Lay Flat to Dry

BedeyesHello people! I’m back from a chaotic past week or so. The in-laws are tucked in their beds on the other side of the country. Our daughter was very delightful during their four day visit. Mother’s Day went off without a hitch as we took Baby Singe to her first professional baseball game. Mrs. Lessinges will receive more pampering next week via a pedicure. I will not be participating in the pedicure this time, although it was quite calming when I did it last time. My four day weekend was blissful and I’m thankful a three day weekend is on the horizon.

Speaking of baseball and professional sports… if you’re not from the U.S. this may not be as much of an issue for you. Here in our grand old country where we giveaway money in the form of economic stimulus checks, we have our priorities a bit confused. Lately it has been deemed necessary to involve our politicians in matters that generally shouldn’t concern them. Yes, I’m talking about the Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens federal hearings. Must we drag all these cheating athletes into a courtroom to hear them lie through their teeth about their involvement? Can’t our politicians spend their time working to resolve issues such as education reform, the housing crunch, improving highways, protecting our environment, etc.?

Seriously, why can’t professional baseball and football resolve their own issues? Why is so much damn time being wasted in our courtrooms trying to figure out if Roger Clemens took steroids? Screw that, have Major League Baseball resolve the issue. Our government is already messed up enough without throwing professional sports into the mix of our legal system.

Enough talk about sports though. Let’s hear from you. What’s on your mind folks? Since I got the “counselor” title on the DiSC personality test, it’s my job to listen to your concerns. Tell me, what’s on your mind? Do you have a bone to pick with someone or something? If it’s me, I don’t want to hear about it. Otherwise, nothing is off limits. Bring it!

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Opinionated, Sports, Web/Tech. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Lay Flat to Dry

  1. brookem says:

    Totally agree on the whole baseball business.
    For once I don’t think I have anything that I’m seeking an objective opinion on.
    That may last about 4 hours, at which point, I know where to come.
    …Life Coach.

  2. Chris says:

    It’s insane what has become of “professional” sports in the last few decades. It has become so commercial and financially burdened that it really is no longer just a game.

  3. Gwen says:

    Dear Dr. E,
    I’m really working to find my blogging muse again. Can you help me find her? Maybe send that cute baby along, too.
    Regards,
    G

  4. JLee says:

    Dr. E, do you treat Facebook addicts? haha

  5. brandy says:

    Dr. Egan,
    What do you do with a child who lies all the time? Constantly… and about things that don’t matter? I realize that perhaps if the lie doesn’t matter I shouldn’t care, but it really bothers the other kids and I don’t like condoning lying at the ripe age of 7. Please let me know.
    Also, what are the duties of a wedding MC? And how do you deal with a co-worker that you want to stab with a fork in her good leg? All the best,
    brandy
    p.s. I never been to a professional baseball game. That Anna is so far ahead of me…

  6. meno says:

    I couldn’t have said it better myself.
    Well, maybe i coulda, but probably not.
    Next up, congressional hearings on Madonna vs. Mariah.

  7. justrun says:

    I couldn’t agree more… why those are federal court matters just confuses me.
    As for my issue for the counselor, how about this: My neck hurts every day at work and stops when I leave. What should I do?

  8. qt says:

    Dude – If pay was docked for each time someone tested positive – the players, the trainers, fuck it, Bud Selig – I guarantee this would end. Obviously these jokers don’t respect laws and rules. You have to hit them where it hurts – the pocketbook, not their shriveled up you-know-whats.

  9. churlita says:

    I’m sorry. I couldn’t concentrate on the rest of your post. I saw that gorgeous photo of your daughter and was blown away by how sweet she looks. I hope you’ll understand. I bet it happens to you all the time.

  10. tori says:

    Your daughter is just so beautiful! She is growing so fast!
    I have a bone to pick with the damn infomercials making me buy things all the time. I run at 5 in the morning and the only thing on tv is either infomercials or the news. I watch a little news, but after a while I end up sounding like Rain Man quoting the news/weather all day, so I switched to infomercials. I just bought some hair stuff today and I think you know about the other stuff I recently bought from Jessica. I might have to ban myself from the tv while running in the morning!

