. Chances are, their prices won’t be any different and might even be higher. I’m not sure if you know this, but all Starbucks employees working 20 hours a week get full benefits. Ask those at Caribou or Dunkin if they offer the same. Umm, you might want to chat with Dunkin about their styrofoam cups too. I’m just saying.
    Hate is a strong word for you to use and I’m not sure you’ve given them a fair shake. By the way, my wife does work there so yes I’m defensive about it.
    Sicilian Mama – correct, this Sunday but we’re keeping that on the DL. A cup of Joe (meaning coffee) doesn’t cost four dollars. Other drinks, like lattes and Frappucinos, do cost that price. I think if you looked around though, you’d see comparable coffee houses charging a very similar price.

  22. Sicilian Mama says:

    I agree with you Egan. Completely. I was kind of defending Starbucks in my comment, but it may not have come off that way. Me sorry.
    Basically what I was saying was that Starbucks may charge a lot for a caffeinated beverage sure, but people are willing to pay, so can you blame the corporation? I think not. They are a business and the business has a bottom line and they are affected by the economy just as much as the consumers. I wrote a whole paper about this subject once for a management class.
    And yeah – any place that sells specialty coffees charge the same if not more (because they don’t have the same brand recognition as Starbucks).

  23. Sicilian Mama says:

    It’s also kind of the way I also feel about Apple products. They are expensive, but people are willing to pay for it, so I never understand when people go on their anti-Apple rants. But that is definitely a bias for me since I heart my iMac and all and feel that it is the one of the best thousand dollars I’ve spent.
    Anyway, I could go on and on about this kind of stuff, but I won’t. Back to the regularly scheduled comments.

  24. egan says:

    Sicilian Mama – ha, I figured that’s what you meant, but I had to make sure. I get the impression Nilsa making a blanket statement she’s heard others make about Starbucks. I’m just not so sure about the venom behind the “hate” part. Oh well.
    Yeah, I think you told me about that research paper of yours. I’m sure you had fun doing some detective work. Did you drink many beverages during that time?
    Sicilian Mama – I almost made the Apple comparison too, but didn’t. I’m glad you’re loving your iMac still. I think I need to upgrade to the newest iLife so I can post pictures to the web using my iPod touch. It would be superdopefly if you ask me.

  25. tori says:

    Wait! Seriously? Any employee working 20 hours a week? I think I need to get over my fear of ordering there and learn how to work there once my son starts kindergarten not this coming September but the next. How awesome is that? I had no idea!
    I only look for a close parking spot when it is snowing and the kids are with me, or when my 4 year old is sleeping because he does not wake up and I know I’ll have to carry him and he’s really getting big now! Otherwise, it is free exercise for me. My only worry about walking the 4 miles to the new starbucks when it opens is that I have a tiny bladder, coffee makes me pee a lot, and what if I have to pee on the way home? Bike may be the way to go for that. We’ll see, but either way I can’t wait until it opens!

  26. egan says:

    Tori – yes, that’s the truth. The CEO is a big believer in benefits. If I pay fifty cents more for my beverage and it means a vast majority of the employees get health coverage, all the better. I worked 25-30 hours a week in college and didn’t have benefits. It’s a great perk, pun intended.
    You do need to get over your fear. I’m guessing the hired help will find it cute how nervous you are about ordering. From that point on it will be smooth sailing. You might even make a new friend or two. Once you finish your drink, you have an instant recepticle.

  27. sprizee says:

    Yo, I just have to get this under the wire. Have a HAPPY BIRTHDAY on Sunday!

  28. egan says:

    Sprizee – thank you, I will make sure to party like a rockstar/father all weekend long. We’re watching E.T. right now. Such a great flick.

  29. mez says:

    you could sell that painting for a packet!

  30. egan says:

    Mez – for a packet, packet of smokes? Deal.

  31. Tall Chick says:

    “Girls don’t pee in [cups].”
    “OK, we’re gonna need a [cup] and a funnel.”
    OK, Eganbucks today. Be there!

  32. ms chica says:

    Totally digging the picture of Baby A.
    Mike Doughty has been on ply list recently. 27 Jenifers.

  33. sari says:

    I was just looking at your pictures and I have to tell you, that baby of yours is a DOLL!! I can’t believe she was born with a tooth, that’s crazy!
    I really think she is so sweet! And I like that you give her a bath in the sink, that’s what I do with mine and he loves it.

  34. egan says:

    Tall Chick – my wife got one of those pee funnels for women as a gift. It’s not very flattering. See you for coffee later today. Has it been a year yet?
    Mrs. Chica – yeah, I’m not so fond of the 27 Jennifers song, but his voice is still damn good. Isn’t she adorable with all that paint?
    Sari – my wife wasn’t so thrilled about the tooth thing as it made breastfeeding a tad painful. Good thing she’s pretty and so fun. I had her giggling up a storm today.

Leave a Reply