  11. egan says:

    Brookem – do you need a consultation now? How about now? Fine, you know how to find me.
    Chris – while I think the raw form of the game is still captivating, I’m not a fan of all the off field crap. I still think sports are a great diversion, but the minute I see fools like Clemens and Bonds in a courtroom on the evening news, it’s gone too far.
    Dear Gwen – I don’t have to tell you this, but I will. Life throws many things at us, it’s all about how we respond to things. I’m guessing you have other stuff occupying the portion of your previously reserved for blogging. You’re busy with school, being a parent, shuffling kids around, etc. Your blog mojo will come back when it’s damn ready. I’ve been informed the baby’s not for sale. Yours truly.
    JLee – yes, we do treat Facebook addicts. The first step is to stop accepting all those useless invites for Super Friends or XMe. Once you can do this, you’ll begin to live a happier Facebook life. Step two, no Scrabble.
    Brandy – now this is a tough question. Yikes, a seven year old liar. Perhaps it’s a self-esteem issue and the boy lies to make himself feel more important. Why he’d need to do that is another story. My only advice would be to hear him out. Let him speak his mind and know he’s a valuable kid in your class. (I know you already do this, but maybe he’s not connecting the dots)
    Now the co-worker one is also rather complex. I guess I need some more details on why she annoys the hell out of you. My thinking is a wedding MC is supposed to entertain. Get up there and give the attendees something to smile about. Keep it clean, but very fun. Anna will probably read HP before her dad, now that’s just sad. Thanks for your questions Brandy.
    Meno – seriously, I’m sure that’s just around the corner. Or Britney vs. the fotogs. Our country has enough issues without millionaire athletes.
    Justrun – hmm, your neck thing. Do you tense your neck while at work? Are you so focussed on getting your tasks done that you clinch it in a certain way? Perhaps you can tweak the height of your chair, move your monitor, or maybe your your mouse. Is their a hot male intern willing to give you a massage mid day?
    QT – you do make a good point. I’m not sure why almost all of those guys named in the Mitchell Report are still playing. I’m not even aware if any have received punishment from MLB or not. I know they’re innocent until proven guilty, but to me it seems like baseball isn’t even investigating. Don’t get me started on Mr. Selig. There’s a reason Seattle lost its baseball team in 1970 to Milwaukee.

  12. Carrie says:

    Yeah, I don’t really understand why the federal government is involved with the whole steroids issue either. It’s amazing how much sports and politics mix – just look at the situation w/ the Sonics.

  13. Pants says:

    I’m with you on the professional sports drug hearings. There are MANY things our politicians could be focusing on…eh, health care?!

  14. Tall Chick says:

    You will love this. Scroll down to the third post – the video. It’s SO AWESOME!!:)

  15. Lynda says:

    I agree with you on the sports thing. I think the fame and money get to their heads, but it shouldn’t be an government issue.
    Is your wife still taking donations for her walk? I need to see if I have your email address.

  16. egan says:

    Carrie – as much as I don’t want the Sonics to leave, I also don’t want taxpayers to support a privately held business. I think David Stern is an ass, for what it’s worth.
    Pants – yeah, think of all that money going to Iraq which could have been used to improve our health care systems. What are we doing over there again?
    Tall Chick – thank you so much for the link. Funny you sent me that link because I got an email from Mrs. Lessinges while I was researching those water safety courses. So cool. The video a tad scary, but a valuable lesson for children. Learning how to swim is a very important skill.
    Lynda – yes, she’s still accepting donations for the walk. Thanks to so many bloggers, she’s halfway to her initial fundraising goal. I’ll leave my email address in your blog comments.

  17. tori says:

    I see how it is. You will respond to everyone except people who are hooked on infomercials. I will note that in my files so it won’t happen again. (just kidding…I see how you skipped me…don’t let it happen again) (and I am totally kidding…does that come through or do I just sound like some kind of comment psycho?)

  18. tori says:

    I just left another comment…why aren’t they showing up????
    (totally not a crazy psycho stalker, I swear!)

  19. tori says:

    OK, sorry. I see them now. I will stop typing comments now.

  20. egan says:

    Churlita – ha, that’s quite alright. I often lose my train of thought in her presence and I’m her dad.
    Tori – I think it’s awesome you buy shit off of tv. Someone has to keep them in business under the age of 60, it might as well be you Tori. Yikes, that was kind of mean of me.
    Tori – I can’t believe I missed your comment. My apologies. I missed Churlita’s comment too because I’m dumb like that. The comment would only sound psycho if you threatened to shut my blog down or some crap.
    Tori – your comments are alive and well. I almost had to dive in the virtual dumpster to see if they were there, but you saved me.
    Tori – you’re a good mom.
    Tori – I have nothing more to add, but I thought I’d give you some much deserved attention on my blog. Tori, I hope you had a fantastic Mother’s Day.

  21. Tall Chick says:

    That’s actually SLade’s baby in the vid. Isn’t that the coolest? I always wanted to do that with our kids, but it never worked out. Fortunately, they can all swim now, thanks to lots of hours spent playing at the pool. Whew.

  22. Tall Chick says:

    I need your addy again. I know, I know.

  23. Tall Chick says:

    ps I lost the info i need for the fund raising. Sigh. So I need that again.
    Thanks 🙂

  24. egan says:

    Tall Chick – Slade’s baby is pretty cool. I left a few comments on her blog. I will have to stop by there more often.
    Tall Chick – follow the 3 Day link in the right margin. If you know Mrs. Lessinges well known nickname, you can find her that way. Or I can send you an email, hell I will send you an email.

  25. Tall Chick says:

    ok good cuz I was ready with all kinds of Qs like – what sort of capitalisation etc.

  26. H. says:

    Monkey Boy?
    Shootz. That’s what I call George W.

  27. egan says:

    Tall Chick – did you find her? If not, let me know and I will fire off an email full of wonderful details.
    H. – welcome to my blog. So you found my blog by search for Mr. Bush or not? Anyways, welcome!

  28. sari says:

    I’m with you, I think the government could spend it’s time much more wisely minding some other business.
    Glad you had a good weekend, glad you went to a baseball game, cute picture.
    My oldest son (9) has been playing in Little League and next week is his last week. I have to say I’m a bit sad, it’s been great to go to baseball games three times a week and cheer for the team.

  29. ms chica says:

    Professional sports is a misnomer isn’t it?
    I abandon baseball after the last pay dispute. I have a problem when a regular family of four needs to take out a second mortgage on their house to take their kids to the ballpark only to be inundated with overpriced snacks and corporate branding.
    But enough about me….did Anna catch a foul ball?

  30. Golden says:

    Professional Sports? Politics? I could care less when there’s a picture of Annalicious on the site. Damn she’s cute.
    I have a question Mr. Counselor:
    I am a 40 year old single woman with a 13 year old child. Will I ever remarry? Oh, wait.. you’re not a magic 8 ball.

  31. What’s with my calf (no I don’t have a baby cow as a pet) hurting so much. Stabbing pain be gone!
    Score a goal for Annalicious tonight.

  32. Cléa says:

    Cléa lies down on the comfy couch and closes her eyes
    Can you tell me why lately I have been starting things and never finish anything?

  33. egan says:

    Sari – how are the other parents at those Little League games? I think you have a couple years until things could potentially sour on that front due to over invested parents. At one point in time in my life I was an umpire and the parents were nuts. I’m hopeful time has changed.
    Ms. Chica – it most certainly is a misnommer. I think I started to part ways with baseball at the same time, the strike of 1994 did it for me. Clearly there was way too much greed on the players parts. Anna didn’t catch a foul and her mom was freaked out anytime there was a foul anywhere. We were behind home plate so we were well protected.
    Golden – that’s a fair question and I think it would be unwise to not keep that door open if it’s something you want. Our neighbors were both divorced and the found each other again in their early 50s. They plan to wed this summer and I couldn’t be more thrilled for them. They make a very cute couple. It can happen. Some do say she’s cute, some.
    Essentially Me – is the calf still hurting when you’re working? Do you know what triggers the calf pain exactly? Does ibuprofen minimize the pain? Ha, I did sort of score one for Annalicious last night. The woman on the other team took a shot that deflected off the side of my face and ended up in our goal. In soccer we call that an “own goal”. Lucky me.
    Cléa – great question, too much on your plate potentially? You’re feeling the pull from one direction and it diverts your attention from a current project. Are you falling behind somehow in your professional life? These are just random questions so don’t hate me. Merci!

  34. Cléa says:

    Yes to most of these, and I’m falling behind on the top 3 projects, or at least I feel I am. being a perfectionist is no good.

  35. egan says:

    Cléa – I’m sorry, I can’t sympathize with the perfectionist thing. I do understnad it’s not fun to have lots on your plate.

  36. Chris says:

    I’ve tagged you for a meme, see my blog for details. (It feels so wrong, yet it feels so right)

  37. Kerry says:

    Anna is such a cutie and growing so fast!

  38. egan says:

    Chris –
    Kerry – she’s growing alright. She took a few short crawls today.

  39. she’s gotten so big!!! She’s so cute!!

Leave a Reply

